(2012/06) Jun 2012

Jenny: is there any third party involved?

Since you have a place that's under reno, are you able to continue living there once reno is done?

Sel: please take care of yourself. Hope everything is ok.

Hi jenny

I came in n chanced upon your posts.

From what i learned in law module, under spore's family law, divorce can be obtained under 4 circumstances:

1) abandonment
2) adultery
3) irreconciliable differences
4) abuse

Think your hubs hitting you, esp when you're preggie, may count as (4)! If separation, it's 3yrs if stay apart, 4yrs if live together. I never heard of less than 3yrs can't divorce. Only more than 1yr difficult to annul. Not that i'm an expert. Maybe your lawyer didn't realise he hit you?

Not that i'm asking you to get a divorce! The priority is to keep yourself n bb safe n healthy. If you need a shelter, maybe you can try AWARE? they may be able to find you a halfwat home etc, esp since you're expecting n if you're really worried abt being physically abused again

Whatever you decide, pls come n talk to us if u need to let off steam. We're not lawyers or counsellors, but we can give moral support. All the best!

Sel

Do you have an emergency no to reach your gynae? I have one that goes into a 'call centre'. The 'operator' will 'page' my gynae n my gynae will call me back. I describe my symptoms n she'll tell me whether to rush to hosp, stay put, what to do or not to do etc.

If in doubt, rush to KK?

Jenny

Oh yeah, ownership of flat. Even if a housewife who has no income can get at least 33% of the flat proceeds. Her staying at home is contribution to the family, hence she qualifies for at least 1/3

Jenny

IF you do decide to seek a divorce, go get a PPO. Then if you're filing under abuse, you have proof!

Alamak y am i such a font of info abt divorce law in spore? Better dun say anymore :p

Hi everyone, thanks for all ur comments. I spoke to lawyer n he say have to b married 3 yrs then can divorce. I did ask my lawyer abt I file the police report if I can file divorce since it's a violence. He say I can only get ppo cuz it under family affairs matter. Not too sure if my lawyer is the anti divorce kind or not. Perhaps I should consult another lawyer. I also find it 'lugi' not to stay in the new place after renovation is completed n I also got help to pay abit fir instalment but not as much as him but scared hubby stayin there too n seriously it pose a danger to mi n baby. I think even got ppo still dangerous.He even say before he dun mind losing everything at most go jail or go back hometown only (he's a pr)

And I even mentioned I m preg to the lawyer n he say ask mi talk to my husband since now I preg n hubby might still b in angry mood still n say words of anger only.

Jul: i think as women we need to protect ourselves. So knowing so much about divorce laws is not a bad thing. While i hope i don't ever have to reach that stage, i still do things to protect myself. For example, my husband gives me money every month as allowance through i-banking. It's actually money to pay for the car, but at least there is proof that he has been giving me money. It's just like what people do with crossed cheques as payment to maids or whatever.

Re allowance for parents and in laws
My hubby and i give to our own respective parents. My parents are still working so they don't really need my money, but my mother made it clear that we should give allowance as it is expected of children to provide for parents when they start working. I gave quite little in the beginning, and my mother complained, but well, she still accepted it. I use 10% of my salary as a guide.

Michi, while you pay for everything when they are living with you, i think they might want to go out and have a little money to eat, or buy something for themselves or grandchildren. Since they are your in laws, get your hubby to give instead of you.

You must have been married for at least 3 years before you can file a Writ for divorce on the ground that your marriage has broken down irretrievably. However, and with permission from the Court, you may proceed to file a Writ for divorce before 3 years of marriage if you can prove that you have suffered exceptional hardship or if your spouse has been exceptionally unreasonable and cruel. You are advised to consult a lawyer.

This is wat I read from one of the website.

Jenny

I think all lawyers are actually 'morally' obliged to advise against divorce. Just like the divorce laws require 3/4 yr separatiin period, except for the 4 circumstances. It's to encourage married couples to work things out. That's y it's more difficult to get a divorce in spore compared to, say, the states, where those celebs seem to get divorced every few days or weeks lor. We're still an asian society after all.

Have you given up hope of working things out with your hubs? Really no hope liao?

Jenny,
Maybe dont think of the word divorce for the time being, just separate and let things cool down. I think your hb , at 38yo , should be mature enough to settle down and start a family. I think he also needs to have anger management control. If he doesn't, you should not tolerate his temper/abuse, you have to be financially and mentally independent, to support yourself and bb. Be strong ok.

Breakfast,
just had nasi lemak with a little chilli for breakfast, yummy

Jenny,
I also encourage you to go for marriage counseling instead of getting divorce.
Maybe wait for a while first, wait till both you and your husband cool down. Then you can discuss the next step.

