(2011/10) Oct 2011

ohhh toa payoh near my place.. may make a trip down. is this a sales price or normal price? so if sales, then must rush down lo...haha

Pray&Love,

Toa Payoh 3rd lvl (HDB Hub) 63527781

10:30 a.m. – 9:30 p.m.

perhaps you wan to call and ask first (instock).. cos i also don't know if it's sales or normal price. their pricing abit messy.

i am guessing normal cos most of the website i search for latido are more/less the same price.

rabbit bb, yan, bubblygeekypig,

thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] love this scan pic too. the moment the sonographer saw her putting up her 'sexy legs', she immediately took a snapshot for me. haha!

yan,

detailed scans are usually very clear. the machines at TMC/NUH are very gd. and it's so sweet of your hubby to have thought of a name already! my hubby didn't want to think of names. then when i told him the name i want for our babe, he will comment this and that. irritating!

bubblygeekypig,

i went for the classic package. the royal package looks good but very expensive le. that time 'bu she de' spend so much on a few days of massaging. some more my confinement was properly done with all the quality herbs so thought no need to go to the extent. the oil from massage is not really THAT oily. just a thin film on the skin. i used a dry towel to rub off the excess oil and it's not so bad. after awhile will be absorbed into the skin. that time i bathed everyday in the morning (with herbs and rice wine) le. cannot tahan the heat! and after bathing straight away massage so quite shiok. hee hee!

think someone recommended getting cetaphil cleanser for use during confinement 'cos it's a gel-like thing which you can apply direct to dry skin and rub off with dry towel. thinking of trying that this time round.

tired mummy,

welcome and congrats on having a girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: playpen

mine is a latido one too! blue colour and i got it for only $99. cheap and gd! mattress excluded, but i ordered from Cheong Choon Store with a playgym and both came with FOC delivery to my doorstep.

That's a really good scan of bb. Why ours so blur just clouds of black n grey. If Gynae no describe we also cannot picture wat we looking at. Lol

Starry,

Good!!!

initially i also wanted to order form CC store, but the auntie winnie alwys too busy.. then i didnt manage to see the catalogue for their playpen as well.. but i will be planning to get baby bouncer/mattress set and combi from then in the later days...

starry: thats a very clear picture. as long as the baby is healthy is good enuf.. i wanted a girl for my 1st baby cuz girl will take care of siblings mah but is a boy.

Girls are better, you "earned" half a son rather than "losing" half a son..

gilera,

my previous gynae also always gave me blur blur scans. his machine is huge and lao kok kok one. haha! this current gynae's is better, very small u/s scan machine, only as big as a laptop! the scan i posted was from NUH.

snuppy,

yeah, auntie winnie very very busy. so you gotta be chop chop in ordering and know exactly what you want. hubby and i always prepare in advance the brand and model no then call up to see if she has. if have, how much and ask for discount. :p

winter bluey,

you are right, as long as baby is healthy! boy or girl also good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] who and how many we have are all 'fated'. cannot choose yah?

last week i brought my babe down to the park nearby my mom's place for stroll and we sat by the playground for a while to let her watch the older kids play, for she loves it. there was this auntie who walked past and started chatting. she saw that i am pregnant again and asked abt the gender. i told likely another girl. she immediately became very yaya papaya and said, "wah.. heng arh! my daughter's first child is a son lor!" i couldn't believe she said this! it's like saying i am suay for having a girl and must be really suay for having a 2nd girl! damn mad!!!

winter_bluey: what is your name in facebook?

starrymommy: i love the scan picture =p so cute ..

starrymommy & yan2609: girl or boy does not matter, as long as baby is healthy .. as much as i know it is difficult, do not be bothered about what others said .. it is difficult enough for us to conceive and carry the baby to full terms ..

tired mummy: me going down to the baby fair next weekend .. am planning to get origins jamu for the post-natal massage ..

thanks starry for the welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wa the auntie u met really mean...nowadays ppl like gals more than boys lor. my #1 is a boy and i was so disappointed then. even my mum also prefers gal so can doll up pretty mah..

bubblygeekypig, ya.. after u give birth just provide them with the cda account no (a form to submite) and they will do the neccessary deduction from there after bb is born.

The $99 playpen is cheap! i bought mine like 100 plus or 200plus last time.. sob..

