(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Vernie, my fren intro me her confinement lady whose charges is $2k too. During my 1st child time, i rem the rate is ard $1.8k.

So u have booked her already? I wonder shall i confirm with her now, seems like we have to book early if we want a good and experience one.

Hi coolqoo, can I have mona's no. too? I have lost her no. I have booked her for my first pregnancy the yr before but in the end I didn't engage her service as I was hesitant to do a massage after a c-section then. My gynae advised me to do massage only after 3 mths after c-section. I was slimmer than before pregnancy 3 mths later that I thought I dun need any massage. But I understand from a friend that it is good to do massage to get rid of wind in body.

I also booked my CL for $2K. BTw do u guys give a deposit? and how much? my CL didnt want a deposit but I am worried tat without giving her a deposit , she might just "forget" abt me.

MLLow, ur CL will decide what to cook for u and help u do the marketing? My #1 was done by my mum so i hv no idea how the CL actually works.

Vernie, thanks... I better book my CL now in case i can't find other good ones.

I am not sure about the market rate. But I checked the infant care nearest to my home, it costs $1500 per month…

Too expensive!

Somemore I think very hard to send bb there cos my in-laws will think, why I dun let MIL take care since she is free but go spend $ to bring to infant care.

Munchies, the CL whom my fren recomm me also like that, she said no need deposit, gg to give birth that time then give her a call. She is a malaysian.

hi Cheerymum,

I see. Okie, I just didnt want to be "sabo" at the very last min and then hve to find replacement CL. Now I feel more assured. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks .

Mine is also a Malaysian, hope she will be gd.

my CL also charging mi $2k..also din ask for deposit..

as for infantcare, i think there's some govt subsidy working mothers are entitled to rite?

xbeanniex, your mil is also bias against gal ah.. woo. I guess mine too..

sweetkiss, then you might be in a difficult situation not to let yr mil to do your confinement.. haiz. maybe try to discuss with yr hb and see if both can work out something anot.

Am looking forward to my amino fluid test and detail scan nx week. Hopefully I can have a Happy CNY this yr *keep my fingers crossed*

Btw I read mummies here are going for 4d scan. just for info, I did my 4d scan in NUH at week 27/28 for abt $120+ (i recalled). I also managed to get another foc 4d scan from my previous gynae when they are doing a testing on their new machine.

Munchies, same here...my CL also did not ask for deposit mainly because my sis-in-law plus a few of my hubby's cousins in Malaysia have used her before...so she is comfortable with no deposit...she is almost like my hubby's family official CL...

bb gen : i cant be sure my MIL is bias against gals but which IL wants a bb gal when IL side is tradition de ... -__-lll

sometimes how i wish i got this switch behind my ears that can push to "Deaf" mode another switch under my chin that can push "mute" mode... then no need to listen n argue that much which is harmful to bb

Hi cheerymum, for me, I checked with my CL wat to buy and my mum will do the marketing and deliver the supplies to me. I prefer my CL to be around to help me attend to my baby. My friend's CL did some of the marketing for her. I think it depends on (1) how comfortable u are in letting your CL handles your money as there is no receipt if buying from wet mkt and (2) if your CL is willing to do the marketing for u. U need to start looking for one as good ones are usually booked early.

autrumn, I'm not sure leh but I'll ask for 2 days mc and leave on the following day as it's my gal's 1st bday. I think normally after the test can walk abt aldy cos I'll be doing my detailed scan right after that.

xbeanniex, i'm immune long ago. hee.. when my mil come to my hse I just greet her, when she talks I pretend not to hear not giving any eye contact (anyway she was talking in canto so I presume she's talking to my hb when she always talk to me in mandarin - thou i understand canto). hear no evil and talk no evil is the best, this tatic let me survived for almost a yr liao..

Ya lor.. I dun like it when ppl ask if I prefer boy or girl?

Is like everyone expecting me to have a boy. They will say like, me and hubby’s mum had boys as their first child so I will get a boy too. Speechless!!!

Ethan_mum: I'm going on 2nd Feb 8am TMC, but will ask doc for mc on 1st and 2nd.

Come to think of it, feel so scary, I told my hb to opt out for the test since I hvnt reach the 35 mark but he insisted. Also ask my ex-colleague who has done it, she commented uncomfortable.. Think she's being kind not to use the word "pain" to frighten me..

bb_gen, don't worry..i heard that the needle used is abt the same size used to draw blood...so shouldn't hurt that much...in comparison, the needle used for CVS is much thicker...scary

bb gen,

i have few colleagues and frens gone for the test, they all encourage me to go, some of them reach 35 marks and abv, their gyane straight away put them to do the test.

i'll be going for the test too in 4 wks time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ethan_mum, me going for amnio coz lower risk of complications ma..my test is on 8 feb, morning...really can't wait for the day to come!! when is your appt?

Got reply within today by the CL agency. I am keeping the information in case i really need CL.

Sharing with all MTBs.

The charges for a Malaysian confinement nanny staying in with you (24hours) for

28days is $1850.00 for single baby, that inclusive of the agency's fee.

Levy to Ministry of Manpower for Malaysian nanny will be $168.00 for 28days to be paid

separately to Ministry Of Manpower, to be borne by parents.

There will be a traditional practice of two red packets to be given to the

confinement nanny. We advise minimum $30 for arrival and $60 for departure red packet.

Our current promotion of $38 Pre-Natal Massage(Home Service) for the first 38 customer of the month

will be available to you when you confirm our Confinement Nanny Services

We can arrange to meet you up at your home to confirm a booking of nanny for

your convenience and the deposit will be $550.00 for 28days upon signing of contract.

We also have GPLS Traditional JAMU Post-Natal MASSAGE(Home Service) to help

you get back in shape at a discounted price of $538 (7 sessions) when you sign up

both Confinement Lady and Massage Package together.

ethan_mum, wah! u got good patience leh..i would have die die go for the test durin CNY week coz kancheong to know the result :p

ethan_mum, don't worry! u mentioned to me your chance is 1:290 rite? i tink strike lottery also not so zun one! cheer up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Autrumn, u are a happy go lucky sweet pie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for your encouragement, u have cheer me up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

seems like a lot of mummies has more or less shortlist some confinement nannies.good to book early to aviod any hipcups. For my case, my mum will be doing for me so save e hassel of me finding confinement nanny.

re: baby movement

I am in my 16 wks and i can feel more frequent of baby movement/kicks thou is still quite gentle kind. love e baby movements...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But i do have frequent cramps and something my belly button feels painful when i touch too.i got to sit down n rest for very long b4 that feeling will go off..any mummies having same feeling??

ethan_mum, no worries..we are all here to lend each other comfort! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ethan_mum - be positive!! thou the ratio be not be an ideal figure but lots of babies are born to be perfectly normal n healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hopefully ur next test will be a perfect one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cheers

Astro gal, thanks a lot, i couldnt sleep for few nights after i gone for the DS test... i am much better now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ethan_mum - it is very normal for you to feel worry after getting the result..Don stress urself too much and must always believe your baby will be a healthy baby!!

im being stress by my mil to have a baby boy..dislike that they are having this kind of thinking of die die must have a boy.what era is this now. Cant they even understand the simple logic that the gender of the baby is determine by the man's SPERM!

astro : i m also very stress that y confinement can only be done by MIL... cannot hire cannot ask my own mum to do meh ? kaoz ... MIL leg no strength health not gd still wan to rise hand n legs to do these n that ... cant they just leave our kids to ourselves when their own limit is capped ?