(2012/06) Jun 2012

My folic acid finished a few days ago.. should I go and get more from my GP (he gave them to me after the pregnancy test) or just take the multivitamins my gynae gave me? I'm now in week 12..

Groovy, you can go for a short walk (pretend to go to the toilet) and take in some fresh air.. helps to prevent sleepiness..

Zo
5cm sounds alright, actually to calculate hor, just use 5cm+ 6.5(that's the constant used for calculation) = 11.5 so you supposed to be 11 weeks 5 days based on baby's length.. So if based on your due date your baby is 11 weeks, then yup baby is quite tall then..

nattan
i am thinking if to go for my pre-natal yoga at trueyoga, since i got life time membership there anyway.. but it's either on weekend which i sure wont be able to go due to #1, or friday during lunch, but will be a little bit rush.. can't decide yet..

i do have a dvd which i used for my previous pregnancy.. called fitmama, but now very lazy after work go to sleep by 10pm liao, don't really have time to exercise leh.. should seriously consider doing it, even just for 20 mins a day..

5 words you need to understand from baby
watch this mummies, how i wish i've learned this 2 years ago.. haha hopefully will be helpful to you all when comes to understand your babies' crying pattern..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1fsofmvz4g

Juz got back fr d Dr's.. Failed my oscar test.. D ultrasound findings r well within healthy range but my blood test brought my ratio to 1:149
Chances of downsyndrome r still less than 1%.. To confirm d Dr suggest goin for d amniotic fluid test which has a 0.5% chance of miscarrying.. I feel lost.

yup Sel no need to worry, a few mummies from May thread also go for it, and based on experience, for those of my friends went for it, result turn out to be good.. they should have express service to get result faster although need to pay more.. trust that your baby is all good and healthy!

I've the below preloved baby cot for sale at SGD190.
Bedbase can be adjusted 4 levels, 1 side can be lowered down.
Condition: 8/10
Self collect from my place at Toa Payoh.
Pls PM me if u're keen.
6454286.jpg
6454287.jpg
6454288.jpg

Nattan, you can buy from NTUC unity pharmacy. they sell from DHA. I'm taking tat sinc day 1.

Sel, should be fine. chance of MS is really low for Amino. I did that for my #2. He is 1: 129 when I do my CVS sampling. no worry, relax.

I went to see to do my OSCAR today. hope everything is fine. heard bb heart beat and I relax so much.

Went for Hospital tour and viewed the birth room, 4 bedded, 2 bedded and suite. I think I will go for std single bed or premium single bed. So much newer and quiet.

Thanks May... will go and check it out. But you think it's necessary to take it for another week? I mean.. I thought can stop taking folic acid after week 13?

I'm also going for single-bedder room. Don't like the idea of sharing a room and the other person's family come into the room to visit.. no peace :p

May, how much of d test can be paid using medisave? Do u recall? My test is scheduled on d 27th.. I nd some distraction till then.. When d Dr asked us if we plan to abort d baby if it's down syndrome, we've got no answer. But i really don't want to discuss it w my hubby cos it'll juz makes me more worried..

felicia
thanks for sharing the video, "neh" means hungry, "eh" means burp, "orh" means sleep, "heh" means discomfort, "eair" means lower gas. all mummies should watch !

hi all, our quarrel start cuz he insisted the sis had to move in and stayed with us. the sis is currently staying wif his elder bro family however the elder bro and wife cant get along with her and they sold the house n ask her to move out. the sis is a very difficult person to get along according to my hubby, the sis complained about the sis in law not keep house clean this and that. i explained to hubby that we cant take her in the new house as we only got 2 rooms in the new house, and it would b tough when i give birth, confinement lady would need a room and it would cause inconvenience, why not asked her to rent a room outside and her workplace is also very faraway from our house. but he wont listen to me and insisted. i was angry and we had several qaurrels on these lately and he say divorce few times. i was fedup when he say divorce again while he was driving therefore i took his hp and wallet. he was so angry and start slappin mi several times hard.

i cant seek help from my in-laws as they are staying in malaysia and i m not close to them. malaysians have very strong family bonds n his family oso feel that we should divorce when we had quarrels previously.

my husband is someone who cant handle stress at all.. when got stress he will hide himself or say divorce easily or go back to his parents or his siblings. he say he wan no quarrels at all cuz he felt very stressed when quarrels happen and he does not know how to handle, maybe bcuz he do not have any gf experience before and i am his first.

oh, i realised this morning i got phlergm which got a little bit blood streaks kind and my nose mucus got little bit blood too. i noticed my nose mucus got hardened blood mucus too abt 1-2 days ago already. izzit too heaty or something else? do u all think i need to see a doc?

