(2012/06) Jun 2012

Wow looks like most of u have alr checked out packages!!!
Gosh im alr going 14 weeks but haven booked anything cos dr say his package starts from 5th month... Dr tell me dun think so much abt all these packages he will advise me at week 16. Haha

Charmed81: I spoke to someone from Gleaneagles and she told me its $80 per night for food + lodging.
Thanks though.

Anyways, can i check with all mummies here regarding strollers,baby cot and baby products.

1.Strollers: Looking for one that can fit car seat/stroller for newborn and then switch to a normal stroller. Which brand is affordable,durable ,convenient and light weight?
Am actually looking into Quinny,Peg-Perego or Inglesina but all other brands are welcome for a debate.

2.Baby Cot : Clueless but looking for a baby cot which is again affordable and durable.

3.Baby products : What are your thoughts on Avent,Pigeon, Medela and NUK? I have known the brand Avent for quite sometime as i see most parents using it. I do know however its all plastic but its BPA free now. Is there a difference between glass bottles and plastic bottles?

Thanks you in advance!! Hope to hear from all the experienced mothers out there!

Down with severe FLU which leads to SORE THROAT too. Lucky I've a checkup tmL with my gynae. ~__~

Thought preggies' immune sys are supposed to be strong??

Angela, no...pregnant mums' immune system are suppressed to allow the baby to live inside our bodies. That's why we have to be careful about certain foods to avoid certain bacteria eg listeria, salmonella, etc...

Hi Priscilla,

Initially did think of seeing Dr Heng cos her clinic is nearer to my home and a lady gynae definitely will make me more comfortable, but I saw a mixture of good and bad comments about her from the forum, and also many commented a long waiting time to see her. Hence I went to see Dr Poon at Hougang who delivered my niece and my sil highly recommended him. He is rather patient to listen to you and answer to all your questions, waiting time is not that long too as all gotta make appointments to see him unless emergency cases. He also deliver at Parkway East too. Hopefully he got packages which I gonna check out my next visit then. Will consider to change to Dr Heng if he don't meet my requirement. Thanks for sharing.

Angela,

I totally agreed with Nattan. I love tiramisu and I always like to make my own tiramisu. I have no problem eating them before I'm pregnant. The recipe of making tiramisu is gotta use raw egg white and I ate them without knowing I'm pregnant. You guess what....I had diarrhea for a couple of days. Luckily I recovered well and nothing serious happened. So we gotta be careful of our food intake, and also stay away from family members who are sick.

Hi Anna, I thought tiramisu uses egg yolks instead of egg whites?
kao_confused.gif
Anyway, you can make tiramisu safe for pregnancy by omitting the egg and coffee liqueur (although personally I think a couple tbsp won't hurt
)...

Michi: me go without pay during my leave.

Chloe: paiseh, not sure why I have that amount in my head. Can't find it in the paper given by my clinic. Anyway, I'm getting mine done at tmc

Michi : I breastfed my #1 till this current pregnancy. I deliver my #1 in Jan. I will latch on whenever I am with my girl and will pump when I am at work. For this baby I will bf for a yr lor cos not planning to have anymore.

Groovy 2009 : I stayed in a single Deluxe in NUH. for my #1. My baby sleeps with me except for the 3rd day cos she have to undergo phototherapy as she has slight jaudice. Otherwise, on the first nite, bb slept in nursery but the nurses will bring her to me every 2hrly to latch on. So far I like the service in NUH and will be delivering my number 2 there too ;)

Angela: i think i noe wat u mean by strong.. cause when i preg with my #1, i almost nvr fell sick. as in germs, i always think i won't get flu, cough, fever.. hehe
so i always dun bother abt umbrella.. haha

Re NT Scan: I had my scan done at gynae. only charge me $20 extra. he suggest triple test. so at 16weeks gotta take blood test.

Adeline: I had very good cot. but end up we co-sleep. so tat cot was used as changing area only or afternoon nap. wooden is not advisable due to the holes..

Michi: i bf till #1 was 3yo. stop 2wks b4 his birthday.
i borrowed a fren's pisa for 2yrs. 1yr i was self employed. so i lug my son to work n meet clients in a pram. so i latch exclusively.
2nd & 3rd yr i pump at work. milk supply was established already. plus #1 was above 1yr. so he was eating solids. i just give him whatever milk i pumped out. no extra storage. if not enough, i'll feed him more solids to be full. i nvr had the thought of feeding FM. so i made sure i supply enough then the rest supplement with solids.

I total latch until maternity leave ends for #1, only pump out if we go out and I give EBM.. So it's like once a week bottlefeed..

When I start work my #1 started doesn't want to latch. So I exclusive pump starting her 5th month and able to total pump milk for her until 1 year old, in total only open 1 small can of FM.

