(2012/06) Jun 2012

Chris

CMI = cannot make it

Chris

Wah, your lunch really solid man! Haha. I like carrot cake too but realized that if I eat anything with strong tasting garlic, onions inside, my whole mouth just feels horrid. There isn't a Gong Cha at my office place, the next alternative if I have bubble tea urges is to satisfy them at Eskimo @ Golden Shoe.

Cindy

I was at Taka yest too. Spent Ard 600 too and managed to redeem the toy. Bought mostly Pigeon stuffs, Fisherprice items, etc

Jul

Maybe it's the pot you steam your food! Is the lid closed properly? Cannot be taking so Long or maybe the size
Of your food is too huge?

Sterilizer

I bought NUK at the babycare fair last week. Also bought the bottles and teats etc. Got my cot, tons of Babysafe items there. Spent a bomb and poor hubby had to make two trips to pack the items into the car.

Regretted not getting the Tollyjoy wet wipes and goon last week but really cannot carry already! If there are any good offers for diapers, pls let me know. I haven't bought any yet.

smilezz

The lid is quite tight & heavy - glass type. Using WMF pot, so can't be that bad right? Maybe my bowl is too high, so the steam cannot get in? I also cut the food until very small, almost 1cm cube liao. I'm just lousy at cooking lah haha

I spent $700+ at the Taka Fair lor! And this is my #2 *faint* Still wanna go back & buy car seat & maybe the steamer-blender. Oops!

i am in week 27, my baby suppose to be 1 kg but mine only 800g. My gynae mentioned that the baby is smaller than average

EA

Actually, the weight is based on extimation by head, tummy & thigh size, something like that. it can be +/-10%. Did your gynae say anything is wrong? If not, no big issue, I feel. But if u really r very concerned, try eating all the food like durian, beef etc, drink maternal milk. That'll make your baby big. But dun overdo it hor, later sumo baby hahaha

Ah.. the feet are so sore. Think I shall go for foot massage after work. Must be the walking ard, shopping yesterday!

Jul

Hehe so your pot seems ok leh. And you aldy cut your food into such small pieces, guess even steaming is a technique that requires a bit of cooking skills. Lol. Unless your WMF pot too shallow?

I steam using my rice cooker at times or else using those lighter pots (zebra brand) that come with the metal hole thingy tray meant for steaming. Works okay. By right, bowl is ok for
Steaming too.

EA

Is it cos you dont have any appetite?

<font color="aa00aa">christine77sg,
I bought a set of the Milk Tray from Mumsfairy during BabyCare Festival and intend to try it when the time comes.

ryan_mummy,
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Posted on Monday, March 05, 2012 - 5:00 pm:

used pigeon rapid for #1. after 6mths changed to using stove boiling water in a pot..
cause after opening the sterilizer, the environment is no longer sterile.
so i end up sterilizing way too often.
found tat using pot is faster n water is reusable. save $, time.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Actually, when I attended the ParentCraft 6 years ago, the trainer said that after you removed the stuff from the Steriliser, just cap all bottles and the content will remain sterilised for several hours. So, I usually sterilised my pump accessories at night, put in Ziplog bag, then next morning, put inside my bag and bring to office. No problem for 18 months when I did that.</font>

<font color="ff0000"><blink>For those who are attending ParentCraft now or soon, please ask the trainer and let us know ya. TIA!</blink></font>

Gynae told me not to worry but I cannot help it

Have been drinking milk, both fresh milk and maternal milk. But like smilezz mention, I do not have much appetite. Still have my three meals but portioning no difference from before pregancy.

if we can use the steamer/blender everyday for 6 months or more, it's worth the money liao.

EA, eat more sweet stuff or go for buffets, bb will grow bigger

i have 2 strollers and 1 double pram and i'm thinking of getting a 3rd stroller... oops

Just came back from Taka baby fair.. surprisingly crowded. Got the stuff I wanted for less than $100 so quite pleased
Bought 1 set of cot bedding, Playtex storage system and drop-ins, and 2 hooded towels. Furthermore, got a free Playtex bottle.