I also think you should go back to your parents first. No parents would like to see their children suffer. It might just be their first opinion because they also doesn't want you to go through divorce that easily.
I think you really need to talk to your parents carefully, meet them, talk with them and make them understand your situation. Just said to them you need time to cool down..

glass,
thanks for your tips on periperal learning, i shouldn't just depend on the school to teach, gotta do something at home. gotta start moving my butt :p

Sel: glad ur fine. hehe. over shopping?

after doing OT yesterday, i went to a black-out HDB.. so sad. i had to climb 28flights of stairs to my unit cause whole block short-circuited..

my back n knees damn tired n achy this morning...
Just ate a non-fulfilling fillet burger for breakfast. i think burger too small.. still very hungry. but i'm indulging in my morning english breakfast tea with sugar... ahhh

Hi Jenny: apart from ur hb abusing you for the first time, u might wanna continue in the marriage if he has no other bad habits like *third party, drinking, gambling, drugs*
i believe that a marriage is for life. i have a friend whose hb abused her afew times after her 1st baby. She was preg with #2 when the abuse started. but now everything is worked out fine and they are living happily as a family of 4.

i am not asking u to bear with his abuse. i'm advising you to stand up for yourself. why did u both get married in the first place? once he has cooled down, do arrange a marriage counseling session with him. Fei Yue will insist he go for the program. Either together or separately. After the officer get both stories, they will sit both of u down together and trash out issues that is bothering both parties.

try to work things out. pls! stop smoking. smoking affects baby's development. if u really want to keep this baby, you should consider the consequences before indulging in forbidden foods during pregnancy.
i believe being 33, you are capable of thinking straight and being responsible. if you are not, then nothing anyone say here is gonna help you.

reasons y parents ain't supportive of daughter is mainly they probably rejected your choice of husband. or you have a big family that is very fearful of losing face.

D spotting has stopped but d Dr's office juz called asking me to come in tdy.. It's abt my blood test results i think.. Now i'm seriously worried! My nx appt is scheduled in end jan n d nurses told me they won't see me unless there is somethg wrg w d report

Joeey: breakfast sounds great! I just had bread. Looking forward to lunch with my mummy friends later.

Petrina: 28 storeys of climbing? Wth? I get breathless just climbing one storey. Guess i shouldn't complain about my low level unit.

Glass: sob sob.. 28 flights.. = 14 storeys. not 28.. hehe i think 28 i might do it but i'll scream at every 10 storey interval.. haha

oh ya abt the learning thing.. my son also similar. at his preschool, he speak very well. but at the art class i sent him *he loves the class alot*, but he refuses to let me leave the classroom though he knows we gotta be outside.
he'll cry n whine for 10mins b4 i cheat him and run out. end up my hb so sian abt the whinning that we took him out of the class.

Sel: take care.. maybe low blood sugar or something.. just hope it's mild.. or something treatable. wish u luck.

Sel
please take good care and bed rest more if possible..

glass
yup agree with you, family environment is important and parents should never rely on teachers to teach, we influence our kids the most..

as for your boy, i think hor maybe he really loves learning but the school teacher might not catch his interest yet, or maybe he's mastered the stuff there and found it boring? like for my boy right, if teacher ask him do coloring or tracing, he can do, but not that excited, but if you give him a book of alphabets to color, he's more interested and reads the alphabets while coloring.. when he plays with blocks hor, other kids like to build nice castles and stuff, he is not able to build something super nice or creative but he likes to count the blocks.. so maybe the pen that sales person showed him really catches his attention so much.. i feel that it's important for us parents to observe them patiently and find out their true interest and help them to develop from there..

jenny
have you talked to your in laws about this? they should know their son better and maybe they could give some advice?

all i could say is, prepare yourself mentally and financially, do not depend on your hubby anymore in case you both really can't work it out eventually. baby is your first priority now, quit smoking, it's really super duper bad for your and baby's health. Be positive and do things that will make yourself happy.

you didn't really mention what's the reason that you had the argument with your hubby, is that something really that serious and can't be solved?

Hi Jenny,
I have a friend who seem to be in your situation before. She had a chair or some furniture thrown towards her..
I think the best is to cool down and just take this time to leave him alone because he may be able to reflect himself. I believe he has his parents too? They may also talk to him. Try not to beg forgiveness too often. This way he will think whenever u guys quarrel, no matter what you will be apologizing n in a silent way approve to his abuse

You can try to call AWARE up and seek counselling I believe they will help you. As u are pregnant, do take care of yourself

Joey, I like nasi lemak sometimes too, esp the fried chicken wing!
But must watch the calories...it's v fattening :p

Sel, don't worry unnecessarily... pray that everything will be fine. Maybe the doc just wanna make sure you're ok after your spotting?

