(2012/06) Jun 2012

Anna, same here. I don't have appetite, and I keep vomitting until i sian. As at my 11th week last tues, I had lost a total of 4 kg from the start of my pregnancy. Hopefully I can start gaining some weight by the time i go for my next appt on 20 dec...haizz...still a long way to see my bb...

I also hardly have appetite. ESP noon time like now.. Everyday after breakfast, I feel miserable. Feel hungry, but when I think of eating, I feel like throwing out.. Have to force myself to eat.. Very very miserable.. I already at week 12 but feeling still there.. Will it go away?

Now about 10 weeks I think I gained about 1-1.5kg. Nowadays I get hungry very easily and can't really tolerate hunger. Also felt hungry about 11 last night wanted to just ignore it since going to sleep soon but it got so unbearable I had to have some biscuits to get the stomach settled.

I m always hungry bt no appetite too. Think of food n I feel like puking. Haiz...bt I definitely look preggy n round.
#1 wasn[t tat bad. Still cn eat, except fish stuff. Don't knw y #2 so diifficult.

Anna no need to worry. I going 10 weeks Liao also no weight gain. Visit doc today and saw my baby sleeping. Heehee. So cute. Baby even "wave" at us when the doc knock my stomach.

My appetite very normal. Bf, lunch, dinner. No extra craving yet. Doc say weird that I no vomit. Seeing my doc in aNother month times. Then today doc give me my multi vit and calcium pills.

This week is my 12th week and the MS feeling is slowly subsiding, comes around evening time. The past few weeks were miserable too, especially week 9,10, I couldn't even take the MRT, felt that there was no oxygen and alot of wierd smells. I didn't like to take the taxi too. Mummies, hang in there, week 12/13 would be better, just remember to eat whenever you are hungry because the acidic feeling is even worse. I have 2 breakfasts 2 lunches and 1 dinner. Erm, i have gained 3 kg liao. My 12th week scan, bb is 5.5 cm. Next visit is January at 17 weeks.

Jia you all mummies !!

<font color="aa00aa">1st trimester is until 13 weeks, not 12 weeks.
2nd trimester is from 14 - 27 weeks
3rd trimester is from 28 weeks until birth

My appetite isn't very good, esp. during dinner. Prefer to eat instant noodles, cereals or biscuits rather than rice with 2 dishes + 1 soup.</font>

Oh, I also took up the package for $900 and plus calcium, iron, multi-vits, i paid $1200 for 12th week visit. Really ex.

May i know how much are your packages ?

Btw, my CL charges me $2200 for 28 days, guess that is the market rate...

Ya, the acidic feeling, I really hate that.. I still have burping, from morning burp till night, very uncomfortable. My worst time of the day is morning and afternoon. Eating is really a chore.. But still have to eat.

My gynae package is $700 with calcium and multi vit.. Gonna take up my next visit on 12dec.. By the time, I will about week 14. Hope to see my baby soon

My CL also charge me $2200

i nvr take any pills from gynae other than folic acid. cause co have medical claims. so i take from the gp.
but my gynae charge $100 per visit + GST. so far i've seen him 4x. total i've paid abt $700 as at 11wk visit.
next visit @ 16wk for triple test. so will be costly. then at 20wk will sign package $700 till birth.

hey mummies, I've been reading silently and finally 1st trimester is over so i could join in the fun now.. well okay I very pan dan.. within first 3 months i only inform direct family members, cuz used to hear sad stories from close friends and even my own relative.

anyway this is my 2nd pregnancy, 1st one is a boy, born in Aug 2009 @TMC, stayed in 1 bedder and super good service and food.. In the end after CPF deduction, paid $1217 in cash only (including that 1200 deposit), did natural without epi but used vacuum..

Okay my due date should be June 02.. So far visited my gynae for 3 times and did OSCAR scan + blood test last week. Guess my gynae package must be one of the most expensive one, $3K+ not including folic acid, vitamins and fish oil..

And just to share, I read a bit online about how to tell gender from 12-13th week scan, some links to share in case any mummy is interested:
http://www.parentdish.co.uk/2009/06/03/nub-theory-baby-gender-prediction-at-12-weeks/
http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/sexbyultrasoundexpert/
http://www.baby2see.com/gender/study_ultrasound.html

Also i booked a daytime CL, we are crashing in with in laws now waiting for our condo to be up, so can't get day and night one cuz no room for CL to stay.. Cost me 2.1k + 150 for transportation.. guess price goes up due to dragon year maybe..

