(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Ya, my boy also start Hmmm... Hmmm..

Mum mum, hmm... so cute.. but hor.. he can say veri long..teachers in IFC say when milk time, he will say mum mum.. but it doesnt apply to me lei.. at home i feed he nv say...

HAI,he on milk strike again lei..

can drink 80-100ml for 3hours nia...

Ann: hahaha! But I read most articles, usually they mention babies will call daddy first. My girl will go like “mmm..mer… mer mer” something like that.

very funny…

eliss: my mum also bought Si Sen rice powder for kayleigh. But she got from medical hall so is like sold without packaging.. then she got it mixed with other ingredients (dunno wad) to prevent bb from getting too heaty.. I’m quite reluctant to let her try but she said we all used to eat like that when we were babies. So again I have to close one eye and give in.

did u cook porridge?

my mum did not follow my rule for introducing new food one at at time. Ytd she cooked porridge with 3 new ingredients which K nv tried before.. ikan bilis, carrot and scallop. All blended together but I tasted to make sure it is bland and not too salty. Wah, K loves it so much she finished a bowl! Like 1 big scoop of it!

Jasline: I bought Bellamy’s rusk for Kayleigh. I also tried it and really super hard, i cant even bite off!

I let her hold by herself but scared she will poke into her mouth..

She only lick or suck on it awhile and throw to the floor. I even dipped it with avocado puree.. haha!

Can I keep and re-use unfinished portion? Or must discard? Cos still looks clean and new.

I actually washed it and kept back to the fridge leh.

haha, my bb will call out Mama only when he is crying and v desperate leh...other times have not heard him say Mama.

cheese: have you started your bb on solids yet? my bb also seems to be on milk strike too. Drinking about 150ml or less. Last time he could drink 180ml. He is not yet 6mths old, but my mum keeps asking me to intro solids to him..and said that he is sick of the milk. Haha. But milk is still the main source of nutrition for bb mah.

Charliebrown,yes I intro him puree and also milk cereal le..

Cos he like open mouth and see our food and wanted to eat, but so far he still cant finish 3tbsp, at most 2.5tbsp lei..

wait till they start to crawl (he is learning now), wil get slimmer lei...

SK - no I did not cook porridge. Apparently this tin is also an instant brown rice cereal so I practically can let her eat on its own just add water....

Bb’s speech development: My PD said that bb will start talking by making “pa” & “ma” type of sound. At the initial stage, bb will say papa & mama to everyone. Only at a later stage, bb will know who papa & mama is and call them accordingly. Ann and other mummies whose bb has started to call mama, not trying to “destroy” your joy yah…just sharing what PD said. If your bb only calls you mama and not anyone else, I think you can jump with joy liao… ;)

Apple puree: My bb does not seem to like it too much coz it is a little sourish. I used the SA fuji apples. His reaction was so cute when I fed him the apple. He still eat it but not as eager compared to the times I fed him pumpkin, sweet potato & avocado.

Nowadays, my bb likes to flip over and then lift both his hands and legs off the ground as if he is "flying". Does your bb do that? I call him superman everytime he does that. My mum says he is doing yoga. Haha! He can also rotate one circle while on his tummy. Think he is learning to crawl?

oh ya, i know a bit kiasu but i'm thinking of ordering some items for my gal's first bday party. however, i have nv ordered from overseas before so i am not very confident...

anyone interested? can organize the spree or maybe assist me if i were to order? haha.. i saw the balloons quite cheap and some party themes are really pretty.

http://www.partycity.com/

www.birthdaydirect.com

Sweetkiss: Porridge to be intro @7mths isit? Or it does not matter? And scallop? Hmm..I tot I read somewhere no meat at first.

