Ann, ahahaha! can understand your joy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not throwing cold water but like vernie posted, "m" sound is the last for baby to vocalise - harder to say than "dada". but then, perhaps K is really calling out to you. hehehe.
babytalk: so far, i've heard my baby said "ya". most of the time, she is squealing away. and blowing bubbles with her saliva ..can hear her "brrring" away
charliebrown, my mom also said to start baby on cereals before she was 6 mths but i held my ground. but to each her own lah. starting solids before 6 mths (but after 4mths) is ok.
feeding utensils: i'm using combi feeding set which i got as a gift. BPA- free and can be sterilised. the little bowl is very cute
sweetkiss, i thot i read that at this age, the only seafood baby can eat is fish? IMHO, try not to use ikan bilis coz it's dried fish and usually when any food is dried, the salt or sugar content is concentrated. e.g. dried mango, even though no sugar is added, it's very much sweeter than fresh mango. same for fruit juice. the porridge may be bland to us coz we are used to saltier food. but to baby, it can be very salty
b'day spree: Sweetkiss, I'm interested. there's also another one
www.birthdayexpress.com which is also not bad. i've participated in a few overseas sprees - just make sure the organiser is a reliable one lor. there's a thread on good/bad organisers
carol, i also started my baby on brown rice cereal over the weekend - she turned 6 mths le. i'm using Healthy Times. after 2 spoonsfuls, my baby gave me the "blerh" look but didn't turn her head away. like "paiseh" to refuse. hahaha! mine was also quite watery coz just wanna let her try.
i also changed her drinking cup into a sippy cup. the look on her face said it all - she's really not happy that i changed it! hahaha! she protested by kicking her legs but didn't turn her head or knock the cup away. so will keep trying till she gets the hang of it