(2012/06) Jun 2012

Jul: yes, i also order from ON & GAP whenever they have sale.. my usual shopping haunts. i very seldom shop in SIN anymore. exp n not lasting.. haha
unless like Spring where they clear stock due to size shortage.. then very worth.
i got my spaghetti nursing top - 2 for $36.90.
work skirt also ard $20 from Spring.

back from my korea honeymoon and baby is week 10now.. hehe.. was very naughty when im on honeymoon.. vomit like mad..

btw mummies i got question..

what's the diff between OSCAR scan and NT scan?

my gynae arrange me to do a NT scan at TMC but not OSCAR scan..

Jul will pm u when I spree from there. :D
This month already bought a lot of American eagle stuffs during the thanksgiving. Buy some more my hubby will chop me.

Chin: I got a shifu to provide some names. He came up with 5 sets of names and told us we could mix and match the second and third character as long as we don't change the position. In the end I chose one name. Later he tell me the name is quite big but I like the name anyway.

He also told us to give our names, uncle's and grandparents' names so as to avoid repetition as it is not good.

He also gave us an analysis of my son's life.

We returned to him for our new house fengshui and I'm quite happy with the services. Will return to him for the next baby's name. In fact he predicted that I would have a dragon baby. In a way he helped me to set a target coz I was dragging my feet about having a second one.

Forgot his English name but he is grandmaster Chen Jun rong from way on net

Petrina: we moved into our new place during the lunar seventh month. Our parents were aghast at the idea, and even the cleaning ladies who cleaned our house after the Reno tried to hint to us that nobody would move house during the seventh month. However our shifu said that it is actually during the solar sixth month which overlaps somewhat with the lunar seventh month, so it's ok. This solar month is different from the gregorian calendar.

So I think lunar seventh month I

Glass, so he from way on net too?

I suddenly feel very heaty! Gum swollen! Before preg I'm already hv a heaty body. Now preg cannot take liang. Hao Xing ku keep on bitting my tongue.
another few more weeks need to start tonic liao. Like that how to take.

Glass: wah. which year? maybe same yr as my wedding. haha
my son's name also abit big. but i like the sound of it. damn hard to write in chinese. i think my boy will be mad at me next time go school. lol

petrina

yeah I find maternity & nursing wear in Singapore super overpriced. But then, I didn't buy any nursing wear lah. I only pumped exclusively *sigh* I wonder if I'll succeed this time. With 2, I cannot affod to pump 3.5h a day now.

mihoger

Hope you had fun on your Hm, other than the vomitting part

Chin

Yup, let me know, esp if ON has a 30% sale haha

Hmm.. can you take 'mild' liang stuff like barley? Dilute it, drink very little?

charmaine

I replied you that I'll drop your order, like you requested. Don't tell me it didn't get through? There's something wrong with my notebook recently. They keep telling me my browser is outdated & what some features won't work. I'm a complete technosaur so I don't even know how to solve it!

Chinese names

Hmm if I have another boy, I'll have a big headache. Coz Hubs wants to follow the generation character, & it's so difficult to find a nice character to match it. Aiyoh...

Mummies!! Suddenly realized now it's the closing book time! And my boss need to calculate budget for next year. Hopefully it's not too late to tell him about my pregnancy. huhu.. Suddenly dream he sort of angry for me not telling him earlier. Argh..

Huhu sadly once I bought one nursing wear my baby started doesn't want to latch

Hopefully for this one will want to latch longer.. Really missed the bonding.

Otherwise I usually just use Shirt or T-Shirt when going out and find nursing room. Lots of nursing room available in malls here. Very convenient.

But last time when #1 born I really rarely go out. My in law all very kanjiong type saying don't go out too much becoz her immunization is not done yet etc. Hix. In the end only go during weekend to church, go a while in the shopping mall, then go home immediately.

