(2012/06) Jun 2012

yotsuba

Take care. If you feel that anything's wrong, just call your gynae. After all, we pay so much for their prof medical opinion!

Chin

Oh dear, maybe you shd put some rubber anti-slip mat in the bathroom. Better be more careful now.

PISA

When I gave birth in 2009, TMC Parentcraft was selling the PISA at $600+, for patients who delivered in TMC. Not sure of the price now though. If you don't mind paying $70 more, maybe can wait & get from TMC if you're delivering there? They'll teach you how to use it.

I used the Ameda lactaline at first. Dual pump, electric, but it sucks lor. The PISA could wring so much more milk out. It's half the price of PISA, but for me, it's also half the amt of milk
Guess it does well enough for people with lots of milk, but for people like me, who don't have much, we need all the help we can get.

I really have no regrets getting the PISA. Even if #2 is like #1, refuse to latch. At least I know that I shd be able to exclusively pump till it reaches 6 mths.

Morning all! Can we have coconut water and meat in 1st tri? My in-laws told me not to and said it is very "cool" but I like coconut very much huhu. When and how often can we have coconut if not in 1st tri?

felicia, May

Hmm.. I eat very unhealthily. Really no appetitie for fish soup leh. Only want Popeye's, Pizza Hut, mee rebus etc. And I drink quite a bit of Coke & tea. Consolation is : My #1 is very fair, doesn't have asthma/phlegm, so I don't think it matters haha

chloe

Better reserve the coconut water till 3rd tri. My family was eating out yesterday & all of them were drinking the young Thai coconut! Argh! Nearly killed me to resist lol

Pertina,
JPO is safe. Got many security around and it is in Kulai. We went in by Causeway link transit. U dun wear gold and flash cash infront of ppl. Dun walk alone. Min 2 and dun keep mention about SGP hor.
Actually, JB so much safer than GuangZhou and Shenzhen where I used to frequent there for my Biz trip.

2nd trimester

Visited my gynae last Fri & I'm officially on 2nd tri. Yippee!

really can start to feel the difference. Less tired, not so nauseous, less breathless,.. Still not tip-top condition yet, but I can see myself getting better. Haha so happy!

Hi morning all mummies,

How's everyone feeling? Time flies and think most of us going to pass our first trimester soon.
hope morning sickness will get better!

The hungerness seem to be there all the times. This morning I was hungry and after that finally went to nearby market but all stalls are closed. Think baby is unhappy and I got hip up non stop. Finally hubby say be good we reaching soon for food, my hip up stop at once! Hehe so funny...

Let us enjoy the pregnancy and have great week ahead!!

<font color="aa00aa">I'm going for the First Trimester Pregnancy Test (similar to OSCAR) this weekend. Hope hubby &amp; #1 will accompany me as they did not do not so during my first gynae visit as he's afraid that history will repeat itself (I had a miscarriage that time).

*fingers crossed* that the test result will be good.</font>

jul, thanks, then I'll try to not drink it. And congratz that you'll pass your 1st! Wish you the next 2 tri to be easy easy!

Moi, all well for you.

I am nor sure I am " Pang Dang" or what. but it alwsys work well if my hubby is not around. so all my check up, I'm alone apart from my last MC in Jun'11.

weke 15 is a critical week.. cos the 3rd pregnancy ends when BB is 15wks 3 days.

chloe
yup better keep the coconut to last tri cuz it's very cooling i think, i drank that from 34 weeks think twice a week for my last pregnancy. baby come out very clean..

PISA
wow thanks for the info Jul, i will get it from TMC then since i sure will be delivering there again, haha.. just hope the price does not change much then..

2nd trimester
congratz Jul, good to know you are feeling better.. well i feel a bit better already also, should be around my 14th week liao.. but compared to last time, still quite a torture sia. LOL..

Joanne it's great that you have good appetite!! i hate the fact that i dun even know if i am hungry, eat liao stomach bloated feel even worse, don't eat also feel like vomiting.. haiz..

moi
all the best for your test!!

Jul, me cannot go without meat for a meal.. hahaha, BB " complained" .. the little one will get hungry in no time and make me " super tired".

now i like pork, chicken breast.. anyone stay away from prawns?

May
me lor, prawns i can't eat cuz i dun like the smell now.. fish also can't unless those fried type.. totally cannot stand pork smell, only can eat fish, beef so far okay also..

last time i preggy with my boy also can't go without meat for a meal de, always crave for fast food cuz got burgers, lol.. they say carry boy likes more meat, not sure how true though, kekee..

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks girls! Really appreciate that.

reef1976,
My hb was with me for all my #1's visits.
I feel insecure without him around, esp. when I need to make "big" decisions.

I do eat prawns but limit myself to at most 2 at a time.</font>

May: My mum told mi not to eat prawn. I think maybe will cause allergy? But i still occasionally (1 mth) eat 1-2 pc lah.

