(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

mrs long & ica: my mum helped my sis w her 1st one.. so i'll shift back to my Own Room back home for confinement! hee...

i dunno if i can do natural, like i mentioned earlier, ive some in-born condition.

i dun wanna pay more for emergency c-sect just in case natural doesnt wk out for me.

Now want to book for massage lady after birth also very hard ..the good ones are all reserved as deposit had been paid... I think after i give birth , get hubby to massage me and i do my own wrapping .. That is the worst senario i can think of...

dqueen: Oh, sorry. I think I read about you saying that you have some in-born condition but I forgot. Ya, I'm getting forgetful, and clumsy, too..haha

Anyway, whichever way is fine, hor? As long as you're happy..and I can sense from your posts that you're such a person

hey MTBs,

need some advice,

Between bangkok n osaka, which do u think is a better destination for me to go to in march. I will be almost 6mths by then.

It will be an free & easy trip. I just wonder if Osaka is a gd place for a preg mum to go.

6 years ago i paid $50 per session. Due i am big size not many willing to massage me.

The massage lady will come in the morning to massage around 1 hour than put some lotion at the tummy than wrap up the tummy. Just like we go to those slimming centre. Discipline must be high if you want to really slim down..

For me after she massage me, than she wrap me.. After she left i open the wrapper myself cause i need to breastfeed the baby and i have to do house work .. No confiment aunty to help.. NO mother or inlaw to help me too..

Mother working, Inlaw in malaysia. Only come visit weekends...

Siti : tough on u... dont know if i can be like u not as my MIL dun seems to bother much abt me as its obvious that either she didnt know what to do or worst all the while she is acting... lolx ... tell my HB nice story then tell me different stuff... thinking want to create waves between my n HB but sad to say my HB loves me for being damn direct n tolerance to environment. I like or dont like anything i will sure say out ... lolx... but i can be a great pretendant infront of another pretender... wahahahaha

ica: hahah.. no worries... the thread move very fast... hence we also cant rem everythg [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yup... think my character is those 'chin chai' type.

but i always prep for the worse. born pessimist. =.=

re massage: hopefully by Jul weather will be super hot & humid. everyday stay @ home to 'sauna'. since we cant bathe during confinement. hopefully can lose wt. lol~

xbeanniex- My MIL also like that leh .. She dont like me cause i am a direct person.. any thing wrong or not proper i will say it out .. So she hate me soooo much ..

When i had my misscarriage on August she told my hubby over the phone that it is my fault i eat too much cili. Than some more she can asked my hubby when i want to get pregnant again.. Cruel i just out hospital she can asked that stupid qns.. I over heard the conversation as my hubby used speaker to talk via mobile as he is driving me home from hospital.. I pretend to sleep in the car..

Than when she found out i pregnant on October she more not happy. Last sunday i visit her at Kluang .. You know what she cooked ? Cili PADI chicken no Coconut or milk. Just the cili padi, onion and garlic she blend than she put the chicken meat fry with the cili paste.

If i never eat she sure will say TOWN girl dont want to eat Village food.. So i eat one spoon and pray hard bb must be strong .. My hubby also eat one spoon. HE scared got tummy ache..

He told me not to talk much with his mother..

His father was super good. When he saw me enter my feet at the door way, he warn me not to eat the food cause the food damn spicy bad for the bb ..

I think my inlaw is jelous that my hubby pays more attention to me eversince i am pregnant again.. She scared she will lost a son..

So now i told my hubby next time must eat outside first before come his mom house cause i dont want to lose another bb again .. Hubby just keep quite ...

Munchies now adays all the good ones are snap up very fast.. Prebooked in advanced..

My chinese friend sister gave birth 2 months ago, she booked last minute, came chinese indonesia aunty that charge her $75 per session of 2 hours. 1.5 hour massage, 1/2 hour wrap and the clothe to wrap was charge per day rental of $10.

And die die her sis got to booked for 7 days package if not the lady will not come..

My malay friend sister mid 35yrs got do massage $60 for 1.5 hour incl tummy cream and wrapping of tummy. But last day no tummy wrap cause she have to take back the wrapper. She is also fully booked till August.

