(2012/06) Jun 2012

Haha Jul, you got BH and you went shopping??! You're really a shopping queen!

I went to Gmarket and bought another 2 packs of S size and 3 packs of M size Pampers. There's a 5 pack per day limit on orders for the promo. Total spend $57 with free shipping above $50. Average price same as your Watson's promo. I think I'm done with diapers too... for now ;)

huh? Was even tinkin of goin in later to buy.

Hi mummies, i also read that last 2 months can drink raspberry tea.. Where to buy?

Also can i go for foot massage my legs aching mad! Saw babies bellies have foot massage dont know good anot leh..any recommendations?

Which post natal massage is better? I regret didnt sign up with any during those fair.. Now have to hunt and hope for some special offers..

I also want to buy the confinement herbal bathe shower gel which is good and where can i get them online or stores?

Im in my week 30 now... Looking forward to june!

Nattan

Huh no lah! I bought the diapers before i had the BHC lol

I'd have bought the mamy poko S if they had it. Prefer MP coz it's the best brand i've used for no1. Not so secure abt pampers lah. But no choice, M smallest avail for MP. Hopefully no2'll be ok with Pampers.

Feel so relieved to settle another thing.

Pampers promo
aiyah.. so now no more again? haha.. was searching for the webbie earlier.. =s

cleopatra
i'm w rustic nirvana for pre and post natal.. i think it's alright.. no room for comparison since i didn't go for other places eg bb bellies..

confinement shower gel
i used it for #1.. still have leftovers.. haha dunno still can use or not.. bought it from a webbie recommended by fren.. lemme go and search for the bottle and see if the site is written on the label

one more day to friday! so dread to get outta bed this morning!! am already thinking abt getting back in there soon! hahaa!!

Sigh staying home to rest tdy. The BHC lasted quite late till i fell asleep. Tummy still a bit tight now. Decided not to strain myself n trigger more!

But i keep looking at the packs of baby n kids clothes in the living rm. Lol. Someone save me!

Morning mummies...

so tired today...
dunno why... maybe I slept too late.

Cleopatra, I signed up with Origins Jamu. I saw Baby Bellies at the baby fair but after comparison, I feel that Origins provide better value. Of course, you can google for more options and do your own comparisons, read the testimonials etc before you make a decision.

hopecg, yeah.. the promo is over. Maybe you can check everyday from 8pm onwards cos the Gmarket promos usually starts at 11am and 8pm daily. Sign up for their newsletter to be informed of the latest promos too.

Jul, have a good rest at home!

Morning ladies! J

Jul

Get a good rest at home today yah? Don’t itchy backside and start to do packing instead. If not your BHC might get worse and make you feel even more comfortable the whole day. Take care!!

My feet also always feet very “sng” esp the base of the feet. Sometimes, at the end of the day when I shower, I just can’t wait to quickly finish up and go sit down somewhere and sayang my feet. LOL!

Mamy Poko

It doesn’t come in S size? What’s the typical pricing like per piece for MP? So at least I know what is a “good” price if I do see it slightly cheaper.

Pampers

Wah, pampers seem to be on a roll man..trying to push out a lot of stocks issit? Hehe…I don’t have room to get anymore liao. Have to “ren” and not buy and buy.

Hope

Better check the expiry date for your shower gel!! Hehee..wait expire leh….

I’m always feel more energized in the morning and walk quite fast. Like Duracell bunny..then afternoon, my energy level DIPS and then I behave in low motion all the way till day end.

Only one more work day to tahan!! Hang in there!!

Nattan

Are you still feeling unwell? So u did end up stocking more pampers! Even bought M size?

Morning ladies!!

Looking forward to the end of today. Am off again tomorrow!! YAY!

Going to do interview maids tomorrow,hopefully i am able to find the right one.

How come you guys are stocking up on so many diapers? I bought napkins for her day use and diapers for her night use and going out. However i only have 3pkts of the Pampers newborn which i think will last me 1 month?

Would i need size S my the time she is 2 months?