Petrina, wow 28 flights is no joke! Hope you rested every few flights to catch your breath. I always wonder what happens if there is an emergency and blackout at the same time? What if someone need urgent medical attention? If something happens, will HDB/PUB take responsibility??
kao_angry.gif

Jenny, maybe you should consult another lawyer for 2nd opinion. Maybe your lawyer is a man that's why not so sympathetic to your situation? Also do check with AWARE cos they do provide marriage counselling as well as advice on abuse cases. They may be able to advise you where to stay during your pregnancy. It's not advisable to stay in your new place while it's renovating.. the dust and paint fumes are bad for you and the baby. Take good care of yourself!

nattan: ya manz.. i was complaining to hb say what if emergency.. then no lights how to climb down the stairs? wah.. super siao. but lucky TC responded quite fast. abt 30mins lights back on. so still ok.

Felicia: now that you have mentioned it, perhaps my son doesn't take structured learning very well. Maybe he is the independent learner type who wants to learn at his own pace.

I thought i can just anyhow send him to a nursery nearby. Does this mean i have to look for those montessori type that allow learning at own pace?

Petrina: i haven't encountere that because i have to accompany him to class. Really sad if they can't bear to be alone. Hee, i didn't count properly. 14 floors still a lot. Hope it won't happen again.

glass
yup that's exactly what i meant.. my mother also mentioned that my son likes to learn at his own pace.. he is now at CC.. if say nursery hor, i really really wanted to send him to Josiah Montessori at Simei East Point there last time. But too bad 3 hours a day only, now no maid so cannot liao.. i will strongly encourage you to try the montessori schools.. my son went for their toddler class before and i really love their training materials.. in a way i feel that your son is really gifted to be so smart and advanced, it's quite a waste if we as parents do not help them develop further in what they are strong at...

i am not saying normal playgroup or childcare is not good, just that he might really benefit more from those montessori schools, so why not..

morning mummies..

anyone still having MS?
im still burping and vomit like mad..
all things go in come out via mouth.. ~_~
im in my 12weeks 4day

nattan: ya.. if i only knew.. but i was hungry also lah. so i wanted to go home for dinner le..

Glass: montessori is good. my boy is going maris stella temporary till the MMI near my plc is completed building.
i plan to send him to MMI. cause i tested him last yr, attended 1hr class while i was doing tour, he loved the place n materials. but my hb scared he become weirdo.. LOL
cause montessori style all individual growth. the teacher will give different materials to different standards. so hb scared he dunno how to play as a group, or he may find mainstream school boring.
cause he's born in march, his playgroup which ended this december he was quite bored. alot classmates can't speak well, so he only talk to teachers. his classmates abit slow in action so he dun play with them since they dun respond well.
only till aug/sept then they start to open up then my boy started making friends and chatting up. otherwise he's damn bored in school.

when i bring him to parties, he always chat children up but they nvr respond to him. shy n all. so he like to talk to adults since we respond better. i also dunno how to handle him at times.

mihoger: i'm still vomiting. now i have car sickness. so every evening after alight from bus i'll rush home to vomit.
yesterday i used ipad to listen to zen music *application from apple store*.
felt better. yesterday didn't vomit.
day time when hungry or ate food my baby dun like i'll still vomit also.

petrina : same.. ~_~..the MS seems to come back to the worst week 8 n 9 im feeling now..

i hope it gone soon.. feeling so xinku..

Hi Mihoger, I'm blessed not to have ms throughout my 12 weeks. Just slightly nauseous when I'm hungry and burping/passing gas a lot. There was one time I was brushing my teeth, I felt like vomiting, but nothing came out. I think maybe the taste of the toothpaste or the brush going too deep into my mouth made me wanna gag. But so far, I'm quite ok. We are going to end 1st trimester soon! Let's jiayou!

Nattan: I'm the same as you, no MS. But super good appetite though i get bloated easily.

Jenny: Sorry to hear about what happened to you. I agree with Groovy that you should go for marriage counselling. Esp now that you have a baby. Divorce not to be taken lightly.

Michi: I went for my OSCAR yesterday. Phew passed the first test now just waiting for the blood test results. Bb very sleepyhead like me, refused to wake up and stretch for the measurements, the lady had to shake my belly quite a while to get bb to wake up. Keke. Went for the TMC tour also and still couldn't make up my mind whether to go for TMC or Mt A. In the end left without signing up the FBI. Haha.

My MS is NS instead.. Since #1 the same thing. Huhu.. At night will feel miserable and occasionally vomits.
Until now week 14 no sign of end yet.
Last time #1 I remember only stops at week 17 or 18. huhuhu..

Yeah if hungry same lor will feel nauseous too..

14 week now, MS kind of gone, no more giddy. Still burping, but less. Heartburn not that bad now, I can don't take 5-6 meals per day like weeks ago.. Now normal 3 meals and light snacks is good engh.. I don't feel hungry Tat often now.
Kinda back to my normal lifestyle now..

