(2012/06) Jun 2012

Nattan

Lunches between colleagues can be quite sian @ times. If I can siam, I will siam. But I do know that it kinda sucks to have that “left out” feeling. Anyway, I’m glad you got it sorted out with your other colleagues. At least no misunderstanding.

Fleur

I haven’t stocked up on my pads and disposable undies. Hehe…will do that soon. I guess I’ll get the overnight longer cotton type of pads to use instead. I really cannot figure out the loop pads….:p

Waxing

I never went for it before…erm using creams usually but now just stick to shaving. Won’t be intentionally going to wax or anything prior to delivery. I thought the nurses will ensure what needs to be removed/shaved etc will be done anyway.

Adeline

Keep us posted after your visit on Sat. Always nice to see our little one hor….I’m looking forward to my next visit too!

Had a very fulfilling lunch at TCC. *burp* Was there to provide a listening ear to a friend – she’s going through a rough patch cos her spouse cheated on her. So hard to be a woman sometimes….

ASOS

Is there still a sale going on? Hmm…should I go look see look see??

I realised that maybe i might have gone overboard in thinking that my bb may not have enough clothes for first 6 months. Some people tell me that for each segment (NB, 0-3M, 3-6M) just need around 7-10 pcs enough alrdy.

I better go back home tonight and do a stock take again!

Its like buying diapers and pads always worried not enough and overpacking on holidays in case run out of clothes to wear but always end up have extras hahaha

Ssmilez/Hopecg: This is what i saw on the mailer

Stay on trend, online. Enjoy 20% savings* at ASOS between 29 March and 1 April 2012, when you spend using your American Express® Card.

American Express is proud to partner with the one-of-a-kind, online fashion phenomenon that is ASOS. Discover over 850 labels, create and share looks, keep up-to-date with street style, new trends, celebrities and music, all on your mobile, iPad or PC. It’s your daily fashion fix - just as you like it.

Enjoy 20% savings* on regular priced items and free delivery* when you shop at ASOS using your Card between 29 March and 1 April 2012.

Code: AMEXSG

Adeline, waxing now may hurt more cos of our hormonal changes. Have you experienced Braxton Hicks contractions yet? Your doctor will check you and see if you are likely to give birth early (like if your baby is in the engaged position already). Many mums I know deliver in their 38th week.

ssmilezz, yeah... sian to lunch with people that you're not very close to.. so hard to find conversation topic :p

There's no special sale at Asos at the moment, but they do have a Sale section for past season stuff.. can go and check it out. BTW, I love the belly band and tights I bought from Asos.. really very comfy and good quality. The belly band is cheaper than the 1 I bought from Mothercare but doesn't cover the entire belly like the Mothercare one does. I bought some maternity clothes from their maternity line too.. good quality and not too expensive.

hullo!

Hah a short nap, wpoke up before 1pm actually, but feeling lazy so just lay in bed & let my mind wander. Wah such a shiok feeling, nvr have that luxury these days. But of course, my mind has to wander to whether I have bought this, bought that, prepared this, packed that. So now I've crawled out & am waiting for my Mac's delivery to come. Too lazy to walk downstairs to get lunch, besides, I'm on bedrest right? lol

Fleur-Yup! Hahaha....i dare not even ask him! He just always try to turn me to vegan i feel but i guess he meant well, but i cant do without my meats man!

Are you going to see him this Sat too when you are there for your tour?

Pads

Nobody can beat me! I bought 140 pads altogether! A variety of 28cm, 35cm, and a bit of 41cm. I bled for 5 weeks the last time! Of course, heavy flow was in the beginning, then it tapers off. But I remember I went thru 100 Pureen maternity pads & had to 'top up' with some normal pads. So better be safe than sorry! Besides, I can use the pads for when period returns mah.

Disp Panties

I bought some new ones, discovered old ones.. so altogether I have 60 cotton disp panties. I hate wearing stained panties, & I dun wanna have to wash them during confinement! So I bought to change 2x a day. Hygiene's impt to me lah.

Imagine, say u have a Malay massage, then u need to change out of those oily panties right? Then when u shower, dun u wanna change to new panties again? Can't be wear back the old, oily ones? Even if u dun shower, what if u stain them? Eeks!