For this #2 hopefully will be able to go out more. Cross finger #2 will latch well. hehe

groovy

Me too! I didn't go anywhere with #1 coz I was always stuck to the pump. And coz my supply was low, I couldn't go a long interval between pumps. So I just stayed at home & glued to the pump. Really praying that #2 will be more patient

Actually, I aws wanted to be able to feed my baby anywhere. Just buy nursing tops & the cover/shawl & I don't need to keep looking for nursing rooms. But alas! Sigh.. I feel very envious when I see other mummies latching their babies in public leh. Hubs said I'm mentally unbalanced haha

<font color="aa00aa">ryan_mummy,
Thanks for the URL. I bought the only shorts that's available in the smallest size (UK 8). Hopefully it suits me. It's really good that it offer free international shipping.

Re: Breastfeeding
I put my nursing tops to good use last time as I find I'm better at direct latching to pumping. But, I always wear the same few tops. Yes, a shawl will be very helpful as baby sometimes will pull your blouse and you'll be exposed. I only used cloth diaper to cover up that time.</font>

moi: when i ERGO my #1, i usually use cloth diaper to cover the part where he is latching. the shawl was used when he was in cradle position in my MIM sling or at meal tables.
i quite lazy to find nursing rooms as i m particularly disturbed my smells n hygiene. so i usually nurse on the go.

last time i bought those bottom lift or mid lift type nursing tops. end up nvr use cause i realized tat my baby can't breath well under those clothes. so since, i usually wear normal spaghetti tops or tubes when i go out if i dun wear nursing top clip types.
just pull down n latch.
my concept was just to cover the boobs. shoulders r ok to expose *IMO*

Jul: just believe tat nursing is like feeding baby with bottle. all natural. nothing to be shameful abt. once u pass ur emotional hurdle, u'll be able to nurse everywhere anywhere.

any mummies out there who are interested to buy Philips Avent Uno ISIS breast pump and Philips baby monitor (SCD 480/00) from me? I'm selling the breast pump for $100 and the baby monitor for $70. The baby monitor is pretty new as I used it less than 10 times! Message me if keen, thanks!

Huehehe.. Last time some more feeling direct latch is the most fresh milk and the best milk for baby, so in the end most of the time stuck at home as I have no confident to nurse in public and last time don't know lots of nursing room in the mall leh!

Some more hubby is the type that can't go alone without baby. Last time in-law ask us to go shopping ourselves in the end only 3 hours hubby already said missed baby lah, dunno if she drink well lah (as in law need to bottlefeed her) then go home lor.

If me going alone, got one time I go quite long time at night becoz my friend comes from Indo. (around 4 hours). Then coincidentally my mum is in my house and she keep calling me saying #1 is crying looking for me lah (even though hubby is at home). When I go back hubby said baby is okay actually no need to go home fast. Huhuhu.. In the end not really enjoying maternity leave. Stuck with baby at home as I don't have maid some more.

Mummies who latch exclusively. Hw do u knw hw much ur bb is drinking? N in events whn u hv to let smone doing the feeding, hw do u knw hw much u shld fd bb?

I face anthr problem too whn I hv my #1. He doesn't drink or slp whn he is out. So i can't bring him on long outings. Mostly must rch hm b4 2 hrs.
hw do I prevent history fr repeating itself for #2? Really hop sm mummies cn advise me. Thks!

petrina

I have no probs with nursing in public as long as I have a shawl or something to cover me. I also don't like the dirty &amp; smelly nursing rooms *yucks*

Prob is my son didn't want to latch. Impatient with the milk flow lah
That's why I pray hard that #2 will be an easier baby. O/w I may just go FM liao. Really no choice. I can't spend 3.5h pumping everyday with 2 kids to take care of.

How did you nurse with Ergo? Just latch the baby in an upright position? How many months old did you start latching in upright position? Did you have to loosen &amp; lower the waist part so that the baby can slip to the correct height?

groovy

I also believe direct latching is the best. But too bad my #1 was so particular

sigh~ feeling so shitty now.
i should have opt for amnio test direct in the first pl. stupid oscar, dunno y i always failed the blood test. the NT scan is always ok and then when add up the blood test, i got bad result. last time is 1:50, now this time is 1:119.
what should i do now. my #1 is normal after the amnio and my #2 i took triple test and he's also normal.