Nattan, smileezz

Thks! Trying to lie down now altho backside really itcy leh! Lol

Mamy poko

Got all sizes from NB up. But the sale from M only
. Dunno per pc but usually for the big packs, ntuc sale price is $20.60 per pk. Yest i bought at $20.

My son was born small at 2.6 kg. Small cutting NB also a bit loose in first week. But doubled by full mth so he was alr wearing S then. Very fast moved to M coz he grew v fat!

I'm gog by no1 pattern. Targeting early birth hence small. Bought 24 x 6 NB, 48 x 3 S n 66 x 2 M to stand by. Using fully disposables n TBF so i'll be using a lot!

Jul- Thanks for the breakdown!Will look into offers for S & M now. I only have sample diapers for S from Goon.

Has anyone bought Mamy Poko or Pampers directly from Japan, is it cheaper?

Adeline

Have u decided which country to get your maid from? Good luck with your interview with them.

Don’t think your 3 pkts of 24 pieces for NB will last so long? Cos typically if you are doing BF and for the first month, a lot of diaper changes expected. If you are using cloth diapers, a lot of washing to do! Your maid will be very busy.

Jul

Lie down and relax!! If backside itchy, use your hands to scratch! Haha..don’t use your hands to do packing! Your No 1 not at home? Don’t need to take care of him?

MP diapers very ex. :p I haven’t even thought about getting Size M yet. How did you manage to fatten up your boy so quickly and efficiently over 1-2 months? Must share some tips. Hehe..

HI everyone, been a silent reader here.. currently 29weeks.

I have a pre-natal yoga package with Como Shambhala at Forum to sell off as my gynae said i should stay off my feet for now cos my uterus is apparently irritated at me so need to rest as much as possible.

There's 4 more lessons in my package ( each lesson worth abt $30plus). Would like to sell it for $80.
http://www.singapore.comoshambhala.bz/rates-and-promotion/rates-for-classes

Just need to use the card as they do not check and there's no photo on card. Pls PM me if interested. I'll mail the card over.

wow u mummies are fast. till now i only have 1 sample diaper from goon. haha. My MIL want me to use napkin diaper lei... So also cannot stock up too much on diapers. Think will only use it for the night.

ssmilezz, my flu is better but still cough at night, sometimes waking myself up. I also have a bit of runny nose and spit up a lot of phlegm throughout the day. Other than that, I feel better, thanks.

Kadice, ya that promo is over. I haven't bought nursing bras from Gmarket yet. I saw a few nice ones, but I think those that I ordered previously should be sufficient for now. BTW, the Emma Jane bras I bought from Asos are really good! Very comfy!

Jul, I also bought 6 x NB, 2 x S and 3 x M to standby.. hehe
Cos I got some S size samples from Goon and Drypers.

Ya Mamy Poko is really quite premium but still not as ex as Goon. But my boss swears by MP.

Asrias, I may switch to cloth later when baby's pee/poo cycle is more predictable. But I think in the first couple of months, you'll be so busy feeding every 2-3 hrs, where got time to do laundry unless the maid/CL spends all her time washing diapers and cleaning up after baby? Disposables are still more convenient I think.

Separates & Rompers:
Not sure if any of you remembered me asking about the front button 2 pieces ytd. I happened to go to robinsons and saw that they are having sale 2 pcs for $9.90 (tops) and 2 for $7.90 (bottoms). Rompers are $6.90. I would it alot cheaper than Gmarket one (per set of top and bottm costs $8.90 vs Gmarket $11.95)

Another morning of waking up and feeling so tired despite sleeping for 9 hours! *Yawns*

Nattan: Thats what I thought too. I was set on using disposables, but my MIL insisted on letting the baby use the napkins lor. Heng got CL if not i die lor. Anyway i told my hubby day time then use night time sure use disposables. After confinement then see how. Where got time to wash all these napkins. =(

Btw i also got the emma janes bras and I have to agree its super comfy!!! Bought 3 of them. The material is very soft. Luckily you girls mentioned its available on ASOS and with the 20% off its really quite worth it, only $25 per bra. I saw at taka fair and it was selling at close to $50 per bra.

