(2012/06) Jun 2012

Have you decided on insurance for your little one too?

Yea, is there an updated list for us June mummies?

I am also having a June baby girl.

Jul n Joycie > Ya, tats wat I m worry abt. Dust n carprks. Esp hubby has to run errands, during my stay ther. So car parks is vry impt leh. Though I really prefer their nurses. Tink I will settle for Thomson this time round. Bt it is gonna b more ex. Don't knw if I shld tak up single or 2 bedder. Cos hubby wil hv to go bk in the nite to tak care of #1, bt he will stay w mi during the day. So I was tinkin if single bedder, he cn also tak rest during the day. Bt I m afarid of sleeping alone in the room at nite leh.

Adeline > I tok up pru1st gift for bb, same as #1.

Chris

If carpark is impt, I can tell u there is NO carpark lor. My FIL fetched me to see my #1's PD, & he went off to Macritchie to park & wait. We called him to pick us up when we were ready to leave. But if ur Hubs is gog to run errands, help u bring stuff, do admission etc, carpark is evry impt. Cannot imagine he drop u off, u do your own registration, then he go park at macritchie & take shuttle bus???

If u scared, stay 2-bedder lor. Cheaper also. I hate to be disturbed at night. And I'm very anal abt sharing toilet, & being siturbed by chatting visitors haha. So I will definitely get single bedder this time too. besides, my baby can room in & I can try to grab a better headstart on the BF.

adeline

I decided not to take up the insurance now for my baby.

Coz Hubs & I are both under Aviva Pte Hosp Shield plan. And my firstborn is coveerd for free (under lower category - i.e. restructured hosp) for free till he turns, I forgot 18 or 21. I decided to do the same for the 2nd one as well. When they turn 18/21, they can continue & all pre-existing conditions would be covered as well.

The only risk is if something happens between now & full mth which is when they normally have inception of the plan. But to sign up a plan now is too shiong for us, not to mention won't break even till many yrs later.

Chris

Oh yeah, if u stay TMC 1-bedder, ur HUbs is given 3 coupons where he can park at $3/entry (NOT foc haha). I just asked last week. Not sure abt double & other bedders. Maybe u can call & ask?

Jul > Thks for the tips. Thn it is better tat I tak up TMC. Is ur hubby gonna stay in over nite w u? Or it will jus b u n #2? I m also nt so comfortable sharing toilet leh. I m ok w strangers in the rm chatting. Bt tink thy will probbaly mind mi, cos I snore....haha. :p

Nattan, thanks for the list.
Ladies, it's not fully updated yet. Please update it and post it here. Thanks.

Gmarket
I have been buying things from Gmarket, but so far not on bb's clothes yet. My sil has bought quite a few bb's clothes from them and so far so good. The quality is pretty good but as what Nattan has mentioned, it's bttr make a comparison with the sellers out there. Sometimes you might get a bttr deal when there are sales going on.

Insurance
I have not buy any for my bb yet. Will let my hub handle the bb's insurance since he gonna be an insurance agent soon. Kekeke.
No hard selling but if any of you interested to buy insurance for your family and bb, or wanna know more about the product, pls feel free to pm me ya. ;)

Jul: I was asking my agent about the aviva plan, cos thats what i intended to do initially. But he told me that when they turn 18/21, they will reassess and not cover all the pre-existing conditions. Hmmm... wonder if he is lying to me cos he said I can buy the prushield for #1. He say no point save that bit of money yearly and ends up when its time to convert pre-existing not covered.

Joyce: Theres valet parking. So we dun need to park at macritchie ourselves right?

Petrina: Not sure if mine is braxton hicks, but is it sth like the tummy suddenly contract into a solid ball? It keeps happening to me but theres no pain, just feels weird.

Jul > Huh? Nt free arh? Mt A was free. :p Bt still its worth paying for the convenience.

Nattan > For the drop in, each storage for the drop in has to b covered by the blue cap as shown in the video? Thn its gonna tak up alot of space leh. although it does look convenient.

Chris

Nope, Hubs has to go back & look after #1. He also didn't really stay with me for #1 time. But like I said, my anal habits outweight any possible fear of being alone heehee.

Honestly it's much better to be alone so that u can 'anyhow strip if u wanna BF', change clothes in the room insetad of the bathroom, etc. Middle of the night people flush toilet I also buay song. haha think pregnancy/postnatal hormones lah.