Do anyone eat mutton?

Michi
I ate mutton for one time during my last pregnancy, cuz indeed i even ate Kangaroo meat when i was having holiday in Melbourne, LOL.. so thought one time mutton should be fine..

but this time round i am trying my best to control, it's hard cuz i like to order mutton for steamboat lor. guess should be able to lun for another 7 months..

Felicia: Actually do you know why cannot eat mutton huh? Tat time i ate, i feel so guilty lor but i dunno wat is the reason

old grandma tale of having epilepsy only lah, so i strongly believe we can eat de.. but since it's not a common dish we eat daily anyway, i am fine to avoid it just for these 10 months lor..

Topicrem Spree

Just sent an email to those who've ordered.

felicia

No prob. I'm also going to deliver at TMC. Wanted to try Mt A &amp; see what's the difference coz a few comments abt how the nurses there are nicer, &amp; my PD is there. But.. have to top up $200 (2 yrs ago privcing) to my gynae, plus unfamiliar, etc.. forget it lah!

Maybe the price for PISA went down coz Freestyle ing popularity.

2nd Trimester

Thanks for all the well wishes. Jiayou all the mummies waiting for 2nd tri. Good times are coming

May, felicia

I also cannot go without meat. I used to like steamed fish, but now really cann't stomach it. Prefer fried fish. Gosh all the 'xiang xian' food are calling out to me.

It's quite fun to speculate whther I'm having a boy again lol

Prawns

I eat. I also eat crab. basically I eat whatever I fancy, except for obviosuly 'liang' stuff like coconut water, grass jelly etc.

moi

My hubs went with me for all my visits for #1 too. But now, I go myself. I'd rather he save the leave so that he can help out more after the baby is born. heehee 2nd child syndrome. Plus we need to take leave on &amp; off when ILs wanna go on holiday etc.

Fish
I can only eat steamed fish, no fried one, and no smelly ones like salmon. Only fried one I can take is Macs Fillet O Fish

Meat
One dish I can take is sweet and sour pork, but not too sour. Other pork dishes a bit hard to take. I try to avoid chicken as I am coughing badly now, but still take coz dunno what else to eat.

Veg
I want to eat more veg, but somehow it's hard to find nice one that is not too oily.

Can't take any Italian food that is cream based or chesse based. Sigh. I had intense craving for that last time. I hope my son's allergy to cow's milk is not due to that.

water
I'm still having problems drinking water as it makes me want to puke as it interacts with the acid juices in my stomach.

jul and felicia: yeah, I heard about the epilepsy thing. Actually I don't eat mutton at all, but during my first pregnancy, I went with my colleagues twice to eat mee goreng, but their indian muslim mee goreng got mutton! Got quite upset when I found out.

Last night I wanted to puke but couldn't puke, in the end just saliva, and burping for 5-10 min continously. It's like, since when I got so much wind in my stomach!!

I love milo and need a drink every day, but now, I totally detest the taste of it, and chocolate as well. Now drinking diluted milk for breakfast everyday.

Well, I'm looking forward to Thursday's checkup at 12 weeks. Still some time before I reach 2nd trimester.

glass: we quite similar.. i also can't take milo or choco.. only soya milk. no cow's milk.. LOL
meat i can only take soup type.. those gravy type too oily i'll puke.
veg, i like to eat also.. my MIL will stir fry baby kai lan or *皇帝菜* with fish cake. simple dish

fish also mainly soup. fried only batang fish my MIL pan fry. deep fried is no-no.
my MIL also will steam fish for my dinner. so usually she'll steam small piece for me to share with #1.
i haven't tasted mac for quite a while...

puking - i m puking lesser now. when i puke, it's mostly bubbles n saliva due to hunger pangs. my baby insist on supper! i think i'm gonna be fat liao! eating kettle chips for supper nowadays.. hehe very salty n not oily..

check ups - usually my hb accompany me when i fix Sat mornings. for #1 first 2 trimesters i was seeing another gynae so only weekday appts.. after changing to current gynae, hb always accompany me liao. after appt on Sat then we'll go lunch together at tanglin mall. so it's not quite a chore yet.. hehe

foodwise - i eat everything except the so called forbidden crabs, sotong, lobster.. *they say children will have itchy fingers or allergy problems*
i dun eat raw food b4 preg, so no issues avoiding jap restaurant for these 10mths. anyway i need hot food. i tried tuna/cucumber sushi, super yucky to me as it's cold.

