(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Hi Ladies and Ann,

Sorry ah... my story also very long....

I totally understand what you are going through. I too am going through similar issues. I have been dropping hints to my HB that I dont want my MIL to take care of my baby. I'd rather not go to work or send child to infant care. I have seen how my HB's niece and nephew have turned out to be.. and it is so scary man! They are glued to the TV and they happen to know every Tamil song or drama and names of artistes and their gossips... can you beat that? His niece is primary 6 and the nephew is primary 4. Their exams results are always so terrible. I even tried tutoring them and was very strict during my tutoring. Both the kid's mother and MIL told me off subtly to be kinder to the kids. That's it man, i gave up. My mother was a teacher and I come from a family where education is the main emphasis. My siblings, my cousins and I have all attained good education in our lives, thank you to our parents. However, my In-laws's have a different mindset. They are so typical and education means nothing to them. What matters is food food food, fancy clothings, gold..... eeeeeee

I was shocked when my MIL told me that when she took care of her grandchildren.. they both referred to her as Mom. Yikes! With all due respect, my MIL is not educated and end up the 2 kids cant speak good english or construct sentences with proper grammer. How to survive like that???? Especially where we live in such a competitive world. The kids are so spoilt. Everything they want, they can get... cannot get.. cry. I mean instant tears... good god.!

Initially, my HB was not happy that I did not want his mum to take care of our baby. We had a lot of arguments... and (thanks to my hormones) I always ended up crying and was very stressed up and emotional. However, now during my 2nd trimester, he understands where Im coming from and have agreed that I stay at home to look after the baby.

Im not being mean but as parents we have to make sure that our children get a good foundation. That way the child wont be lost when he/she goes to school etc. and will be able to survive in the society.

xbeaniex>> this sentence i write one lah "We women tends to like to plan ahead, unlike guys...they r usually more laid back" hehee.

anyway, the other day i also had an argument with my HB over what my MIL said....my HB can say I dun even know how to take care of myself (he can even quote say cuz i take cab home after work of late last few weeks cuz i was very tired = means i cannot take care of myself), how to take care of a sick kid *touch wood*.

was so pissed with him then....after next day ok liao cuz he gave in...i think only now during pregnancy, we can "win" during arguments lor. Given any other normal day, sure face black black for days.

Ecym: Ya.. i agree that we should lay down ground rules with the in law. But also cannot ask for too much cos they are just volunteering their service. I also told hubby, if anything wrong happen, also cannot scold in law cos they are doing this out of goodwill.. so no matter how angry we are, just got to swallow the anger and go back home quiet.

xbeanniex: Haha!! I just dun understand why man think this way of us. Let's say if we dun plan and just go along, then when we tell them last minute, they will say why you tell me so last minute.. why u never even thought about discussing with me.

Frankly, like some of your in laws, my in laws also have no idea how to raise babies i think.. my hubby told me that he was taken care of by his grandma when young. Moreover now is my father in law instead of my mother in law who is taking care of the kid. So tell me what do man know about raising kid, feeding milk, changing nappies, comfort crying BB? If my FIL let the maid take care of the BB in her own way, I would even be more worried.

btw, i've just confirmed my massage lady too. Mdm Ida.

Luckily she still hv slot for me and since me staying in northeast.

Can't remember who else is engaging her too. Can tell me if you'd be hvg the post-natal massage for 5 days or 7 days?

Ann : I like this ... seems like our man are so much similar... i kena that from my HB before over wedding issues but again was within my speculating n i was like saying the words together with him n he got a shock... after that then i tell him ... not i very understand u but human's reaction is like this for man... so i am just reacting accordingly to man's reaction. the next moment he change topic

mrslong : how much she charging ah ? I acting busy typing fast la... click between tabs lar... wahahahah... in ofc cant really talk on the phone to check out details ...

