(2012/06) Jun 2012

DS: I went to the 1st lesson of Wong BB yesterday. Since its my first pregnancy and first class so no comparison. But then I tot the class was not too bad. She was quite humourous. Went through prenatal exercise and she taught the hubby how to massage mummy, how to get off the floor, bed the proper way etc. Also went through some nutritional information.

EA
What was yr baby size? If your gyn did not mention anything, don't worry too much. Sometimes, diff babies grow at diff rates and maybe your baby will put on quickly over the next few weeks instead

My appt is this week, I'm 25 weeks too. At 20 weeks detailed scan, my girl was abt 390-400g. Let's see how much she has grown since then.

EA, you may want to try New Baby Pte Ltd (www.newbaby.com.sg) as they seem cheaper. I received their flyer during the Baby Expo and they offer 4x7 (lunch & dinner) for $1,588 with $128 discount if you order 1 month before your EDD. Their menu looks ok.

If you need to collect your food from someone else, it's also inconvenient for yourself cos how will you cope with the baby?

Did your doctor say your baby is smaller than average? Can ask him to prescribe supplements for you?

Asrias, your 1st class already taught prenatal massage and all that? Mine only taught nutrition.. haha.. I guess later we will learn the other things..

ON having 30% sale again! This time no minimum order.. So for those keen, can self order

http://oldnavy.gap.com/?tid=onembt0241&EV=OONLINEB342012&DI=91306052&CD=ONNC_OAC

Those who ordered with me previously, shipment is in US now. OTW to SIN.

i usually go via vpost. as long as i buy b4 disc USD$50, free USA shipping already.
but if u buy too little, vpost quite exp. so i try to share shipment with ppl.
as there is base charge for every shipment.

Petrina, ON also ships internationally.. is it cheaper or comparable to Vpost? Vpost is slow and sometimes screws up the shipment.

nattan: touch wood, so far i haven't got issues.. maybe ON n vpost lots orders so no problems so far.
i haven't tried their international shipping since their exchange rates r quite bad. I tried buying in SGD. I think they use about 1.45 vs our usual 1.35-1.38.

Just checked as I typed.. Their minimum shipping for 2 items in my bag is already SGD$52.. *GASP*
I think i'll stick to vpost.

<font color="aa00aa"><blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Posted on Sunday, March 04, 2012 - 8:54 am:

Hi fleur, actually I also given the medela Breast pump mini electric Fr my fd...n I also need to get the spare parts. I m confuse if I need to purchase the medela milk bottle to fix. But at the same time I had bought the avent sterilizer pack at expo n got free 4 feeding bottles....I try to fix avent feeding bottle to medela pump cannot...so I duno hw whether shd I got to buy avent pump but waste of money!!! Anyone facing the problem can share ur solution with me..<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

bubblyval,
You can buy an AVENT Conversion Kit with Medela Pumps to attach to AVENT bottles during expressing. I've used it with AMEDA pump and this has worked very well for me. You can buy this from major websites such as Amazon, Drugstore:

http://www.drugstore.com/avent-breast-pump-conversion-kit/qxp149884

http://www.amazon.com/Philips-Avent-Breast-Pump-Conversion/dp/B001CWGXE2

Locally, you can get it from major shops such as First Few Years (Paragon &amp; KKH) or online:

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BTF-14</font>

Hi all! Im a first time mummy at 26 weeks and its my pleasure to join this forum. I have been unable to function as normally as I like for the past few weeks so I have a lot of overdue homework and research to do before D-Day! It will be great to make some new friends at the same time too. Best regards, girlady

Petrina : im using Medela Mini Electric from my sis-in law hands down , is super noisy! and is not strong.. i try and is like nothing ......

i hope not to buy any breastpump ah.. ~_~

fleurfleur : thanks for the heads up!..

Girlady : hello! congrats! me too. 25weeks this week.. r u having a baby G or B?

mihoger, if u dun buy breastpump means u gonna stop bf after 4mths? cause if u work then u need it for sure. unless u SAHM..

oh.. cause if u gonna try mini electric, u might think u have no milk.. cause of the lousy suction. creating false impression.
though BFing is a personal choice, u might wanna consider the PROs n CONs of BM vs FM.
Cost, Healthwise, Convenience.

petrina : yup yup.. been reading lots when u all was discussing on this topic... hehe.. i try ystd the mini electric and i dont feel anything at all.. so will see when i give birth and BF.. not too late to buy breastpump coz can buy anywhere anytime.. keke..

Chris

So what did u end up having for lunch? I took leave today so just had some bread at home for lunch. Intending to rest at home today anyway. Typically, I will have porridge with dishes from those Cai fan stalls. quite boring hor...

