(2012/06) Jun 2012

wow, you sure can shop. The starlight dreamshow looks nice, very tempting...keke. But I already bought the fisherprice soothe and glow seahorse.

haha.. yeah. previously u all were talking abt waxing.. then i saw the waxing strips. tried b4 other brands but not good. so i tot just try this creme. hope it works. since it states coarse hair and sensitive areas. then 3mins can le.

Oh ya, Sorella selling the bamboo material lingerie. anyone keen can go see. i tot it's good since it's thin and antibacterial. for use post natal.

I'm wearing those bamboo material undies from Spring Maternity. Very comfy! They dry very quickly.

I used those hair removal cream but has since stopped cos I'm not sure if it's safe too.

Re hair removal, I never try waxing myself unless it's just the legs. For brazilian waxing, I still prefer to go to a salon for it to be done professionally, if not just shave. Don't like the smell and messiness of creams.

Re Underwear, I tried Strety by Triumph and it's very comfy.. low waisted and 100% cotton. Most maternity underwear are like granny panties... kinda ugly :p I still wear my usual thongs and briefs.

Was doing DIY IPL Bikini line, but stopped once I knew I was preg. I also dun like the messiness of creme. keke.

Now still wearing my usual underwear, but butt growing bigger liao.. haha... abit stretched.

<font color="aa00aa">nattan,
U can still fit into them?
I bought a size larger than usual (low waist) and it's getting tight. Shorts are worse - feel very uncomfortable even though I pull it low and made the front look "crumbled".</font>

Petrina: the Sorella bamboo material lingerie is both bras and undies? I am interested coz i think it feels very comfy. Any idea if JL is cheaper now?

I go to someone for brazilian waxing before and now during pregnancy. Usually if you haven't gone before the first time might have some skin reaction and after that it is fine. Like for me i have gone before i was pregnant so there is no irritation at my end.

Anyone used those post partum girdle/belt (for 2nd time MTBs now)? Any recommendation?

AsRias, IPL is ok right.. no chemicals involved unlike creams.

Moi, I still can fit although a bit tighter than usual. Most of my undies are low waisted or thongs, so still ok. I wear my hubby's boxer shorts to sleep...hehe.. Doesn't matter if the front is crumpled cos nobody is looking when I'm sleeping :p

I notice that my hair actually grow quite slowly now so not sure if I should go for waxing or just shave. Besides, the waxing table is quite high... I feel so clumsy trying to get up on it and getting off afterwards.

Fleurfleur, Mothercare is selling Belly Bandit.. are you referring to that kind?

fleur: undies only. 2boxes for $35. 3rd box $10.
so it comes up to $3 per pc. I share with my colleagues. each took 2 boxes.
very comfy!

nattan: i also buy same size as usual. nvr buy maternity undies. just wear abit lower since i bought boy shorts type, the cutting is abit lower. so it didn't hit tummy area.

Creme
dunno safe or not. will check with gynae. but i bought since it was on offer and if now cannot use then post natal use won't waste $ i hope.

fleur: when i did c-sec, my gynae made me buy girdle. protect wound and wrap tummy at the same time. very tight and shiok. haha
now u can try the elastic type like tube bra. instead of the wrapping girdle. tat is more comfy.
i have 1pc for wearing dresses to keep my fats in check previously.
I bought from JL sale also. the famous 女人我最大 program was recommending.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: My Healthy Pregnancy Workshop
Not sure if I'm going as I'm meeting gynae that morning, sending #1 for 6pm class, so kinda rush for me.

Re: Undies
Crumpled is ok - but, but, it's uncomfortable! I wear night dress to bed but can't wear that to coffee shop ma.