Going for my check up tml , finally 11 weeks. so eager to see baby.
these few days feel really terrible, I have a bad bloatness till my tummy ache on the top. Phew, not the bottom.. and I cannot sit up well work
. My tummy pop out now like 12 weeks plus.. but my body still slim...but good, today I finally got a seat in the train..

I almost had a fall today !!! I went to the company canteen. The floor is supepr oily and I slide a few steps away! The neigbouring ppl near the tables heart must have pop put lo.

OMG..I think I ate too much..I gained like 4kg and I am just in 10 weeks. I no vomit but keep hungry and thus keep eating...Jialatz...Think I really got to control and keep telling baby to control also...Otherwise like that gynae will scold sooner or later.

May: thank goodness you are ok.

Re confinement
The actual confinement is 40 days according to my mum, so last time after my first month confinement, i still had to continue with all the practices.

Now having bad backache. And also quite sian. For the past few days i had been trying to bring my son out, but because his sleeping pattern is haywire, he is either asleep or going to sleep. Then i'll be so sleepy and then take a nap and by the time i wake up, i'm too hungry and need to eat first and it would be too late to bring him out, or he is going to nap.
I feel very bad as he doesn't get to go out much except weekend for one class.

May, glad u're alright..

Jen: it's ok i think.. if baby is growing fine.. when i was preg with #1 i didn't gain enuff weight then ard 7mths gynae say baby only 1.7kg.. scared me.. end up i ate durian. then birth @ 38wks due to big baby. LOL

so it's btr to gauge the weight well. now i also losing weight. then gynae scared me again.. if nxt appt no gain weight he'll put me on vits.. i m trying to curb baby size now. cause i wanna try vbac. so i try not to exceed 3kg baby.

weekend i also stay in. too tired to go anywhere. hb keep asking me go out.. then end up quarreling cause i'm so tired from walking. muscle ache n all.

Thanks for sharing Priscilla, Petrina.
My gynae charges $190 for the first visit, 2nd visit is $110. The $900 package doesn't include vitamins.

Felicia, how did you manage without epi ? I really admire mummies who can deliver with minimal medical intervention. This is my #3 and would like to try without epi. **cross fingers**

May and all,
please be careful when we walk, can't afford to fall down now, walk slower or get a new pair of shoes with good support.

glass,
actually it's good to follow 40days confinement, can "bu" the body more. Your son would be happy to have you as company whether at home or outside, so not necessarily must go out. More important is rest

I m feeling so terrible... But cant tell anyone..
Stupid bitter taste isnt going away.. Make my mood so bad, then i end up screaming and whacking my son over small issue... I feel so guilty! Wahh i think i have pre natal depression liao...
I get mad so easily.. Even at work.. Then when i get agitated, my tummy hurts.. Vicious cylcle manz..

Petrina: bitter taste you can just use minty toothpaste to get rid of it. I had been brushing my teeth constantly and i feel better.
Try to stay calm. I actually told my bosses at work at 5weeks and while the news spread quite quickly, people cut me some slack.
Our baby can feel the negative emotions, so try to find some ways to relax. It's hard when your husband is not understanding enough. I get mad when he kept telling me off for not vacumming and mopping the floor. Said even if i'm pregnant, cannot use that as excuse. How exasperating.

Joeey: haven't seen you around here for a long time. The thing is my son seldom goes out. I don't want him to coop up at home. Plus i get competition from his grandparents, ipad, soccer and other stuff at home. That's why i would prefer to take him out.

I just forced my son to apologise to me today as he kicked a paper ball at me, giving me a shock. I confiscated his paper balls by lying on top of them. He went around saying 'missing, missing, 2 missing', but just refuse to say sorry. Took him some time to say, but not sure whether he understood the concept. Had family members to pressure him.

Petrina, relax abit..take a deep breath. Don't get so work out. Is not gd for yourself, ppl around u and ESP your bb..
Maybe can try to eat a little sweet. Think of the good things and relax more..
Cheer up!!

thanks Petrina, Joeey and Glass.. Thanks.. i'm fine.Well, this is my 3rd pair of shoes... going from Clarke, Scholl and now Jwest. only the canteen.. tat's oily.. the rest of the places semms fine.

Today was on the train, as usual, no seat.. got a row of people. looked at me, ( well, my tummy look big), and they whpsiered about themselves that I'm preggie but ..... they suddenly most of them fell asleep. At Kahtib, got a young young guy, keep stepping backwards, while leaving a big gap infront of them to flap his "wo Bao"... Haiz.. so scare the train wobbles and he fell onto me ..

