(2011/10) Oct 2011

How bout Formulas? May I ask wat brand r ur babies taking to now? Mine is having Karihome plus Similac. Use to be Karihome & S26. But, S26 seems to be too heaty, coz her stools came out quite hard. So, am trying Similac now.

Just to share : anyone has Annabel karmel's recipe book? I got it from my boy's godparents and has been cooking his food using the recipes. Food taste yummy though it's without any salt or seasonings. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My pd gave the go ahead to give chicken so I have been giving chicken since he's 6 mth old. Last trip to pd she said must give more meat cos my boy isn't gaining much weight and looks pale. So now have been giving him chicken or beef for 1 meal and fish for the other. My boy is allergic to eggs so gotta give more fish for the omega.

Bubblygeekypig - my boy also likes to nurse to sleep but I'm trying to break this habit. Have been using Elizabeth Pantley's Ppo method and it seems to work quite well. At least he doesn't doze off while still nursing and won't scream when I put him down most of the time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi rabbitbaby,

Ok I will try. ) Hhhm ok sounds like good idea. Think I will cook her porridge with more veg[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Formula: she is taking similac. Only for the feed bef she goes off to sleep or when we are outside. I'm currently a sahm so most of the time she is on bf. stool so far ok but maybe she is still in bm.

Mag,

Nursing to sleep: my baby had the same problem too initially. When I tried weaning her off nursing before sleep time she whined for around three nights. vafter that she understands that there will not be mummy nursing. So after that she is Ok. Oh I also tell her gently that baby has finished bottle milk and mummy won't be nursing her but mummy still loves her as much.

Putting baby down to bed: my baby wants mummy carry her even whe she is napping but only in the daytime. Night time she ok. Not sure why. Anyway She needed to be carried until she turned 7 mths when one day gut instinct tells me try to put her to bed fr her morning nap. Surprisingly she didn't even cry until before where she used to have a 'sensor' alerting her that she is off mummy's arms. So after this incident I truly believe that babies and learn slowly. So instead of us leading her, we let her tell us and let her 'baby lead ' us. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. But of course it was really hard work having to carry her all the time and there was very litte thing I could do for myself. :x

I'm still latching her back to seep when she wakes up at night. In a good night, she wakes once. On some not so good nights, she is up 2-3 times. Sometimes I think she isn't hungry but it's just a habit that he wakes up looking for the breast. So hubby and I are still sitting on fence to see how shd we tackle this ;)

Hi hoppy

I feel so relieved to see your post about carrying to sleep!! I thought I was alone as none of the friends around me seem to have this problem.

My son is turning 8 mths in a week's time. Same as you we're able to put him in the cot at night..but during the day his sensor is super strong and will wail out loudly if we attempt to put him down!

At this point of time, day naps on the bed is 50% carry is 50%...any mummies have any ideas or experience in dealing with this situation?? Carrying baby for up to 2 hrs 2 times a day is no joke...turning into statue soon hahaha

Hi hoppy,

I'm trying to put my boy down on the bed before he's totally asleep. Sometimes it works, sometimes I have to pick him up again when he senses that I'm no longer carrying him. My boy is a catnapper. He only naps for half hour. On rare occasions, he will sleep about 1-1.5 hrs. I'm also latching him back to sleep when he wakes up at night, and exactly like your girl, I don't think he's hungry, just want comfort. I'm hoping that soon he can sleep through the night or at least just wake up once!

Twinklewen - I read somewhere that babies are more sensitive to their surroundings during the day as compared to night when the urge to sleep is stronger. My boy used to want me to carry him when napping but I slowly try to put him down. For sure, he protested and I pick him up. But I kept doing it for a few days, and slowly he got the idea that he is to sleep on the bed. But i still carry him when he's sleepy and only put him down when he is about to doze off. I'm working towards putting him down while he's still relatively awake and can soothe himself to sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi twinklewen,

Yes!!! I had actual,y tried to sleep train her initially but each time in the day I put her down to bed she will protest and when she does that it's enough to bring the whole roof tumbling. Lol. Also I feel it's affecting and disturbing her each time. So just bite bullet and carry all the way. So I'm glad she can sleep on the bed in the day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i remembered i was dancing n jumping up and down when she didnt protest !!

is your boy sill being carried t sleep in the day ?? Well, if he does I believe one day he will want to sleep on the bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] when he is ready [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if he is already sleeping b

In bed then give yourself a pat her on back for your effort and of course a good massage for your arms !!!