EA, don't stress too much over the weight. You'll put on more in the 3rd trimester.

Moi, i did tat.. But got smell. I dun like. Then i rinsed the insides so end up not sterile liao! Haha..

Jul: i dun think abt it. I hope MIL respect me bah.. At most add BM lor.. Sweet also.

Steaming
Recommended not to use stainless steel pots as it takes a long time for the pot to heat up, therefore steaming takes longer than usual.
I like to cook soup in stainless steel pots as it retains heat well. But i need to cook for an extra hour as compared to using normal metal pots.

Fleur: tried tat..but exp to use for long term., hehe

great! lucky hubby chose the right one.. hehe.
so many things to buy.. going to MS kiddy palace in a while to get a play pen.. my colleagues all keep telling me play pen is better than baby cots! cheaper also. any one here using play pen as well??

EA

Yeah, some ppl swear by durians to pile on the weight. Provided you like durian in the first place. Else just eat normally, it's good that you're taking milk. It helps and provides you with good nutrition.
not to worry !

Joeey

Why do u think u need a third pram? The first two worn out aldy?

Chris

No la, I'm working at raffles place!
golden shoe is a popular food centre in town.

Wow mums.. U all are tempting me to go to the taka fair. But I think I got most of what I need.

ATM, considering to get a air purify/humifier a not. Some advised no need to spend that kind of money. Singapore is humid enough, just leave a cup/bowl of water in the room and maybe just open the window slightly.

No need to give baby such a "clean" envoiroment, and they would grow up to be stronger. Less prone to germs and such.

What do you think mommies? Your comments please

Thanks for the warm welcome! =)

I went to Taka last night and bought Medela Freestyle Bundle, Aprica Karoon Plus &amp; other misc. Was truly overwhelmed by the crowd &amp; stuff that I left drained, exhausted... Now struggling with flu.

Is there a checklist for me to see what I should get? I only know to get the breast pump &amp; the pram as my friend was telling me to get these items.

TIA! =)))

Jolene

Personally I am using the air purifier because I have two small breed dogs at home. If not, it may not be necessary cos a little dirt or dust never harm us when we were younger right?

Girlady

Take care! Must be tired after all the shopping.

I do not have a list on hand but I think you can google
And find a list online. It serves as a useful reference. But not everything is a must.

Jolene, an air purifier is different from a humidifier. Depends on what function you want. I think humidifier is not necessary unless you have very dry skin, but an air purifier is good if you have pets and times when there's Indonesia forest fires :p It's not just for killing germs but for cleaner air in general.

Girlady, I have a checklist from my boss but it's a bit messy. You can actually get a checklist from the Mothercare website or their store.

Asrias
Thanks! In the end, i din get to book WBB's class cos too late and too near my delivery date.. her next session ends on 29 May.. (-_-)'''... so i just book any session that ends in April.. my class will start next wed at TMC... hopefully i will not regret about it...

girlady
I also tempted to get the karoon plus cos it is so light compared to the others..but the price $599 quite steep leh.. cant put my heart to buy it...

DS, I was also considering the Karoon at the BabyCare Fair. It was on sale at $439 then. But after testing it out, I feel that it's not very stable and feels a bit flimsy. It's good for travelling, but doesn't seem sturdy enough for everyday use.

Nattan, $439 is e 3.6kg one.. quite flimsy.. But the 4.6kg one looks ok and got full canopy but just exp lor.. Combi urban walker looks good.. I think $300++ but 6.5kg I think.. Hard to decide..

DS, oic.. mistaken then. Yeah, Aprica is quite expensive and I find their padding quite light. I'm thinking of getting a Capella Classic Premium which is around 5.5kg.

Minnzo, why is it better to handwash baby's clothes? Why not just put into a laundry bag and machine wash?

Thanks dears! I shall just google for the list.