I eat papaya, one week at least 3pieces
My fav fruit.
But my CL say , don't eat from 7months onwards wo.. So maybe I stop after 6months

aww.. i feel bad abt my son.. i deal with overseas colleagues at work. so we have communication breakdown at times..
they send me email in chinese, i reply in english.. end up they call me cause they can't read my email.
then i dun understand them so i tend to get frustrated and take it out on my neighbour colly..

Glass: yesterday my boy kept cutting paper and asking me to pretend eat in a bowl.. i so angry cause he refused to stop i threw the whole thing away.. made him cry.. then he say dun want me liao.. though tat only last 5mins.. hehs..

Pris: trying to relax. but my baby cause trouble.. give me sharp pains at times then tummy ache.. make me pek cek.. the more angry i get the more pain my tummy.. so i try not to talk to ppl esp at home. otherwise i'll blow for no reason.. like siao char bo..

May: i still no seats offered. haha.. then ppl still see y i so fat nvr let old ppl sit. lol
i dun eat papaya cause smelly to me now. i only heard of banana cannot eat. i think papaya can. cause my dad offered to me.

petrina,
you need to tell someone close that you are preggy and feeling uncomfortable so you can confide in her. i felt so much relief when i told my lunch mate about my condition and she could empathize with me and always ask me if i had any craving. pp around you will show concern if they know you are preggy.

glass,
your boy is now 2+ right, good to instill some discipline in him. he's good la, will apologise to you. just make sure when you discipline, the grandparents also stand on your side, if not, they better keep quiet.

now, 12 weeks liao, feeling better except in the evenings. Hang in there mummies, 2nd trimester is coming soon

Hello everyone

No time to log in coz trying to clear work before going on leave. Just quickly scanned the posts

Felicia!

Remember me? Belated congrats!

papaya

Hmm.. for me, I think can eat. But it's rather 'laxating' so best not to eat too much unless u're constipating haha

May

Gd thing you didn't fall!

petrina

Take it easy k? I'm also quite bad-tempered. I'm trying not to get angry with my son too, but sometimes it's really difficult coz he's in his terrible twos &amp; sometimes he really gets on my NERVES! Hiaz

glass

I never do housework when I'm preggie. All the vaccuuming, mopping, toilet washingn etc all done by hubs. I only cook for my son, boil water &amp; put laundry in/out of the washing machine. But then, maybe bcoz I had histiry of m/c so Hubs a bit more 'considerate'? Can you get a part-time to help out with these heavier chores?

okay.. feel so relieve as I have eaten a piece yesterday and heard cannot eat...

anyway, me going for my check up shortly.. so eager to see my bb.

joeey
Well yes it's tough, my case was extreme i think, cuz i had high blood pressure so have to induce 2 weeks before due date. I never wanted epi so just try without it lor.. 6cm - 9cm was extremely painful but manageable i think.. they can't get me laughing gas cuz my baby heart beat drop so have to give me oxygen instead.. Then my baby head not engaged into birth canal, so for the last one hour have to speed up the induce process and increase the dosage, it's extremely painful till i wanted to die sia.. operation room prepared for emergency c sect liao but heng my gynae managed to help me with natural delivery, that's why i am sticking to him although his package is expensive.. inserting vacuum cup was painful also but can't beat the contraction pain i think... The only good thing is i do feel great after delivery, and the recovery was super fast, can walk on my own immediately after i was pushed back to the room, and next day i am like a normal person liao..

My total labour was 17 hours and that's why i don't really have the courage to go through it again for my #2 indeed.. And really i think mummies just opt for epi or c-sect, whatever way you want and don't be too concerned about why others can do it without any pain relief methods.. Think i did that because I didn't know what to expect back then, but i will try again this time since 2nd time labour supposed to be easier.. keep my fingers crossed..

papaya and other food
My friend's gynae also mentioned cannot eat, not sure why though.. but my gynae say anything can eat, except for smoked salmon and a special type of soft cheese which i think hard to find in singapore.. i think everything in moderation should be no problem.. So for my last pregnancy, i ate everything including sashimi, curry, and many other stuff that most mummies are avoiding, but of course i don't eat a lot, so i guess it's fine.. I don't drink coffee but gyane said limit to one cup a day is fine..

hair coloring/rebonding/permming, pedi&amp;meni
Got all green light from my gynae last time, he said no scientific proof to show those things will affect baby.. okay have to say he is super open-minded so the only thing he keeps reminding me to avoid is smoked salmon and alcohol..

petrina
Please take good care, my son is 2 years 3 months and i can understand your feeling.. i kept telling hubby this pregnancy is so diff from the last one, not just because i am having a bit of MS, also because last time was first baby, i can still go out with friends, or watch tv at home till midnight, and sleep throughout the entire weekend when i want to, now totally can not cuz need to look after #1, and no matter how much he is willing to help, kids usually are more clingy to mummy de.. so what to do.. i also get tummy ache, i think we are more sensitive with 2nd pregnancy, i can feel baby moving around 11 weeks, last time i could only feel my boy at 6 months sia.. so guess we are more sensitive to tummy cramps also ba.. relax! it's friday! haha..

jul (jul_04)
yeah of course i remember you!!! Great to see you here and so nice that we are due in same month gain, LOL..
How's Sam doing? Are you on facebook Aug09 mummies group? if not, pm me your email and i can add you in..