Utensils for bb- must the utensil be BPA free? Cos I was given a set which is not stated that it is BPA free. So thinking of buying a new set for bb.

may i know how to prepare happy bellies brown rice to bb?

previously i put 1 scoop for brown rice mix with 1 scoop of milk powder then spoon feed my bb..

but it seems like very watery, hubby said it's not called solid food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have the following items to let go in exchange of either similac, enfapro or a small token of $10

1 tin of 400g Nestle Nan Pro 2 (expire on Nov 2011)

1 tin of 400g Nestle Cerelac Rice (Blue Color)- expire on 27/9/2011

1 box of Nestle Cerelac (Rice & Mixed Vegetable)- expire on 16/11/2011

Kindly email me at [email protected]

charliebrown: i gave her porridge before she turned 6 mths.. i blend until it become like yoghurt and add the pureed veggies. coz since she can take brown rice, porridge is just white rice + water.. so i assume is safe? lol.. scallop my mum put only 1 to boil with the porridge for the flavour. i dunno can or nt but so far so gd..?

utensils i bought the pigeon set. it's BPA free and can be sterilized..

Carol: U mix and feed in bottle or separate? I prepare 30ml of milk first, then I put the cereal I want in a bowl and slowly stir while adding the milk in.

Add till I get the consistency I want.

Usually will have a bit of leftover milk and I spoonfeed her after cereal. If she don’t want then I discard.

charliebrown: my gal quite ok with it..in fact she likes all the solid food i gave as long as you use spoon to feed.

sk: i put in a bowl..read an article before that we shouldnt mix cereal in bottle as bb cannot differentiate btw solid n liquid food rite?

then u also spoon feed bb? how many scoop of brown rice powder you add?

carol: I'm feeding bb happy bellies brown rice cereal too. I started with one scoop of milk powder with 2 scoops of cereal. I add water till i get the consistency I want. For the first time i made it more watery. Now that bb is getting more "advanced", i make it less watery.

carol: First solid for bb may not necessary be brown rice though it is a common food to start with. You can start with purees like avocado, pumpkin, potato, etc, too.

I stumbled across this blog while searching for info on weaning: http://simply-mommie.blogspot.com/

Quite useful from a local perspective in addition to those info from "ang moh" websites.

vernie: oh, i only add 1 scoop of brown rice, no wonder so watery..

ya, read that avocado is the best as bb's 1st solid..

1 more thing to ask, after u feed ur bb avocado, how do you do with the leftover?

can we keep it in fridge then feed bb few days later? if so, then bb need to take cold food wor?

Ann, ahahaha! can understand your joy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not throwing cold water but like vernie posted, "m" sound is the last for baby to vocalise - harder to say than "dada". but then, perhaps K is really calling out to you. hehehe.

babytalk: so far, i've heard my baby said "ya". most of the time, she is squealing away. and blowing bubbles with her saliva ..can hear her "brrring" away

charliebrown, my mom also said to start baby on cereals before she was 6 mths but i held my ground. but to each her own lah. starting solids before 6 mths (but after 4mths) is ok.

feeding utensils: i'm using combi feeding set which i got as a gift. BPA- free and can be sterilised. the little bowl is very cute

sweetkiss, i thot i read that at this age, the only seafood baby can eat is fish? IMHO, try not to use ikan bilis coz it's dried fish and usually when any food is dried, the salt or sugar content is concentrated. e.g. dried mango, even though no sugar is added, it's very much sweeter than fresh mango. same for fruit juice. the porridge may be bland to us coz we are used to saltier food. but to baby, it can be very salty

b'day spree: Sweetkiss, I'm interested. there's also another one www.birthdayexpress.com which is also not bad. i've participated in a few overseas sprees - just make sure the organiser is a reliable one lor. there's a thread on good/bad organisers

carol, i also started my baby on brown rice cereal over the weekend - she turned 6 mths le. i'm using Healthy Times. after 2 spoonsfuls, my baby gave me the "blerh" look but didn't turn her head away. like "paiseh" to refuse. hahaha! mine was also quite watery coz just wanna let her try.

i also changed her drinking cup into a sippy cup. the look on her face said it all - she's really not happy that i changed it! hahaha! she protested by kicking her legs but didn't turn her head or knock the cup away. so will keep trying till she gets the hang of it

carol, i read that, too, about not putting the cereal + milk into the bottle, if not baby may get too used to "eating" from the bottle. my mom wanted to add cereal with milk into bottle, so baby can sleep better at night but i told her no and explained to her.