<font color="aa00aa">ryan_mummy,
Ya, those bottom-lift nursing top is not that efficient when you have a crying baby. I prefer side slit types.

I don't know how to use MIM sling though I have 2 types - silky (total failure as it keeps slipping off) and cotton (very difficult to adjust). I just used a normal baby sling but have gotten myself an Ergo last year when we went to Hong Kong.

christine77sg,
I don't know how he was drinking but as I pumped 3x daily, I just hand all the EBM to the caregiver and she'll gauge accordingly (i.e. feed him a bottle, if not enough, then add some more). My boy did not drink much in my absence.</font>

moi > thk. thn hw do u knw if bb getting enough fd? cos my #1 doesn't ask for more milk whn he is young n my parents r so worry tat he is nt getting much...so eventually i gave in.

Groovy: wah.. i more gungho than u.. cause MIL kept complaining i go out during ML. but i bring baby along. nvr pump till baby turn 1. so kinda like baby is stuck to me permanently since i refuse FM.
i am the new school kind. no nonsense as i know btr type of person. so i had bad friction with MIL but i choose to ignore.

Chris: baby is growing, u have letdown. pump a few times u'll know how much u get per side. then u'll know roughly how much ur baby drinks.
BF babies don't need measurements. they feed on demand. cause BM is mostly water so babies get hungry faster than FM babies. don't worry.
as i mentioned above, whenever i go out, i sure bring baby. #1 became part of me from Day 1. nvr left my side other than my meal time or my bath time.

Jul: i started ERGO after baby turned 4-5mths. depending on your body size n how flexible ur baby is. once the legs can open more, u can use ERGO already.
i will shift baby to the side where i want to latch. but still carry in the straight upright position. not the complicated side carry position as shown in ERGO website.
from Birth, i use MIM sling. baby also in kangaroo position since 2mths. from birth i dunno how to kangaroo him. so i used cradle. but cradle troublesome cause must change sides when u wanna change boobs to latch.

Chris: baby monitor if baby not sleeping with u in same room then it's useful. but i personally won't suggest u put cot in different room from birth. cause it's very tiring. imagine still pain from birth, everytime baby cry, u need to get up from bed n walk to next room to comfort. then feed or change. then after baby slp then walk back to ur room to try to sleep. but after awhile baby will whine again. tat's the main reason y i choose to co sleep. baby sleep on my arms. hungry, latch. then get up to change diaper then zzz liao..

RedTea: u ok mah? u didn't go for Triple Test? amino they say dangerous.. what ur gynae say?

Adeline - Yes. You need to book the CL early for next year. Last 2 weeks when I tried calling a couple of them, they are already taken. Lucky I have a referral. So you call earlier in order to play safe. Thanks!

Jen, Cheers! Gonna start calling now! Hahaha... however i thought i should complete my first trimester to ensure everything is smooth and fine before engaging one. My next appt is on next Thursday which would be on my 12 week. Cant wait for my first trimester to be over!

moi: i used cotton sateen. smooth n yet sturdy like cotton.
silk is slippery. cotton is too rough. ERGO is best once baby is stable. if worried abt neck, can use cloth diaper to support. i didn't buy infant holder cause SIN already super hot! haha
but my ERGO seems to be tearing in the insides. so i might buy a new 1. i'll buy the sports type. cause they say more airy. i'll be going mothersworks to check out the various new models.
mine existing is the standard original camel colour.

petrina . thks for the vry gd advise. I thot I wan2 use the monitor wh bb taking naps n i hv to do othr things ard the house. Scare I can't hear him.

Chris: u're welcome

can try letting baby nap on rocker when u r in the living room or kitchen or having shower. so at least baby is "tied up".
anyway 1st mth u really can't do much as u will be tired. n latching works better than sleeping pill.. on me at least. keke
after ur letdown, u'll release hormones to auto knock u out for some time.