I hope there is a slot for me so that i dont have to trouble my hubby to be the massage uncle .. Hahaha

siti: your MIL seems like a nasty person

I just started to think about getting massage ladies today and the good ones are all snapped out? Aiyo! So fast! I thought only CLs are in demand...

Wah..seems like pregnancy and wedding quite similar. Lots of things need to book way in advance, if not kenna booked alr..faint..all so KS one lol..i also just confirmed my CL nanny. My 1st 3 choices all already booked all the way to sep le! Better be quick, if not, no more available..

Lucky I don't need to book for confinement lady. Cos my mum say waste of money. She say she will do for me for 2 weeks and my MIL will do for another 2 weeks. Then maybe I ask MIL to loan her maid to me for the confinement period so at least got someone to help me clean the house. Maybe that month I will pay for the maid. I think like this still cheaper than getting the confinement lady.

For massage lady, I also book one le. Madam Ida.. heard she is highly reccomended.. and luckily she still have slots for north area. She seems to be fully taken up for west and east area.

I agree that good things all get booked up fast.

Hi Ann,

Same, my massage lady also Mdm Ida.. She is really highly recommended... I found her very friendly n nice too..

As for confinement lady, Gd one r really been taken up very fast!!.. Really scary.. all my 1st 3 choices all taken up...

I found one but yet to put deposit to her.. Will mit up with her n know her more.. Is recommend by a friend, she said gd..N she helping her to do twin too..

I think most massage lady dont want to come to the West. I am living in the west .. No wonder everytime they say fully booked..

I hope Kak Timah can slot me in .. If not i sure need My hubby to be my massage lady for a week..

miss_shan, like that you can buy baby diaper near Kampung Gajah. I heard the factory sell very cheap. My hubby promised to bring me around April.

SO that i can prepare bb stuff by then.

We never know if we deliver 7th month that is on May. So before MAy must chop cop all the baby stuff and hospital bag... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning mummies...for those planning to take up childbirth education class can start to book liao....TMC is conducting the classes at 3 different places: AMK Hub, Thomson Road & Tampines....i've booked the sat evening class at AMK Hub for class starting on 13 Mar...

vernie: Wow, i thought the classes will be held at TMC… I stay at the west area and seems like these places not quite convenient for me to go after work.

siti : there's full of excuses given by MIL ... I left home since 17 n stay with that many household before, my MIL is nothing to compare just that she got special title - MIL .

Siti, the class is $235.40 for ladies NOT delivering at TMC. I am actually delivering at Mt A. The Sat classes at AMK Hub are conducted by Mrs Wong whom I heard (from forums) is good, so i decided to go for the TMC one instead of the Mt A one where i can get a cheaper rate. And yes, Sunday classes are available, but not sure which location though.

xbeanniex - agreed with you ... Not all mother inlaw can click with daughter inlaw .. Worst still if got sister inlaw .. Mother & daughter talk behind us finding our weaknesses.As long our hubby not in their plot we are safe.Try not to hate them sooo much cause we dont want BB to look like them ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Everyday at nite before sleep i will tell myself forgive ppl that hurt me,please god protect my unborn child and my beloved family members (hubby, myself & my 2 sons)...

babycoco - $150 exclusive GST .. you can call 67725180 if want to booked.

Hey girls.

I heard from my colleague tat we shouldn't go for our pre natal class too early or else, sure will forget when the times come.

TMC location at AMK hub looks good to me. Felt like going. Is starting pre natal class in Mar too early? How many lessons are there?

Ladies how do i link these graphics to my email..

http://www.mytickerz.com/

Click on the right hand for pregnancy due date.

Once i did all the steps . It will tell me to copy and paste to my email signatures.. i TRY BUT FAIL ..

I saw few website they did so nice ...

Ann, i am in a dilemma regarding the timing of the classes actually. There are 6 lessons altogether and TMC gave me these dates for Sat classes at AMK Hub:

(a) 13 Mar to 20 Apr

(b) 1 May to 1 June

Initially, the lady i spoke to on the phone asked me to attend the 1 May one. However, my EDD is 3 July, potentially could be early (maybe end up having a June bb) from the trends i see people delivering ahead of their EDD...so i feel that the last class on 1 June could be a little late. Also, the first 2 classes cover antenatal exercise, so i am thinking to attend earlier and can start doing those exercises at home too...