Asrias,
My bb is like yours I think, whenever I scan, he always very still.. Didn't move.. Haha.. I think beause I sleep and rest too much.. I don't really work.. So most of my time is sitting down or resting on bed...very lazy me. So he sleep alot Also..
Haha

AsRias: Congrat on the passing of OSCAR! Did u go Mt A tour also? Maybe make a compare lor or in ur heart already decided on Mt A? hehehe

<font color="aa00aa">Sel,
Hope you're better now. My gynae had advised me that when shopping, must take a 20-min rest after every 40 mins of shopping. Have a good rest.</font>

Any mummies here exercising? I've been feeling quite lethargic.. only go to the gym 1-2x a week as compared to 3x a week last time.. Quite lazy and feeling a bit self-conscious wondering if my tummy shows.

Asrias, I'm going for my OSCAR next weekend.. hope everything goes well for me too.

Michi: No lei haven gone for the MT A tour. Dr Tham say facilities wise about the same but if I'm the kind that need alot of attention then mabbe TMC wun give me that kind of attention cos they are quite busy. When visiting the nursery I tot one of the nurse inside seemed to be rather rough with the bb, but hubby din notice. Dunno whether I was just over reacting. Prob try to got for Mt A tour this sat.

Nathan: dun worry =) anyway i'm also still waiting for the blood test results. so still praying also. Haha. Wow you still going to the gym? I used to go run abt 3km twice a week now hubby don't let me run anymore. Even though SLOW JOG is ok, he dun let allow me to take the risk. Made me scared. Now if the weather is good on weekends i'll try to go for power walks at botanical gardens lor. Even macritchie also cannot go, mom say too many monkeys later if they scare me then not good for bb. Cos my aunt got frightened by a monkey once in kampong when she was preg, then my uncle beat the monkey and killed it (so violent!). In the end my aunt gave birth to a bb that was v v hairy like monkey and din survive long after.

Moi: Shopping also must rest arh? Just walking only lei. I only rest when my legs start to feel tired. Keke

AsRias: muz rest lor.. walking also considered exercising.. lol
unless u really strolling type. though my gynae always say shopping isn't exercising cause ur heartbeat do not reach the peak unlike brisk walking.

nattan: i dun go gym at all. usually just swim 1 lap every weekend. now even lazier. just stationary swimming while son is playing water.
can't hold my breath well now. hehe

Just went for my 15th wk checkup. Baby was not shy n Dr concluded that it's a boy after a quick scan.

According to the Chinese calendar prediction, I shd be having a girl.
Anyway, hubby's happy that he can bring son fishing in future

<font color="aa00aa">asrias,
Yes, coz walking exerts stress on our back. My gynae also advised me to sit straight with a pillow popped behind the lower back in the office.</font>

AsRias: I dunno whether is it they everytime handle baby inside the nursery tat's why they so rough or wat. Previously i saw Glen E nursery the nanny also quite rough handling the baby. Dunno lah, maybe they too pro liao tat's why their action seems to us like 'rough'.

Regarding allowances to parents,
I always think I gave little as compared to what I was given by them in the past. I give my mum $600 every month n goes back home for dinner almost every Sunday. My hubby also let my father collect rent on a shophouse we bought in JB. My parents can say r enjoying life now cos they travel quite often, like every other month cos they're retired.

I also heard from my colleague the nurse in TMC who attends to his wife seems quite rough in handling his baby when his baby is born.

But then, my parents is also shocked when Mt A's Lactation Consultant show us how to burp baby leh. Haha.. They said can't make baby sit like that to burp. Saying during their time doctor always said cannot put baby in sitting position if they still cannot sit yet.
I think it's another old wife's tale. Dunno true or not but nowadays no doctor say those and even one of the burping position is sitting too.

Hello to all mummies,

Thanks for all the advice and encouragement.

Yesterday, I went to review and signed the package for down syndrome check. I am now starting to worry, touch wood that my baby will get it! :X I am at my 11th week, gynae said that baby is tall, as from head to bottom measures 5cm. But I lost another 2.3kg.

The gynae stopped my folic acid and asked me start with calcium, multivatime &amp; fish oil for baby instead. I am due for scanning for the down syndrome on Monday.

Moi: I guess as our tummies get bigger will be more stressful on the back. Even b4 preg I already have pillow propped behind my back on my office chair cos work hazard always sit there and type back and shoulder always achy.

Zo: I think 5cm for 11th week is ok? i'm at 12th week bb is 5.37cm. So I guess that is normal cos doctor din say anything negative about bb's length. In fact my due date shifted 2 days ahead. I'm supposed to continue my 100tabs of folic acid till i finish it then no need to replenish. So following months will also just be calcium, multivatime &amp; fish oil.