Waxing

I totally give up on Browhaus & Strip. Went there for trials & all they did was hard sell. Went for eyebrow threading, hard sell me embroidery. Went for BW, hard sell me IPL. So busy selling that they gave me thin & round eyebrows. And worse! They burned me with the wax which was too hot. And I was bleeding coz they tore off patches of skin with the BW!

I'm gog to Honeypot again this time. Last round b4 delivery I went. And it was a very pleasant experience. And NO selling lor! This time round, I was thinking to go ard 30 weeks, then again at 36/37 weeks. One time strip all off before delivery a bit messy. Better to keep it relatively clean now just in case I pop early & got no time to go again.

I think better not shave, wax better..
If shave, the hair grow , will be very irritating. And u will think u wanna scratch it

For disposable underwear, brought 10packs of 5.. One day use 2 can last 25days, I think more than engh.

For pad, I bought the loop type to use in hosp, have to use tape to tape i guess.. I guess the nurse will teach how to use ba..most likely using the loop pad in hosp then go home use the normal ones.. So I think my 1 pack of maternity pad shod be engh.

Ssmilezz-When is your next visit?

Nattan-Yup definately more sensitive during pregnancy.

How does BH feels like actually? I really dont know as i am a first time mum. She does kick way much more now in the mornings and evenings though.

Can someone enlighten me about the feelings of Braxton Hicks?

Nattan-I was browsing through ASOS maternity too, is the quality good? Never bought anything from there b4.

Jul, shiok to laze at home huh?? I also wish I can do that!! Nevermind... 1 more day to the weekends!!

Usually for my period I only have 2 heavy days then about 3 light days when I just use panty liners. Don't know how heavy my flow will be after birth. Hopefully won't be a waterfall huh...

Hey Browhaus and Strip sound really bad. Maybe it was a blessing I didn't get to try their service in the end. I can't imagine getting a pcs of my skin torn out!! Ouch!!

butters

Alamak dun scare me leh. I'm trying to lie down & rest or not walk too much. Think it's improving. Think I walked too much the past few days. I did call my gynae's clinic & they said if they go away after resting, it shd be fine. But even with resting, they are still there, then I shd go down to the clinic. I'll monitor first for a while.

Thanks for your advice though. Sounds scary! So if u really were having contractions, how come they discharged u?

smilezz

Din really do anything lah. My boy is naturally greedy so he drank a lot & grew fat all by himself haha

nattan

Yeah I had many lil craters on the mound. I was so shocked when I saw spots of blood on my undies!

Oh I have heavier flow than you. Maybe that's why my lochia also quite a lot?

Jul- Thats a lot of stock you have there!!

I think i should get more disposable panties though as i only have enough for hospital stay. Hahaha.... Am getting the cotton ones though, i heard its more comfortable.

What brand of pads to buy for maternity???
Normal ones will do with longer pads and wings,right?

Jul- Sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with Strip & Browhaus but i love them as they have always done an excellent job for me,no complains thus far. I go to the branch at Market St(cos close to ofc) and Raffles City.
Well as long as you found a plcae that you like then stick to it.

priscilla

in tmc they give u this boy shorts netted undies. super stretchy n the nurse just stuffs the pad inside n the undies holds it in place. I finished the pk of pads the hosp gave, luckily i brought my own. They din bother to remove the adhesive tape too, just stuffed in the pad like the loop ones.

Anyone buying fr ASOS cn I lobang? I don't hv amex leh n i havnt got any nice nursing bra. Btw, the Emma bras whn unclip, its only a band holding the bra, rt? Or is it jus an opening? I don't knw hw to use those w jus an opening for bb to nurse leh.

adeline

I THINK normal ones will do. But try to get the thicker ones to cushion your stitches. And get the smooth cotton material, not the whisper netted material which could 'pull' the stitches.

I also bought cotton undies. Need the cotton ones coz they're more stretchy n can help hold the pads. Think the pads will have prob sticking to paper if u buy the paper ones

Yeah I totally boycott strip/browhaus now. dunno y they're so hard sell?

adeline

BHC is when your tummy hardens up into a solid ball. Like the whole tummy is tightening up. It feels very heavy, & it feels very solid. It can make u feel breathless, but shd go away if u change position, or rest.

Pads
I bgt 64 pcs in total, mixture of loop n overnite ones. I m expecting to deliver by csec, cos I probably wldn't get to use tat much. :p

Jul > Ouch! Scary experience.

