(2012/06) Jun 2012

morning mummies..

I used nepia and I love the texture for newborn.
Ordered online and deliver in 2-3days. Free delivery for 4 packets. Each 60pcs and cost $15

So far I only bought 1 pack for NB, and based on the 32wk weight of 1.7kg, think my bb might come out around 3kg? I have the $2 discount coupon, so was thinking of getting another pack of NB. haha, then it will only cost $13.90 which is quite cheap. This round they never say min order for free shipping whereas the last round had to hit $60 or sth for free shipping.

Yah i've been taking deep breaths, doing all sorts of stuff... but when i lie down it comes back again, 2 pillows liao still breathless. Sian diao

petrina : is me talking about the breathless.. ~_~ sigh... but now is the pelvic preassure/pain is overtaking all my other aches/pain..

now 34week(bb is 2.2kg) going 35week on sat..

went gynae ystd , he ask me want to take injection for pelvic pain , i rejected.. and he told me will get worst , which indeed it get worst.. i walk like snail now..

Foot massage
I thought cannot do till that day at Tampines mall there was a promotion and my hub wanted to massage. They insist that I can do the massage as long as there is no pushing. After 6 months preg can do. I am abit amazed as most of them will reject preggies.

@footmassage

Do mine regularly. But they don't really massage your foot as it connects to other organs of your body. The inner ankle of your foot should not be massage too as it will aggravate you pregnancy. They just do light massages on my leg and keen

<font color="aa00aa">ryan_mummy,
Yes, I eat instant oat but gynae said they're processed and told me to eat raw oats. Will try your method of cooking raw oats with egg as I've never thought of mixing egg with oats.

Going for lunch now - gotta think what to eat to prevent sugar surge.

Gosh i am feeling so sleepy, keep yawning this morning! Still feeling tired... i wish i had HL or MC to stay at home and rest.
The 3rd trimester is all about being tired and restless to me.
Anyone feeling the same?

I am drinking hot water and wolfberries now, apparently MIL says it is good for the babys eye sight and she bought like a whole can for me!!
So got to drink.

Adeline,

I think moderate is okay.
My CL ask me to reduce reddish food like carrot, red dates and wolfberries oranges..
Say scare bb Jaundice.. not sure also.

Asrias, 1 pack of NB is enough for you? Considering that you may need to change 5-6 x a day, you'll run out in no time... I bought enough to last about 1 month since NB size is suppose to accommodate up to 5kg, but of course also depends on the baby's length and the cutting of the diaper...

Hahaha Charmine the food centre auntie told me to cut down on yellow food lil curry. But I think wolf berries and carrot are great food which have rich vit. C. Jaundice has nothing to do with the food that you consume laz

Aches
Still having this persistent cramp near pelvis area..doesn't help much even after clearing bowels. but still bearable. but backache is getting from bad to worse, i tink sleeping on 2 pillows will strain our back even more right? robinsons having sale again and this maternity pillow i have been eyeing is on 40% discount..but still dilemma on whether i should get it since only 1mth+ to go for me. do u gals use it often during nursing? if i can use it during BF, then at least money more worth spending.

petrina, i dun mind taking the 6 bottles of cocomax if they can deliver for 24bottles. can collect from u this fri.

any mummies bring their baby overseas at 5mths+? I am contemplating a holiday in dec since hv not been travelling for so many mths...but not sure if it'll be safe for my baby. anyone can share their experiences?

Moi: ya. cooking oats is raw oats. not the instant mix.

Ate subway melt 6" for lunch

Jaundice
any difference for food consumption? It's baby's bile duct lah.. some CL so cute.. so many myths after thousands of years..

Wolfberries
yes. it's good for eyes. mom &amp; baby.
muz drink raw wolfberries from medical halls..

mihoger: oh. any rest given? if pain then dun walk too much bah.

Charmaine: in fact if it's a massage palour i dunno, i won't try. cause you ain't sure if they r skilled enough to massage for preggies.

