(2011/07) July 2011

ya loh crystal....can u imagine the flowery 1....if he gg to force me to wear...me gg to kill him first...wohahaha

just to check...i notice some short hair growing ard my belly button n it form a straight line up abt halfway the tummy...ANY MTB EXP THIS...omg

some mummy is red n big nose...how come mine 1 so funny....me gg to be a hairy creature

crayon: hahaha orr cheh from wearing pants?? i gave up on wearing all my existing bottoms long ago, somehow have a very big tummy already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

apparently you can still wear ur existing bottoms if you buy those special belly bands/ belts. check out the Belly Belt Combo or Bellaband.

I bought the belly belt combo from Mothercare and tried it on my jeans but the button hole wasn't suitable for my jeans, so couldnt work...may check out the Bellaband instead, the woman at Maternity Exchange told me it's very good...

http://www.ingridandisabel.com/

Coopie - Xplory is The One!

Haha so pretty right? The 2009 version retails at 1.6k ... As compared to the latest one at 2.2k [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunshine - my belly button is more horizontal an bigger now to the extend I accidentally "hook" it Wen I was scratching my belly.. Also, I have a faint dark line from belly button to the high part of the belly .. U are by alone =D

sunshine: don't be angry with DH, he was just excited abt being a daddy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha i think u have to find a way to return the clothes nicely, or just keep it/ give away and don't let her know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the line going up is supposed to be something all pregnant women get apparently, called the linea nigrea...i also have already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re strollers:

Stokke looks like a designer stroller, hefty price tag but my friend who owns it, swears by it. However, when i was at mothercare, the SA says if the individual parents tend to be 'clumsy', better dint get cos the seat is high...

Hubby n I decided to get Quinny Buzz. Can face mommy n the world, anyway, i rather my baby face me ;-) ive always told DH that i want the baby to face us ;-) if baby gets tired of looking at me, bo pian cos mummy will never get tired of baby mah!! Heehee!!

On another note, i feel like eating MCD fillet o fish, any idea what fish is used?

Liz - if u wanna get the buzz, search a place in kaki Bukit that distributes that should be less than 1k [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I will end up getting a buzz instead of Stokke lah.. The extra 1k I can buy other stuff for te baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Audrey: yes, xplory very pretty, I like [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I like the Sleepi also but really ridiculous price. Thinking of getting the Tripp Trapp (high chair) from the States cos much cheaper there, and my friend who got it said it's really very good, and can last all the way till the kid is an adult!

I think we have the same taste cos I like the quinny buzz too, in fact that was one of the first prams I noticed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But I heard it doesn't work that well, gotta try out in person first to see if it works for you?

thanks kimifin, coopie and Audrey....oh m not alone lah...cos me quite fair...so suddenly see some dark hair...look very funny

Coopie...i really appreciated my SIL kindness...m thinking of ways how to return to her...maybe aft i give birth then return ba...

ya lor pillow...thou wht happened so many hair growing thr

Coopie - another way ... Stokke in australia is about 1k aud$

If I die die wan.. Maybe ask cousin ship in for me :p

But there r people who say it's too big for local use..

I shall sit back, listen/see about it bah.. 6 month to go.. Confinement month is the best time for Internet shopping Hee

woww,

my budget for stroller was $300+, but see even combi ones need to b $500,

Now hub eyeing on $500 - $1000 car seats than can sit up to 12 yr old...

I duno if to agree or not

sunshine: yeah returning the clothes after giving birth sounds like good idea [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so strange though, how come she still has her maternity clothes when she's 15 years older, when did she give birth??