Sorella bamboo undies - sounds good &amp; price is reasonable. Will check them out if I have the time.</font>

Petrina> haha thanks for sharing. Later i will go to JL to check out the bamboo undies. I need to upsize my undies. Current ones too tight already. Suddenly they look so tiny to me

Which brand of girdle did 女人我最大 recommend?
I was initially checking out these

Chicco Post Natal Belt
http://www.chicco.com.my/product_info_704001-100025.htm

UpSpring Baby Shrinkx Hips Ultra Post Natal Compression Belt
http://www.diapers.com/p/upspring-baby-shrinkx-hips-ultra-post-natal-compression-belt-101442

The chicco one seems more breathable but also like very thick vs the Upspring Baby Shrinkx.
However, i havent seen the chicco one sold in SG yet and if i order from Msia shipping is ard S$15 and it might come up to S$100 for it VS the Upspring one which i saw at Spring Maternity selling for around S$80++

I'm not going for the Healthy Pregnancy Workshop as it clashes with my antenal class. Anyway all these will be taught during the classes.

Moi, I don't wear boxers out.. only to bed. I haven't bought new nighties yet so just wear boxers with t-shirt or tank top to sleep. If going out, I still wear my usual underwear... So far I can still fit.. thank God.. hehe.. I will wait till I really cannot fit then buy new undies.

Thanks fleur for ur info...for electric breast pumps..there is this mini electric plus and freestyle/pump in style, what is the difference? ppl seldom use mini ones?

usually where can get them the cheapest? during GSS? haa

Hihi mine is the mini electric plus loan to me so I just need to get spare parts. I haven't given birth yet so cannot comment myself

So far all my frenz use medela and recommend it.

Hihi mine is the mini electric plus loan to me so I just need to get spare parts. I haven't given birth yet so cannot comment myself

So far all my frenz use medela and recommend it.

Hi fleur, actually I also given the medela Breast pump mini electric Fr my fd...n I also need to get the spare parts. I m confuse if I need to purchase the medela milk bottle to fix. But at the same time I had bought the avent sterilizer pack at expo n got free 4 feeding bottles....I try to fix avent feeding bottle to medela pump cannot...so I duno hw whether shd I got to buy avent pump but waste of money!!! Anyone facing the problem can share ur solution with me..

The two more popular models of Medela are Pump in Style Advance and Freestyle. I have friends swearing by both models but all boils down to yr personal preference. You can check with the experts here when they log in on Monday.

I just bought my US set freestyle online. At 460S$, that's the cheapest around. Locally it would be around 999 normal price
And if on sale, maybe 699? It comes with local warranty.

Hey ssmilezz, which site did u get it frm? so the warranty is SG warranty or US warranty? most US sets are US warranty but u mentioned its local warranty so im confused.. thanks!

Soulsista

I bought it from Ris (My Beauty Loft). It's a US set that doesn't come with local warranty. So it you have probs, can go back to Ris and she'll arrange for u to settle the warranty.

Local sets are those whereby the warranty is given through the Singapore distributor. Typically, it'd be those sets you can get from those dept stalls and local shops.

Taka baby fair starts today n is much better then mother care fair...more stuffs n some items are cheaper for example the 3pcs bedding set at $49...bumper, comforter, fitted sheet..worth going

Hey fleurfleur!
My colleague had a friend passing down Medela Swing to her &amp; she herself bought those spare parts costing $180 already!

BubblyVal > I went for the Taka Fair today. Not bad but i thought the BabyCare Fair had more items and brands like NUK etc. The beddings sets i preferred the BabySafe brand and its cheaper at the BabyCare fair than Taka Fair.
But i got a baby cot that i liked at the Taka Fair so its worth going for that.

For the pump vs the bottles i thought you can buy 1 bottle to fit the medela pump then just pour it to any other brands storage bottles to keep in fridge OR to immediately transfer to the feeding bottle. I know it sounds troublesome but i guess whichever cost savings way works for you so this is just an idea for myself

Angela> I know the spare parts are costly that sometimes it seems worthwhile buying a new set ourselves. I am just getting the tubing, membranes and valves. The rest shld be no need to get (based on what my hubby told me)

Bubblyval: buy the medela bottles. I would store the medela bottles together in the fridge as they are flat top without nipple. Since you have free avent bottles, just transfer the milk into them and put into steamer to heat the milk up. That's what i used to do

Hi mummies... was at the taka fair this morning... long q as ever... wanted to get the avent sterilizer but oos liao... so only put down our name to reserve for the stock ... stock should be arrive on tuesday...