Might buy another 2 on gmarket or those maternity blog. I think 5 should be sufficient ba.

Jul: If your BHC is persistant you might wanna check it out with your gynae.
Cos I had my stomach being rock solid last fri and thought nothing of it cos there wasn't any pain. So tot it was just BHC. It was like that throughout the weekend so on mon I called my gynae who said I shud go down for a ctg.

Turns out I was having contractions every 10mins, so I had to be warded for observation til yesterday. So like my gynae say please be kiasu when something out of the ordinary happens and just listen to your instincts.

So now have to get as much rest as possible.

Fleurfleur, yeah sometimes dept stores or blogshops can offer better prices than Gmarket. Recently I bought 2 kimono style wrap rompers from a blogshop for $10 ($5 each). You might be interested... https://picasaweb.google.com/102089166107890922713/KimonoStyleWrapRomperManyMoreDesignsAvailable#5693824774531323826

They are made of very light muslin-like material which is suitable for our hot weather. The good thing is it's easy to put on the baby, but they are a bit big.. best for maybe 3-6mths old.

Asrias, maybe your MIL thinks it's better for the baby cos less incidence of nappy rashes with cloth diapers? Disposable are also more costly in the long run. Ya maybe you want to use disposables at night so that baby can sleep throughout. Cloth type gets wet and soggy fast.

Re bras, I also bought a few cotton sleep bras cos your boobs need extra support with all the feeding. Besides, might leak if we don't put on the breast pads? Those are cheap.. can get from blogshops or gmarket around $10+.

hihi Nattan: I just saw the link. It looks very cute and comfy! Thanks

Although at this point i am quite scared of the impending pain. not sure how the labour and giving birth will be like but also mixed feelings as i am actually excited about seeing my baby girl. Its really mixed feelings of the pain, bleeding, joy, more sleepless nights etc.

AsRias

Can buy some to just stock up if the price is cheap. There can be quite a lot of savings. You can always opt for cloth diapers if you really want but at least get disposables to standby instead of last min trying to get some.

Nattan

Good to know that. Too much coughing not good for us too!

Those rompers are cute. Should be comfy and light weight for our weather too. Some online shops do have some really decent offers, need to scout around and buy a bit first to test test.

Fleur

It’s normal to feel that way. You are not alone. Actually, going through the pregnancy really makes me love myself more. Appreciate how hard my poor body is working overtime. Haha..and this experience also shows us how much people around us care. Somehow, people tend to be more expressive to preg moms.

It really is a mixed bag of emotions. Keep an open mind and communicate and talk to people around. It will help you feel better.

I am more worried about Post Natal Depression. Been hearing so many mommies just breaking down in the first month really scares me.

Ssmilezz- Interviewing Filipino maids as i am transferin my current Filipino out. Yes i need all the luck!!

The 3pkts is just for night usage though.

I will have a maid to help out so i believe it is manageable to use cloth napkin for her first few months but only at home.

Oh so excited about seeing my girl this Sat. Cant wait!

Hi fleur,

I understand too. Don't know how will it be. No exp.. I having dilemma now.. Everyday I keep thinking, epidural or not. I don't wanna use epidural but scared I can't bear... This is always in my mind.. Haha.. Think I am crazy..

Now, I wanna start packing my hospital bag... Then I start wondering, how many maternity pad we have to use per day? Can someone share? Cos i only buy 1pack. Engh?

And anyone going for Brazilian waxing before going delivery? Jul, u going? I coming to my wk30 soon.. When shod I go?
So got another 8 to 10 wks to go only.. Time is flying...

nattan, those rompers look cute. dunno whether to buy first to stock up, heheh. I would go check out those Emma Jane bras since there are good reviews;)

Lunchtime soon. Think I would go for something soupy. Had heavy breakfast-fried beehoon.

Fleurfleur, ssmilezz, it's normal to have all kinds of emotions during this time, but try to focus only on the positive thoughts and keep communicating openly with your spouses to share about your thoughts and feelings.