Tried making porridge with lean meat & carrots today, but it's very very tasteless. My bb made a funny face & refused to open her mouth after the 1st spoonful. How to make porridge taste better?

ica: ya lo i told my mum but she said she only used it to make the flavour. but she cooked liao i also cant say anything. how.. i reminded her again and again lor. sigh.

i have the sippy cup but the flow of the spout like very fast.. so i have to replace it will her teat. wad brand u using?

for the spree, i checked out but there's no ongoing spree yet. so i intend to buy myself, easier.. but cos i have no experience, i'm afraid i duno how to calculate and end up incurring high shipping or tax... unless there's someone who can order on behalf..??

ica: yeah! my mum has the same theory as yours! She said to put cereal in milk bottle and to give at nite. I told her must spoon feed bb so as to let bb learn. My hubby lagi best- he tot can give bb one bowl of cereal already, when I told him bb must start off with v little.

Utensils: ok, will source for BPA free and those that can sterilised.

So many things to buy to start the weaning process- blender, utensils. Haha! I am so unprepared.

Blender:

I saw the U-like blender and the Philips one already. There is a counter at Isetan at Nex for U-like blender. Those who are interested can go see look. But I intend to buy the Philips one cos can steam and then grind. I lazy la. So now will source for the cheapest possible. Cos NTUC having a bundle promo for the Philips one at $179- it comes with some cups, BB clothes (for 0-3mths!) which are not useful to me. So I think is not worth it cos I read that some mummies bought it for @$160.

Sweetkiss

ya lor, sometimes with our own mothers, it's very hard..my mom can be quite stubborn sometimes. sigh..but so far she agrees with me and didn't try anything funny. but she did once and quickly corrected herself. ahahaha. sometimes i tell my mom horror stories, to psycho her. kakaka

that's why i'm always a participant. hahaha! it's quite a headache sorting out the shipping charges and sending the goods out when they arrive. why not just wait for the experienced organisers to start their sprees? if i happen to see, i inform you ok? getting the stuff in April, you still have ample time. maybe now just surf those webs and get ideas on what to buy? there are just too many party stuff! hahaha!

Eliss, the Si Sen packaging not dubious lah, just not that chic lor. hahaha. i also wanted to buy but hubby wanted bb to eat organic stuff

Carol: You can take the leftover avocado out from fridge to let it cool down then mix with warm milk before feeding bb. Then won’t be cold le… but do note that the avocado will oxidize, so the top layer might be a little blackish. I scrape those layers and ate them myself and then mix only the green parts with milk to feed bb.

Babycoco: Add a little salt to the porridge? My PD said she added a little salt to her bb’s porridge for better taste. But this is up to you lar…

Charliebrown, ica: my boy’s nanny also think like your mums…ask me to mix cereal with milk for bb’s last feed…but i never do that… think they all same generation…haha…

Sweetkiss, i'm using the pigeon magmag cup. it comes in a set - nipple, sippy, straw. just change when baby reaches the recommended age. the sippy is not like the traditional sippy, which has a hard plastic spout. it's still shaped like a spout but it's soft rubber with a cross cutting. the flow is controlled i.e. water only flows when spout is pressed

charliebrown, i'm also thinking whether to get the Avent steamer-blender - makes life so much easier hor? but wonder how long we need to puree food? my mom tells me once baby has teeth, can start her on more textured food

vernie, babycoco, ya, i read that we can use salt to flavour baby's food but must use sea salt. but most prob i won't do that - if baby has not experienced it, baby won't ask for it. i've learnt my lesson le. heee

ica: ya lo.. i just called her and told her a "horror story".. i said doctor say cannot feed ikan bilis coz very salty.. luckily my mum relented and said she wont put in future~

thanks! very excited about buying! i am waiting to book the venue and researching for cakes. very kiasu la..