Waxing
I don't think I will wax. Jus wait for nurse to shave it for mi lor. I find it painful to wax even b4 preg, don't think I cn tak it nw. :p I hv got a low threshold.

Adeline, Asos quality is good, like I mentioned. So far no complaints la..

Chris, the bras come in different models, best you go and check them out yourself on the website. So far the ones I ordered can all open fully to reveal the breast.

Chris

I also dunno how to use those that dun drop fully open. How to stick the nipple thru that pathetic hole???

been so busy the whole day!! finally got time to log in.

Braxton Hicks
tightening of tummy till u feel the tummy is gonna explode.. hehe
we shld all be about time to start experiencing already.
If you are worried, best to call gynae for verification. Different ppl respond differently. if u r having real early contractions, gynae may give u jab to prevent early birth.
Better to be safe than sorry.

Pads
I bought alot kotex super long 35cm & 42cm b4 i was pregnant as my flow is usually heavy for the first 3days b4 tapering off.
it's super thin, not bulky and long enough not to stain undies or pants. i change about 3x a day. i shower 2x a day usually so i calculate i'll need at least 3pcs per day * 30 days minimum = 90pcs
I prefer those with wings as they seem sturdier. won't move around.

Undies
i bought normal ones - bamboo material so it's super thin and easy to wash/dry * 15pcs. should be enough to last me even if it rains all month.
Bought 10pcs disposables for hospital use. I intend not to use any hospital disposables so i can save on these costs.

Remember to shave clean or wax b4 admission. they charge for the disposable shaver.
Also your medicure & pedicure. Clean off everything. previously they charge me for 1 bottle of polish remover.

Jul

Your lunch very shiok!! I like Mcwings..but not filling enuff for me.

Where is this Honeypot place you guys are talking about?

U definitely win the award for the one who stocks up the most!! Hahahaa….I will try to buy and stock up soon but I doubt I can hit your record leh….

Nattan

My period typically also only first 2 or 3 days max very heavy flow. After that, quite manageable and usually by the 5th day nothing much. I also have a horrifying image that lochia will be so heavy like a waterfall of non stop bleeding! *shudders*

BHC

It feels like your belly is a big hard balloon and you just wish you can find the outlet/button to release the air/pressure inside. Super irritating more than pain to me. Erm, at least that’s what it feels to me cos I’m also a first timer and I assume what I’m feeling is indeed BHC. LOL! Would be funny if I’m wrong. Hahaha…

Eyebrow Threading

Anyone has any good lobangs to recommend? Nowadays threading seems less painful than tweezing, so I have been using threading lately.

JUL: Wow ... i thought i already kua zhang buy alot haha now i don't feel so bad.

ADELINE: My appointment is end next week so will see him then. I cannot wait to see my BB girl

I still recall you want me to enquire about amenities right? Better repeat so i won't forget hahaha

RE PADS
I bought the Kotex Maternity Pads (Not the loop ones but the normal ones no wings) because i heard that initially when and if we deliver naturally, the maternity pads have more cushion than our normal ones against the stitches below.
Subsequently, i will use the normal 35 & 28cm ones.

RE WAXING
My waxing lady told me that when we are tired or menses coming (hormonal changes) then it will hurt more so i reckon during pregnancy with the hormonal changes we are more sensitive to pain. Usually i tell her chop chop wax get it over and done with.

RE DISP PANTIES
I am still not used to using disposable panties. Still find it flimsy. Will get more of the Sorella bamboo material panties from JL 3 for $12.90. If really super suay keep staining then no choice have to throw it away.
Mcdonalds: haha i had the vanilla cone today! Trying to cut on my ice cream intake

Jul: Ya I initially tot it was jz BHC cos there wasn't any pain or whatever symptoms that comes with actual contractions (from what I read, no experience cos 1st time mummy).

Was given jabs and medicine. Had the ctg strapped on me for half the day when i was 1st admitted. Then seems that after the medicine things seemed to have stabilized but gynae wanted me stay for another night to make sure everything is fine.

Apparently my uterus was irritated (don't what I did to irritate it - there's actually this condition called Irritable Uterus Syndrom - i googled it ).