Nattan: Coz my MIL wan the bb to use cloth napkins in the day and only diapers at night. That why I only bought 1 pack to spare first. Wanted to get 1 pack of mamy poko also but then i never see any discount in NTUC lei. Since there is discount for goon now, will buy another pack.

Adeline: I'm also feeling so tired lor. Keep waking up in the middle of the night. Can wake up to pee twice and morning still full bladder. If not then is to change my sleeping position. Try to sleep on the sides but no matter how I position my pillow I end up sleeping flat on my back. Haha. Otherwise is change position cos of pelvic pain from sleeping on one side for too long.

Prettibride: I have a friend who brought their bb to taiwan when the bb was 6 mths. Weather was quite cool and the bb seems quite happy. I think the chore is on the adults coz you need to plan your sightseeing according to the bb's clock.

prettibride: as long as u bfing, no worries abt water cleanliness and supply.
since baby isn't on solids too. Just make sure u bring a good carrier or stroller and enough meds for emergencies.
Overseas or local same.. Babies don't know anything. treat ur holiday like any other weekend shopping trip to town

asrias: try to cut liquids at least 1hr b4 bedtime. i tend to sit in toilet for abt 5mins to try to clear bladder as much as i can just b4 i go to lalaland..
usually i zzz at 12mid, wake up at 7am to pee.

<font color="aa00aa">charmaine1978,
eh ... What's your issue about glucose uh?
I failed the GTT and gynae told me to take prick tests before going back to see her with the results next Sat (26 May).

Had yong tau foo for lunch again.

Re: Peeing in the night
I usually need to wake up at least once to pee in the night. I woke at 12+am this morning and couldn't sleep well after that. Urgg!</font>

Moi: did u take dong fen? at least it's a kinda replacement for staples..
Wanna try subway? perhaps the wrap which is thinner, i guess it's healthier than bread? or the salad version.. poor thing have to eat YTF..

Thanks moi! Will take note of the difference.

Moi, YTF also can't finish up the soup. Tried, tested and failed the test. Or maybe I'm just not producing enough insulin. Actually subway can be a good choice but u'll need to go w/o the sauce or choose the healthier sauce.

I think I'm losing my appetite. Nothing sounds good and what's appetising to me, I can't eat bcos of GD. The dieting seems to work as I've been maintaining my weight and baby is still gaining weight healthily.

Re: Peeing at night, I usually had to get up at least once. Most days, I get up 3-5 times. Nowadays, I'm awake at abt 4am and finding it hard to go back to sleep. Maybe baby is training me to get up following her hours.

asrias: ah. then bo bian liao. maybe u r more sensitive bah..

sel: my baby will kick me up when my bladder is full. haha. i usually lay in bed few hours b4 bedtime cause my feet swell pretty badly. then when i start feeling the pee gonna leak soon then i'll run to toilet n sit there for a long time. i get to pee at least 4x. meaning i'll pee. then nothing. i'll carry on sitting. then after awhile, i'll pee again. at least 4 pees later then i'll leave the toilet.

Re constipation
Dried apricots work wonders for me somehow. Plus it's a healthy snack.

Confinement
So happy to hv found this brand of vinegar I was looking for in an Asian grocery shop here today. The doggy brand &amp; it's made in SG! But I'm still undecided on which brand to buy for rice wine here. Can only find Made in China or Taiwan ones here but the TW ones r so high in alcohol content
most ppl try to avoid the China brands.

Which rice wine are mummies in SG buying? Those who r not buying home-made ones.

I'm still not sure how BH feels or if I hv them though this is my 2nd preg. Will some of us not hv them?

<font color="aa00aa">vinniesellie,
I usually don't finish the YTF soup too.

ryan_mummy,
I took YTF with kway tiao soup. Thanks for suggesting Subway. It's a good alternative from the norms.