Good morning ladies.

Last night, I went to collect 16 tins of Nan Pro 2 from a seller. I was carrying Kayden so told daddy to check. Daddy also didn't check one by one but check randomly and we paid and go. Upon reaching home, when we unpack then we realise that 6 tins are Nan HA 2 and not Nan Pro 2. Immediately I sms the lady but then she didn't reply me at all. Hai.. so sway.

Anyone interested in purchasing the Nan HA 2 (400g) from me? Pls PM me.

ica

are u giving water from sippy cup only or milk as well?

charliebrown

pigeon has a weaning package (like what ica mentioned) comes with bpa free sterilisable bowl spoon and sippy cup...

Ann- huh.. the seller like tat one ah?

Sweetkiss. u are not alone, I also start to plan months ago! haha... but hor.. i think venue house is the most suitable.. cos later they wanna zzz..

Mama: Actually I also heard that normally they will call papa first cause easier to pronouce. But I think also must see the time which daddy spend with them cause if daddy spend lesser time with them, the learning of saying Papa is lower. Maybe that's why Kayden say Mama first. I also know that they will call everyone papa & mama during the earlier stage. Haha!! I was very doubtful at first when he called me Mama. I think maybe coincidental. So yesterday, I try to observe. When he wan to be carry and daddy is in front of him, he don't say Mama but when I walked past him, he will keep saying Mama mama. When we go out and daddy carry him but he only wan me to carry and cry loudly, he will keep saying Mama Mama. So I think Mama is directed at me only. But have to monitor more to be more sure. Haha!!!

Stickiness: My boy is back to the usual stickiness again. Yesterday already started liao. This morning, I was so tired from looking after him at night so I asked daddy to help me feed milk. Anyway, daddy going to fly off again so creating more bonding time for both of them. When daddy is burping him, he make 1 mistake. He carry him over the shoulder to burp and my boy saw me lying in bed and saw me looking at him. He started to cry. No matter what daddy do, he just cry. Then keep saying Mama Mama.. I had to take him from daddy and immediately he keep quiet liao. Daddy was upset and say "Dun friend you liao" to Kayden. Haha!!! Like small kid.

Utensils: Actually I don't sterilise my utensils one. But they are BPA free.

Sippy cup: I also bought the Pigeon Magmag cup for Kayden. Bought the stage 1 one. He like to use it especially in the car. I like the cup cause he will drink plain water from it. But he don't drink plain water from bottle. Don't know why. Haha!!

Jonas: Ya lo.. but also my mistake la.. should have asked daddy to check 1 by 1. Never expect to meet such seller.

claudia, water only from sippy cup. baby can hold the handles but her aim is still off. most of the times, the teat goes into either her nose or offside, so i'll guide the cup and makes it seem like she did it herself. lol. and she likes to raise the cup over her head

Ann, eh, then sounds like K is really calling out for you! yay! that was such a dishonest seller you met

sweetkiss, cheese, me, too, have started looking at the party stuff. no lah, not kiasu. excited and passionate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piccolo diapers: I remember some mummies are using this brand. Saw Cold Storage selling it at $13.95 per pack. Usually $17.20. Feel like trying it. Is it good?

Ann: Wow, sounds like Kayden is calling u then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm interested to buy the Nan HA 2 from u. 6 tins in total, correct?

vernie, I find the piccolo is too thin le.. thinner than pampers but it is rated good for those who really like thin pampers. Up to individual. If $13.95 should be cheap? I remember this is the high range diapers, is like $0.40++ per pc, more ex than mamypoko.

vernie: noted with thanks..

ica:haha, ur bb sound cute..my bb seems like doesnt know how to swallow properly..after giving her solid, can see most of the food fall on her bib..

bottle feed with cereal - yaya, my parents also asked me to put cereal in the milk n bottle feed baby..i think old generation used to do that..

what our older generation did: seems it's a universal thing last time to add cereal in milk bottle and feed. hahaha. my mom told me she even added farley's rusk into my milk. then when my paternal grandma knew that i slept soundly after taking the "enriched" feed, told my mom to increase the rusk. hahaha! now i'm just thinking that we're definitely making informed decisions but at the same time, not as gungho as our moms, grandmas! haha!

ica: Yah lo.. very dishonest of that person. When we are transacting, the person also only ask me to check the number of tins but never point out about the NAN Pro and Nan HA to me. Very dishonest.