ERGO basically is 1 design. just tat different models use different materials. either organic cotton, mesh, cotton.. there r 2 models catered for males with long waist n back straps.
but tat is more impt for Caucasians. Asian men do well with the standard ERGO.

www.ergobabycarriers.com

Hi Adeline,
My friends who are experience all ask me to get a CL fast..1 month ago I asked one of my friend's CL but she already book for June.. Then I kind of drop the idea, as maybe my parents can help.. Then my colleague scared me..he said if u don't get a CL u will regret.. Haha
Anyway i was quite lucky, went for my friend baby shower on Sunday and their CL is avail in June. So booked her immediately..

So I think those who are planning to get a CL, better be quick.

redtea

*hugs* Don't feel so down. Oscar is just a probability test. It doesn't mean that high probability = Down's Syndrome or low prob = no Down's sysndrome.

What does your gynae recommend? To take amnio or not?

Chris

I swear by my Medela PISA. I bought the Ameda Lactaline before that. Totally useless! Maybe it works for people with good milk supply but I really needed the extra 'horsepower' from PISA. Esp when I pumped 7 times a day in the early days.

Chris

If he didn't cry, he prob wasn't hungry leh. Mine kept crying coz he wanted more more MORE!

Personally, I put my #1 in the same room till he was abt 3 mths old. Then I shifted back to my own place n put him in his own room. By then he was sort of sleeping through, as in 5h or more. So it wasn't so bad.

it really depends on indiv preference. Some people prefer to cosleep. Me, I prefer to have my privacy. Esp when my #1 is a light sleeper, I can't just creep ard like a mouse when he's asleep till he wakes. Putting him in his own room gives me more freedom. Plus he's a boy, I feel he needs to be away from me from a certain age. Once he hits a certain age, very hard to move him out of the room.

My 2 cents worth. You have to decide which is a better arrngament for you.

Oh yeah, I have a baby monitor so I can hear him cry when I'm outide doing chores, watching TV etc.

petrina

Er.. ok I'm not sure if I get you. So you twist the Ergo towards the side where you wanna latch? Do you release the shoulder straps?

Chris

Another brand you may want to consider is the Manduca. It's very similar to the Ergo. basically the waist part to help support the weight, the shoulder straps, the part for the baby to 'sit in' etc. Both are evry easy to use. Just pop the bay in, pull up the straps &amp; clip the back. Like a reverse backpack

I preferred Manduca to Ergo coz Manduca had the padded part so that he cloth doesn't cut into my boy's thighs. But Ergo has an easier to release waist catch. Not sure if Ergo has 'improved' the thigh padding since coz I bought my Manduca in early 2010..

http://www.manducababycarrier.com.sg/

Huehehe.. yeah I think pump is personal preference and sometimes it works for some mummies but it doesn't work for others.
The good thing about Ameda or Medela breastpump is they have breast flange size too. You shall see their website to see which flange size is more compatible for you..

I personally like my Ameda pump because I have Avent pump as comparison. Avent pump really very easily spoilt and a bit unhygienic because milk can goes inside the pump. hehehe..

I also bought Pigeon portable pump (since it's the cheapest - only $110 for single pump) for my friend who stays in Indo, haven't asked her experience though. She stays in quite ulu place in Indo, saying no one selling breastpump over there so in the end I bought for her and when my mum is here ask to bring to Jkt and send to her..

If you still want Avent single pump don't forget to buy when they have it in bundle, because without bundle it's $339, with bundle only $199.

Ameda pump I bought online only $380, plus Pigeon fridge to go $59.9, plus 4 pigeon storage bottle $24.9 still much cheaper than Medela dual pump if you buy here! Don't forget that those Pigeon items sometimes come in 20% discount.

Ameda pump if Robinsons got discount can be cheaper than $380..

Angela,
Not to scare u la.. Cos I thgt for while..don't know to get one a not.. Then I think, my parent and aunt very long never take care of baby already and is my first one. So I thgt better pay and get someone experience to help so I can rest well.