Girlady

Welcome! It sure is a very bz time for all of us. How is yr preparation coming along?

mihoger,

Yeah can buy online too also nowadays.
But you'd better put some notes on where to buy online as well. In case u forgot after baby is born.

Trust me, maternity leave is not like holiday. It's like doing lots of physical work instead. Just a reminder for the first time mum.. But dunno how it feels if u have confinement lady or your parents/pil helps out though..

Groovy : yea.. already preparing for the arrival of the little one..keke.. i only got PIL helps.. thou my mum wanna hire me a confirment lady to help me..but i respect my inlaw and since im staying with them.. take it easy is the only words that always been on my mind..

wanna ask anyone using ionzier / air purifer / humdifier? i think i miss out this topic when it was been discuss many pages before..

thinking to get one , but sooooo many ._. which one is the best for babies ?

smilez > I havn't had my lunch. still don't knw wat to eat, although quite hungry alrdy. I jus had wholemeal bread, hashbrown n taiwan sausage for brkfast. So can't hv bread again. Haha. :p Bread is gd enough for u, for lunch? I will get hungry.
Cai Fan although boring, it gives a more balance meal bah n definitely more economical.

i bought honeywell in 2008. used till now no issues.
just get a brand with HEPA Filter and Pre-Filter.
Also get a brand that is easy to buy refills and a brand that has customer service centre based in singapore.

smilezz: i ate hokkien prawn mee for lunch. but find that past month i can't eat much. will get heartburn. ate 1 packet already wanna puke le..

Any one has heartburn??

Hi Petrina: Lately i've also been experiencing heartburn. Didn't have it during the 1st trimester. Only started these 2 weeks =( I also try not to eat too full. If I get hungry in the middle of the day I just much on apples or some biscuits. Its like even normal burping I feel like the food or gastric juice is coming up. Gross

Hello girlady, welcome.

Had dumpling noodles for lunch, followed by green tea with red bean ice cream, now feeling indigestion...

mihoger
I am using blueair which is under Honeywell too and Sharp. Mentioned earlier in the thread that I've 3 at home.

Petrina

Prawn mee sounds yummy! The fried or soup type? If fried, prob too oily ba...I will always take a bit of green tea after oily or Jerlak food. I have bad reflux when I brush my teeth and when I shower. Will gag and I can hear myself blech very gross. But never for vormit. Just spit abit and I'm ok. From the time I knew I was expecting till now still the same.

Chris

Nah, if brEad not sufficient but I'm lazy to go down to buy food. Maybe drink another cup of milk later. I eat subway for dinner quite often cos we don't cook at home and it's the easiest to buy on my way back. Plus hubby loves bread.

So Cai fan helps me get my protein n veg at least I can chose the dishes. Just need to get from a stall that isn't too salty n oily. Some stalls really cannot make it n the food turnover is slow. I dare not buy from those stalls.

Have been to busy to log in &amp; chat.

Anyone been to the Taka Fair yet?

Philips Steamer &amp; Blender

Anyone has this? I wonder if it's really useful. I just steamed &amp; used a Braun handheld blender to make purees for #1. But feel so lazy, &amp; thinking of ways to cut down work with high-tech gadgets. But I dun wanna buy if it's useless.

smilezz: i love soup prawn mee.. but queue too long today. so i went another stall to get the hokkien fry prawn mee.. super indigestion! after 1 packet niah..
can't even drink water
tummy feel like it's gonna explode.

I love subway too! esp the subway melt..

Jul: i saw at Taka fair the philips thing.. i think hand blender is more useful.. dun buy till ur baby is weaning. it's another yr later.. hehe

i think a blender is very useful, we can use it once bb starts solids, around 6 months old, can blend porridge with meat/fish. it's good to invest in a good one.

Petrina

When I told my hub I wanted to have prawn mee for lunch, he commented that it's unhealthy. Then pacified me by asking MIL to Cook at home when we went bk for lunch. MIL said her home cooked version more healthy. Lol. I just want to eat doesn't bother me who cook n what version.

I usually have chicken n bacon or chicken breast from Subway! I like Quinzos Sub too. Love their zesty grilled steak or honey mustard chicken!!

My tummy feels ok after lunch leh, I can stomach fruits plus maybe a fruit juice or avocado milk on top of my porridge Cai fan dishes. But dinner time is a diff story, 6 inch subway enough aldy. I don't need any supper too which I never had the habit anyway. If I eat abit heavy for dinner, my tummy wants to burst and feels so hard.

petrina

I already have the handheld blender lah. Heehee... u din see my post?

joeey

You have the Philips steamer cum blender? Is it more useful than separate steamer &amp; handheld blender?