Graco playpen seems nice.. can be bed and later become playpen for the babe..

Btw has anyone attended the Wong Boh Boi prenatal class already? how was the class like? lots of pple? I still have not book yet.. wanted to book PEH one but full liao...next session is too late.. so tot of booking WBB one..seems like a lot of good reviews about her.. seriously i have no idea what to expect from the class??

Sian, after taking thursday and friday off for mc, i don't feel like going back to work. Super busy looking for suitable maids over the weekend and still not much progress. Some agencies don't seem to want my business. Never call me back.
Went for check up and baby is 614g at 24 weeks plus. Was doing yoga with his legs right over his head. Doc ordered me to put on 2kg by next visit, coz my weight was the same as last month. Nett gain still 1kg, although i just weighed myself today and had increased 1 more kg.

Glass: my appt is next weekend and i will be 25 weeks then. I cannot wait to see my baby weight

How much weight have you put on so far?

DS: the playpens look nice but i have a hand me down so have to save $ and not buy new one

Nattan: it was manageable when i went at 1plus but at 5plus the cashier queue was super long. So if you want to go tomorrow best to go earlier and you can have space to walk

my fren attended WBB pre natal class n she bgt a few packs of disposable wash cloth whic was recommended in the class, for me. Bt i dont nd as i alrdy hv many wash cloth pass dwn fr #1. I paiseh to reject, so i stil tak it fr her. Anyone interested to buy ovr fr me? Wil include normal postage.

Is there any may/June mumm staying in tiong bahru engaging confinement lady? I
Do to budget I can't engage on so am thinking if there is any mummy in tiong bahru can request the CL to cook more confinement food . If yes, can PM me an let me know th charges?

Fleurfleur, yeah was thinking of going late morning so as to beat the lunch crowd too ;)

Hi EA, why don't you engage a tingkat supplier what specialises in confinement food. I am thinking of doing that also in case my hubby has no time to cook for me. Isn't it very inconvenient for someone else's CL to cook extra and deliver to you?

Hi nattan
I hv tried looking but the catering are too ex for me too. I didn't mean to cause inconvenience sorry. Just thought that since the cl is cooking, maybe shewill cook a bit more but I will pay for them. Will not ask her to deliver to me of course as she has to look after the mummy and baby but will collect it myself.

Sorry I will think of alternative then. I for sure don't want to cause others inconvenience or trouble ;(

Glass
Hope you're feeling better. Its really hard getting a suitable maid. Which country do u intend to get yr new maid from?
Thankfully your baby is of average size despite yr low weight gain. Eat more k! Jia you!

Nattan

I went to taka at 10+ in the morning. Q was ok but the crowd came in Ard lunch time. You can also go to the 3rd floor baby section to get yr stuffs. Less choices but some items can also be found there with the same discounts. No q at the cashier too. It's prob less crowded on weekdays I guess.

Thanks fleurfleur

at least their price sounds better. The rest I called quoted around $1888 and above.

Sometimes get really stress up when come to $$$.

I went for my check up and found out that my baby is a bit small for 26 weeks. Getting worry, I have been eating but seem like my baby is not absorbing

I went for my recent checkup as well at 23weeks and baby is growing well, weighing in at 604g.

I was at Taka fair on Sunday,we went during opening time therefore no queue to get in and for payment. We bought the Avent 3 in 1 sterilizer + warmer bundle set with additional bottles,huggies wipe and a bath towel.Its the best bundle catered for us with a lowest price of all the bundles we have been scouting around.

We were also given a goodie bag which we were pleasantly surprised with the content, much better then the babycare fair.

All and all we spent an hour at the fair and bought what we needed, definately a must to go if you already have something in mind and have done the comparison in prices.

Just to share, Robinsons is also having a 20% sale with a 7% (gst absorbed)that ends on 11 Nov. This is also applicable for baby and nursery items.