Then I drop pump from 4 times a day to 3 times, at first supply still OK, suddenly drop like crazy, becomes 1/2 supply and now only 1/4 supply I used to have before I stop only 1 pump. Huhuhu becoz Pregnant already.

Now dropping my pumping session in office too becoz it's getting more and more difficult for me to walk and bring heavy equipment to office. :S.

Only pump twice a day now. Hopefully can maintain the supply that now only able to feed her once feed only. huhu..

I was thinking of BF for 1 year. But scare tat when I return back to work my boss not supportive, later he think why i everytime in toilet so long.

So you all store the BM in the fridge at office? Do you separate out the 1st pump and 2nd pump? Or can we juz pump in one bottle? What I mean is like you pump in first bottle, store in fridge, then 3 hr later, take out the first bottle to store ur second pump again? and so on...

I also have the same worry as Michi, about staying too long in toilet though i also wanna BF for at least half yr.

Somemore need to lug the pump to office. Sighz

Michi: i store per 100ml. easier to reheat n feed.
i mix same day pumped milk. same day can mix.
any available room in your ofc to pump milk? or use lunch time to pump at ur cubicle can? toilet abit unhygienic..
for #1 i bought a big nursing shawl that goes through my head n wear like cape. so it's long enough to cover surrounding my body till waist lvl. i pump both sides at the same time at my cubicle. ppl walk past see i dun really care. as time went by, they were so used to it.
once they hear my pump start, they try to avoid my cubicle.. quite nice collys i muz say.
ppl ask i just say pumping milk then they will auto go away. anyway it's 15mins per session only.. some ppl go toilet breaks longer than that..
i do it 3x throughout my ofc work time.

petrina,
i oso hv intention to pump in office, but hor. my seat is jus near the glass door entrance to the office. like very open. think at later part of my pregnacy, will talk to my bosses abt my plan and ask can chg seat anot. :p

Haiz... my case is office too many male colleague. Abt 80% male lor, somemore dun have my own room

Toilet is the onli place tat got privacy... Hahaha

RedTea: yeah. if can change seat btr.. but muz have ppl willing to switch with u also.

Michi: if ur male collys r abit "ermm.." then btr not. my ex-co collys r very gentlemen.. hehe. my cubicle was along the corridor with lots manager rooms.. but most ppl will turn away when walking past my table. i face my table with chair pushed in. so ppl see my back only. they dun peek and kaypoh.. plus i abit open.. hehe.. to me as long as nvr expose flesh, i dun bother lah.
so it's more of personal character issue. if u really have no choice then toilet.. otherwise talk to ur boss n see if can use meeting room 2x a day?? then 3rd time pump at table during lunch? nobody in ofc..

Petrina,

Is it necessary to pump 3 times during office hours? I was wondering whether morning wake up pump once, lunch time once and after work once will do.

I only pump 1 time during lunch time in office. Last time in about 6 months I always pump in my cubicle using nursing shawl.. My colleague never thought I'm pumping milk becoz the pump sounds like printer sound. huehehe.. My cubicle is quite separated.
Then after that my office just had lactation room recently..

I bring my Pigeon Fridge to Go. In the morning put ice pack in office freezer, then take out during lunch time. It's supposed to be able to stand for 12 hours.

Yes you can combine breastmilk in 1 day. I always combine last time becoz not enough storage. Put until full..

My pumping schedule (4 times) as I exclusive pumping is:
morning wake up pump at 7 am
afternoon pump at 1 pm
after work pump at 7 pm
midnight pump at 12

The midnight pump is the most tiring.. My baby sleep overnight already but I still need to wake up to pump. huhu..
Supply when finishing maternity leave is 1000++ml, before I give up 1 pump is 600 ml (after 8 mths exclusive pumping-#1 is 1 year old, still pumping 4 times a day), then now drop becomes 150 ml per day. hux.. Hopefully can maintain since I give up another pumping session :S.

Hi Nattan,

It depends on your tiramisu recipe. You can use egg white or egg yoke or even both. The problem is that you gotta use raw egg which is something we gotta avoid eating now. Anything raw is harmful to foetus hence we need to be careful of our food intake to avoid food poisoning.

AsRias: i pump 3x cause i only pump 15mins. once the letdown finish, i'll stop le. plus i want to stimulate more. i treat pumping as latching session. since i pump both sides together, i count it as 2 latches. *my #1 drinks every 2hrs. one letdown per latch. so technically 8hr i need to pump 4x.
1 letdown i get about 200-250ml per side. so it's 1 feed.

like what Groovy said, u can pump b4 going work and during lunchtime, etc..

it's up to individual. after my boy turn 2, i only pump once during lunch time le. cause he drink lesser. i change accordingly to my boy's milk usage.

Tiramisu is my favorite cake!!! My hubby was asking me if I want to eat some yesterday but I sob to him telling him I cannot eat. I must eat a whole tiramisu cake after birth! Haha

I was watching the news last Friday. And it mention that bird nest price drop by 40%! Time to stock up!