For mummies whose EDD is mid or late July, think the 1 May class is ideal for you.

Vernie: Ya.. I just called them up to ask. My due date is 22nd July. So she advise me to take the 1st May one instead.

Told me to call back around end feb/early mar to book for the lessons.

I scared if i go lessons too early, i will forget. Me rather forgetful one. Haha!!

siti : my HB is the youngest at home , he got 2 elder sisters ... wahahaha ... so my mum taught me the best self protection - everything also talk behind closed doors and keep mouth shut infront of others, talk less to prevent attacks from anyone.

I also have something to say about my MIL…

She has a 5 yr old to take care of, yet she spends her time playing MJ. (she has good life, no need work and got maid)

Her son will follow her around and sleeps at 1-2am every nite. I think not healthy for kids lor.

He also has no proper manners, very rude and shouts to demand people to do things!

It makes me very worried to let her take care of my kid in future, I am afraid my child will turn out just like him…

talking about mil, do all of you also find that you cannot say anything bad about them to your hb? i've learnt very early in my marriage not to complain to my hb about his mom.

siti, at how many weeks can we do the 4d & 3D scan?

Sore Boobies: I had real nasty pain during week 13 to 16. My nipples were so sore and were peeling. Having my boobies under a warm shower was a soothing affair. I spoke to my Gynae and he recommended a lotion that cleared the peeling and soreness. Now I am in my week 17 and the pain, soreness and peeling has subsided by 80%. Relieved.

Anxiety: I too get worried about what BB is doing inside... if BB is okay, if BB is confortable. At times like that I lie down and try to focus and can feel tiny flutters like a butterfly in my tummy. That is when I know BB is happily swimming inside. I speak to BB very often. I keep saying positive things to BB like: grow strong and healthy, dont play with umblical cord and only come out when you are fully grown and ready to come out. Please dont give mummy any panic attacks. I know Im being silly but this is my way of keeping myself confident throughout this time.

Baby's Gender: My MIL is a pain and she keep insisting that a BB girl is good. For my HB and me, we dont mind either sex.. as long as it is healthy baby. I just dont fancy my MIL dictating on the BB's sex. She keeps going on and on about how a BB girl will take care of parents when they are old... blah blah blah. In my opinion boy or girl, their development totally depends on our upbringing of them. Who ever said that a boy cant take of his parents? What about some parents who only have boys... they are not neglected. Honestly... My MIL stresses me out big time. Nowadays, I ignore her calls. She can be very authoritative and I will not stand for it. Thank you God for giving me a very understanding HB... otherwise, I wont know how to handle this nonsense lady.

Apart from the above.. Im enjoying my motherhood 100%.

Hospital: i will be delivering at KKH, my Gynae is Dr. Matthew Lau. He is a very good specialist. When I suffered an ectopic pregnancy earlier last year, he diagnosed it accurately and performed surgery and managed to save both my tubes. My HB and I adore Dr. Lau. He is a genius. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sweetkiss : go CC find those trained nanny or if can put in those childcares that accept 4mths above baby... my gf put her son in such childcare thou at high price per mth...

hello ladies..

i also just called up mt A to ask abt the classes.. the nurse advise me to take up the lesson in early Apr, then will end in May. I haven booked yet, need to tell DH 1st..

sweetkiss: any other alternatives? like getting help fr own mum?

babycoco: i agree w u... no matter wat u say to ur husby abt their mums, u'll end up losing the battle.

MIL : Comes to think of it, I am quite lucky. My MIL treats me very well.. whenever she go shopping, if she sees something tat she knows i like to eat and she will get to see me that day, she will buy for me.

My MIL also doesn't bother us about baby. She doesn't ask us every week how baby is or if it is a girl or boy. She always tell us it doesn't matter born in Tiger year or boy or girl, as long as BB healthy then good le. Sometimes we are the eager ones to update BB's progress to her.

My hubby and I also know our parents are not saint. So sometime i gossip abt his mum, sometime he will gossip abt mine.. but nothing serious.. mostly is gossiping about the food our parents cook. Haha!!