Jenny, maybe you are too heaty.. i used to have nose bleed too.. but it's ok after awhile. Don't worry too much.

I will be going for my Oscar test this Sat. Worried also. But still got to do it. Anyway what's the acceptable ratio for the blood tests? Thanks!

Hi there, I am new here. Just did my oscar scan. Moderate risk of a DS baby
. Really worried CSV scan only next Wednesday and I have to wait for another week for the results.

Jenny,
Sorry to hear abt what's happening. Really consider reconciliation n counseling before going down the path of divorce. Marriage is a lifetime commitment. And now with a baby on the way, have to consider the little one as well. Do get help for AWARE or other groups and see how they can help at this time.

SEL,
Do stay positive. Look on the bright side. Like u say, it's only less than 1%. Go for further testing. Heard of many cases where babies are really fine n normal.

Petrina,
Wow! You really champion! 28 flights of stairs- 14 storeys? How u managed? The max I've climbed after being pregnant is 3 storeys at multi-storey carpark. That's if I need to drive without hubby. Other than that, hubby usually wants me to wait for him at 1st level.
My hubby opposite of urs. He hates Orchard n crowds. Going there like want his life :p If I really lucky, then can get him to accompany me. But end of the day, he'll always say 'I'm never coming to Orchard again!'

Jenny: check with the sister directly. see if she is ok with staying with CL in 1 room. obviously the CL needs 1 room cause she is doing baby stuff. if the sister do not mind sharing room, just be gracious and accept the issue.
ur hb will not share the room with CL. so if ur house only 2 rooms, that is the only way.
after CL move out, things shld be better.
unless u both have decided to put baby in the available room then go ahead and do it.

unless ur hb is willing to put baby in your bedroom, then i think it is ok.

most men will not want the baby to be in same room as it affects their sleep. not possible for baby to sleep in living room. so only way, the other room.

so if his sister can take the baby cries, lights on and off, the constant noise from diaper changing and baby coaxing, i don't see any problem in allowing her to stay in your house.

i am staying with BIL. he usually keeps to his room as he knows who is the authority in the house. we provide room and internet and food and drinks. it is good enough. we do not take $ from BIL.
some items we dun usually use, we'll put in his room since he is a bachelor. of course space is respected.

so when mutual understanding is conformed, i think you shld make light of this matter and not let it spoil your r/s with your hb.

i'm sure ur hb treasure the baby more than his sister. if there is any conflicts in future, baby's rights should come first.

after ur SIL move in, you shld make your stand, not fierce confrontation but gradual actions to show that you are the mistress of the house.
if she complain house dirty, offer to get a maid under her pymt. explain that you have a baby to take care of, unlike her. baby is more impt than overall cleaniness of the adult living space.

many ways to play around. if you choose your words wisely, you'll find that she might just move out on her own accord after baby is born due to her inability to rest well.

one reason y she might be thick skinned to bunk in is $$. she might have no $ to rent a place. or she might want to have a comfortable *Flat* to live in, not just a room. so be sure to make your territory right from the start.
emphasizing, no aggression. just plain using words can make a person crumble. learn to be subtle yet sarcastic. this way you will not get into conflict with your hb. and your SIL will learn to respect your space.

jenny: Does he say break off often when the both of u have not get married yet? I think you also have to let him know as a couple, watever thing should be discuss openly together and not hide the problem at one corner, it will cause the prob to snowball at the end of the day.

Marriage is about compromising.

hehe, sunnie: i also keep telling hb that sentence..
but end up he always managed to coax me to Orchard. using our boy as excuse lor..

Glass, so I can stop taking the folic acid already la.. Ok.. now I just have to remember to eat the multi-vitamin everyday. I'm very bad at remembering such things.. don't have the habit of eating it everyday.

Jolene, welcome! Has your gynae talked to you about the amniotic fluid test?

<font color="aa00aa">higgledy82 &amp; asrias,
Which brand of fish oil does your gynae prescribe for you?

My gynae only told me to take multi-vit from 14 weeks. For Calcium supplement, she said as long as I drink 2 glasses of milk daily, I'll not need it. She didn't tell me to take fish oil but to eat 2 portions of deep water fish (tuna, salmon, cod, mackerel, sardine) weekly.

nattan,
Does your multi-vit contain folic?

felicia_cao
Based on your formula, my baby's CRL at 12 weeks is 6cm. So I should be 6cm + 6.5 (constant) = 13w5d right? My ultrasonic scan picture shows 12w4d 74.3%. Hmm ... wonder what that percent mean. So, the formula is not quite accurate in this case.