So now am supposed to rest as much as possible and religiously take my meds. No more shopping except online. Hopefully the little one can stay in there for 2 more months.
kao_scared.gif

Fleur: So sian lor. I bought the bamboo undies during the john little sale at marina square. Tot M should be ok. Ends up my butt so big. Wear liao the pantyline so obvious cos its tight. Heng I only bought 2 boxes cos I was still thinking of getting 3. Hope after maternity my butt shrink i can wear. If not gotta pass to my sis.

Butters: Wa sounds serious. I never really take those "contractions" seriously since no discomfort, just tightening of the belly into a hard ball. Think I better highlight to my gynea on tues also. Hang on!!!

asrias: Hahah i long time upgraded to L!!! L was comfy but looking at how big my butt is now i hope it will not expand anymore to XL.
After Maternity you cfm can use back your M size but probably may need a larger size during the confinement period coz with our big pads that we need to use!

Butters: Do take care and rest more! Online shopping is also very addictive one and can end up spending until u see your credit card bill!

fleur/asrias: we bought same undies. Sorella bamboo. JL sale tat time $15 per box when u buy 3 boxes. so i have 3 boxes of L sitting in my house now. should be enough as i still have existing undies. probably use my old ones first in case stain then just throw...

i don't think i can stand stinging pain. haha. so i won't wax.

smilezz

Honeypot's at Ngee Ann City, & Raffles Place. You can go to their website to take a look.

Yeah that's why I ordered the meal, plus add on Cinnamon meltz mah!

ASRIAS

Aiyah M only, u complain butt big. Pple here wear XL leh lol

smilezz, fleur

Nobody can beat me for the biggest hoarder award lor!

nattan

Just now read that u rec'd your Emma Janes. I went to check my mailbox & they're there! But the bra seems a bit loose, can ear but gotta wear the last hook. The nursing tanks are tight! I can't wear them now coz thy're too tight ard the belly, but they're quite well made, mateial good, & best of all, they're not low cut! Only thing is, they only have black & white. Boring!

butters

So did the BHC go away after resting a while? Or did they go away only after the meds? You're scaring me leh! I just got 2 days MC from my GP. Hopefully with the rest, I shd be ok. If not, call gynae again liao

Fleur: Haha, maybe I was delusional and thought that I have small butt. Haha. Anyway i got the disposable undies ready, so worst case is give my sis since she got a smaller butt than me.

Petrina: First time do is super painful, but if do regularly you will get used to the pain. Hahhaaa. I think woman's threshold for vanity can be quite high. Wax liao very smooth v nice. Shave liao when it starts to grow out v prickly lor. haha. But I haven't waxed for a long time. Dunno if I can tahan the pain.

i paid ASOS via mastercard but they accepted my AMEXSG code. received confirmation email that the total cost is indeed less 20%. there shouldn't be any changes right?

asrias: i noe it feels good. i epiliate my armpits 2x a week..

but that area is out of bounds for me as i tried epiliating, hurts like shit!

Jul: Cos if buy victoria secrets usually buy S or XS ma... keke. Thats y hor now M also cannot wear i say butt v big. The emma jane i got was also slightly loose, but then I think once the milk production kicks in boob will grow mabbe ribs will expand abit more. So I rather it be abit more comfy ba.

Petrina: I dunno if its ok lei. Haha, cos the code was supposed to be for AMEX card. pray hard they dun give u another charge later.

Just had tea break of kopi and kaya french loaf set
Hopefully can still eat dinner later...

Chris, the website doesn't show how it looks when opened fully, but I've tried them on and they expose breast through a big opening. I think unless your nipples are like the size of those Jollybean pancakes, you shouldn't have any problems feeding la.. haha..

Jul, i don't mind black/white bras.. I bought 3 black ones. Most important is comfort and not visible under the clothing. What size did you buy? I bought 2 size 36 and 1 size 32. At first was worried about the fit, but they fit perfectly

Petrina, wow.. didn't know hospital charge for things like nail remover too... a bit like extortion leh! No need to use a whole bottle to remove polish from 20 fingers and toes what..

Asrias, I used to wear S and XS size too, but now my butt is L/XL.. haha... no choice la..

Re waxing, I think no matter how many times I wax, it's still painful. But I can stand pain quite well. To me, I'd rather go through pain of waxing than having blackheads squeezed from my nose! :p That one can make me tear...

