Felicia
-------
We bought a weekend car b4 my #1 was born cos we thought we could take public transport to work and only need to drive during the weekends. I think it saves a lot of money. The tax per year is much cheaper too. We were very lucky. We bought the car during the economic crisis so was cheap and less $17,000 (cos it's weekend car) plus we kana the $2 COE...Wah, we only paid $28,000 for Toyota Altis! We din have $ to buy a car lah so we borrowed from our uncle and our MIL and paid all the monthly installment in 1 year. Then after that we sold our EC and downgrade to 5 room flat, we used our profit to return the money to them lor. Recently, we changed our car to normal plate because we are switching our girl to another childcare next year and need to drive her to sch, so we changed lor. I still don't drive to work, i squeeze in the MRT (SIANz) and my hubby now drives to work occasionally a week, not everyday cos ah, ERP very chor ah! So every mth, we just pay the gas,ERP, maintenance fees, carpark fees only leh since we finished paying our car. For ur case, to park in CBD and ERP will cost a lot a mth, i think you should consider weekend car. Plus cars are so ex now!
Felicia and Michi
-----------------
Really, you think $400 is a lot? My hubby and i give $300 and I give $100. We thought we are so giam and give so little only. But my MIL take the $ and give my maid to buy groceries. We also use our money to buy groceries lah. I never give my parents money cos i think they are well off than me. However, my housewife mother still expects her children to give her money, it's just that my useless brothers nv give her money and i can't afford to give her money. Aiyoh, i feel so bad. I really wanted to give her allowance but i'm already so tight, how to give? My brothers should give right? Hai, don't talk about them. My dad just expects dinner treats from us can already as he understands.
Maid
-----
My maid buys her own shampoo, soap and sanitary pad. Seriously, i dunno where she gets her money since she's still within her 1st 6 mths with us, haven't receive mthly salary yet.
Moi
---
Ya i agree with Felicia. Boy very obvious, can see his little bird there easily whereas girls are more shy. haha! I only knew my daughter's gender when i was 5 mth preg ah!