Hi mom &amp; mom-to-be,

I'm new here. In my 12 week this week and have yet to settle down with a gynae. Hubby really likes TMC n I do prefer a female gynae. He's GP recommended Dr Yvonne Soong or Dr Tan WK. Anyone here has either of them as ur gynae? Care to share your experience. I was thinking of making an appointment this week if possible ;)

TIA,
Sel

jul
i am prepared for another boy already, LOL.. although i feel nauseous this time but i didn't really vomit or suffer from much MS, symptom more or less similar as last time..

but during my OSCAR scan hor, doc accidentally said, "Everything is good, looks like a very normal looking girl.. err baby".. so we are just hoping he is right then although we didn't verify with him. lol..

honestly although boys are tougher to look after, they are usually blur blur gong gong and very fun to play with i feel, girls hor i scare very sensitive and emotional i don't how to handle, lol so in a way i don't mind another boy, but of course we all hope for one boy one girl to balance up lah..

Female Gynae
Yvonne Soong !! so ex... Irecommend Adeline Wong or ML yeap.. Their charges are more reasonable, Selsila. I'm with ML Yeap, she is flexible ans friendly. I like her cos she can see you anytime. Nurst Angela is nice. Dr Yeap is so encouraging esp when she diagnosis that there is no FH of my baby in 15 weeks in Jun'11. Now is she is super carig towards my 4th Preg.

Food
I dun like anything fried lo. I used to like threadfish and now I am scared of it.
I like warm wamr soup and chicken porridge esp the one I cook myself. I hated thosr bakery smell, really makes my feel so giddy and errrr...

I dun have morning sickness at all.. Hmm, not sure this time a gal or boy.

Btw, i am with Yvoone Soong for 4 visit in mar'11 of my 3rd preg and each visit is min $200/visit.. her med is always so ex.. ML yeap is more reasonable.

Thanks mummies for your concern. Since that incident on Sat, so far no gushing, which is good.
But then now I have another problem. Every morning without fail, I will have bad tummy ache...the kind of pain where you're supposed to pass motion to relieve it but yet cannot pass motion. I had to force myself to pass some motion (together with a lot of wind) before the pain will subside.

Sigh...although MS level about the same as #1, this one has so many other weird happenings. Crossing fingers that nothing goes wrong.

FOOD
I was notorious for having a very sweet tooth, but now I'm actually detesting sweet foods! I can only take in salty food, and I keep eating junk food and drinking packet drinks! Like some of you, I also can't take in water...I need some taste in my mouth.

MORNING SICKNESS
The puking has definitely lessened, but dunno why this morning all of a sudden, I suddenly started to puke in the middle of the street. Luckily I had a plastic bag in my bag to standby.

MEAT
I heard it's also not good to take beef, cuz bb will come out very hairy. For my 1st preg, I didn't care and ate lots of beef during steamboat, turned out my girl came out quite hairy at the wrong places. -__-

Moi, haha, I always make my own decisions. Maybe it is just my natural of work where I need to make decisions and to lead a team. So i'm okie to go myself and TMC is jus a stone throw away from my office. So i normally go @ lunch time or late pm ( i.e. 4.30pm) to see Dr Yeap.

No nausea means carrying boys? my MIL said if i like salty food, may be a boy.. actually I like Boy ,, but when they are older, boys seems bo chap and gals are generally more caring.. Can see from my two of them which my gal, 8 yrs and boy 6++ yrs..

May
you have both boy and girl so you should know better mah, haha.. me only 1 boy but last experience was so good that 99% of the time i don't even remember i was preggy.. and yes old folks say those like salty food, and like meat usually carry boys..

only know that usually carrying girls will have more serious MS but it's not true for all.. some carrying boys also vomit all the way..

Hey mummies... do you have a feeling abt the gender of ur baby?
I began having an intuition of myself carrying a boy as early as week 5.

I'm not currently working so timing is not an issue for me ;) Does either Adeline Wong or ML Yeap has any package price?

FOOD
I used to love my MIL home cook food. But now I find them so "jelak". I told hubby jokingly that we're having an ang moh baby (we're both asian) cos all i feel like eating is bread (subways), potatoes (baked, fries, rosti) &amp; soups (swensens's sour dough bread with mushroom soup). No appetite for rice. I'm missing sashimi badly!

MS
I only started MS on d 9th week n I get it first thing in the morning when I'm brushing my teeth and evening arnd 6pm. But all that came out is bile. Urgh! Hate the bitterness. So I've learnt that I get MS when my stomache is empty. Now I eat smaller meals and snack every 2-3 hours n it's gone!

Sel

Hello! My gynae's Caroline Khi. Think her charges are a bit more reasonable. Her partner Joycelyn Wong is very popular.

felicia

How do you know yours is a boy? haha

Boy / Gal

Hmm.. I don't really mind either. Gal will be sweeter, more sticky, less rough, &amp; less challenging. They're norm also closer after they grow up. But got the usual gal worries lah. Plus I got learning curve! Gotta start buying clothes all over again.