<u>Risk of Down Syndrome</u>
Taken from a brochure from the clinic
<table border=1><tr><td>Mother's Age weeks</TD><TD>Risk of Down Syndrome @ 12 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>20 yrs</TD><TD>1 in 1068 </TD></TR><TR><TD>25 yrs</TD><TD>1 in 946 </TD></TR><TR><TD>30 yrs</TD><TD>1 in 626 </TD></TR><TR><TD>35 yrs</TD><TD>1 in 249 </TD></TR><TR><TD>40 yrs</TD><TD>1 in 68</td></tr></table>

<u>Baby Products Warehouse Sale</u>
Up to 80% OFF Warehouse Sale Baby Products, 16-17 Dec, 10-8pm, Cash/Nets at 514 CHAI CHEE LANE #06-06. www.BabyStudio.com.sg.</font>

petrina, my hubby does not wan mi get involved on the sis movin in. he say he will settle with the sis himself so all along only him talk to the sis and the sis had tell him she will be moving in to the house and not ask so left him wif no choice. the sis is working and i heard from my hubby her pay is gd. something like 4.5k to 5k a mth. she had bought a studio apt herself but not yet top. oni top in 2015 something which means she will stay wif us for at least 3-4yrs!

michi, he dun say break up at all when we dated.. he say i changed after we got married. i told him he cannot hide himself up but he is always like that.. end up when i cant get him at all, i resort to contacting his frens and ask his frens to ask him call mi and the whole world will know we quarrel and then he get fedup more.

Jenny, regarding the part where your SIL want to move in, just need to tell her your house rules. Later in the end she might not want to move in anymore.

My elder sis last time is being so difficult for me when I want to move in to her newly bought flat. She said must really keep the house clean, cannot anyway give my hubby (that time my boyfriend) the house key just to buy food. (I used to do that, stay at home, ask BF to buy food so I don't need to walk outside), asking me how long I plan to stay, cannot do this, cannot do that. In the end she also mad at me for just a simple reason: I use her new address to buy tickets!! She said I'm not moving in yet but dare to buy tickets under her new address liao! Very ridiculous reason. I use her new address becoz the day on the flight is when we are already stay in the new house! That time some more bought cheap tickets to go Bangkok for family trip and I bought for her too!!!! In the end we really quarrel so badly that time and I cancel stay in her house, also didn't use the ticket at all (she also didn't go). Waste $$ &amp; time.

I think if your SIL is an understanding persons, she might get a HINT like me, I think my sis doesn't really want me to stay in her house because maybe BIL doesn't like the idea.

I'd rather lose money compare to lose my pride &amp; freedom &amp; get her to be mad at me all the time becoz she's a clean freak.

moi
yours is 6cm + 6.5 = 12.5 that's about 12 weeks 5 days, not 13w5d, that's the formula given by my gynae actually...

not so sure about the % though..

Nattan: just take your medicine at a fixed timing. For me, i'll take my pills every morning after breakfast, so i won't forget.

Jenny: last time my cl and i shared a room, my hubby slept in the living room when we were living at my parents' place. So you can get your hubby to sleep in the living room if his precious sister really wants to live with you and refuses to share room with cl. Perhaps your sil can even help out a little with your baby in the future. My bil will play with my son sometimes to give my in laws a break, as he often works from home.

Get your hubby to make sil to pay rent, or to pay for part time help to keep the house clean. Hope she isn't expecting free lodging. I think m'sians can be quite big on family togetherness, and that is why your hubby wants to take her in. Have you spent time with this sil before? Maybe she and you can get along ok. Or tell your hubby you will give in, but he must be ready to tell her to move out if relations between the two of you get bad.

Jenny, I think since your hubby already agreed to the sister moving in, it's quite paiseh for him to tell her otherwise now. Besides, it will only cause more friction and unhappiness between you and the in-laws. You can let her stay and see if she can tahan all the things that happen with caring for the baby. Maybe in less than 1 week, she will go and rent a room outside!

But personally, I cannot accept a man using violence against a helpless woman. Even if people say for the baby's sake, stay with the father, the truth is, many single parents still can raise great kids. If a woman is financially independent, it's not an issue to raise the kid herself. Cos who knows if the violent streak in the husband may one day translate to violence against his own children?