Re: Rice wine
Actually, why must we take rice wine? Some colleagues said DOM or Yomeishu is fine too.</font>

Just back from lunch... hmm...went for lunch with a bunch of colleagues again and had za jiang mian with a variety of North Chinese side dishes. Now so full and sleepyyy... :p

Re peeing at night, I never wake up to pee although I drink about half a glass of water before bed. I can't sleep feeling thirsty. Before bedtime, I will try to empty out my bladder though. And I tell my baby not to press my bladder. So far, he's been a good boy

Cheri, re rice wine, I bought the triple A brand for normal cooking. I'm not sure if it's from China, but like you said, most are, so not much choices also. Like Moi suggested, can try using DOM or Yomeishu as substitute as well.

Petrina, I like the subway wrap also, used to eat it once a week after my gym session.

Moi,

I failed my GTT.
Subway is okay for me as I take blood test before and 2 hr after for 1 month to test out my food.
Had Oat meal cereal from M&amp;S for breakfast with peacans and almonds with HL milk. No issue
Half bowl of rice is no issue.
No noodles and even dong feng does not work for me.
2 slices of bread is marginal.
YTF I take without noodles. Okay.

Rice wine, I got from Geylang bahru home made not try out yet.

Vinegar, doggy brand quite available at my place there le.

Red orangish stuff,
My #1 no need to go for the light..so I am following her advice though it might be a myth la.. Hope it works this time too. And I drink coconut water.

Diaper
-------
Is Goon diaper good? I've requested for Merries diaper sample leh but still haven't received. But I've bought 4 Huggies NB and 4 small diapers during taka baby fair.

Pre-natal Massage
--------------------
I've tried pre-natal massage at Baby Bellies in United Square. Dang shiok ah! Must go again before due. Their main branch is in Golden Landmark.

That time during the OSIM sale during Mother's Day, my husband asked me to try the leg massage machine. Then the salesperson ran over and stopped me from using as it affects your internal organs. I was so paiseh that i scolded my husband cos many pple saw it!

Baby Names
-----------
Have all of you thought of your baby name yet? I'm still contemplating between two English names.....Chinese name is decided.

Leave
------
What is HL ah? I thought only ask gynae to give me MC a few days before my EDD.

GTT
My GTT result this time is really scary.
Fasting 74
After 1 hour 156
and stayed for 2 hours
Gynae refer me to specialist and I got the do blood test myself for 6 times a day.

But I found some great alternatives that does work for me;
Venezia gelato (Only this brand somehow) the one at Bugis
Maggi curry instant noodle (Not for CCYD, you realist the carbohydrate is much lower than CCYD)
Avengers KFC meal with half the mash potato and pepsi light

Sometimes, they really curb my cravings.. and not affecting my glucose..
But I do miss my Kois, laksa, fried kway tiaos.. lol

<font color="aa00aa">jol82ene,
No problem. Just sent 3 coupons to you:
2x ($1 off $10)
1x ($2 off $20)

charmaine1978,
Thanks for sharing. My gynae told me to take low-fat, high Calcium milk too as I'm currently taking goat's milk.
I had 2 slices of plain whole-grain bread yesterday - no issue. I'll have to try the noodles family to see if it'll affect my level.

Re: Wine
All types of wines for bathing???

jlchia,
I received my Merries sample IIRC 2 weeks ago.</font>

Re: Rice wine.

my mum made some for me, turn out the taste a bit sour, all these while the rice wine she made all sweet taste, this round is a bit sour. She blamed that because I am carrying a boy. old wives tales said have boy is sour taste girl is sweet taste.

I think only cantonese or hakka will take in rice wine during confinement, hokkien may be not.

Moi,

Wine
LOL. nope only white rice wine for bathing and washing hand.. the rest is for consumption.. my gosh!!

GTT
Ya. You got to try. Is different people works differently. Like for me, fruits are not so bad. I can still take some fruits.

Petrina, the zha jiang mian was quite authentic. You can try Tian Jin restaurant at Bras Basah Complex. the other side dishes are good too.

joycie, I got my Merries diaper samples already. Maybe they ran out? Or you can try submitting your request again.

