(2011/10) Oct 2011

hello everyone

first time mum to be here...nice to meet everyone!

visited gynae for first time on sat..saw baby's little heartbeat at 6 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wanted to get some advice on long dist travelling during pregnancy..

i had plans to travel to europe during apr (approx in my 13 wk)...read quite a few horror stories on babycenter about miscarriages and spotting after travel..

anyone has any experience to share or any advice to give?

Tx in advance!!

twinkle,

congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if you gynae says can travel then go for it! my colleague went travelling several times when she was in 1st and 2nd tri. came back fine and well-rested. of course don't go doing crazy stuff like bungee jumping and rock climbing lah. :p

i'll be going on babymoon to phuket in my 2nd tri too! looking forward to that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, i'm a Christian too, and also amazed as the book mentioned God has never intended for women to experience painful labour pain (extracted from book) According to biblical scholar Wessel, there was never an actual curse placed exclusively upon Eve.

planned CS has its advantages. yeah i feel the same way as you do as i got denied from a natural, drug-free birth. #1 didn't co-operate and disengaged himself from my pelvis at 39w5d [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] google didn't mention anything about disengagement and i got only 2 days to prepare for CS.. everything was so rushed. everybody was happy esp my hb but not me.

So you can see how "hell-bent" i'm to attempt VBAC as i felt God has given me a 2nd chance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hypnobirthing doesn't involve epidural nor any medication to speed up labour. but the method involves knowing the freq of contractions (they call it surges as it sounds nicer) so the mother can breathe her baby through the birth canal.

since you are interested, i suggest you get the book "HypnoBirthing - The Mongan Method". i can't find the book at the bookstores so reserved it from the library. code: 618.45. it comes with a CD.

---

Cherylden, i'm also having MS. 1st thing in the morning i'll wake up and vomit out acid even tho i haven't got bfast. appetite is still poor and i lost 1kg over the weekend. chin up, MS will ease by the 2nd trimester.

---

twinklewen, welcome and congrats! yes if your gynae okays you, no problem then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi starry and luv

thanks for the reassurance...will discuss with my husband again cos i really got a scare from reading...

i'm a silly first time mum :p

congrats twinklewen.

for me i cancel it cos my hb very kia si and we forfeited abt 4k [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sighhh

twinklewen, no worries we are here to share and learn. me too even though i'm a mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vivi, ouch... 4k is alot of $$$. your hb should compensate you for your "loss" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats twinklewen! for travel, do check with your gynae first. my gynae said can travel as long as before 1st sept. that's for me. it's better to reconfirm with gynae before you travel.

starry,

ya i think called Afternoon sickness... morning I can eat little, but afternoon no appetite. my tingkat lunch is here but till now i havent touch. Just now i see what's the meal, i see aredi then wanna vomit... haha

hi vivi wow 4k is not a small sum of money! so you r not planning to go anywhere for the whole pregnancy?

i'm 50-50 about the trip...i really want to go and have fun and shop!!

but then again if anything *touch wood* happens it'll be a huge responsibility to carry

hihi pray&love

did check with my gynae on sat..but she seems to be a little prudent and said that while it's okay to travel but should avoid or take the necessary precautions (socks and all) while travelling...hmmmm!

tamms, thanks! i have What To Expect in my iphone!! great apps to chk weekly and daily!! hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morninghugs,

How's your itch? Still feeling itchy at nite?

Starry,

I am oso suffering from AS jus like u...sighz.... horrible feeling...

I suffering from insomnia ley... Any mummies have tips on how to overcome it?

Ben Ben, I'm suffering from insomnia too... My usual bedtime is 10pm but now drag till 12++pm...

Then in the morning, I can't sleep. I will auto wake up at 7.30am. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I can't sleep well at night too... I usually sleep around 11+. But will wake up at around 3am then very hard to get back to sleep. This morning managed to sleep at abt 5+ but soon after gotta wake up for work. Very tired.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Minidiary, I also got a lot of small pimples. I'm just using my regular organic face wash & scrub. Much better after I use the scrub.

benben,

super sian about the AS...

minidiary,

try hazeline snow cream. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luv,

thanks for the information!! i also heard about the pain-free labour part but really sounds hard to believe even though really with God, all things are possible. hope you can succeed this time round. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i have to wait and see how big/small my belly gets. if too big and old scar stretches too thin, i don't think gynae will allow natural then.

kwxy,

waking up to pee several times is natural and you shld be happy! 'cos it means uterus is expanding to accommodate your growing babe and pressing on your bladder.

re: insomnia

i have no issues with this at all. wahahha! so tired from work then entertain my girl when i get home that i can fall asleep easily. :p

Hi all, I am new here. Is my 1st pregnancy. 2 weeks ago I went to gynae and check that I was in 5th weeks , only can see a tiny sac. 2 weeks n 3 days later the gynae check n say I am in 9th week , baby heart beat at 185.

Just wondering is something wrong? Is my baby grow abnormally fast? And is the heart beat too high? Read from Internet it suppose to slow down as week 12 aproach.

Feeling strange but only meeting gynae in another 3 weeks time

Maycat, don't worry. Sometimes the initial growth is a little slower, so can only see small sac. Usually by week 8/9 will be the more accurate measurement.