Vernie: Thanks.. I had dropped you a PM. Actually I have 7tins in total. The additonal tins is I exchange with another mummy wrongly.

Cheese: I am booking a chalet in case she wanna sleep.. at 1st I felt home is better cos got own bed but I dun like to do the cleaning up..

thanks Ica... I will try give my bb sippy cup today! so exciting.. haha

vernie / jasline..

CNY romper... u guys bot size 80 for ur boy? Can't decide what size to buy... am leeting him wear 9mth / 12mth rompers now... (he wear carters 9mth sleep wear just nice... almost tight liao)..

Ann : Ya, surprisingly galen can make so many word-sounds... Coz, i am like practically let him watch LeapFrog "Letter Factory" DVD almost everyday and like through out the day and even he is napping.. lol~~ Maybe due to this, he can aborbs quite a number of word-sounds...

Cereal + milk in bottle... LOL~~ for me, i have already add 2 scope of cereal into galen's milk bottle for every feeding... and in the afternoon near evening i will prepared brown rice cereal for him to eat.. coming to 8 scope of cereal + 1 scope of his milk powder... And currently, i am using the product "Healthy Times".. I have not really start galen on Solids foods, but start him with simply just on fruits... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

P/S.: i am simply plain lazy to prepared veggies pureen or porridge for him.. lol~~

But soon, i will start him off with lean meat porridge, than veggie + carrot porridge.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia,ur boy so big!!

Me KPO to reply. lol

OMG! my boy got wear 12-18months clothes.. but not tight at all tat kind..... i just do the "agar agar" since the size guide is 6-12mths. I assume he can wear.. i am waiting for the CNY romper from cuteeland~ keke

SK - I oso thinking of booking a chalet for Keila's first birthday with friends and relatives.... which chalet you intend to book?

Sweetkiss,

I also booking a chalet.. but still not sure where.. Have u decide where already???

if booking chalet, i think need to book few mths b4 to ensure that is slot lor.. so we r not kaisu.. we mummies r juz planning.. plan ahead better ma... =)

if i have my own house i will definately do in my house.. booking a chalet also quite ex..

too bad now staying with in law.. so have to bear with it until new house coming this yr end.. Haiz!! HATE IT!!

off topic, my MIL went to sign up a FB account.. sian lor.. next time cannot anyhow write in FB liao.. %^#%^*(*

Ytd very ANGRY, she keep like to snatch bb with me... always wen i wanna carry than she will wan to carry also.. than wen hubby carry she dun dare! Damn angry...

older generation: All r the same.. mine also.. keep asking to add cereal in milk bottle and feed so tat bb can sleep thru out the night... I was abt to do tat i see from the forum, 1 mummy post an article tat is not advisable to add cereal in milk bottle and feed.. tat's y I nv..

Claudia Owyong,

I'm looking for size 80 but cuteeland no more liao.. only left with yellow colour which i dun like so I nv buy... U buy which one?

cheese,

which 1 u buy??? wat size?? I wan the design & size 80 all no more lei...

or cuteeland have new stock come in??

claudia: I bought size 80. Just nice for my boy. For reference, he is 7.4kg, 69.5 cm at 6 mths old. For carters brand, he is starting to wear the 9m size romper but not tight. Still got allowance.

Eliss/Jasline: i'm booking chevrons chalet. most of my frens and family stay in jurong. so i doubt they wanna go downtown east. my fren is a memeber so quite cheap. like $250 for 3d2n?

jasline: my mil also got FB. But i ignored her friend request and act blur. dun care!