I saw them interview our local medical hall owner neh. That uncle said something like China don't allow Birdnest so a lot of Birdnest in indo now. So hence the price drop.

Finally back to forum..
My #1 gets well la after another 2 days of fake measles from the prolonged fever..
So tiring and I am still a merlion at 14 weeks.. very tired and no mood to celebrate my birthday in 3 days time..

Milk pumping.
I also pump like Goovy but I will latch before sleep and latch at 3/4.
Also, using pigeon fridge to go..got it at $10 at pigeon warehouse.. a great deal!!

Another question, when baby is born will u get Shifu to choose their Chinese name or choose yourself? If choose Shifu, who can recommend?

Chin: My hubby wanna get Shifu too. We choose some of the name that we like, then consult Shifu whether can or not instead of letting Shifu to name

Ya we also thinking getting a Shifu. But who??

My friend got You Long Zi to choose a name for his son. But I forget the price. I think Zi Wei Tou Shu is better. Not sure thou.

Chin: my #1 christian name we chose. then we went our usual fortune teller to choose chinese name. he count the strokes n see what my baby life is short of water or etc.. then he'll choose the character. but the name sounds very nice. he gave us 2 names to choose.
so #2 will be same. we nvr go to those famous ones. our fortune teller is common person with roadstall outside temple for a living.

I heard You Long zi make mistakes too. I think his fs time due le, no longer that accurate.

Petrina> I also Thot want to go to this Shifu that choose my wedding date. But my husband say want to get others and both of us no idea who to

Chin: if ur shifu choose ur wedding date n everything went smoothly, then u decide if this shifu is trustworthy

we didn't use the date chosen for wedding as it was in lunar 7th mth.. *the shifu say based on our ba zi tat date was best in whole yr*
in the end my mom insisted on using her own shifu.
my marriage is smooth, but inlaws not smooth. though i'm not sure if it's linked, but i think dates n names r very impt.
my mom's shifu changed my name 6mths b4 PSLE. i ended up in normal stream. haha
though i was top 30% pupil in my school from P1 to P5...

<font color="aa00aa">ryan_mummy,
Wah! Your EBM is quite a lot. 200-250ml per side means 400 - 500ml per pumping session. I never get that quantity though I pumped 3X daily. I'll be happy to get 300ml from the 3 sessions.

My cubicle is just next to the door and I've to open the door everytime someone knows. Can't change place as I'm in-charged of that office area and need to be the "guard".

Hope I can succeed longer this time as it's very stressful to pump in the toilet.</font>

moi: i bought nursing top from Spring yesterday. some items have 50%. go check it out.
maternity shorts i bought from asos.com
quite cheap abt $SGD14.
regarding ebm, do u experience letdown when u pump? the feeling is different then the milk will keep flowing like tap.. but only for 5-10mins. then will go back to the usual squeeze then got milk pattern.
after that then i'll stop pumping le. but b4 that i will use hands to massage boobs while emptying near the end to squeeze watever balance.

Petrina> I'm not a fussy person over wedding so wedding still ok. But not in good relationship with my bil's family (not even in talking term due to one very small issue). Ya maybe will consider that Shifu if no better option.

Moi> u can browse gmarket or uniolo. I got problem hunting short for wearing at home. Any recommendation?

I also have problem finding clothes for casual wear. Used to wear my jeans skirt or just shorts when i go kopitiam or ntuc. Now shorts cannot fit and skirt v tight at the tummy =(. Feel quite silly to start wearing dress to go these places though this is now the most comfortable piece of clothing i have.

<font color="aa00aa">Yes, I have let-down but flow is not much, esp. the right side.

ASOS - can't find leh.

gmarket - I browsed liao. Don't like the design.

uniolo - Got any webby for reference?</font>

hee hee.
I like a short I got from Spring and I got maternity jeans and tights from Topshop. the tight is very comfortable that I use after pregnancy.

Got my #1 name from shifu too. Dun want to go to famous one coz you will find many same name in the class I heard..

Hallo eevryone

Have been so so so busy; no time to log in

Just wanna tell everyone that I've ordered our iHerb stuff. Will email you later when things are not so crazy.

Maternity Clothes

Wah Asos is a bit expensive for me. I normally bought my maternity stuff from Old Navy or Motherhood.com. A bit cheaper.

Milk Supply

I'm so envious! I only managed to hit 1000ml when I pumped 3.5 hours a day. I'm with moi, have letdown, but not much. I really envy those whose milk can 'waterfall' into the bottle until they run out of space &amp; have to change bottles!

How to increase milk supply huh?

Chin

Er.. the last round I bought almost 200USD by myself hahaha. Think the shipping cost me $50+? If I rem correctly.

Hmm.. if there are nice shorts, I don't mind sharing with you if you are spree-ing haha