(2011/10) Oct 2011

Counting down to gynae visit tonight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Suppose to be yesterday but he has C section to perform so change to today :D

Can't wait to see the little monster inside :D

i have a friend who did OSCAR at KKH...measured bb neck slightly thicker than normal bb..doc asked her to prepare for DS...to further test the bb...she went on for amnio test...during that period...she broke down many times....doc somemore annouced it on her bday!

After the amnio test...lucky tested negative DS...but she is mentally prepared that if BB got DS...she will hv to terminate...so everyday she will talk to bb...finally the she and bb pull thru and now her bb is 4 months old!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Minidiary, the oscar test result is in a ratio. 1:500 means 1 out of 500 chance of DS. So, there's still a 'question mark' even after getting the results.

Just finish seeing Dr Adrian. So happy. Finally get to see the heartbeat. Hehe.

Dr says no need to continue with duphaston. Even more happy. Hopefully the puking will be better.

Just went to mothercare fair to get some clothes and blanket for my girl as well as for #2. purposely chose those unisex ones. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really very crowded!

MS back again. Very sian... Hungry but no appetite for food.

Prettymums,

Glad that u can stop the horrid pills. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Happy yeah?

I'm back from gynae [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Confirmed EDD: 5th Oct [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CRL: 22cm (grew so much from 2 wks ago - 3.4mm)

Saw baby's hands and legs waving about. Baby was dancing and playing during the scan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But we noticed strong but irregular heartbeat. Gynae said usually will not be a problem, but hubs and I are mentally prepared. We'll just pray hard and see how it goes :D

1dog1rabbit: You must have been excited to see bb dancing about! And it's good to know bb's growing bigger, yeah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Regarding the heartbeat, just keep talking to bb and don't think too much!

#2 on the way, so good to see bb waving at u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We have the same gynae.

He told u about the irregular heartbeat ah.

Don't worry since he say shouldn't b a problem.

Mine he say not stable... Even more sian.

1d1r,

The irregular heartbeat is because bb is dancing! Just like when we dance our heartbeat will go faster [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So cool that you can see bb dance!

1d1r,

So cool that u got to see baby dancing! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Must have been a really touching sight. I was told usually babies at this gestation age will have slightly irregular heartbeat but they are usually fine. So don't worry yah?

Minidiary,

My hubby said I have bump already! But it's really just fats from last pregnancy lah. Hahaha! Also good to have bump, can get seats on MRT. :p

I had my dinner at 7.30pm and im hungry now...haiz...asking hubby for my anmum choc milk..yumyum...good nite mummies...see you tmr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yan,

So sorry to hear about your loss. Hope you are fine now. I'm sure that one day you will carry your bundle of joy in your arms. God bless you

I've stopped my brown spotting and reduce my duphaston to once a day. Thought of totally stop. Has anyone stop on your own or have to consult gynae? But my gynae visiting is next thurs, can't stand the nausea and giddiness side effect.

morninghugs

I like pants from Spring maternity. No need to buy bellybelt, I used a rubber band, looped it through the hole and around the button. Works perfectly fine and its free. You'll want to get proper pants when you're bigger though. The tube top technique works fine, but if you're prone to feeling hot, you may not like the feeling of wearing it around the top of your pants.

Personally I prefer wearing dresses when bigger, its really a lot more comfy. I would recommend that if you're getting maternity pants, find something with a wide elastic waistband made with ribbed/knitted fabric. It's more comfortable.

bump

mine was showing around 6+ weeks already. Prob cos my abdominal muscles were previously stretched.

Amici,

Stop only when ur gynae tells u to. I remember gynae told me to stop taking and spotting came back so gotta retake..

Tamms,

I didn't have to start wearing maternity clothes at all till I was ard 6mths pregnant. Was relying on jeans and the tube as bellyband till quite big then shopped for those pants which have elastic waist. Bought quite a few from Red2 boutique which surprisingly has those really comfy pants even though they are maternity shop. Cheaper than Spring!

Good morning ladies! TGIF!! Been looking forward to this day since Monday! Hahaha..

1d1r, congrats on your bb's growth! I think you meants 2.2cm and not 22cm right? Hehehe! My gynae didn't tell me about regularities of my bb's heartbeat when I saw him at 7w. Hmm.. Maybe I'll ask again during my appointment next week. Don't you worry since your gynae told you no problem!