DS: Ya, its steep for our budget too. But hubby and I feel that the full canopy is very important as it could shield baby from the full force of the hot afternoon sun. Plus, it is compact enough for us to travel on public transport. You might want to refer to the ad here for more info: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBc5e9Pavww

Nathan, my friends are telling me that bb's skin is sensitive and can't mix with adults use detergent. Then I asked if i can machine wash but use bb detergent instead? They dont think it is a good idea as the washing machine will have residual detergent too. So both mummies actually hand wash their bb clothes. I dont have a maid at home and can be quite tedious if i have to hand wash.

minnzo, I've not heard of such a thing, but if you're worried, you can use the machine to rinse a few cycles with just water before using it to wash baby's clothing. I also don't have a maid and can't imagine handwashing everything! Besides, last time when we were babies, our parents also never wash our clothes with special detergent :p

Re: air purifier

I bought the air purifier from diamond during the baby festival at expo. Is $288 on the fair. Is similar to Philips purifier.
If anyone wanna get one, they will be at the next kids Asia fair at expo. If not normal price is 488.
I going to buy 1more.

I use baby detergent for baby clothes all e way till my boy turned 3yo then i start to mix with adult clothes.
But i only use washing machine. Nvr handwash. So tedious.. But i guess its up to individual since there r moms who actually handwash..

Stroller Canopy
I bought kiddopotamus full canopy to fix on my maclaren. 100% UV protection and cooling and dark, good for sleeping use or sun use.

Baby Detergent

Is it better to use the liquid type or the powder type? I actually already bought kodomo. Usually will head to Chinatown Ocean to replenish my toiletries so the last round I went, I saw the Kodomo detergent and softener so I got it too.

Ssmilezz, I read that powders usually contain fillers which may not dissolve readily in water, so may create residues on clothes that may cause skin sensitivity, whereas liquids are already pre-dissolved in water, so will wash off more easily than powder. Anyway, if you want to be really safe, get biodegradable detergents which are safer for the environment also. For me, I usually use half the prescribed amount of liquid for my laundry. I probably will do that too for my baby's clothes.

playpen as bb bed
i m usin tat for my #1. No regrets. Cheaper m function jus as well n no nd expensive bumpers.
jus tat it cant b converted to toddler bed.

Washing bb clothes
i hv a separate washing machine jus to wash bb clothes. Durin confinement cn ask CL to hand wash. Aftr tat jus hand wash til thy r 3 mths old thn it shld b ok liao.

Powder not good. Tried one box last time.. Always cant fully dissolve. Leave residue on clothes.
I use tolly joy or kodomo. Whichever that is on sale.. Hehe

playpen
i have a graco playpen at mum's place as well as another one at home(can't rem wad's the brand).. i also bot an ikea cot previously.. the cot lasted well for abt 6 months.. but got it's wooden frame and bb keep moving ard, even w e padding that i laid along the boundaries, he somestimes will still hit the wooden frame.. not like loud knocks, but small bumps.. heart pain when he did it.. so i would act advise for playpens as beds.. some playpens are adjustable, they give you an elevated board so that you do not have to bend low.. i used the board all the way till i feel he's at risk of falling cos of the elevatedness.. then i remove it and he has since been using it even till now he's 2 yo... now, the playpen is his bed =)

bb clothes
my helper hand washes his clothes.. one thing is also i think hand wash more lasting? i din buy too many of those home wear clothes.. bought tonnes of outdoor wear tho! so home wear clothes needed abit more lasting, also planning to just give handmedowns to #2.. haha! using powder for it.. recommended by frenz

WASHING BB CLOTHES

I use the same washing machine but with pigeon powder detergent. I don't think that small amt of adult residue makes a lot of diff since the bb detergent will wash it away.

But pigeon powder works well. I noticed that it rinses away much better than adult detergent. If u dip your hand in both powders n add some water, u'll be able to feel it.

On the contrary i find that liquid detergent leaves a residue. I see slippery film on my dispenser when i use liquid detergent but not when i use powder.

Oh yeah. I tried tollyjoy powder before. Really leaves residue compared to pigeon. Maybe i din have probs coz i use pigeon?