I thought of my baby's Christian and Chinese names long ago.. hehe.. both boy and girl names. After week 17, confirmed the name when we determined that it's a boy.

Charmaine, rice wine for washing hands and bathing??!! Wow... first time I heard of such a practice...

Petrina, yeay more reasons for me to drink coconut water. hehe

Charmaine, I think ur GTT not so bad leh. Still can eat KFC. If I eat deep fried food, sure fail de. Sometimes, even when I eat healthy I still fail. I was almost put on insulin bcos of that.

I think the weather is very warm and humid nowadays. I'm starting to feel addicted to eating ice.

Charmaine
I'm based in Melbourne now so the doggy brand vinegar is not easy to find here.

Re rice wine
Rice wine for bathing? Thot we can use those herbal bath packs for bathing? Ya I rem my CL using DOM then too but
think she used more of the glutinous rice wine. Not sure why. Maybe it's the taste?

Triple AAA brand? Nattan, can you help me check if that's made in China? How many % alcohol content? If u hv a
bottle at home...

Wine for bathing?? first time i heard. haha
anyway, make sure ur CL cook the wine till all alcohol is gone. unless u dun intend to bf

Sel: i'm munching almost melted ice cubes together with my ice cold coconut water

Didn't know coconut water had so much benefits
till i googled.. hehe

Charmaine: Wolfberries= Jaundice?! Really?

Prettibride: We will be taking our newborn when she is 4 months to Korea as we have a wedding to attend.I heard it is easier to travel with newborn as you are still breastfeeding so you dont have to go and find or make food for infant.

Petrina: Yes, my MIL bought the raw wolfberries from Eu Yan Sang for me to put into my thermal flask then add hot water to drink at the office.
Hubby wants me to drink so babys eyesight would be better then mine!! Hahaha.....

Xiao Wei: Yes i am in the same situation like you!! Wake up 2-3 times at night just to empty my bladder when i have already tried to empty it before going to bed at 11pm. I have no problems going back to sleep but just the break in sleep i guess results in a disrupted sleep. I also tend to wake up to change position from left to right and back to left again.

Petrina,

I always clean my breast before breast feeding la. The wine and ginger to bath with chinese herbs to warm the body..

Sel,
The new avengers meal is no bread at all.. so is the 2 slices chicken with cheese and bacon.. quite sinful indeed.

Adeline,
I not sure.. I trust more on eating everything moderate till I got my GTT(So no starch). but I know that we chinese believe wolfberries good for eyes though.

I wake up from dreamz though I pee once in the nights which I used to sleep through.. and wake up everywhere pain le

Wolfberries = Jaundice??
No la. She just commented that I don't OVER consume red/orange stuff.. so just don't overly dependant.. Like some preggies love oranges and eat a few a day...

Cheri, Moi, yes that's the one I have. I bought a small bottle previously for cooking.

Petrina, I found a recipe using coconut water ice cubes to make fruit smoothies!
Great idea for a refreshing treat on a hot day.. think I'll go make me some during weekend

Adeline, wolfberry and any other foods DON"T cause jaundice. Read this http://kidshealth.org/parent/pregnancy_center/newborn_care/jaundice.html
So nothing you eat can cause it.. but maybe during breastfeeding, you may want to avoid certain foods that may aggravate the jaundice such as excessive amounts of ginger (this is not scientifically proven, only anecdotal). But jaundice is common and easily treatable, so don't worry.

nattan: wahh.. make me very gian! coconut water ice cubes.. yummy

agree that no foods cause jaundice. hehs.. mostly r myths lah. as usual.. Since chinese have 5000 yrs of culture, i'm sure more of less information has been mixed here and there then by the time it comes to us, it becomes ridiculous...
For those really into bf-ing, do check out foods that are anti-bf-ing before popping.

http://www.breastfeeding-problems.com/foods-to-avoid-while-breastfeeding.html
http://www.babycenter.com/0_breast-milk-interactions-chart_8788.bc