Mag,

Yes they are more sensitive so when my girl naps in the day I will draw the curtains. So it's a more conducive environment.

Same like your son, my baby also takes short power naps 0.5 hr. on few occasions like the last few days continuously shhon append or 1.5 - 2.5 hrs. Yoohoo!!!, that gives me time for myself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Right now I still need to carry and pat and sing her lullabies. I'm also looking fwd to baby sleeping thru the night !!! I'm sure if not now it will be soon as I believed they are attuned to what we are thinking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mag, right now I carry when he's sleepy and wait till he's deep in sleep b4 I try to put him onto the cot. Sometimes it works and sometimes it fails! I cannot wait for the day when he's able to fall asleep on his own like normal adults! Wishful thinking? Haha

Hi hoppy, I can feel your happiness!! Cos if it were me I'll be super excited too. Have tried all methods..closing all curtains, silence, even on aircon to try and trick him it's nighttime (he sleeps in aircon at night). But babies are too smart for all our tricks I guess? Will just have to keep trying...I aim to succeed 100% by he's 1 yrs old haha...wish me luck!

Hi hoppy and twinklewen,

I'm a dec2011 mum n happen to chance upon ur postings. My gal also same, has to carry to sleep. Then I decided to try yaolan (sarong swing) and it helped greatly. Hv u given yaolan a try? Yes, it's another 'wrong method' for bb to fall asleep in, but its to maintain some sanity, at least for me.

Hi yoyosan

Some of my friends did suggest that I use yao lan as well. Can I ask if your yaolan is the kind that's hooked onto ceiling directly or if its the kind that's with a round metal base?

Have you weaned your baby from it yet and was it difficult?

Hi yoyosan,

I never tried yaolan. I don't think it is a wrong method. Every baby responds to different methods. As long as it works for baby n mummy, why not !! A lot of babies in the past ( incl myself used to sleep in one too. We turned out ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Im actually not living in sg right now so I don't have a yaolan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I was trying to put my baby onto bed patting her with her still drowsy but awake. She was still for a while then started baby talking and sat up. Lol. I gives she's not ready to fall asleep like that yet I think I will try again and see how she responds. I hope she can give me a pleasant surprise again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi twinklewen,

Mine's metal base n frame, w motor.

Not weaned yet, I m still using it. I know n guess it might be difficult to wean when it's time, whether it's weaning from hand-carry or yaolan, but I would prefer to think abt when the time comes. For now, cos I need to take care of my #1 too, yaolan free up time for me to do so.

I've heard of both easy n difficult weaning; easy being one day u just put bb on bed instead of yaolan n viola, she sleeps, n difficult being the kid is 5yo n still yaolan for naps. So it's different for different bbs.

Hi hoppy,

U staying in some angmoh country? Guess most Asian countries might hv yaolan bah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes, I remembered I'm also a yaolan bb, so maybe my bb takes after me. So I tell myself, I dun sleep in yaolan anymore, so one fine day, my bb also be able to sleep by herself on the bed. We just got a longer route there, instead of direct route. Lol.

I like ur optimism. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoyosan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm in asia![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I believe that in raising a child we should 顺其自然。 meaning just follow the flow. Babies at this young age still need our utmost care and patience. So I try not to go against their wishes. Some may view as spoiling the baby. But to me, babies will lead us eventually. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Very soon as our babies grow up so fast and gain independent mobility and amidst our busy schedules, we will be spending lesser time with them. so every hug n carrying is very precious ;)

Hi Twinklewen, I'm also waiting for the day my boy can just go to sleep on his own! I wonder how long more must I wait... Lol!

Hi hoppy, I agree with you that babies grow up so fast! That day I was just looking at my boy sleeping and I was thinking it was not too long ago that I could cradle him with one arm and now he's crawling everywhere around the house!

Hi yoyosan, I tried to let my boy sleep in yaolan but he cried throughout! So in the end, I gave up and carried him to sleep. Luckily he now is able to sleep on the bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, hope is not too late for me to join the chat ;)

I'm a first time mummy, my baby turned 8 mth last Thursday.

My boy naps in the yao lan during day time and night time he will sleep in his playpen. But he always like to sleep side way inside his yao lan, sometimes I'm so worried about suffocation thou his sarong is those net type with holes but I can't help worrying. Any mummies faced the same problem?