I was told by Parentcraft at TMC that the prenatal class in Tampines is not opened as they are waiting for more to sign up for the class in Tampines [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

If they dun open the class, I may have to go to AMK Hub or TMC for the class.

Hope they get enough people. They need 5 more. Any MTB living in the East?

Do call Parentcraft at 6251 4090

xbeaniex>> $50 per session...min. 5days.

very friendly lady [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrslong: I am also using Mdm Ida. But she never ask me whether i wan 5 days or 7 days post natal masaage. Cause I will also be using her for pre natal massage so she told me she will tell me about post natal massage then. So I am to call her again when I am about 6 mths preggy.

xbeanniex: Ya lo.. my man also the same as yours.. actually before he say something i know what he wanna say le.. then he ask me how i know.. i always tell him that's why i am your wife and not any other girls. Haha!!

Just now my guy colleague ask me why my mood like pretty good today.. I can't think of any reason and so told him " Because I poop". Haha!!!

Ann>> oh great...hehee. I think I take the 7 days one..cuz she said something abt if >5days hv dunno what throw in, can't hear properly on the phone..hehe.

then say something abt baby massage, and can use old or new wrap cloth...i wasn't paying much attention cuz by then sure forget..so thought when she comes for my massage, then ask her again :p

when u meet her for your pre-natal massage & she share with u more abt the post-natal massage svc, can share with me the info...tks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrslong: thnx alot !! pretend to talk to my HB first... but more or less i m sure i will be calling Mdm Ida within next few days. wahahaha

Ann: must keep some of our this kind of instint not to let man know so much... scare them abit so that they dare not up to any tricks... hahahahaha

xbeaniex>> you're welcome..good luck! Tell your HB, it's for his good also..am sure he want his wife to go bk to her pre-pregnancy figure. And it's much cheaper than going Marie France.

mrslong : he didnt object me booking Mdm Ida... he still say "Yes please since it is useful and good for lao po" - Think he gd mood today ... or maybe he check with his frds side rdy ...

xbeaniex>> haha!! that's great...then quickly call Mdm Ida soon before she's fully booked or b4 your HB changes his mind :p

haiz..MIL issue is never ending. My kid was not taken care by my MIL but i bring her home every night and even that few hours of time spend together at night i already cannot stand it. they totally don't know how to teach my kid the right way and the way how we handle of e kid is different yet i cant say much!!

Anyway mummies who are facing MIL problems, don stress ourselves too much during our pregnancy.We should enjoy the pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

regarding MIL:

MIL said she is sick so from being able to help to becum not able to help. And give lots of crappy suggesions. But sick now means sick forever meh? CMI

Mrslong: Sure.. when I get more information from her during my pre natal massage then I keep u updated.

xbeanniex: My hubby knows I have very strong six sense one.. so whenever he do something evil, also kanna caught. Haha!! And also when he give me surprises, also tough cos I will know immediately one. Sometime I have to pretend that I am surprise. Quite tough to do that lei. But have to do it or else in future hubby dun plan surprises anymore. haha!!

heard u gals story, "heng" my child not taking care by my mil. my mil like to speack dirty words, use table cloths to wipe my son, she said old person believe use table cloth to wipe bb's mouth, bb will stop drooling. where got such thing?? he continue drooling till he finish his teething! omg!

ica: exactly, just dont understand people keep comment abt tiger bb gal, nvm say abt other character.

Seeing so many prob with in laws. Luckily I have a very capable mum who is good with babies. She takes care of my kid very well and I have no problem entrusting the 2nd one with her. For those of you intending to put your child in infant care, maybe find one that is not airconditioned. My friend pulled her son out after 6mths cos always fall sick, fever every other month, end up spending alot on PD (medical bills)

I just told hubby something which I just heard from my gal fren.

Her son now is 8 mths old.. so she and hubby decided to reccee abit on childcare centres and pop into one to check out. She told me she was shocked that the class is so full that she has to be place on the waiting list. The centre is only for kids from 18mths onwards. The waiting list is also quite long and the youngest on the waiting list is 5mths old baby.

