(2011/10) Oct 2011

good morning mummies.

Yan, i'm sad to hear of your loss. pls take gd care of yourself and do a mini confinement. rem to keep thinking positive.

creamdonut, i'd diar once in the past 2 weeks. i agree with tamms. do check with your gynae if in doubt.

Good morning ladies!

starry, tamms, redgin, 1d1r, tenzero, thanks for sharing about OSCAR. I need to have a serious discussion with DH about this. Even if we opt not to do OSCAR, our gynae will be able to tell if the bb has a risk of DS looking at the measurements during our scan right?

Yan, I'm very very sorry to hear about that. Please do take care and wish you all the best! Don't give up TTC!

creamdonut, I just had diar yesterday and LS twice because of my bad lunch.. I'm an avid chilli lover but since I got pregnant, I shiver at the sight of chilli. It's really weird!!!

my boobs are spilling out of my bra now! are you ladies facing this problem?? It's a waste of money to buy new bras since they'll just get bigger and bigger right? *help*

Tabbyz, yes you need to discuss with hubby. Cos not everyone choose to do it. For my gynae, he will do the neckfold measurement (it can be done during your routine check up at 12w). If the neckfold seems very thick then he will recommend Oscar test. If the neckfold seems ok & there's an obvious nasal bone, then the risk is low.

Anyway, during the 20w detailed scan, more will be revealed. This is when cleft lip/palate, heart defects, physical deformities, etc etc can be seen. & it's another emotional turmoil.

Hi mummies, I am at SGH waiting for my appt with doc. Did a v scan just now and saw the baby's heartbeat!

I am really not used to SGH's style, wait for scan then see doc, not the doc scan for u like what the ptv gynae does.. Last time my gynae measure bb's heartbeat see healthy or not n then measure length etc.. The techniciAn didn't do it leh n when I told her my gynae said I got a cyst, she says she can't find the cyst n then say nvm la since my focus is on baby now.. Zzzzzz, I thought some cyst will affect bb's growth right

Hope the doc is good, I really place my baby n myself in his hands

Re cravings

I also have spicy, sour, saltish craving. When I had my gal, my stomach can only take sweet things.

But now I can't eat much Liao, eat a bit want to vomit, smell or see some food ESP meat, my stomach will over turn...

Re: carry toddler while pregnant

I think as Long as nvr strain tummy, it's ok to carry. Sometimes some toddler r too heavy until when u lift them up from floor, u will feel stomach pull.. When tummy becomes big, I think the toddler will understand got baby inside can't carry them alrdy..

Whiteloverz, sometimes, the cyst will shrink/disappear during pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's rather amazing how the body works :D So if she can't find, might be a good sign!!!

Tabbyz, well, I know of couples who choose to abort after finding out deformities.

In that case, they had to deliver the baby. I remember they posted their experience on their blog.

The KKH nurse just put the drip with meds to induce labour and left them on their own. Then the husband delivered the baby on his own. The baby was still alive and struggling when born. The nurse just took the baby away and left the baby in the crib to struggle and slowly die.

They shared that they regretted their decision after seeing how perfect their little baby was when born, although with deformity. I think the deformity had something to do with the spine if I recall correctly.

That is why my hubby and I made the joint decision that we will take whatever baby God gives us, whether 'perfect' or not.

So we opted out of the DS test.

I had friends that did not even do the 20w detailed scan cos they made the same decision as us. BUT, I chose to do it cos I want to hv mental prep & hv time to prepare if we are welcoming a special child (also wanna hv an opportunity to do scan and see baby in detail [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]).

It's really up to individual. I don't blame ppl for choosing to terminate the pregnancy because of defects cos everyone's ability to cope and level of family support is different. Also, their financial status may not be in the best interest of the child also (as in can't afford therapy, etc etc).

Me & hubs decided that we will go through with whatever is presented to us, even if we are gonna struggle or have to give up all luxuries :D

It's a serious issue to think about.

I borrowed a lot of books to give my hubs a mental picture before we discussed about it.

Koume, Dr Woody's advise for you to go to KKH is cos of COST? Or cos of EXPERTISE?

Just to share:

If you are seeing private gynae, and need to change to KKH or admit baby to KKH later, you will be considered PRIVATE PATIENT. And if you request to downgrade, it will depend on YOUR PAY.

So, what I did during my first pregnancy was to see my private gynae, but at the same time, go for monthly follow ups at POLYCLINIC.

Just in case later on in the pregnancy got any complications, I can still go to KKH as a SUBSIDIZED patient. I can opt for the cheapest bed without them looking at my pay.

It's a 'just in case' move cos we were worried about expenses during my first pregnancy (our take home pay was less than $3k at that time).

But this round, my hubs say just go to polyclinic once or twice for 'follow up' can already. No need to go so often.

Also, if you choose your preferred gynae in KKH, you will be considered as PRIVATE PATIENT. Similarly, for private patient at KKH, the cheapest bed you can take is B class.

Again, they will not allow downgrade.

So you need to weigh out the costs.