Anyone of you have contacts for window grills contractors? My gal just turn 8 mths and is climbing up and down already therefore time to fix it in

I have the following to let go, pls let me know if interested.. they are all brand new

-2 tins of Mamil Gold stage 2, 900g expiring on July 2013, S$30 each

-6 packs of NUK Thicker Feed stage 2, latex, S$5 each, all 6 packs at S$28

-NUK stage 2 Silicon Pacifier

-Philips stage 2 Pacifier

-Breastfeed pillow

Hi mummies, there are some of us on fb who are organising a bday bash for the Oct babies. Sept and Nov babies are welcome too! It's gonna be on 8 Sept, Saturday and will be held at Hokey Pokey, Suntec. Hokey Pokey is a new playground for babies from 6mths onwards so it will be really fun for our babies! The place can hold up to 30 kids and 60 adults. 2-hour party.

Good chance for our babies to meet up and socialise.

Still working out the costings per baby. I'll keep everyone here updated ok? If you all want to check out the fb group, just PM me too. I will add you as a friend first and then add you to the group.

About sleeping, my boy is a bad sleeper at night. I nurse him to sleep every night, it's a bad habit I know but I was very lazy to do other methods. He wakes up a few times at night too, just whining and crawling around with his eyes closed. Then I will nurse him to sleep again. Bad habit too!! But it works lah...

During the day, my MIL / mum will carry him, rock him, and sing songs to make him nap. When placed on the bed, if lucky, he will hug his bolster and sleep. If not, he will wake up and have to sing to him again.

Some friends asked us to use the Cry It Out (CIO) method to train them to sleep independently but we just can't do it.

Yoyosan, I also just tell myself one fine day, he will fall asleep on his own, I just have to wait for that day! Dunno when!

Loveeveryday,

I also nurse my baby back to sleep if she suddenly stir in her sleep n whine. Sometimes she just doesn't want to be carted so no choice.

I have not been carrying my bb to sleep since she turned 3mths. I reckon that this is not a long term plan as they will grow up and it will be tedious to carry them to sleep.

She sleeps in her cot but i'll always sing or pat her. If in luck, she sleeps in 15min otherwise it will be 40 min of bending.

If i'm lazy, then i'll take out my magic 'wand' - the pacifier!!

It works wonders!! haha!!

Hi Hoppy, I have added you as a fb friend, accept the request and then I can add u to the grp. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For those mummies with no facebook, don't worry, you are still welcome to join the party. After all, we are all oct mummies! Just drop me a PM and I will keep in contact with you via email about the party details.

I read that some babies are prone to waking up at night to crawl around because their brains are still active....there's so many new things for them to learn every day hence even at night, their brains are sorting out the new information, leading them to whine / cry / wake up / crawl around in their sleep. Just like sometimes we adults can't sleep the night before something major (wedding, exams, etc) as our brains are still thinking about alot of things.

Mag

Wat kind of method did u use to stop ur bb not to get used to nurse till slp? My MIL looks aft my bb when I'm working n complains tat he sometimes nap for few min then wakes up n he needs to be carried to slp..

How did u handle e meat? I wanna feed my bb pork but hb say it's hard for him to chew so I haven't start give him pork yet jus fish occassionally.. does e avent blender blends well? My bb also hasn't been gaining weight n he's caught virus from hos cousin who's sick so it seems like he's losing weight! Wanna feed him wif more food..

Hi bubblygeekypig,

I used Elizabeth Pantley's Ppo method. Basically it's to let bb nurse while going to sleep but pull out before bb dozes off. Its to let bb slowly get to sleep without sucking. What I did is to let my boy suckle till he's sleepy or eyes are closed but I know he's not fully asleep yet, I remove him from my breast. He will try to search for my breast again and I will let him suckle but i wait till 10 seconds before I try to remove him again. And he will continue to want to nurse and it will take a few times before he gives up and goes to sleep. Now my boy doesn't need to suckle to sleep but still needs me to carry him to sleep. I'm also trying to put him on the bed before he's fully asleep but the success rate is 50-50. Sometimes he will rollover and zzz but there are times when he will cry and protest and I have to carry him again.

As for the meat, I blend them for my boy. I used the normal food blender (brand is Braun) and it works fine. How I handle the food is I will make a batch of meat, say, stewed beef with carrots and potatoes and blend them up and freeze them in ice cube trays. Once frozen, I pop them out and store in ziplock bag in freezer. When I need them, I take a coupe of cubes out and heat them up using a steamer and I'll add a few scoops of porridge cereal in. The texture is smooth and bb gets the nutrients in a way that's easy for him to swallow and for me to make [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Mag

How long do you keep the meat, a week? I haven start him on meat yet, only fish. Not sure how to prepare therefore haven start him yet ;p

Any mummies here give pacifier to baby? Any plan to quit their pacifier? My boy love it and can't sleep w/o it. I'm wondering when is a good time for him to kick the habit..