Jul: i mean dun buy lor.. handheld is good enough le.. :p

I usually steam my veg with little water then blend together with water since the nutrients r in the water. w/o water i find the puree abit thick.

Of course steamer + blender saves time. but i think only few mths need to puree. so abit waste $. not cheap either.

smilezz: i feel like what u feel during dinner. very hard. now i just took a cup of green tea. then sayang my tummy. hope the food gets digested soon.
dunno is it no space or what. dunno y the food doesn't move downwards. kenna stuck at stomach, don't go down to intestine.

hi all!
went to taka fair ytd and today as well..
bought:
1) The Peanut Shell baby sling at $79.90
2) Huggies NB diapers at $6.85 each. bought 4 packs and get a Sister Kang's Successful Breastfeeding Book for free
3) Pigeon Sterilizer + Warmer set at $188
4) Pigeon baby wipes 3 packs at $10.50 &amp; 6 pack refills at $19.50
5) Jeep Lamb Baby Harness Buddy @ $23+
6) Head Protector @ $20+
7) Baby Gym @ $79
8) Simple baby clothings at 3 for $10
9) Medela bottles at $27+ (2 250ml in a set &amp; 3 150ml in a set)
10) Medela teats at $9.45 for a box of 2

spent total of about $570.. lack $30 to redeem the fisher-price walker-to-wagon from taka! end up there was a nice lady who saw and gave me her receipt!

used $550 worth of taka voucher so only spent $20 cash actually
but use taka voucher cannot take part in the lucky draw! but oh well..

free delivery for purchases more than $150 too!

btw any feedbacks on pigeon sterilizer??? was actually choosing between pigeon and avent. saw more pple buying the avent one, but end up my hubby was the one who chose pigeon coz he say the brand is around longer, shld be safer. hahaha

I had fried black carrot cake, cup corn and gong cha for lunch. Tummy feels lik exploding..haha. :p

Jul > I hv the steamer cum blender. A breeze to use n definitely cut dwn alot of washing n time, although it is nt cheap. Nvr regret buyin. I m still using it nw for #1, although nt as often anymore.

I recv an email fr Pupsik n saw this http://www.pupsikstudio.com/breastfeeding-milk-freezing-tray.html , looks really convenient to use leh. Bt quite ex leh. Anyone using this? N I m abit apprehensive tat it cant b sterilised.

cindy > For striliser I feel tat pigeon n avent r both safe bah. But I m using avent, jus cos it looks nicer to mi..Haha. Used it for more than a yr nw n still working fine. My parents using pigeon for many yrs liao n still ok. Bt I think pigeon is slightly bigger, so u cn sterilise more at a go.

used pigeon rapid for #1. after 6mths changed to using stove boiling water in a pot..
cause after opening the sterilizer, the environment is no longer sterile.
so i end up sterilizing way too often.
found tat using pot is faster n water is reusable. save $, time.

Petrina, Chris

Hehe I think I'm leaning towards buying. I dunno why, but I can't seem to steam things properly! I can steam carrots for 30min also not soft! Normally people tell me pear just steam for 5min, but I need to steam for 15min! Think my technique or pot got prob
So I was hoping to cut down the time for puree prep by having a new gadget lor.

What's more, by then I have to handle 2 kids, dunno CMI or not. Dun wanna spend 1h making puree leh!

Cindy

I prefer Pigeon coz it's bigger. U never kno when u may wanna sterilise more bottles. And you may be including pump parts as well. If the steriliser is too small, it's quite irritating when you're rushing for time.

Chris

I never used milktrays for #1. Also feel that it's "not clean" haha. Maybe if the milk is to be used within 3 mths, it's ok. But I was storing longer than that, so I felt that sterilised milknags can keep the milk for longer. Maybe I'm just paranoid lah, but the removal of milk sticks, transferring to another container/Ziplock, then transferring it again to a bottle sounds unhygienic haha

Jul: if u like it then buy! hehe
true abt 2 kiddos abit more time needed. I intend to puree every night b4 bed and store in fridge so MIL will just heat up and feed #2 during the day.
save the quarrels abt salt/non salt, taste etc...

jul,
i don't have the phillips steamer cum blender, only a tefal blender. Last time, i'll cook the porridge, blend, then cook for a while again. For carrots/pumpkin, i just boil, then mash with a fork. For apples/pears, i use a grater. If it saves you time, can consider investing.

petrina

Ah.. I wonder if your MIL will add soy sauce when she's feeding haha

If it were my MIL, she'll raise hell over giving the kid overnight/frozen/'cold' food. Yawn...

Actually I intend to puree 4 days' supply at one time &amp; freeze the rest. If too tired, I'll do 8 days' supply.