Tired Mummy (busypapamama), welcome! dont think i am going down to the fair.. if u see any cheap n good things, post here k!

my current gynae's machine also very good, the clarity i feel is similar to the tmc fetal scanning ones.. much much clearer than my previous gynae too.. but then he always scan v fast..

miffy, placenta separation is due to very hugh force right? that time my accident during #1 also quite hugh impact but heng no separation but my baby coiled into a ball due to the impact, maybe she was frightened.... i saw the delphin machine demo! my mattress was damn dirty even after 2 vacumn.. haha.. end up we didnt buy the machine because of the $3k plus price and also we still need someone to use it leh.. my current dyson vacumn cleaner also say can kill bedbugs etc, but i think for the past 4 years, we use less than 10 times.. too bulky n lazy to bring it out.. shall ask the part time maid help us vacumn our bed since she doesnt need to iron clothes.. hehe..

fantastar, tired mummy,

can't believe the auntie who is also a mom would say that to another mommy lor. my first pregnancy was very smooth sailing except for slight spotting during the early weeks. this 2nd pregnancy was more of an emotional rollercoaster for me with all the bleeding scares. really thankful to God that baby is safe and sound! that's why was really upset she said those words. some ppl want also don't have, still wanna compare gender!

tired mummy,

i used origins jamu before. it's good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think $70+ per session. can check out their website: http://www.originsjamumassage.com/

starry, that auntie really tmd! if i were u, i will say her straight into her face n tell her dont be old fashion...

Yan, 3 gals are charlie angels mah.. hehe.. my daughter always ask me about her mei mei.. what's mei mei's name, where is mei mei sleeping etc.. but this time i got a boy, sigh.. i told her maybe only one didi and no mei mei for her liao.. recently so many ppl tell me how much they spent on tuition on their kids each month.. 2 is really a handful and very broke..

starry, u massage 10 days issit too many days?

I am thinking of booking the ML that was reccomended in the fb secret group one, but i havent cal her up..

roxanne - sure...

starry - thanks i will go look at webby but $70+ seems exp. is that normal price?? nvr really try post natal massage before so not sure about pricing.

true..i have friends and colleagues who are trying so hard for bb but with no successful. so if have is good liaoz, cannot complain

re: playpen

for my #1, he used a bb cot when born and when we switched him to playpen later...he doesn't like it at all...so it's a bit of waste $$ for us. luckily we bought the lucky bb brand from NTUC which is about $119, it think?

I recently bought RAinbow vac. My mom had one n it lasted a good 30 years. Delphin is copy of rainbow technology. Odin worse.

miffy,

just saw your post about the placenta separation. what caused it?? hope you rest a lot and that everything will be fine!

roxanne,

sounds scary, your experience. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] glad everything's fine! and yes, that auntie is super TMD! i told her in the face that having boys may not be so good either 'cos later her daughter may end up having 'no son' after he gets married! maybe see him once a few months considered very good liao! after i said that she just shut up. :p

but no offence to any mommies here having boys k? i was just feeling upset then and wanted to give her a taste of her own medicine. who ask her be such a kaypoh come over and make nasty comments?? and initially, she didn't ask outright whether i am pregnant or not. she said "wah.. your baby so big already and your tummy still like haven't give birth leh.." i said, "auntie! look carefully! i am 5 mths pregnant!" then she started the whole gender comparison. BTH!

tired mummy,

$70+ is quite standard price. if u find freelance ones may be cheaper.

re: massage duration

i find 10 okay. 'cos i had csect and started after 3 weeks which is very late already. so i thought might as well book more days otherwise won't see effect. best is start a couple of days after normal delivery though.

roxanne - which ML u talking about? can share?

starry - so u have sign up liaoz? I wonder will the price be any different at the expo since online show 2011 promo price liaoz

tired mummy: for the facebook secret group, you can pm minidiary and get her to add you ..

starrymommy: she is mean lorz .. for me, it is not easy for me to finally conceive after 2 years, and with all the $&($*& during pregnancy, i surely will snap if people make these kind of comments .. plus, it is now the 21st century liaoz ..

when i initially got pregnant, i told my mil (before she can have the opportunity to tell me her gender preference) that "it is the same nowadays, be it a girl or boy; we cannot depend on them - they will get married one day and belong to their partners" .. before i got pregnant, i wish for a boy as i thought it will be easier (minus the dressing up) .. it is only after i got pregnant that i came to realize the most important thing is not the gender - it is the health of the baby ..