BTW, my friend was under Dr Woody's care. She also had hypertension and had to be induced to deliver cos her blood pressure was too high and starting to affect her baby.

Hi mummies, i just tested +ve yesterday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This will be my 2nd one. My first son is alrdy 2 1/2 yrsold.

Any mummies experience very bad vomitting? Im having bad nausea in the morning and night and will vomit out everything i eat. Until no heart to eat leh. And im down with fever to make it worst.

Yesterday i went to a GP after testing and he guesses my

EDD is 11 oct. My LMP is 4th Jan.

I see that most of the mummies have booked appt with their GP. I havent done so. Will it be too late if i book in another 2 wks? The GP only prescribe me folic acid n anti-vomit pills besides fever med.

Morning mummies!!

Yan, sorry to hear abt the loss. Pls do not give up and continue ttc!! Take care and rest well.

Hi missus

Is not too late to book in antoher 2 wks since you have the folic acid & other pills. drink more water, rest well to recover from fever.

Mummies, thks for your best “Good Luck”!

I back from 2nd appt with my gynae last nite! Tis time can hear my baby heartbeat le. Dr said baby is growing up well and the current size is 17.58mm :)

For those who are taking Utrogestan (an tai yao), may I knw you eat it or you put it inside yr vaginal area har? I feedback to my gynae that I fell nausea after taking this medicine, then he said it is common and ask me try to insert into vaginal area, but I told him tat I don’t knw how to do it :p

morning mummies! just now on the way to work i had some seaweed chicken. sinful.. hahaa! but so nice! must eat while have the appetite. if MS comes then can forget it.

emily,

i insert rather than take orally also 'cos i told gynae that i had very bad drowsiness after taking that. he said just place on tip of one finger and push in as far in as possible. leave it there and it will 'melt' on its own inside.

missus,

congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hoping for a girl this time round? you can join redgin, kwxy and i in the nov 2011 thread. not many mummies there yet though.

emilybaby,

your bb so big liao! from what size aredi previously to double? my last appt is 6w 6.8mm, still waiting for my 10w appt... wondering how is bb now...

I dunno that there's an tai yao can insert to vagina...

emily1079 / starrymommy > This is the first time I heard that we can insert the pill instead of taking it orally!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif] I think that would be better right? Better than to vomit. :p

minidiary, ur bb so big ah.. today my gynae told me my bb 6weeks4days but 3mm only leh

anyway, good news for me ladies! my gynae it is perfectly fine for me to go for my taiwan trip this sat.. he says baby's hormones are strong, i dont need jab, tablets etc to strengthen the pregnancy... my previous gynae prescribed me with a lot of duphaston and insisted i take a jab..

my bb's heartbeat is 121 times/min..

minidiary, ur bb so big ah.. today my gynae told me my bb 6weeks4days but 3mm only leh

anyway, good news for me ladies! my gynae it is perfectly fine for me to go for my taiwan trip this sat.. he says baby's hormones are strong, i dont need jab, tablets etc to strengthen the pregnancy... my previous gynae prescribed me with a lot of duphaston and insisted i take a jab..

my bb's heartbeat is 121 times/min..

anyway, can update my details.. I will change gynae to SGH as this new gynae is very experienced.. he even did surgery to repair bicornuate uterus before.. Best is that he gave me his hp no and tell me to call him anytime if got anything wrong!

#2, SAHM, SGH, EDD 21 Oct 2011, Dr Tan Hak Koon

MiraclesDoHappen,

I dunno leh, the last appt 6w4d too. Heartbeat 126/min. It shown 6.8mm. My gynae also allow me to go HK! But my hubby biz trip keep postpone, suppose fly yesterday liao... so now keep waiting till mid March.

Starry, oh I c, then will try to do it tonite then. Thks! :)

Pray&Love, hee..hee..2 weeks ago (6weeks)it was 5.7mm. very fast you can see your baby le, sure yr baby will be growing well too. By the time, I think you will be able to see yr baby more clearly le. Dr will explain to you where is yr baby head, where is his/her body, where is his/her leg… and + where is yr fat too..wakekekekeke…

Prettymums, I also 1st time to heard tat we can insert the an tai yao into our vaginal :p I think it will be much better bah, better than feeling nausea. I’ll try and see how

emilybaby,

har? can see my fat too? hahaha very interesting leh. how many weeks u are in now? 8weeks right? im in 8weeks now... still got 2 more weeks to go. I really hope my bb grow like yours too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

prettymums, emily,

in fact, inserting is better because take effect faster and no nasty side effects. if taken orally may need to wait a couple of hours before the medication reaches the womb via bloodstream. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] just need to get used to the insertion lor.

finally managed to spend some quality time with my little girl yesterday evening. supposed to let hubby pick her up from mum's place but in the end last minute decide to go 'cos lately when bring her home she is tired out and only wanna sleep. was so happy to see her! she just woke up and kept smiling at me as if she hasn't seen me for a long long time. heart melts..

Hi Luv,

Thanks. This is my #3. My #1 is only 26th month, #2 is 7th, now pregnant with #3. All very close gap.