Audrey: haha you sound like you really want it! Yeah getting from overseas definitely much cheaper. But it's really very big leh, quite cumbersome. And if you drive/ take taxi, it's gonna be a pain to open and close when u get in and out of the car? Lizzie, how does your friend get about?

kimifin: how come the car seat so expensive, what's so special about it? 12 years old still need car seat?? maybe save the money on the car seats and buy a stroller that can last longer instead? i read of many pple who buy super cheap strollers then end up having to spend more money in the end, cos the cheap strollers get spoilt and they have to buy another brand new one. of cos car seats are important too cos they need to be secure and safe, but think there should be cheaper good ones around.

jas: i dunno re perm/ rebonding but am planning to colour/ highlight my hair before CNY. i forgot to ask dr tan when i saw her that day, but will take it that she will say yes since she's generally quite ok about such things? haha.

i asked my hairdresser, he said i can do a ColourWash (which apparently doesnt use the harmful chemicals) and the highlights won't touch my scalp.

if you perm/ rebond without touching the scalp, i think it shld be ok? maybe wear a mask in the salon if the fumes are strong.

i'm also planning to do my nails before CNY, will wear face mask so don't feel so guilty...

wow, u gals really noe alot abt strollers... i'm really guilty for not checking this out yet... in fact, my CL, massage lady, infant care, all not settled yet... even which gynae/hospital oso not cfm... sometimes i read what all of u hv done, i feel gan jiong... haha... :D

crystal cloud: Suntec level 4 (from Toysrus, walk straight)... there's an area selling many kids clothings n a few maternity shops... One of the 1st few shops u'll see is Spring Maternity... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jabet: I let my hubby eat part of my dinner, so in the morning, he has to take Herbalife... then can balance... hahahaha.... pity him... i hope he doesn't put on weight...

coopie: I only have one pair of pants to wear... B4 preggy, i sew my hook in cos it was very loose... Now i sew back to its original position, it becomes tight esp after lunch... my maternity pants not ready for collection yet... so hv to ren... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunshine: i oso think u shld return e clothes after giving birth... den maybe u can geh geh say "tks for lending... They r comfortable"... but then, she might keep n lend u again when u r preg w #2.. haha..

suying: obedient kids can melt our hearts hor... learn from dat cousin's mummy how she bring up him... den ur bb will grow up guai guai n cute too! hehehe...

crayon > You are not the only one. Me too yet to confirm CL, massage lady, infant care and which hospital...

am still wearing my normal clothings too, especially bottoms. Started wearing maternity tops few times, though.

coopie, my MIL alr banned me from doing chemical hair treatment/colouring and pedi/mani... pedi/mani even though u wear mask, the chemicalsoso travel from the polish through ur nails de... dats wat my MIL says... i juz listen lor... better to be safe than sorry...

Coopie: i believe she doesnt go out alone. I would think she puts it in a car boot, but better check the dimensions of ithe Stokke when its folded and check your car boot space too!

But if she drives and is alone with her toddler, then most likely the kid is still strapped to the car seat, while she takes her time to open the Stokke. Only then, she could manage, I guess...

haha crayon, don't gan jiong, can just read what everyone has to say, then have less research to do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u probably should get your CL soon though, those get taken up super fast...

try to wear loose dresses in the meantime! actually i love maternity pants, so comfortable cos of the elastic band. think will continue to wear even after giving birth ;P

crayon mami & xinyue, i also same. everything not booked yet. haha... and i like not kan cheong. i'm very last min one. wat stroller/cot/playpen oso dunno. cos my mum doing my confinement, then dunno whether to put bb ith mum in jb or infantcare. so i procastinate till now. hai

pillow > hi^5. I also not kan cheong and very last min. hubby is the one more enthu. however, i already gotten a stroller, given to me by my relative. Don't know what brand, but was told that it should last till baby is 5 yrs old (provided i take care of the stroller).

cot wise, grandma in law said she has one for me.. going to take a look at it during CNY.

infant care and confinement, don't wish to think about it.

hospital, still deciding.

i quite reluctant to get playpen, more willing to get rocker and maybe walker.

by the way, anyone getting yao lan?

crayon... dunno hw they teach lo. anyway... my mum will in charge. i will be relaxing ;) lollzz

yao lan... yes i will be getting. as u knw old house have those yao lan hooks on top the ceiling. therefore will get the yaolan spring & mattress for my mum will do ;)

as for own home still considering to get the multi purpose bed or yao lan????

kimifin,

I think combi strollers got cheaper ones, around $200-300++. Model is Urban Walker I think. Those like Miracle Turn is almost $600++. Just that whether you want more features or less features, and those features are important to you anot..