Glass: Wow, tell your HB you're not looking for excuse not to do the housework. But its true that in the 1st trim when the BB is less stable we are to avoid doing heavy duty chores even excessive walking is not good for us during this period. I left the mopping and the hanging out of clothes to my HB now. I only help out with the sweeping, some wiping and folding plus ironing of laundry. My whole family treat my like "paper" now. Now when I go home for dinner at my parents's place, my mum will dish the food out to me and when I finish she will wash my bowl and cutlery. Make me feel so bad.

Petrina: I already told my partner at work when I found out I'm preggy after I told my boss. Because when I go for maternity it will affect her cause she will have to cover for me. If you have a fellow co-worker that's covering you if you're away on leave or MC think its only right to let them know so that they can mentally prepare too.

We can eat papayas but limit the intake because papaya causes jaundice. As for bananas you have to eat those "Pang Jio", those fat and short kinds. Don't eat the Delmonte kinds as they are supposedly "Liang".

But than I generally believe that we can eat almost anything so long as we eat in moderation. I only avoid those things that I know are "liang" and those food that I'm unsure of.

I got a weekend auntie to clean my house.. $15/hr. she do good ironing but the rest so so only lo. But what I dun like is she bring her 4-yr son here with her .. And her son flang here and there like spiderman &amp; superman. Jumping up and down my couch. Worst of all, he put the hanger on the fan speed regulator that is hanging down from my ceiling fan.

Anyone got better recommendation bo?

hi ladies.. thanks for ur support.. i feel very different from #1 preg too.. maybe cause with a toddler things r much harder to handle..
last time eat/slp all according to our timing. now have to watch tod's timing.. so cham..
my boy very innocent lah. he really kenna for trying to play with me.. not being naughty.. but i bad tempered so he suffer.
sigh... i feel like a bad mom. so i try to pacify him when i feel btr hoping tat he dun bear any grudge on why his mom pushing him away..

Felicia: dunno how painful is natural, but i'd like to experience it at least once in my lifetime.. my hb confirm close factory after this so i die die muz try.
otherwise i'll regret forever... i used to blame #1 for not being cooperative. but since gynae say cord was ard his neck, i thank GOD for c-sec to bring my #1 to me safely.. all i can do now is to pray tat #2 delivery is smooth. dun let me regret.

petrina
haha yup natural is painful but i think the most unbearable part lasts about 1-2 hours the most, i am sure most people can take it de, just that usually around 6cm -7cm dilation, many find it unbearable already then better opt for epi, i got 2 friends went though natural without epi for their 2 labours and all because they ask for epi too late so didn't manage to get as there won't be any effect, so it's not something they wanted but they still manage to tahan the pain eventually.. plus 1-2 hours compared to our 10 months pregnancy and upbringing of new born, it's really nothing, haha.. wish you a smooth delivery this time!

Venetia: my finance team know liao.. only director dunno.. i waiting till 13wks then tell him. anyway they very stress how to cover.. now every month end already squeeze till so tight.. my manager say cham..
so i suggest after confinement mth, i'll take ML is alternate weeks. otherwise they'll prob die of OTs..

May: wah.. $15 per hr is exp. the auntie i found only $10. but end up i nvr use. cause i can't find enuff chores for her to do. everything i do myself.. so end up nvr hire though hb keep asking me to hire..

May
yup $15 is ex, thought market rate about $12.. think i might have a contact for you, but she's a PRC not sure you okay or not..

petrina
no wonder you so stress lah, finance dept very shiong hor.. for my job i don't need anyone to cover me, my direct boss is in US and very family oriented so no problem, but her boss in HK is a workaholic sia, so i am prepared to take 2 months and come back earlier this time.. in fact i can work from home de so not that bad..