Jenny: sounds like you do need to release your grip a little on your husband. His pride would not allow you to tell his whole friebds that you have quarrelled. Why do you have his friends' numbers in the first place? If my husband ever did that to me, i would be really mad. There isn't any freedom at all. There should be mutual understanding.

yup2 get her to pay rent too!
Last time my sis also said I need to pay the whole utility bills (PUB + Internet) if I get to stay in her house. That'll be around $200 per month already.
That time in the end I rent a room about $550, so it's really not worth the $$ if I really insist staying in her house.

Sunnie Gal, looks like my baby is longer than average... was 2.5cm at week 9 (last appt). See if the baby is around 7.4cm at next week's appt..

jenny: seems to me ur hb is afraid of his sister.
then just go with the flow. dun argue with ur hb.
like what Groovy said, ur SIL shld take the hint.
otherwise just make sure after she arrive u maintain your stand in the house. ultimately do not confront ur hb or complain. some men cannot take stress from women. sometimes my MIL n I quarrel, my hb also scold both of us. cause we give him stress.

so just act or be gracious and let it be. for the sake of your marriage n baby.

<font color="aa00aa">felicia_cao,
Alamak! I've made a simple calculation error. Thanks for the correction.

People said that a pregnant woman will be dumb for 3 years. Is there any truth in it?</font>

after listening to u all, i seemed to be very overbearing to my hubby hor..

glass...my husband and i used to work in the same company so i know his colleagues n colleagues wife when we go out together.. his colleague wife will call my husband oso when the wife cant get the husband..

moi,

Hahaha, the truth is: if you are lacking of sleep, you'll feel dumb. REALLY!
My #1 sleep overnight but last time I always wake up at 12 to pump, sleep at 1, wake up again at 7. Everyday sleep like 6 hours and I feel really dumb becoz of lack of sleep.

BUT! Those can't compare to during preggy time leh!!! Preggy woman really like losing 1/2 of brain like that.
I study study new things also nothing gets into my brain. Huhu.. I used to be able to learn faster.

Dunno how to boost my brain this time. Huhuhu. Easily forgotten about anything, cannot really study new things, some more getting sleepy easily.

Groovy, maybe the fish oil will help.. DHA suppose to help with brain development. Exercising also helps to get more oxygen to your brain so you don't feel so tired and lethargic. I'm also becoming a bit absent-minded and forgetful. Maybe cos I'm more sleepy than usual (despite sleeping a lot!).

<font color="aa00aa">The problem with me is, I can't sleep or sleep but will be awake several times at night. This happens even before being pregnant. Think I'm always in "standby" mode in case #1 wakes during his sleep. I simply don't know how to relax myself!</font>

Hi jolene and other newcomers, welcome to the thread.

Jolene: some mummies here are also worried about their results. Try not to worry too much while waiting for your results.

Felicia and petrina: i called up one school that is a few bus stops away and i'll bring my son over tomorrow morning to take a look. Fits my criteria for just 2 hours of lessons daily. Some good reviews online. There is a waiting list, prob only available in march, but now must get my hubby to talk to his father to see whether he is willing to bring my son to school. He had wanted to send him to a church kindy a few blocks away, but must wait, and they are not montessori.

Thanks Adeline.. very useful video!

Moi, try having a relaxing warm bath before bed, meditating, listening to soothing music or doing breathing exercise before sleeping. For me, I am quite a heavy sleeper, until I think if the house is on fire, I probably won't know! My hubby is the light sleeper, so I've assigned him the night shift next time when the baby arrives.. kekeke...

haha... Nattan, u very cartoon leh.. i think motherly instinct will keep u on standby mode till a certain age..
for me it was till about 2.5yo. my hb said after that age, seems that my son sick i can't do night duty cause i zzz so deeply..
but before that, i can totally dun zzz whenever my boy is sick. or during infancy, whenever he toss n turn, i'll wake up n make sure he's ok. cause he zzz on tummy from birth. so ppl tell me abt SIDS. plus we co sleep on same bed. but he has good neck strength. ard 3mths he already can turn his head around to adjust himself.

glass: good to hear. if u can get a Montessori school, ur child shld benefit better since he is progressing faster than others. rather than putting him in mainstream and delay his progress.

Moi: Think mine is called Natal Care Tri-plus . Just realised it doesnt say fish oil. But i supposed omega 3 fatty acid same purpose as fish oil? hahaha