And those intending to ask maid to handwash bb clothes. Beware! Found that my ex maid used a lot of water n soap n time but the clothes from machine wash was cleaner! So i told her to stop handwashing!

PLAYPEN

I have hand me down cot n playpen from SIL. I personally prefer the cot. Maybe my boy isvery big n chor lor. But the playpen felt like it was gog to collapse! Besides i have to bend too low to put him in or takehim out. Back break ah! Besides cot can be converted to todd bed. Playpen's a bit too small for me.

PETRINA

Can i ask how u fix the kiddopotamus sunshade? I tried fixing it to my peg perego but it just ends up flapping ard! Dunno what i did wrong? Oh if u got photo best lol

great! anyway play pen so much cheaper than baby cot.. went to kiddy palace at MS ytd.. but not many choices leh. the prices is like $99~$119 only. anyway hubby looking at Nuna.. looks very sturdy unlike those kiddish one very plastic-y. but the price too high and no functions one.

where is the biggest kiddy palace ah? wanna look at the real thing before deciding which one to buy..

Hi all, I am just back from holidays in Sydney
When is the Taka Fair ending? My hubby flew to China again so need to know when it ends to see if I can wait for him to go together. Thanks!

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Washing baby clothes
Same as jul_04, I don't use liquid detergent as it actually leave a layer of residue on the washing machine and clothes.

During confinement, my CL washed his clothes in the washing machine using Pureen H-A-D Powder Detergent. When he's older, we mix his clothes together with ours and wash as normal, using Pureen H-A-D powder detergent. BTW, this type of detergent is not available locally anymore. Now Pureen is selling only A-B-D type which is not cloth-diaper friendly.

I've bought the Country Save Detergent from Bumwear during BabyCare Festival and use it for #2.

** We can add some vinegar during the final rinse to get rid of excess detergent.

Re: Playpen
I bought this but my son refused to z on it 2 - 3 months after birth. Mine has 2 heights, so I do not need to bend down low when he was younger.
<u>Cons of Playpen</u>: kids outgrow playpen faster than cots as playpens are smaller and cannot withstand heavier kids.</font>

Washing clothes
I used biodegradable powder detergent to wash cloth diapers and baby clothings, I only put half of the recommended amount into the washing machine. Never used liquid detergent before so cant comment on it.

Playpen and Cot
I have both of them. Playpen in the living room while cot in the bedroom. I stopped using playpen when my boy is about 6mths old, he refused to sleep in it so change to mattress on floor during nap time. He has been sleeping in his cot until 2 plus recently before I bought him a toddler bed to upgrade and letting him get used to it way before baby sleep on his cot. I was worried he will feel jealous/unhappy that baby 'snatch' his cot, haha.

Jen,
the taka fair will end on 25 Mar, still got some time.

I use the play pen at my Nanny's place and the cot at home. My kids sleep in the play pen till about 6 months old, when they start to flip and attempt to climb out, my Nanny will transfer them to sleep on the mattress on the floor. I still use the cot at home. Nap time, i put them in the cot, night time, normally co-sleep with me.

Last time, when i stayed with inlaws, i have a separate washing machine for bb clothes. Now, my house only has 1 washing machine, i'll select extra rinse for bb clothes.

Re detergent, actually baby detergents are very mild, normal rinsing will wash it out. For more effective washing, it's not about adding more detergent. It's better to soak the clothes before washing than to add more detergent unless there's serious stains. As for handwashing, my machine has a handwash mode with different temp, so I can use that, or just put everything into a laundry bag and wash as per normal.

Re playpen or cot, I agree that a playpen is not so stable and may not be able to support a toddler's weight after some time. There's also less support. They are cheaper and can be used for travel or put at parents'/IL's place but I don't think suitable for long term use as a sleep cot. As I have cats at home, I probably will not put the play pen outside in the living room cos the cats will end up sleeping inside it! :p Most likely just put a mattress on the bedroom floor for baby to play on.