Felicia: come to think abt it, this week i more agitated cause mth end.. haha..
maybe i shld avoid my #1 during *this time of every mth* LOL

felicia

yeah I'm in the group. But I seldom go into FB haha

felicia, petrina

I agree! When I had #1, I could sleep late on weekends, go out shopping etc, rest whenever I feel like it. Now I can't!
But Hubs tries to help lah. he brings #1 out on weekedn mornings so I can stay home in peace. Just that he's been working OT &amp; on weekends for a couple of mths, just when I'm most tired, so it's tough. Luckily the OT period is just over.

I dunno if it's not enough rest for this one. But I feel more tired, more MS, more aches &amp; pains etc.

Hi all, I have engaged a young lady, 20+ Singaporean for my household chores. She was recommended by my fren. I used her for a few months already. Her services are good and she does a good job. This is her own company. Her rates are reasonable. You can call her at 84287807. Her company is Superlative Solution. Tell her you are referred by Jen Tang and she will probably give further discounts. I like her because firstly, she is a Singaporean (no communication breakdown), responsible and very hardworking.

<font color="aa00aa">I almost fainted on the bus this morning. People around are asking me "Are you ok?" as I was standing and swaying around. I quickly get off the bus when I regained more consciousness and took a rest at the bus stop.

Re: Work
I haven't tell my work buddy yet as I intend to wait till 2nd trimester. She's with us for < 1 year and only work half-days, so I don't know if she'll be able to cope when I take ML. Anyway, it's a good time to train her and hopefully, she'll has a chance of getting a better appraisal next year.</font>

Telling Work Colleagues

I told my boss the moment I knew liao. Coz I have history of spotting, need to take MC, will be taking lon unpaid leave etc.. so not fair not to tell her. besides, our division also short-handed. Felt bad that this happened, but what to do?

Then coz my tummy is sooo huge. Everybody asked me, so I just said yes lor. Somehow denying my baby's existence doesn't sound right to me also

moi

Aiyoh are you still having dizzy spells? Sometimes I don't like to take the bus coz they tend to jerk &amp; make me feel sick

Petrina: Never mind pace yourself. We also have crazy deadline for mth end closing but I just take it easy. No point feeling fustrated. Baby can sense our distress. So just be happy.

Thankfully for me my boss is quite understanding when I told him I'm pregnant he even asked me if I want to take the full 16 wks but I told him I'll stick to 12 weeks than leave the last 4 weeks for when I need to bring BB for immunization.

Telling Work Colleagues
I am going to inform my 2 bosses via email today, haha purposely do it on friday so at least they can't find me during the weekend.. i've not announced to my team yet.. they are all around early 20s so no experience and no one suspect yet.. although i was on diet before this and they found it interesting that i suddenly start to eat so much, haha..

tummy getting bigger
I rem for #1 tummy only started to show around 4 and half months de, now only about 13 weeks+ i can see my tummy already getting bigger and bigger, every morning got to think hard on what to wear.. sianz... last time breast no change, this time breast also getting bigger, make me look so fleshy..

moi
Take good care!

Felicia, oh no! I just read your post about cannot eat smoked salmon. I was drinking smoked salmon chowder while reading it, and now I dun dare to drink further! (It was too salty anyway, yuck)

But I did drink half a cup of it, so now I'm freaking out a bit. But what's the reason that preggy cannot eat smoked salmon ah? I'm very curious to know.

Yotsuba
Don't worry too much, everything in moderation should be fine.. What my gynae told me is something about Listeria, i copied something online for you:

<font color="aa00aa">Listeria : The bacteria Listeria monocytogenes is often present in certain foods, and in low levels may have no effect on healthy people so often goes unnoticed. However if ingested by a pregnant woman, it can lead to miscarriage, stillbirth or early labour. Foods at higher risk of containing listeria include:

* Pre-prepared cold foods that will not be reheated, including pate, deli meats like ham and salami, and pre-mixed salads
* Soft serve icecream
* Soft cheeses, such as Brie, ricotta, blue vein and Stilton
* Smoked seafood
* Any leftovers kept in the fridge for more than 12 hours

The good news however, is that the Listeria bacteria is killed by high temperature, so if you’re craving a treat of smoked salmon or soft cheese, it’s fine to eat it if it’s been cooked — such as in a freshly cooked hot quiche or pie.</font>

BTW he did mention it's according to US standard not advised, but gynae from other countries like maybe UK, will say it's okay.. he everything follow US de so maybe that's why he dun let me eat..

Ooh, thanks for the info Felicia! I've already stopped drinking that smoked salmon chowder, partly also because the more I drank it the more I felt like puking...think maybe my bb is telling me it doesn't like it. :p

Moi, do take care! When I had #1, there was once I also almost fainted when in the MRT. Crowded and stuffy places are definitely not for preggies.