And I think for non-single bedders, they don't close the door. So you can hear opeople int he corridor, pushing meal trolleys, pushing the baby for BF etc.

asrias

No leh, my planner said will be covered leh. And I think he's quite trustworthy coz he is an independent, not with any insurance company.

Yeah that hard ball thing sounds like BH.

Chris

Nope, not free haha.

nattan
-------
I'm in my 28 weeks now. How come the list seems to be reduced? The last time i saw, there were more names.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AgPojwfKmRxUdDRHLUpGVk5mNExKRjBiWWZDZElEZVE#gid=0

AsRias
------
I thought i saw valet parking at Mt A but it was so messy..we were quite blur where to go. When i visited the 2 bedder at Our Lady's Ward, i could hear the renovation. Only certain rooms have noise. But hor, i still see alot of people queueing for the 3 shuttle buses - MacRitchie Reservoir, United Square and Novena.

I have asked my sis to translate the recipe of increasing milk supply to chinese. It will be useful for you to pass it to your CL/mum/il who will be doing confinement for you. See below attachment.

mime_msword.gif

Recipes to improve Milk Flow.doc (59.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Jul: looks like I better call aviva and find out for myself. Cos if its covered then I don't want to waste the extra money to buy prushield and the rider.

Joyce: Pray hard that I can get the 1 bedder and won't kena the renovation noises.

I'm not driving, will still choose Mt A for delivery. Hopefully will get a room in Our Lady's ward again like #1..

But I indeed has a dream to get the not so good room though..

This time around really dunno whether hubby can accompany me in the hospital or not. Most likely not

But I'll still get a single room so baby can stay in with me.

I even think there's a possibility I'll stay only 1 night in the hospital. Anyway last time my gynea only come the next day of delivery, never come in the next next day. This time around is different gynea though.

And everytime the pediatrician come to my room he only said everything looks good. Baby is okay. Any questions? And that's it!

And this time around is #2, experienced already. I think no need so long in the hospital. Save $$. hehe..

asrias

yeah I think it's best if u find out straight from Aviva. Agents from other companies may have their agenda.

groovy

For me, I prefer to still stay 2 nights. Coz that's when the jaundice starts coming out, the milk starts coming in, so I need the lactation consultants help, &amp; I wanna attend the baby care &amp; lactation classes this time round. The last time, MIL &amp; Hubs were like so kanchiong to leave, I was so stressed, forgot all abt those classes! Coz I delivered on Sat mah, only Mon-Fri have the classes. And Monday was a mad flurry of hurry-hurry-check out

Jul: Just called aviva. I wanna knock my agent's head liao. Its like what you said, the pre-existing conditions will be covered. Theres no change when the kid reaches 20. Only difference is that the premium is payable.

AsRias
-------
Me too! I also want the 1 bedder with no renovation noises. My friend said she stayed in the kids room last time cos no other rooms available and it was good too. They have mickey mouse paintings, so cute!

Groovy2009 and jul
------------------
I also want to stay in Our Lady's ward cos it's newer but it's nearer to the renovating foyer. But this year, it seems like more babies so hai, might not have a chance to stay in 1 bedder in this ward. I also prefer to stay 2 nights too so i have more days to rest and let the nurses take care of my baby first. Cos once we go home, that's when we have to fight the war!

Chris, yes drop-ins require the blue caps. Anyway, I don't think I'll be storing so much cos I intend to feed on demand. I mean, unless your supply is super abundant, I'm not sure if need so many milk bags or containers. Perhaps later when I'm preparing to go back to work, then I'll store more milk for bottle feeding.

Jul, I also prefer not to share a double bedder room.. pray I'll get my preferred single room >.<

Asrias

Aha! That was what my planner told me lor.

But of course, u have the risk of something happening now till inception of the free plan. My planner told me they aws drag the inception after full mth, so that they dun have to cover jaundice which is very common for Asian babies. My planner quite gd lah, very knowledgable, open &amp; can access all plans coz he's free agent.