Thanks ladies for the amount o info on BH!!

I dont think i have any of them though, my tummy doesnt feel like a solid rock just normal to me but definately growing especially when i am moving to the final trimester.

I only feel kicks or movements which seems more prominent now though.
Is that ok?

Aiyah u all BAAADDDDD people! Tempt me to buy nursing dress. Actually it's maternity dresses lah, but my sis is getting married in end-May & in end-Jul (diff ceremonies), so I kind need something to wear right??? Just wondering coz the dress is made for maternity, so the front could be longer than the back if I weren't preggie anymore by then?

What do you all think of these 2 dresses? Can I just pull aside to latch?

http://www.asos.com/ASOS-Maternity/ASOS-Maternity-Exclusive-Dress-With-Grecian-Drape-In-Jersey/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=2049182&cid=5813&sh=0&pge=0&pgesize=-1&sort=-1&clr=Red

http://www.asos.com/ASOS-Maternity/ASOS-Maternity-Tulip-Dress-With-Wrap-Detail/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=2026507&cid=5813&sh=0&pge=0&pgesize=-1&sort=-1&clr=Orange

Re BH, I don't feel contractions per se, but sometimes I do feel as though my belly is very tight, like the skin is stretched to the max.. is that considered?

Petrina, then better BYO everything to hospital. My nails look disgusting right now... maybe should arrange for mani/pedi next week and use my Groupon deal.

Fleur- Yes please on the amenities, like what do they provide for example,disposable panties,pads and etc....i cant think of what hospital gives to a mum when we are there though. Hahaha....

Jul, I think both dresses are nice.. But you want to wear bright red huh... Wrap dresses are quite ok for nursing. But yes I think the front may be longer next time when you are no longer pregnant. A cheaper alternative is just get a long maxi tube dress to wear. Can nurse and still wear after delivery.

Adeline

Not to worry la -  normal is good.

Nattan

Damn funny about your comment – nipples the size of a freaking JOLLYBEAN pancake? Then how big will the breasts be?? Haha…

Petrina

So the ASOS code works for Mastercard? Then maybe I can order the bras too..try try since you guys say good…which model did you all order?

How’s the pain level for Epilator? Worth getting? I usually pluck for underarms but lately hair regrowth has slowed down..nothing much to pluck. Maybe all the hair growing on my silly belly instead. I notice some fine hair on my belly and looks rather ugly close up.

Jul

Yah – give you the Bigger Hoarder Award. You win hands down!! No fight with the rest of us. Not even close.

Butters

Do rest more since your gynae has advised you to do so. This is the first time I am hearing about this Irritable Uterus Syndrome. I only know about Irritable Bowels Syndrome so this is really something new to me. What irritates our Uterus?

Jul/Asrias: Just sharing what I went through lah. Just in case someone else has same conditions. Perhaps if tummy just hardens a few times in a long time, it's nothing.... but mine went on persistently for a few days, so I guess that would be the tell tail sign? But my gynae told me that I should have called in that same day when it was hard for a long time.

Mine wasn't BHC, it was actual contractions, on ctg it showed that it was 10mins apart (I didn't even feel it, just felt tummy hard). It only went away after my jab and the medicine. After that, ctg reading became stabilized. Now I constantly feel to make sure my tummy is nice and soft.

So up to you to decide cos only you can tell if something's up and not quite right with your body.

fleurfleur: Thanks. Ya, but I use paypal most of the time and that's under my hubby's credit card.

I didnt know that we would be bleeding for so long after birth. The hospital would not be providing pads and underwear FOC? They would charge us for such stuff? Then seems like we have to bring our own. seems like I have more stuff to add onto my list now. opps.

Jul

The dresses are nice but very red! I prefer a deeper/ darker red. Should be okay to nurse if the material is stretchy enuff.

ssmilezz, nipple size doesn't always correspond with breast size what... haha..

Re Emma Jane bras, I ordered: Emma Jane Smooth Maternity Bra, Emma Jane Maternity Sleep Nursing Bra, and Emma Jane Maternity Soft Cup Seam Free Nursing Bra with Removable Padding.

Kadice, I think better BYO unless you want to pay extra for those things which hospitals will charge at a premium.

Butters, I also never heard of Irritable Uterus Syndrome