Hi Mag, thanks for sharing on the PPO method. (thanks bubblygeekypig for asking Mag too!) It sounds quite workable, I will try that out with my boy!

hi novmummy,

I'm actually trying to give my baby pacifier. haha. so funny how our intentions differ. u wan baby to quit while I'm on de other hand want to giv baby pacifier. my baby hates de pacifier. everytime I give her to suck, she will suck a few times den will take it out n have a good stare at de pacifier n like wondering wat de hell is dis. haha. de reason I wan give her de pacifier is she needs to suck something bfore sleep n most of de time she will suck her bean pillow! in rare times when no pillow, she will suck her fingers (not thumb!). to me pacifier is better den pillow or thumb. when de pillow is wet, I'm sure it will collect more bacteria. n sucking of thumb is a bad habit n u can't throw away de tthumb, at least u can throw de pacifier away.

I think ur baby will give his own signal once hes ready to remove de pacifier. at their age now I think they r still too young n if pacifier n calm dem down, y not?

Thanx Mag! Actually I tried tat method too but sometimes when I c tat he didn't put in weight I'll choose to.let him suckle till fully slp.. like urs, mine also 50-50 when put him back to his cot to slp.. wonder when can they slp on their own haha!

As for e food, did u blend till it become mince meat or till 'creamy' so tat they need not chew n can swallow directly as they do boy have teeth..

Hi novmummy, I keep them for not more than a month as suggested on Wholesomebabyfood website. Here's the link : http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/FreezePage.htm

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi loveeveryday, good luck with the Ppo method! Just keep doing it for a few nights, it should work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi bubblygeekypig, I understand how you feel. My boy is also quite small, pd said must give more food. I think maybe you try to give more boy more meat (my pd told me to give him more meat and rice)? I blend it till creamy cos my boy has only two bottom front teeth. Sometimes I will add some boiled water to the food to make it less thick (cos after putting cereal it can get quite sticky and lumpy) so that it's easier for him to swallow. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For meat, I used the avent blender which is good when my girl was 6 mths. Now she is 8mths I will cook the meat ( chicken or pork) with the rice grains in a slow cooker. Then I will take the meat out and use fork to Mash them and mix them up with the cooked porridge. She had learnt how to chew so I dun purre her food anymore.

As for nursing - I nurse my girl when she wakes up in midke or night. But I will break the the latching before she dozes off. Similar to what Mag does.

Hi Nurul

I heard is more difficult to kick the bad habit as they grow older, thats why I'm thinking of quitting him before he turn 1 if possible.. But i agreed pacifier is better than finger or pillow, he also love to suck his finger or pillow when we don't give pacifier! Faintz, lol.

Hi Mag, tks for the link!

Any baby here has bad cough with lots of phelghm? My boy is coughing very badly with lots of phelghm, bought him see doc 3 times and it gets better but now the bad cough and phelgm came back again after 3 weeks. Anyone medicine to recommend to clear the cough & phelgm?

It hurts me to see him coughing so badly...

Hi novmummy,

Poor thing! It's heartbreaking to see the little one coughing non stop. You said the cough got better after visiting the doc but came back after a few weeks. Could it be some food that he eats? Maybe too cooling or heaty?

As for weaning off the pacifier, my ex-colleague told me that she would use scissors to snipe the pacifier bit by bit. The reason for doing so is that the be will find the pacifier no longer nice to suck on. It works for her two kids. Another more 'traditional' way that my mum used is to apply a bit of axe oil on it. Bb would associate the pacifier with the awful taste and wouldn't want to suck it.

Yes, we also suspect the cough was due to food, we suspect could be biscuit cos the cough is back after we give him biscuit as snack again. Just bough him to pd this morning and we will ban him from biscuit and observe see how it goes..

Used scissors to snipe the pacifier sound good! I shall try this method, Lol.

Mommies, i'm also referring to Wholseome Baby Food. It's just a guidance but it gives me idea what to give baby next.

My baby has so far tasted alot of differnt food but recently she starts to reject fish. I really have no idea why.