Boys ah.. hiaz my #1 was super challenging lor. Very chor lor, very strong, very active, really can drive me up the wall. But having another boy means can share eevrything, no need to waste $. If I have a gal, I'll surely be tempted by all the nice clothes &amp; over-buy.

Gotta save $ liao, coz will be on no pay leave for a long time.

feeling abt gender

I had a feeling I was having a boy. But my gynae showed me baby's profile which was different from my #1's. Plus she said couldn't see the gender. Usu they say that when it's a gal right? So.. now I dunno if I shd trust my feelings

But I felt like I was having a boy for #1. It wasn't so much a feeling per se.. but I was i church, &amp; the homily was abt Hannah &amp; Samuel &amp; it struck me that I shd call my #1 Samuel = boy? haha

Felicia, i long forgotten how it feel when me having my gal in 2003 and my boy in 2004 ( son is born in Jan'05). i remember only when me having my boy, i must have Mac cheese burger b4 i head home for dinner. But i remember is that when me having my gal, my face look ugly and my belly is really round and low. When me having my boy, my face go spotless and my tummy is concentrated in the centre.

Sel, Package will starts after 12 weeks. She has 12 weeks,14 weeks and 16 weeks. You can ring them up for more info. Adeline is very popular so if you wan her, you got to check with her soon. i go for ML yeap cos Adeline canot slot me in when I wan to swop from Yvoone. And since I find ML yeap well after my MC in Mar'11, I am still with Yeap. But both Adeline and ML Yeap prices are reasonanble. She charge $55 for subs consultation, med ( pre-natal vits =$10), urine test =$10, scan is $45+.

Jul, girls can wear boys clothes but not vice versa ;)

I think it's ideal to have a boy n a girl. U get to experience both characteristics. Also, big bro is always protective over little sister so u'll have an extra pair of eyes.

Hubby feels that we're having a girl since d 7th week. But I feel that it's going to be a boy.

With rgds to d gynae, is ur gynae pro natural? I'm hoping to be able to delivery naturally w/o epi.

gender - i've been brainwashing myself n my whole family i'll have a girl.. haha
seem to work for #1. i told myself n hb tat shld be boy.. then i bought clothes suitable for boys not knowing gender..
this time i'm so tempted to buy dresses! but really dare not cause i dun have any gfs having infant girls.. haha

Hahaha hope there's really some truth in mother instinct. I also have strong instinct that I'm pregnant before using the pregnancy kit to test

I pray for a girl.
n everyone tell me is a girl

My baby love soft drinks! Anything that is sweet EXCEPT chocolates. Everytime when I try to eat chocolate I want to vomit. I love milo. For soft drinks I try to control n boil my own drink.

ML yeap is pro natural one. She will push for it. My 1st is a emergency C section, 2nd VBAC ( 2nd is dr John Tee, KKH, super pro- nautral).
Btw, ML Yeap is ex-KKH also.

for my #1, i got an instinct it's a boy when i was only 5 weeks preggy.. but this time round, no feeling at all.. don't really know boy or girl..

True lor like May said, when i had my boy, tummy is in the center, and yes i also crave for Mac cheese burger everyday, LOL..

but this time round tummy shape can't tell yet, got to wait till 4-5 months but i think by then gynae can confirm gender for me liao.. but i do feel that my boobs getting bigger, no change for last time, and i am gaining fats all over, including my butt, thigh and arms, last time only got a tummy.. so hoping that it's a sign of having a girl lor.. haha

yah lor Jul they said if gynae say not sure, means most likely girl cuz boy very easy to tell, lol.. I pasted a few links here before to check on baby gender based on 11-13 weeks scan photo, i think that must be more accurate than my mother's instinct..

haha, now I like pork chop and anything meat. I am crazy for " Lor mee" a must for Sunday bbf.. i like the one in Blk 293, yishun

I'm soo hungry nowadays!! I think my bb has a really good appetite. I feel hungry about every 3-4 hours. Even after a very filling dinner. Gonna be stressed about weight gain soon.

haha how i wish i know exactly if i am hungry or not.. last time i gained 11.9kg, gynae keep nagging me that i must make sure i gain no more than 12kg cuz i was already 65kg before preggy, till last 2 weeks then he stop nagging..

this time round already gained 1.6kg at 13th week, he didn't say much but told me to watch out also.. but i feel this one week put on at least another 1.5kg already.. scary..

Sel

Er.. true lah. Gals can wear shorts but boys can't wear dresses haha

Yup, she is. But I was screaming for epi in the middle of the night, so she also couldn't help me lah haha

Hunger

Argh! I didn't buy tea break today. Super regret! So hungry until can scream now!

felicia

I gained 0.7kg in the past 4 weeks. Hiaz.. for first tri, already gaiend 2kg. Chaim! I very stressed abt the weight gain, coz I hope not to exceed last time 14kg gain