PD can choose or allocate. My #1's was allocated so this time, I chosse the same PD. For jaundice, u can go to polyclinic also.

joycie

Yeah yeah! When we get home, all hell breaks loose lol

Chris

Huh.. mine is for 2nd baby. Not comprehensive. Thought someone shared a list some time back?

joycie

I have no idea. I took fenugreek last time, &amp; I ordered fenugreek from GNC to share with Chris &amp; futsuyaki

Joycie, I have never try any of those supplement before cos this is my first. :p
But I have heard good reviews about sacred tea and Nattan's colleague highly recommended it too. I heard about GNC fenegreek and Motherlove milk plus but just too sick to pop in anymore pills after giving birth. Hence intend to give sacred tea a try. Please see the link below as they are having offer now till 22nd April.
http://sacredtea.weebly.com/

I dun really dare to anyhow drink tea now leh. Not sure if have side effects. Guess I would just take those normal nutritious food.hmmmmm

INSURANCE

Just curios, as am helping my DH to look into insurance as well.
He has been reading up and i believe we will go with PruShield after she is born with cpf medisave and prushield extra with cash.
Then will buy AIA star shield when she starts crawling which should be about 6 months onwards.

Thats what we got so far as we believe H&amp;S coverage is the most important insurance for her at this point in time.

Kadice, you're not suppose to drink the tea or eat supplements now.. only after delivery to help with milk supply.

oic, thanks for the info nattan.

For the insurance policies, if you speak to the agents representing individual agencies, they would definitely say their own products are good. I spoke to an independent advisor before, he said that hospital plans would be sufficient initially. We can slowly look into savings on our own. If we are not that investment savvy, we can then consider buy into a plan, no point rushing into it as it is a long term commitment. just my 2 cents worth

jul
----
I've taken fenugreek for my 1st one. Didn't really help in boosting my milk supply leh. Maybe a bit only. I think it depends on individual.

Anna Lee
---------
Ya i read about the Scared Tea and the testimonials. Wow, it seems like it really helps! I just ordered 3 packets online, hehe! The expiry date is 19 June 2013 and 1 packet last about 7 days. Here's the BP thread: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6823431.html?1332927330

Kadice
-------
Ya, nattan is right. Sacred Tea and GNC fenegreek can only be taken after your delivery to boost your breastmilk supply. Anyway, I've read that Sacred Tea is made of all organic herbs and seeds, no caffine. Oh I just read that we can drink rasberry leaf tea in our last 2 mths of pregnancy to help us in smoother delivery.

joycie, 1 pack of sacred tea only lasts 7 days? That's quite expensive then... I had the idea that it wld last a lot longer.. Anyway, I have to disclaim that although my colleague recommends it, she also said every mum will have different reaction to it. Some may produce a lot of milk, while some can just meet their supply.

I think the main thing to breastfeed successfully is as most doctors and books say, have a balanced diet and it's important to RELAX! Being stressed out can definitely affect your supply. Then make sure you drink a lot of water also.

Fenugreek vs Sacred Tea

Whichever u choose, pls remember not to take these things together. Coz sacred tea contains fenugreek. Dunno what are the possible consequences of OD!

Joycie, I intend to order 2 packets to give it a try and of cos together with the food recipe to increase milk supply that I have posted online should help too.

Nattan, can you please check with your colleague if it's true that 1 packet of sacred tea can only last 7 days??

Hi mummies..i will delivered in Mlt a..same as 1st..really love the nurses there,v caring!I chose 2bedded this rounded not like 1st,I opted for single bedded with hb staying with me but this round he got to go back look after 1st.

Argh! Having really bad BHC. Whole tummy tightened into a hard ball, esp ard the bikini line. Breathless. Lying down now waiting for it to pass. Sigh

Hey all, pampers is having sales again at gmarket from 8 pm today. Newborn size only $2.30!!!! I already bought 6 packs during their $4.30 sale!!! Argh.....

Anna, pls read http://sacredtea.weebly.com/price-of-sacred-tea.html and http://sacredtea.weebly.com/instruction-on-preparing-the-tea.html

It says recommended to drink tea made from 3 tablespoons of the sacred tea per day (about 3 large cups or 1.5L). And 1 bag contains about 30+ tablespoons, so it can last roughly 10 days?

Anyway, my colleague said some of her friends only took it for about 1 week and it's enough to kick start a big supply of breast milk. For her case, she tried all kinds of things including Domperidone and her supply is just able to meet the baby's needs. So whatever you drink is not a guarantee cos everyone's result may differ.

Jul, try to rest and do those breathing exercises to counteract the contractions?

Just received my shipment from iHerb. The Everyday Shea bubble bath smells divine!
I probably would be using it more than baby.. hehe...

DIAPERS

At hdb hub atrium at toa payoh, there's some watsons fair. 3 packs of 48 S size pampers gog for $36. 2 pks of M-XL mamy poko gog for $40. Mamy poko's the biggest pk type. I'm all set for diapers liao lol