Strollers,

I dun think I would want to spend $1K for stroller leh. I bought a $500 Combi(Grand Paseo) one, already feel very 'sim tia'.. I am planning to buy a baby carrier this time. Considering Ergo and Manduca.

kimifin> u meant the car seat can use from infant to 12yrs old? i tot car seat for infant n those older age kiddo is diff...that's y still tinking if realli need to buy the car seat for infant...knid of waste $$ as they grow fast...very fast no use ler...

XW: hmm I went to google, seems to be ok to do nails if take precautions (eg use the brands that don't contain the harmful chemicals)...and for the hair, thinking of using the non-harmful chemical stuff and avoid the scalp also...they said 1st tri should avoid, but 2nd tri onwards ok...but guess will check with my gynae first for peace of mind...thanks!

lizzie: thanks! yah i think the xplory is only good if i never ever go out alone with the baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xinyue: wow so good your tummy still small. i started wearing maternity bottoms quite some time ago sigh.

suying > hubby thinking of getting both the cot and yao lan (those with stand - movable kind)

coopie > I guess very soon, tummy will show. maybe because my bottoms are big ba.

cc sleepy

you are just 1 week after me!! hehehe

i going for triple test instead of oscar coz osacr in TMC very troublesome and doc says my age still ok..so abit cant be bothered

Lizzie (sugarspunlily)

can the quinny be used till toddler age?

facing mommmy is a great idea! im buying that idea too! so now torn between maclaren and quinny

coopie,

i did my rebond once i found out im preg at 5 weeks! that was 1 month before now...so still in good shape for CNY

as for dying of hair, my gynae says once pass 1st trim can dye liao..but i never dye leh..abit sketical about it..u know patang bb got birthmarks etc

tks crayon!

will go suntec walk walk soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

y you haven found your CL? better book early coz all good ones are taken up pretty fast..

hospital one stil can decide lah..

massage lady also alot..dont worry

that one only massage 7 days ma...ok to wait

xinyue,

i also never paint my toe nails, fingernails liao..feel so ugly ever since im preg! (im supertitious on certain stuffs, but think coming cny i may paint!! see how)

from high heels switched to flats

from got waist to thick waist

double chin

baggy clothes!!!

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh madness!!! so that explains y we have mood swingS!

XW

my mil on other hand says i can paint nails, can dye hair..say i very supersitious..

suying,

im not into yao lan.

heard that baby will get used to swingin movement and next time if dont have that very hard to put to sleep...my fren also got that same mindset..but her bb is very difficult baby..very attention seeking, end up she surrendar and bot it.

i think my budget for stroller is only 400-500 max...

xinyue.. my mindset is. bb will stay weekdays ma. so my mum place will have yaolan & my house will have. bb cot only. nt to let bb get use of it. so day time mum only gv bb sleep on bed. only nite time yaolan.

dan for my side will be weekend bring back hm sleep bb bed only [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hopefully bb get use to it & wont depend all yaolan much. but if really bo pian i might buy movable yaolan for my house too... anyway is still far to discuss yet.. cos DH & mi haven decide to buy anything til im 6-7mths time... hopefully time pass soon ;) hand so itchy to spend liao. lollzz

YaoLan,

Eh, Wong Boi Boi's stress in her class not to use yao lan. She say its not good to swing baby, there were alot of cases where baby get brain damage due to swinging too hard in Yao lan. However, Alot of us grow up with Yao lan too, so its up to inidividual to choose whether to use it.