Ok I just need to vent a bit here and maybe get some of your inputs. I'm part of an admin team at my work place, but my jobscope is totally different from them cos my boss oversees 2 portfolios in the office and I'm the only staff handling the other portfolio not related to admin. Yesterday, we had an event which the whole team including myself were involved in organising. I just saw an email that mentioned that the admin colleagues are going for lunch together tomorrow, presumably to celebrate the success of this event, but nobody came to tell me about it. So I don't know if I'm also suppose to go for this lunch or did they purposely exclude me?

Adeline, I'm also seeing my boy this Sat...can't wait too...

pris
i am also think of gg brazilian! which one u gg to? strip? when can we go huh? wk 35?.. hahaa gotta make appt

asrias
wads the promo code for the 20% ASOS huh? issit ongoing?? thinkin of getting a few pieces myself too

maternity pad
i bot 2 for my #1.. in e end, hardly use them.. used mostly the regular ones.. maybe lochia not a lot for me and i dislike the super thick padding =P. think e regular ones work for me, aint' gonna get any more maternity ones.. maybe just need to change more frequently

munching on lays potato chips nw.. hehe!

nattan
the email sent to u too? got frenz in the other team to check out? what is the working r/s like w that team?

nattan: could it be that they accidentally missed you out in the email? if i were you, i would feel excluded as well
but also weird to go and ask them. perhaps, tmr they would realise when they are heading out

hopecg: I just went to check, the normal sizes of the bra on discount are all gone. left with extremely big sizes

hopecg, Kadice there was no email sent to me about this lunch, I only read about it in another email from another colleague sent to the admin team and me.

I think I work well with the admin team, we're friendly with each other. Also I used to have lunch regularly with the snr mgr of the team, but not long after that, she decided to join another group for lunch so we stopped going lunch together. I'm fine with that since I don't usually like to go to far off places or spend a lot for lunch, which the other group often does. But I guess since we stopped lunching together, we don't really have a chance to build a more personal relationship. I'm quite quiet in the office, don't really have regular lunch partners cos I like to spend my lunch time going to the gym or lunching in, sometimes go out for shopping. But I don't really socialise a lot outside of the office.

nattan
act if that's e case, then u wanna go for the celebratory lunch? is that off for you? since you dun really hang ard w them often anyways.. sometimes these lunches, i rather not go.. awkward anyways..

Hi hopecg,

For waxing, usually i will goi to this salon "Spa Heaven", is at Amoy st.
Their service quite ok. Therapists there very experience.
I think they charge abt 40-50bucks.

I am thinking when to go. Go now and go another round in May? Or just go one round in May?

Anyone interested to buy Ginger Extract Cream
for confinement use? Or other use?
Is $9. Us $15.
I can help to buy, can pass to you mummies during the dinner meetup.
Please let me know.

6852478.jpg

hopecg: The promo is over le. But I just received an email from Amex today that for 29march-1april use amex to buy asos theres 20% off. If you have amex card can check it out.

Ssmilez: ya I intend to buy some. Waiting for discount on mamy poko. Cos so far I heard quite good reviews.

Priscilla: My friend said hers lasted 3weeks to 1mth. Scary. Think the hospital will give 1 pack. I bought 2 packs of kotex from ntuc last week. If run out then ask hubby go buy since the ntuc is just opp our house and he doesn't mind.

Am thinking of just shaving it myself. Haha. About 18 weeks that time i shaved the bikini line once. Cos got irritated by the hair and i'm not sure if baby is stable enough for brazilian waxing. Oh mummies, try not to use hair removing cream now. Just read on baby center yesterday. Cos some of the chemicals will actually be absorbed by the baby.

hopecg, Kadice, I managed to ask one of my Malay colleagues, whom I'm closer to and she was surprised I was not informed. She said the lunch is actually a treat from another dept head who is helping our boss to oversee us while she is away on maternity. So she is going to ask whether I can go for the lunch. Now that I know another HOD is treating, I'm not that keen to go la... I thought it was a lunch among own admin colleagues. Anyway... see how it goes...