Hi Yan,

Sorry for the lost. Please stay strong and take good care of yourself.

1d1r, thanks for sharing! It'll be a very hard decision to make but let's pray that we'll all have healthy babies here!

emilybaby, how come can see fats?? Hahaha..

starry, can duphaston be inserted too? I'm suffering from the nasty side effects - tired, nauseous.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

tabbyz,

not sure about duphaston leh. you have the packaging with you? my utrogestan was given to me in its original packaging and it states that it can be inserted vaginally or taken orally. otherwise check with your gynae! i wish i had known about insertion for my last pregnancy lor. could have saved me from hours of drowsy torture at work. glad this time round no need to go thru that liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pray&love, yup, we both have the same EDD, today is 8w3d lor :) Because I fat mah so got a lot of fat inside my tummy, so DR said can see my fat too during the scan…maybe he is joking with me only lah!

Tabbyz, hee..hee..bcos I fat lor :p

Cravings

I crave for spicy and sour foods. Always want to eat laksa, curry, tom yam or foods must have chilli

MS

Anyone feel like vomiting but nothing comes out? Or only water? I have been like these for so many days. Is it due to the 'an tai yao'?

Hello Mummies, I'm back. Had been MIA because I was on course for the last 3 days and the exam ended yesterday. Those were the tough 3 days especially when my 2yo was sick at the same time. I was so so tired after the exam. Feeling kind of guilty for not resting enough and hope this won't affect my baby...

jasmine, me. I think this is mostly due to MS. I had finished my Duphaston last week and had not been taking it since then.. Still I'm feeling nauseous and whole day feeling bloated and wanna throw up but nothing comes out. Yesterday was worse. I could not eat much. After dinner I felt so bloated and even had heartburn.. By the time I didn't feel so bloated anymore, I was hungry again. But I was so tired that I couldn't be bother about the hunger and went to sleep. Last night was the only time when I could sleep through ever since I was pregnant. haha... I was really tired..

Re: Cravings

I love spicy food too. In fact I like food which has strong taste. woahhahhhaha. I love Laksa too but I notice I'll have very bloated stomach whenever I have Laksa. I guess it's probably due to the coconut milk. Nowadays, I prefer meat to Veg. Donno why. It's weird coz when I had my #1, I actually prefer Veg.

Hi mummies, what do you have for lunch?? I only took instant noodle...and managed to take 3/4. Very very tired again...I think I can slp the whole day!!

good afternoon mummies! hope all of you have a good appetite for lunch today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm quite concerned as 3 times in the washroom i had thick yellow discharge, then it got darker. now it's almost brown-like. no blood tho. but i dun believe it's MC as bb's heartbeat was pumping v nicely at 7 weeks. this morn i vomitted out the water that i drank, no appetite for bfast and no cramping nor pain either.

hope my discharge will be gone asap. keeping fingers crossed and staying positive. do say a lil prayer for me if u will. thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luv, maybe you heaty??? i heard from some mummies that yellow discharge means heaty...drink plenty of water...you should feel better after 2 days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

KWXY, I think u r right cos I juz drank my weekly bottle of chicken essence b4 realising the discharge. Went to washroom again juz now to pass out urine and the discharge is gone! I hope it stays away until my next gynae visit 2moro [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luv i hv yellow discharge too, but its daily so i dn't think its anything to be concerned about. I drink LOTS of water, at least 2.5-3l everyday. once a week chicken essence is not too heaty lah

luv, my gynae told me that I might experience brown discharge during 8-12wks and that's perfectly normal. Don't worry!!

KWXY, I also want to sleep the entire day but I can't!! Gotta work! Boohoo.. I had a big plate of fried beehoon and two peung kuehs for lunch! Got tempted by the ladies here with peung kuehs!

Jasmine, I've been feeling the same since I'm also on Duphaston. I think the nasty side effects are really getting onto us.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My course still has one more week to complete.. ARGH!

starry, good for you! I think Duphaston is only to be taken orally! Sad.. Got no choice but to bear with it!

I'm kinda different from you ladies. I can't stand the sight of chilli and I used to love chilli so much that I must have it for every meal! Pregnancy really changes my appetite and cravings.

emilybaby, you're not alone lah! We're all gonna get fat together! My dresses are already getting tight! Gotta buy bigger size clothes already..

no appetite to eat my lunch also.

feeling nausea all the time today. morning drink milk and 3 pieces soda cracker...

afternoon, cabbage pork ribs soup and eat some blueberries only.

lizy

feels so terrible rite. at times i hope got foods out den keep wanna throw out but nothing.. same as u i prefer meat den veg.

KWXY

Dont take too much instant noodle. I crave a few times for it but mil dont allow. I also very tired... sleepless night, i hoping for a bed nw..

tabbyz

i still have about 6 - 7 times left only

minidiary

i got good appetite but after eating will feel uncomfortable. im counting down for knock off. wanna go hm and have my tom yam soup. i crave for it and ask mil cook.

I regret taking mee goreng today. Now I feeling very very nauseous. Sigh!

Duphaston: I do have the box with me but without the leaflet. So sad...