Yaolan,

In addition to the cons, Wong Boi Boi said that the structure of Yao lan not good for baby's spine. Baby should sleep in a sturdy flat bed.

ya loh crayon...hv to return her aft i give birth...LOL yes ye think she will lend me again when my #2...oh noooooooo

xinyue

me me...thinking to get the yao lan...cos my mum last time is a nanny...so her celing still hv the ring for the yao lan...but the problem is if bb gg to slp in yao lan at her house...then during weekend i bring back to my house then is bb cot...scare bb not use to it...then i will hv a hard time

JUST TO CHECK...gals u all still exp needle poking feeling at ur boobs???

this morning thinking to chg new note for CNY...but OCBC super long q loh...think tmr hv to go earlier

pillow n xinyue: hee, I tot onli me hvn done these... Glad to hv both of u with me... :p

pillow: gd dat ur mum is doing confinement for u... She's gg back after ur confinement? U discuss w her lah, maybe she dun mind taking for u for a few more mths? Then u dun hv to headache infant care liao...

crystal cloud: I hvn decided whether to pop at 37 wks or let labour come naturally... Diff can b as much as 3 wks... Juz thinking even if I cfm a CL early oso no use... Later if I decide to change date n she's not available, I've to lose deposit n might even end up w/o a CL... Most likely I'll get one thru e confinement agency... Juz pray they'll gimme a gd one... :p

crystal > heehee.. even before preggy, I nv like to paint nails.. cannot find a manicurist which I am comfortable with. ya lor, from got waist to thick waist.. sigh..

pillow > same thinking.. rocker or swing save more space.. really wonder is the playpen necessary..

suying > I see.. I yet to do any planning on infant care.. Ya, most probably will wait till 7 mths then get the rocker, yao lan, etc.

what to do.. my dad is against the idea off yao lan as he said it is not good for baby spine. but the empress dowager brainwashed hubby with the yao lan idea.. sickening.

maelyn > From what I know; Yao lan got 3 types. one is the tradition one (hang on ceiling), one is the movable type with motor. One is the modern one also with motor, it claims that it has good support for baby's spine and it costs around $500. I saw it at BHG Bugis. Which type is Wong Boi Boi referring to?

sunshine: sekali she gv e whole stack of clothes to u permanently... Then u hv to find somewhere to store them! Haha... But nice of her to offer... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alamak, I forgot to drill e yao lan hook last time! I think I'll be more excited than bb to sit on e yao lan... I loved to swing in it as if i'm at playground when I was young... Haha!

Coopie: with both xplory or even quinny, dont think u can dream of taking bus le heehee!! Sure stress!

Crystal: quinny is fm newborn till about 4 yrs...actually i told hubby to buy peg perego but he insisted on quinny so buy liao lor on last friday heh! He more kiasu.

I found him the next morning on Saturday, staring at the stroller lol!! So cute!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5038899.jpg]

this is what i am referring to. I saw this costing at around $500 at BHG Bugis..

hahah crayon...u so cute...who know maybe next time u will fight with ur bb...but remember to get a bigger 1 that can hold ur weight

sunshine > u can consider those movable yao lan for your house..

the banks near my house, already out of stock for new notes.. scary sia..

crayon > one step at a time ba.

xinyue... dis yaolan is better dan normal wan. but so exp. i rather buy a bed for bb ;)

sunshine > that's what I think too.. seems like it has better support compared to the other ones.. But way too ex and baby are said to outgrow things fast..

crayon > depending on where u are drilling hole for yao lan, next time u can replace it with the swing from ikea.. can hold up to 100kg. u can play with ur kids too..

XinYue,

Ah.. this one is the modern one you referring to.. I guess Mrs Wong was referring to those traditional ones with only the sarong/cloth.. Anyway, if you decided to use this one, make sure dun rock too hard and make sure its clear of any obstruction around, as in be careful not to knock bb's head when swinging.