Mine was like that too. First scan I calculate based on when I ovulate, should be in Week 7 but gynae said week 6. Then 2 weeks later, he said week 9 + already.

Hi 1dog1rabbit,

My situation is abit difference . My cycle is long around 36 days. So now gynae say I am 9th week and if calculate back my cycle is only 29 days which is one week different!

I hope 9th week is correct as I am schedule to take oscar in 3 week time.

People worry baby grow slow while I worry baby grow fast

Can we take panadols? Got super bad headache!! is killing me I'm gg gynae this evening, move forward de appt date as my 'an tai yao' is de last dose yet I'm still having spottings

I have the same situation at #2. based on my O day to the date I visited my doc, should be 6 weeks, but measured and said I'm 5 weeks. Anyway, my SIL who is a doctor told me I must give the machine +/- 4 days. Not 100% accurate or my bb is not growing fast. I think that's also the reason why my gynae want to see me again this week to chk bb growth or if I'm lucky to see heartbeat! Hehe

Maycat, sometimes will ovulate early even if you have long cycles. My cycle also quite long (35days) but I was pretty sure when I ovulated [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So easier to count :D

Prettymums, it must be pure PARACETAMOL only. Cannot have muscle relactants inside.

Prettymums, YES!!! I get cold rather easily... Same for first pregnancy... get cold easily during 1st tri... but after that, damn hot everyday..... Even in aircon office, I can perspire...

jasmine, prettymums,

it's okay to take the regular panadol, just now the extra strong types. hope your headache goes away. can be such a drag...

prettymums,

i also get cold easily now. after 1st tri will sweat easily.

#2 on the way & starry:

Thanks for the cream info! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

winnie:

Thanks to my gal. When she was 4mths+, she refused sucking for 1 whole day until next day she got fever, she could not stand it anymore and start sucking non stop. Ever since, she refused to let me go even thou she is drinking fresh milk now.

luv:

TMC got hypnobirthing class? When? Is the class started already? I'm actually thinking to take up hypnobirthing class from a doula but since TMC have, i might want to try out. If everything is alright for this 1st trimester, i will start searching for a doula too. How abt you?

verre, tmc has hypnobirthing class. You can call up Thomson ParentCraft at 6251 4090 to find out more.

For me no MS, i'm starting to become a bottomless pit! hopefully won't get fat fat for this baby....

starry, you are welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 1 way to not have a big belly is to not gain more than 10kg by the end of the pregnancy. it can be done i gained 10kg during my last preg and lost to below pre-preg weight v quickly.

re: insomnia yes i got it pretty bad. once i woke up 3 times due to constipation, #1 fussing and hb snoring. but after i went to bed at 9.30pm nowadays i felt refreshed.

re: cold oh you ladies felt it too? i'm not alone then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my legs will be really numb if i don't cover up with blanket even with all the windows closed and fan adjusted away from me. so unlike my prev preg.

verre, yes i saw the brochure for the TMC hypnobirthing class. not sure of the schedule. you may want to call up Parentcraft at 6251 4090 during office hours for enquiry and registration. i'll check it out after i'm done with OSCAR 3 weeks from now.

luv,

how to NOT gain more than 10kg??? so hard! i gained about 14kg last time. still stuck with 4kg then preggers liao.

genesis28:

Thanks! Will call it up.

Luv:

How to gain only 10kg? That my wish for this pregnancy! The 1st pregnancy i gained 20kg! Are you going to attend the class?

Ohh cancel cos we are doing f&e on a winter trip with my boy too. Hb say too strenous for me so nvr go moreover in 1st tri. But after tt we went short trip.

benben: Thank you for remembering, so nice of you! I now apply moisturiser on top of switching to Cetaphil body wash, and sleeps in air-conditioned room after lathering on the moisturiser. Have been able to manage the itch so far... My first appointment with gynae is this Sat, so I'm hoping she can prescribe me with something for the marks because I haven't dared wear skirts to work due to the ugly marks on my legs... Otherwise, I'm fine! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry & benben: I don't know if I have what you call MS/ AS... I just have general queasiness that results in gagging (no vomitting yet, thank goodness) and I have to constantly pop sweets and sour plums to keep myself from feeling it!

verre,

i dunno there's such kind of method too. read from internet, it says pain free give birth method and no medical intervention? hope im right. Have anyone tried before? is it work?

Hypobirthing is something like conditioning your body to work naturally and working with the contractions to allow labour to progress naturally (instead of fighting it and feeling more pain)...

There's breathing techniques and relaxation techniques to learn... Can read up on your own and find youtube videos on it...

Btw, for Christian mummies, my friend ever shared with me that if you pray hard and believe that Jesus has washed away the curse with His blood, childbirth is actually painfree.

Luv, ya how not to gain not more than 10kg???

For my first I gain 18kg! then 3 months back I'm juz back to my pre-preg weight and now I'm back to square one! arrgghhh.....

Btw when you all are hungry what do you all snack on? Just now before dinner I've urge to cook maggi mee and eat ban mian!

Minidiary, if you like organic stuff, try Brown Rice Paradise at Tanglin Mall. They have a lot of organic snacks (chips, rice crackers, etc). Even energy bars and fruit rolls which are organic!

I used to by a lot of my boy's organic cereal and vege from there too.

For the dried cranberries, I started to get lazy and simply ordered from iHerb together with our shampoo/soap/supplements :p