I understand from the CL that they probably can only take up job for alternative month.. If they got a job in apr, they can't take may, cos will crash the dates .. Therefore now I understand,why some of then already booked..

Maybe you try to ask around ur friends those who just give birth, see if their CL avail?

groovy

yeah I bought the Ameda coz it was so much cheaper &amp; got some good reviews. But like you say, it's individual.

It really didn't work for me. I'm guessing that people with good supply don't need that powerful a pump to 'wring' the milk out. My boobs were pretty useless, I had to really squeeze every single drop out with my PISA. Sigh...

<font color="aa00aa">I haven't look for a CL too and my husband encouraged me to hire one since my mum doesn't know how to do confinement.

Nowadays, do you have to pay deposit when you book CL?</font>

Priscilla, great that you found a CL. Initially i thought dont need a CL cos probably my mum can help out but thought about it and i dont want to make it an obligation for my mum to be ard Singapore for a whole month. So thats why decided on getting a CL and my maid has nil experience on taking care of babies, so i have to tell my maid soon after my checkup next Thursday (final week of my first trimester).
My mum would love to help take care of me and the baby but she wants us to go back to Malaysia, which my hubby does not allow as its our first child and he wants bonding time as well i supposed.
So definately have to get CL for more assurance.

Priscilla, can you share how much did your CL charge?

Angela: Start calling now! Hahahaha..... Good ones are fully booked already!

jul, same here. I love my medela PISA, and cuz like you, my boobs also can't produce much milk, so I decided to just go straight for medela since I heard many hospitals also use this brand.

But really hoping that I can latch my #2, cuz for my #1, dunno whether if it's cuz I don't have a lot of supply, her mouth was pulling fervently at my nipple as if she's trying very hard to suck out milk! In the end my nips became sore and I had to resort to pumping.

I didn't pay for any deposit as is referral,, as I will not fly aeroplane. She charged $2200 for 28 days..she got 18 yrs exp..and I seen her taking care of my friend baby... I feel quite comfortable.
But just a little curious, she ask me to give her Ang bao when she arrive and leave for gd luck.. Did anyone have any experience on that?..is my first time hiring CL..

As chatting with her on bf, she recommend medela pump, she say fast and good.. She is one who encourage bf, so I think I shld be safe, as I also wanna bf..

So now the market price for CL is $2200. Cos the one I booked also charge $2200. 2 years back when I have no.1 I check (din engage one though) only $1800. Now whatever price also increase. seems like the later you have a child the more expensive it will be.

Jul: i also used PISA due to the high horsepower. haha. from beginning already used the max suction. maybe tat's y got lotsa milk. others also dun work for me.
for ERGO, i carry him in front. so when he wanna latch, i'll just shift his butt n the ergo abit to the side. i'll loosen the shifted part shoulder straps so tat i can shift. nvr release anything. cause i nurse on the go. so no hands to support his head. hehe

Chris: i agree with Jul. it's up to individual preference on sleeping habits. mine slept like log, sleeps on tummy. so doesn't jerk even when i was watching war movies when he's sleeping.
very easy life for me.
i am quite into attachment parenting. so i believe in child-led behaviour. i'm not sure about others but from sleep training to potty training to self feeding, i had an easy time.
i transited him to his own room at 3yrs 3mths. *took 1 night*
i stopped bfing totally at 2yrs 11mths 2weeks. *took 2 nights*
i potty trained him at 23mths. *took 3days*
MIL insisted on training him at 18mths. but she gave up after 2weeks. i didn't bother cause i told her he wasn't ready.

another friend of mine did opposite from me. nvr co-sleep cause she wanted privacy. but she has her hb wake up and bring baby to her then after latching, hb will bring baby back to his room. so i guess she was happier this way as she can sleep through the night.
then her potty training was done by nanny. she just have to follow through with the training during weekends.

Yotsuba: when ur baby bite or pull, u can try to squeeze ur boobs to see if she's sucking. if so, means ur milk isn't flowing well. if she still pull when u squeeze boobs mean she's either playing or not hungry or wrong latch.