origins jamu massage:

i also wanna sign up for that leh. 10 days classic package... i tink i saw 2 mummies say they interested liaoz so they can buddy sign up. anyone else can buddy with me?

gixmoz - i'm keen to sign up too...but wonder if the deal at expo will be better...if not, maybe we can sign together?

fantastar - i agree...boy/girl no diff cos we can't rely on them in future..

tired mummy: do not eat maggie mee so often .. not good ..

plus, boy or girl does not lies with mummy .. it lies with daddy's 'worm' =p

HS: me going to buddy with winter_bluey .. however, i am going to check out if they have better promotions at the baby fair next weekend; so if got good promotions, i will post here and facebook ..

tired mummy, i added u as my fren liao.. u accept it then i can transfer u the group.. hehe.. first time try ah, hope can

fantastar, ya.. i totally agree.. when i knew i got bicornuate uterus, i cried like crazy.. worse thing is, there is nothing u can do buy pray hard the baby can grow healthily until full term... boy or gal, fated one...

second/third time mummies

please share weight gained in your previous pregnancies and the weight of BB born

i cannot imagine give birth to 3kg BB and tat i have to "rear" the little one now to 3kg whilst inside me.... OMG

find it very difficult to shift side in bed. how do u all shift ? my bum feels so heavy while lying down.

tired mummy,

this time round not using origins jamu, even though i do find the massage and service good. i'm opting for a freelance lady instead 'cos i feel 'xin tong' to part with $700++ when i'm gonna be having csect and cannot start massage straight away. need to rest 2-3 weeks first. by then already not very effective so i see no point in going for expensive one. and massage is particularly good for those with bad body aches or bad water retention. from my previous experience, i had neither of these, the most very mild only so i'm presuming this time round won't be any different. i only need help with getting rid of body fats and binding of the tummy.

fantastar,

me too, told my parents in law up front before we knew baby's gender that i am not particular and hinted that i will take offence if anyone makes nasty remarks. luckily they really love my girl. i did see a tinge of disappointment on my fil's face when i told him it's a girl though. at least he didn't say it out.

last time i also thought getting pregnant is easy and did think about having my preferred gender. it was after joining this forum and hearing from real people how difficult their journey to becoming parents were that i came to realize that we really cannot take pregnancies for granted. had so many worries and scares myself that i really salute those mommies who went through even greater challenges in order to bring their little ones into the world. when such difficult periods happen, sure won't wish for boy or girl liao. just want baby to be strong and healthy. those who make nasty comments like that stupid auntie can go fly kite.

gilera,

i gained approx 14kg for my last pregnancy and baby was 2.74kg. gradually lost most of the weight but have like 3-4kg sticking around for a long long time.

starry - i was under c-sect the 1st time round too so didnt really massage cos it's too late.

however, my staff just went for delivery and she started massage after getting clearance from gynae. the ML just don't massage the tummy and do the rest to get rids of retention/wind etc then binding...so far so good tho

gilera

My weight gain : 11kg

baby's weight : 2.84kg

I didn't try losing weight after birth, I was hungry all the time and ate a lot, put on more weight after delivery. But I started losing weight at 8 months post delivery by wearing a girdle to work. By that time my girl was also taking more solids so I was not as hungry from bf as before.

Girdle + controlled eating + occasional exercise after 6 months = weight loss.

Got back to my old weight about 1 year.

fantastar: my name in facebook is Nelly Goh.

Starry: that's a good one on the kaypoh aunty. older generation are like that.. the first few months when we dunno the sex, my mum keep insisting on saying how it must be a boy cause I told them I want a girl. After one too many times, I told her and said I don't like you to keep saying is a boy,boy,boy and ask her to stop it. Girl will be just fine to me. haha. I very fierce to my mum lah.

Is my first pregnancy and I have gained like 6-7kg , now into my 25 weeks.. keep complaining to my hubby abt how fat I am now. I feel more comfortable when lying down sideways cause u dun feel the weight so much but nowadays when I flip during slp, can feel the baby kicking so very hard to sleep.