Re waxing, I'm so lazy to go ever since pregnant, feel like just shaving :p I like Honey Pot although they seem to be more expensive now and I don't have a package with them anymore. I wanted to go and try Strip but they rejected me when I was in 1st trimester. I don't think they are very professional lor.. didn't tell me this before I went to the salon.

Re pads, I think I'll just get those heavy flow overnight type. I dunno what is the loop type that hospitals give and I dun intend to try it cos heard some of the mummies here say it can fall out! Watsons always have promos for various brands so can go and check it out.

Hi mummies,I am doing online shopping selling children's clothes too!May wish to add me @ Happy wardrobes in fb..thanks mummies for the support

Nattan: I like setup in the strip outlets and that its hygienic, but what i hate is that they are very pushy lor. No package push you get package. Got package push u convert package to IPL. If still dun wan they push you to buy products.

Though i'm also thinking of shaving, I dunno if I can still see below my belly without the aid of a mirror. My tummy so big now lor.

Nattan: I guess for me i will feel upset whether or not i want to go or join them. But take it in your stride. If you don't join them also good, no need to waste energy entertaining during such lunches. Anyway they "forgot" you so they should feel more paiseh about it.

Hehe Asrias, I no need to see... just feel :p I also hate those shops that push their services and products. Usually will tell them I don't buy packages cos I like to try different salons. But I was very annoyed the last time I went cos I already told them I'm pregnant, then they asked me to go to the room and change out of my clothes. After I lie there and wait, the therapist came and told me she won't do it cos she's afraid would affect the baby since I was still in 1st trimester. Very unprofessional.. wasted my time! After that I decided to go to Honey Pot.. no issue at all as they did it for a lot of pregnant women.

Fleurfleur, yeah... I don't feel so bad now la.. anyway, if I don't go for the lunch, I can join other colleagues who are going to Chinatown to lunch and shop for toiletries. But if that HOD wants to include me, then I also cannot reject right... make him look bad for excluding me, then reject him :p Anyway thanks to you, hopecg and Kadice and for lending a "listening ear" and your advice

Nattan: huh! you changed out liao arh. I tot they turned you away at the counter. Thats bad. Really unprofessional.

Shave i must see lei. I scared I cut myself. Last time I shaved my legs while bathing, also can cut a piece of skin off. Hurt real bad.

RE PADS:
I bought 2 packets of Kotex Maternity @ Take Baby Fair (total 20pcs)
1 Laurier packet 28cm with wings @ Chinatown
1 Kotex 32 or 35cm with wings while supermarket shopping
I think total i have 60pcs purchased (assuming i change 3-4pcs a day)

From stocking up on diapers to pads. STOP!! now for me.

RE Waxing ... i still go for waxing around every month but will try to time my last one 2 weeks before my EDD

Asrias, yeah lor.. already changed out then they told me :p If you're scared of cutting yourself, then can ask your hubby to help you hold a mirror while you shave, or do it for you! ;)

Fleurfleur, you really bought a lot!! I think I will just get another pack of overnight pads to standby...

I went for my waxing about 2 weeks ago,it hurt slightly more then usual. Perhaps am much more sensitive to pain now.

Will be going again for a brazilian wax closer to EDD perhaps at my 36 week, is that allowed?
I should check with Strip and gynae too. Hahaha...
Anyways see what my gynae says this Sat during my checkup.
When will your gynaes inform you roughly about when you are expected to deliver? As i know some of my colleagues and friends gave birth as early as on their 35 weeks.Or does it just happens?
That would be really scary as i probably would not be prepared yet as i would keep thinking that i still have ample time.

OPS ... kinda funny coz i saw maternity one i bought then i saw laurier have long one i bought then i saw Kotex got floral pattern so i bought.
I was like expecting to bleed alot ... and i even asked my DH - Do you think its enough? He looked at me with ???? How i know Look!??

Adeline: Your gynae Chan KH right? Same as mine. I cannot wait for u to ask him about waxing and see his reaction LOL. Sometimes he quite see mood one. Keep me updated k