I really need to go shopping for bigger clothes. All my UK6 clothes are getting tighter already. Confirm need to change my entire wardrobe in a month's time. Sad..

I'm feeling great today! Maybe because I haven't take Duphaston yet.. Counting down to end of Friday!

Re: Pants

Hi mummies, I went to bugis village to buy a few rubberised pants.. cost only $10/each.. Anything more than $10, please bargain! cos i got one for $20 the first time and thought is cheap, then i walked past another shop n saw a nicer one for $10 only..

it will last u until the end of pregnancy..

Starry, i tried using tube before but i duno why, maybe i chor lor or what, the tube keep going up.. if not coming down, maybe elasticity not good.. then i keep pulling..

tabbyz (tabbyz) UK size 6! omg.. so small size leh.. i went to esprit yesterday, wanted to get a leather jacket for my taiwan trip but my boobs now cant fit in XL.. n they dont have XXL

I feel so sleepy today... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] How to tahan till 5...

MiraclesDoHappen, I like tight clothes so I tend to buy smaller sizes. But now I need to really squeeze into them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lizy, JIA YOU! I have half an hour more than you. 5.30pm!!

Miracle,

$10 good deal! Which part of bugis village? Upstairs or downstairs? Think the tube not strechy enough. I had no problem of it riding up.

Lizy,

Hang in there and move ard a bit to help keep u awake. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

was tortured by my baby yesterday. cried the whole night ytd... dun wanna sleep and his cries machiam got ppl beat him up...

starry, first floor.. just need to comb the shops.. most of them $10..

tabbyz, last time i B cup, then, after #1 become C cup.. if this time D cup n nvr go down after i stop BF, then i going for surgery to reduce leh.. too big, too ugly... wear clothes also not nice and make u look fat...

vivi, Good morning!

MiraclesDoHappen, wow!!! I'm also only B now. I can't imagine myself reaching D. It'll be too overwhelming for my small frame.. I heard after you stop BF, it'll go down to your original cup?

morning mommies~

Just got into office *yawn* so tired @__@

tabbyz & lizy> I'm in between you two..haha I KO at 5.15pm :p

Miracle> Bugis Village ones are long ones for work? I'm out of idea what to wear for bottom now. Don't dare to wear my old pants cos I'm afraid of "squeezing" my stomach when I sit down..haa..and also seem tighter :x

Thanks Starry and Tabbyz. Really need the encouragement to hang on. I'm so tired during the day yet could not sleep well at night.

morning ladies

#1 i bought dresses from bugis village too. Just $10 to last me throughout the pregancy. I only bought 1 3 quarter pants from materity that's all. Is too expensive.

Finally can sleep well yesterday, after 5 days of sleepless nights. My gal finally get well le. =D

any1 managed to wean off bfg??

me still trying hard. whenever latch or pump i will have stomach discomfort machiam menses cramp.

vivi, I suppose you still sleep with #2 since you're still bf? How about #1? What do you plan to do with sleeping arrangements when #3 comes?

vivi,

go cold turkey like what my friend did. initial week sure very difficult for the child 'cos sudden stop mah. but after a couple of weeks ok le. initially my friend was worried her girl will have emotional trauma or whatever, but ok leh! tough initially but ended well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

miracles, jasmine,

i shall go shopping at bugis village one of these days! $10 really cheap.

tabbyz,

i was a B when bfing #1, then went down to A again after stopping.

wonder how to maintain the size?? i find A okay for my size but B definitely looked better when i wear certain dresses/tube tops. haha!!

vivi, I think the stomach discomfort has to do with your pregnancy rather than bf?

Are you still exclusively bf? Is your boy taking any formula yet? I had a hard time weaning my girl off bf, even though I was only doing morning & night latch. Tried couple of times by asking DH to give formula at night feed. But she wailed and wailed, I couldn't bear it and went in... So I did something which was not recommended by babycenter, I went overseas and had my maid sleep with her, thankfully she was ok. BTW, for my boy, I did the same -- went overseas for a week. I think a less risky option is to stay over at a friend's place in case the baby cannot stop crying all night? At least can go back home to feed?

starry - me trying to go cold turkey. ytd told me boy that my milk wil be depleting soon ask him drink a bit. then kept feeding him ebm. think he angry or emo lei. then the whole nite create havoc!

but i still need to pump cos me afraid i will get mastitis. then troublesome le.

vivi,

bfing will cause uterus to contract. think it's due to the hormone produced. read this article:

One of the benefits of breastfeeding a newborn is that it causes the mother's uterus to contract. For many new mothers, uterine contractions are a sure sign that the let-down reflex is working (though not everyone feels these contractions). Why are these contractions good for you?