So I told hubby it's never bad to plan a little ahead. I don't want to later on have to worry I cannot find a childcare centre or a playgroup near his parents house since they live in Ang Mo Kio.. sure alot of childcare centres also full one. Then have to enrol into one that is lousy or far far away from us or his parents place.

We have to fight against all these KS parents. It's not our choice unless we don't mind not providing the best we could for the kid.

mrslong : so happy ... spoken to Mdm Ida... she is indeed very friendly n super nice of her to tell me all informations and details...

How many days you book with her ?

The other time when I was asking for infant care (My First Skool) at near my house, the school has not officially opened, it will only start operation in a month time.

They let me view the nursery area and such. Said the ratio is 1 teacher to 5 babies. I can see the baby cots and lots of toys in the nursery room. The school can take only 15 babies max. they also said I should come and visit the school when the school is in operation. Then I will know what kind of time table is set for the infants.

lastly i asked them what is the take up rate, they said have already 10 babies on hand! And its a new premise leh.

So mummies if you intend to put your child in infant care. Check the environment early and if satisfied, book a slot as soon as you are comfortable with it.

ann>> okies, tks! keep me updated.

xbeaniex>> so u confirm Mdm Ida already? Great! I'm booking the 7days one. What info she tell u ah? Cuz hor I was so excited she can do the post-natal massage for me, I cldn't really hear what else she was saying le...hahaa.

mrslong : min 5 days after that dun know free wat ... but i heard her saying she will massage for bb with oil n if needed her to shower bb she can do that too... most probably i let Mdm Ida shower my few days old bb. On Day 1 she will come take a look see the next day can start or what de ... if c-section, 2nd day she will come to shower mummy with salt etc... heee i also very happy she is able to do for me ... (as she say she is in the same kampong as me - bukit batok)

wow! looks like many pple have booked mdm ida...can anyone who has tried her service before share if her massages are really effective? thanks!

xbeaniex>> haha...same..i also dunno after 5days got free what..only heard massage oil or dunno what, hahaa.

i think i shld be using the new cloth lah...even if i dun continue wrap myself, think it's also more hygienic? she also mentioned something abt she'll also look @ the stitches (for natural birth i suppose).

u SMS her your details already?

she actually asked me if i want to use her sister (whom she also highly recommended) instead cuz she stays in Tampines but I told her I prefer her lah cuz she's highly recommended in forum. Luckily she said can also..no prob. hehee.

maybe at the end of it, give her a "green/red" packet for her traveling lor.

Hi autrumn & ethan_mum,

I have juz gone for the amnio fluid test this morning. Everything was fine.

First the gynae will check the bb. He will find the best position to insert the needle without hurting the bb. Once he found it, the test takes less than 2 mins. Needle is very thin. A slight pain when needle was poked into the tummy, followed by some discomfort when drawing the fluid. After the test, I was told to rest for about 20 mins before we can go off.

BTW, the bb is a BOY!!! My gynae say 100% confirmed. kekeke

Wish u all the best in your test. Juz stay calm, relax during the test. Things will get over very fast. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

autrumn>> I read reviews on her in this forum (in the 2010 main thread under massage lady i think)....she's highly recommended so I guess she must be good.

bbbliss!! so glad to hear from u & very happy that everythin went well! yeah!!

did your gynae confirm the gender of your baby based on the scan? not based on the test result rite?

btw, i heard the express test results will be out in 2-3 days' time, while the detailed report will take abt 2 weeks..is that true ah?

last but not least, rest well these few days & don't carry heavy things k?? take care! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrslong : yaya she got mentioned she will take a look at the stitches n think use salt i think... to shower or what de... hahahaha ...

till now after converse with her, i still can rmber her laugh ...

bbliss : congrats to having bb boy !!!

i also juz came back fr kk...

rushed there to c Dr Siow URGENTLY.

cuz this morning i saw fresh red blood!!!!

i always spot, but always brownish color... but this morning was RED!!!

i was so afraid!

quikly called & thankfully managed to squeeze into Dr's tight schedule.

luckily Dr chked already & said BB normal.

the spotting is due to my condition...

was given MORE hormone pills... sigh..

ive nva been so stressed b4!!!

so scared can..... was on the phone w my mama & sis... n was weeping.

heng BB is doing well.

the next appt is on 1mar. so long wait....