I saw the playpen at 99 n 119 at Tom & Stephanie (westmall outlet) awhile ago. Those interested can look a look there too.

starrymommy: dislike people who compare baby's gender .. girls not human ar; without females, how to continue reproduction =p

winter_bluey: sure; will look out for you =D

Starry, i also LIKE yr baby scan picture, so cute! and the sonographer is so good and automative to take such a gd and cute picture for you! :) how heavy is yr baby now?

Starry, don’t care that auntie lah!

Sometime I met those auntie tat stay at the same block as me, they are so interested to knw abt my baby gender but I’ll not give them a answer, I’ll only reply them my “smile” only.

my in-laws are 100% traditional old folks thinking. They say how come i always give birth to girls, and they need a boy to carry their surname!! i told my hubby to tell them- blame ur son's sperm lor! and i told hubby. So what if boy and carry on surname but unfilial how? And now this era still think of carry on surname??! v angry whenever they give me the look like- aiyo,. why girl again? Idiots!! i know for sure this time they wont even visit during confinement! I also dont wish to see them la. make me boil only!

tired mummy,

ur staff had natural birth? thought for natural birth should massage the tummy area more to 'push' the uterus up and help it tighten and shrink? c-sect then cannot 'cos scared agitate the wound site.

winterbluey, fantastar,

i just take it as old people have their own mindset. last time those poor women kena blamed for not producing male heirs. so sad lor when all the time it was their husband's fault! glad we are in the 21st century. otherwise i would probably be held accountable for having 2 girls. haha!!

emilybaby,

thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] baby is 415g now. i'm not up to date on how much they should be weighing at 21 weeks but was told that it's a good size. anyway, i see the heart pumping well, umbilical cord got 3 vessels and baby was active i'm happy enough. weight not so much of a concern to me now, maybe later in 3rd tri bah.

HS, Roxanne: Thanks for helping me on the address of the baby stuff shop at Queen Street.

Starry & Snuppy mentioned about Cheong Choon Store. I went to website, didn't see any catalogue leh or pricing leh. Any much difference in pricing? If not, why not all mummies just settle everything at CC since they have delivery and seems to have everything (don't know if got kimono style top)?

Starry: wow such clear ultrasound of your baby! She's doing gymnastic in ur womb leh ;)

HS: i intend to sign up with Origins Jamu too. Buddy got discount meh? I will also look out for any promo during next week babyfair.

yan,

that is so mean! it takes 2 to reproduce, not you suka-suka pop what gender then will have. think lay chicken eggs?? mad!! nowadays hardly hear ppl say carry on surname already.

there was one morning i went for breakfast with my hubby, baby girl and in-laws. i just found out not long about my pregnancy and they were all guessing what gender. my fil made a SUPER tasteless remark that if it's another girl, then get my hubby to get a mistress, give birth to son and i can treat his mistress as a maid at home do cleaning and look after kids. i stared HARD at my fil and said if his son dares to do that sort of thing, i will chop off his dick and they can forget about seeing the children. should have seen my fil's face! wahahaha!!! immediately said, "haha.. no lah.. joking only."

starry, ignore them.. some ppl r very insensitive ones.. if what they say, they meant it with bad intentions, they sure got karma one..

that time i 5 days massage, i sian liao.. feel like taking 3 days only, no determination to wrap...

yan, i agree with u lor.. u shd tell them that ur gals can also help to carry surname for future kids, no need boys to carry lor.. what era already.. surname, is just a name la.. u n hubby got want to have no 4 or stop?

tamms, i didnt manage to lose the weight i gained during breastfeeding.. hope this time round, i wont gain so much during breastfeeding..

yan

ya... even if carry boy there's no guarantee of carrying surname, boy could be gay also right [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

that's a great pic! Scan and frame it up ok?

yan: boy carry on family surname .. but what if he grows up and marry a muslin and have to convert?

starrymommy: what if the mistress also gives birth to girl? =p

haha, yalor... if nvr married how? no heirs... my fren told me got boy is to carry bloodline, then i also immediately shoot her and say baby got chance of carrying maternal bloodgroup instead of paternal one lor...

there is really no such thing as carry bloodline/family surname one.. all traditions/ all wrong beliefs.. how many women have suffered because of all these stupidity... hopefully in future all these will cease...

Starry: really tasteless joke. Not funny at all.

Roxanne: I will stop at 3..

I try not to be bothered by my in-laws silly comments!