- It helps you to deliver the placenta quickly.

- It helps prevent blood loss through hemorrhage.

- In the following weeks, it helps bring your uterus back to its pre-pregnancy size and muscle tone.

How does breastfeeding cause uterine contractions?

- Nipple stimulation causes the mother's brain to release the hormone oxytocin into the bloodstream.

- This hormone causes a particular type of muscle to contract.

- This type of muscle is found in at least three parts of the body:

1. Surrounding the milk sacs in the breast.

2. In the walls of the uterus.

3. In the vagina.

The main function of oxytocin in breastfeeding is to contract the muscles around the milk sacs and push the milk out (see the page on letdown for more details of how the breast makes and releases milk).

Another effect of oxytocin is to cause the muscles inside the vagina to contract. This happens during sexual intercourse (especially orgasm). This is why many breastfeeding women leak or squirt milk during intercourse. It is also the reason why nipple stimulation is sexually arousing to some women. One possible side effect is that some women might become sexually aroused while nursing their babies. But you see, this is due to a simple physiological mechanism; it's nothing to worry about. (see the page on breastfeeding and your sex life for more on this).

Finally, oxytocin causes the uterus to contract. This is beneficial to the new mother in several ways (see above). This is also the reason your obstetrician might tell you to refrain from sex or wean your younger child when you are pregnant if you are considered likely to have a miscarriage. Most pregnant women, however, can continue enjoying intercourse and continue breastfeeding through pregnancy (even while in labor, up to the point when the waters break) with no problem.

If your obstetrician tells you to wean your older child but does not ask you to refrain from sex, you should be very suspicious (see the page on tandem nursing).

The hormone oxytocin can also be released without nipple stimulation when you see or hear your baby, or even just think about your baby. This may cause milk to leak from your breasts.

best talk to your gynae on this..

noodles- yup. exclusive bfg. my boy is okie with fm but when im ard he will chu pattern. dunno if its the uterus contracting anot.

cos gynae mentioned that uterus will contract when pumping and latching. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

vivi,

it's like that.. first few days/nights sure havoc! my gf was quite heartbroken to watch her girl sniffing and touching her boobs but don't allow her to latch at all. her girl also cried badly initially. she also used reward scheme in terms of toys, books etc. to help her girl get thru this time of adjustment. but really depends on your boy if he can understand about getting rewards when he is well-behaved or not. anyway, if you don't wean him off now, it may be harder when #3 comes along. there may be jealousy when he sees u latching the younger sibling and u may have big headache then. unless u are mentally and physically ready then to tandem bf both of them.

noodles,

#1 and # 2 sleeping with us.

me thinking to shift my #1 and #2 to their room and have #3 with us.

now looking around for their beds.

starry- me thinking to bf #2 once deliver... but i hope he still remembers to latch.

i wean my #1 successfully when he was 2yrs old. but thats easy cos he already know whats going on le.

vivi,

you are really a very 'wei da' mummy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if your gynae says it is safe to continue bfing, then go ahead. it's not so common in singapore but a lot of americans do it. if they can, i'm sure you can too. just gotta know your body and know when to stop bah. did you bf your #1 when having #2 also?? or managed to wean off just before you were pregnant?

Hi sisters,

Can I check if anyone of u seeing Dr Woo Bit Hwa? I wana know whether is he good or not leh.

I m looking for a good gynae who need to be extremely attentive and nice in central area coz I staying in Queenstown.... wahahhahaha

I found Dr Woo Bit Hwa in Tiong Bahru Plz so thot of seeing him but not sure whether he is good?

starry - already wean off cos i deliver my #2 when my boy was 4yrs old.

dr ask me not to bf and the pd also said not advisable. i read that uterus contracting will lead to early birth. so beta not risk. im quite blur 1.