Here's the list of food she had tried:

*FRUITS*

- Apple

- Avocado

- Apricot

- Banana

- Pear

*VEGETABLES*

- Sweet Potato

- White Potato

- Carrot

- Sweet Pea

- Sweet Bean

- Frozen Pea

- Pumpkin

- Pearl Bean

- Broccoli

- Green Lentils

- French Bean

- Spinach

*MEAT*

- Fish

- Chicken

- Beef

- Ikan Bilis Soup

- Silver Fish powder

- Ikan Bilis & Onion Soup

*CEREAL*

- Wholegrain Rice

- Brown Rice

- Oatmeal

- Barley

**PACIFIER**

I give her too if she has difficulty sleepy and cried hard.

I feel it's fine..afterall they are just babies. I do not have the intention to see her cry for pacifier. Feel that this could be weaned when she can understand what I'm conveying to her.

Sometimes she pulls it out, so i'll use a finger to stop it.

I'm currently breastfeeding n my period came recently n reale aft my period, nmy supply drops. Tried to feed bb formula ytd cos scare tat in case he's hungry n I do not have e supply but he refused! Think he's too used to sucking from breast to slp n therefore reject e bottle.. sooner or later he'll need to be fed on formula, so is there any mummifacing e same prob n how do u gets ur bb to drink formula at nite instead of relying on sucking directly thru brebreast n fall asleep? I tried pulling my nipples n letting him drink his formula when he's drowsy but he'll cry n protest till he search n suck from breast then he'll feel comfortable..

Winny

I guess no choice have to keep trying.. but right now I'll still let him direct latch as I feel it'll stimulate to produce more milk..

My bb from birth till now drinking v little like 80-100ml still now wif semi.solid he drinks only 2 packets of breastmilk.. but if I direct latch when I'm hm during wkends he'll feel like lactching on whenever he feels like sleeping

Hi winny

My son is now 8mths and 1 wk old. His schedule as follows:

8am Eat Cereal (1 Avent bowl)

10am Drink 90ml milk

12noon Eat Porridge (1 Avent bowl)

4pm Drink 210ml milk

6pm Eat porridge (1 Avent bowl)

8pm Drink 210ml milk

After this he will sleep...usually still wakes up 1 time in the night for milk.

Also for him, his per meal portion is 1 Avent bowl full for now. Sometimes during meals I give fruits, yogurt etc in addition to porridge. As long as all add up no more than 1 avent bowl it's ok for him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks for the advise!

I'm also trying to adjust accordingly.

My Baby is 8 mths 2nd week+ and by right her milk consumption per day should be at least 600ml.

Sometimes she wakes up in the middle of night for milk and sometimes don't so i adjust her breakfast accordingly. :D

Hi buzzingbee,

I'm not sure that at this age, they can drink cow's milk (or any other milk product). So far it's been either breastmilk or formula for my boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi buzzing bee

My elder drank lactose free milk since a year old. Blur mummy didn't realize he was lactose intolerant and thought "why are babies so gassy?" turned out that the lactose is giving him bloated stomach. We mixed Isomail and Pediasure. He has no problem with either jut that once he is more vocal, he would tell me Isomail taste "not nice" so in the end we just use Pediasure.

I'm new to this thread and I'm also a Oct 2011 mummy! My boy is coming to 10 months old. After reading some of your postings, I then realised quite a number of mummies are having the same problem as me.

My boy also needs to be carried and pat to sleep since 2 months old. He had colic then so this bad habit started. It was until last month, infant care teachers talked to us, asking us try not to do that at home as he is not sleeping in school because he expects the teachers to pat and carry him to sleep.

We started to pat him on the bed. There was some result but he fell sick and became very clingy again. So we got to start all over again.

His sleep association is pacificer so in the middle of the night if he realised he has dropped his pacificer, he will cry for it as he dunno how to go back to sleep without it. He's currently co-sleeping with us so we can try to put the pacifier back to his mouth.

He's also a catnapper... little sounds will wake him up. Usual nap timing is around 30 mins to an hour. Like some of the mummies here, I also wish he can learn to sleep on his own, on his bed soon....

Hi iphuchi!!!

My baby sleep association is me !!!

So she needs me to be around to pat her if he needs to sleep or wakes up in the middle of it.

So I, thinking to slowly wean it off. Otherwise it's going to be a problem when I return to work !! Currently I'm a sahm an ny bby is 9.5 mths [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi! It's really a headache right! For me I used to pay my bb on her cot but my back hurts a lot from the 20-30 min of bending everyday so now I let her roll and crawl on my bed (plus pacifier if needed).

After she fell asleep I will move her back to her cot.

My bb is 9mths 2 weeks.