Thanks D Queeen & Autrumn.

The gender is based on the scan. Can see the Dxxx very clearly on the screen. Results of the test will also confirm the gender 100%.

I choose detailed report which takes at least 12 days. So hopefully can get the results before CNY.

And yes, muz rest these few days (especially today and tomorrow). Can't go shopping, walk or stand too much and don't carry heavy things. Which is why my gynae chose to do the test on Thur as 2 days MC will be given and I have the whole weekend to rest well.

All the best to u!!!

congrats bbbliss!

DQueen>> am glad everything's ok...i think u need more bed rest too? That time in my 6-8weeks i also hv to go for weekly hormones injection cuz hv spotting...but luckily now stopped liao.

xbeaniex>> can't remember, when's your EDD?

mrs long, oic...i've also read on another thread that there's another mdm ida whose contact no. is 94361463. she's also charging similar rates..anyone know if it's the same person?

D Queen : understand ur fear... that GP that scares me cause me to cry n cant even talk when only wan to let my HB know i m on my way to see my gynea urgently... seeing my gynea i cry again... see bb moving n hearing bb's heartbeat makes me cry again... but this cry is happy cry as bb is fine...

autrumn : this one u saying is another one ... IDA is part of her name only ... there's only 1 MDM IDA which me n mrslong hiring...

as tis number just now i ask MDM IDA if this one is her relative or what ... she say no... this one is on her own ... but using Real Mdm Ida's technic saying she also got another sister (using real IDA's sister's name) doing it in the east area.

autrumn>> i dun think it's the same person...cuz i read somewhere, there's other Mdm Idas too and some trying to "pretend" to be her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xbeaniex>> U very funny...u ask Mdm Ida that question, hahaa.

ya, Mdm Ida has another sister think called Mariam or something with 9yrs experience. She stays in tampines.

thx all!!

tink Dr Siow was luffing @ me lor...

cuz i was so kanchiong.

i keep asking him questions... keep asking... 'u sure? u sure?'

hahahah... i managed to cool down only when i c BB on screen.

mrslong: heng i only needa take hormone pills & not injections.. cuz i'll freak out if needa take injection all the time.

im v scared of needles.

that time when i went for bld test i was so scared... keep talking to the nurse who took my bld to distract myself. lol~

Dr did tell me gender..

but he said he'll cfm on detailed scan.

so im not gg to tell any relatives during CNY.

cuz i scared like play MJ... 诈胡.

then i'll get more upset & disappointed.

DQueen>> ya, that time i took hormone pills & weekly injections cuz my gynae abit KS cuz of my conditions...but KS also gd lah...no choice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hehee..ya, better to keep the gender of bb till after CNY, else wait spoil your new yr.

mrslong : i ask out of curiosity as if she got 2 contact numbers then i keep both in case cant find her one the other number when i give birth ma... =x

D Queen : my gynea also keep luffing at me being so kan chiong... her first reaction seeing me was to put the scanner on me n she also very kan chiong to ensure me bb is doing fine before explaining to me... hahaha

thanks all for clearing my doubts on the "real" mdm ida..haha..think her sister or SIL is called mdm masita but some people commented she's not as good..i better book quick :S

bbbliss,

so happy for u and great to hear! congrast on knowing the gender as well as everything go smooth in u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

D Queen, may i know how weeks u r in now? u rest well ya..