Babycoco, that video of the Panda bear was hilarious.. hahahahahaha I was laughing to myself at my desk... good one.

I feel great talking here about MIL as I cant be so open to anyone in the family.... Like a load off my chest...

hihi... been reading the thread...this thread is moving so fast...!!..

I am looking for confinement lady now.. also booking my massage lady. My last 2 CL not good at looking after bb.. maybe i too unlucky.. so want to look for another one for this 3rd delivery.. I'm not the fussy type.. my minimal requirement is for the CL to take good care of bb.. housework and look after me is less priority... so i chinchai when the last 2 CL wants to rest or dun feel like cooking... but *shake head*.. both used this opptunity to watch TV (2nd one watch TV until my TV spoilt liew), insist my bb needs a yao lan.. so that it makes life easier for her.. haiz... we scared she will harm bb so we give in to her lor...even caught her holding my bb to sleep on her matteress with her (think she dozed off when feeding bb..) in the end say my bb very hard to take care cos dun wanna sleep.. liew... easy then no need to find you liao ma...haiz.. so i hope i will be lucky enuff this time to find a good one as both my MIL and mother is working ( doing their small business, helping out my FIL and father respectively). Initially i wanted to do without CL this time.. but my MIL and mother strongly disagree say bery tiring to take care of 3.. scared my hubby and i cannot manage...so in the end, still have to find one lor... ask them to find also they say you better look by yourself.. liew.. no help at all... so bo bian.. ownself look for one lor... my msia friend for ask aunties in her hometown who are CL.. but they are already booked liao...hubby also never help to ask around.. so guess its just me le.. like the last 2 times like that.. what's new...haiz... will continue to look around.. *wish me luck* :p

Think i am lucky to find a good massage lady for all my deliveries... she is call mona.. i found her when reading the threads many years ago when i have my number 1.. she live in the west(bukit timah wor).. so her priority when arranging appointments will go to ppl from west.. her charges is really cheap lor.. $35 per session.. min 5 consecutive session for effective jamu massage lor...my friend took 10 sessions cos her c-section made her tummy really big after delivery.. really effective .. i live in punggol so my usualy timeslot given is in the afternoon lor...but i ok with it la.. cos she is a nice lady who is really good in her massaging skill.. though she is small built, she is really strong lor.. aiyo. i quite big size de ma.. then when she wrap the cloth around my waist, i have difficulty breadth when she pull the cloth.. hahaha.. but its good la.. tight tight can slim tummy...hehe...

For those who first time do post-natal massage, if you give birth natural, can do 1 week after you deliver, for c-section, about 1 month later depends on your wound healing speed. Basically you have to call her to make a booking, then after you delivered, call her from your hospital and say you are who and who and you delivered. she will ask if you natural or c-section, if you got special case, must tell her too (like my friend womb was removed during her c-section). She will make arrangement and will call you again to tell you when is your first session. She will schedule 5 straight consecutive days massage for you. If you wana have more, do let her know in advance so that she can plan for you. else last minute you have to wait. She is good to talk to la.. so just tell her what you want. ^_^

During the massage, she will come to your house, for me, i will do the massage on my masterbedroom bed, need to lay 1 bathe towel on the bed will do... normal bathe towel lor.. cos i big size so i usually will lay 2.. the towel can reuse until all 5 sessions are over de. then you lie on on your tummy then she will start massaging. She will not touch your breast. she will massage your whole body except your breast lor.. including head, feet, leg, back, tummy, shoulder, arm, hands.. i find it really relaxing as my bones are really tired.. you can hear the "cluck" sound when massage.. feels good.. then after the full body massage done, then she will apply jamu on your tummy, wrap your waist with a really long cloth then you will have to be wrap for 6 hours (the longer the better) but i can't stand the heat la.. hahaha... if she come evening time, i will sleep with my tummy wrap.. else is 6-8 hours before i wrap myself... :p.. hang the cloth somewhere airy as the same cloth will be use for your next session.. (dun worry, she clean the cloth before let you use de la.. so its clean) each session is abt 1 hour lor.. you will feel refresh after the massage.. :p.. its a good treat for a tired mummy.. :p

hope my long winded-ness helps to clear your doubts in post-natal massage..:p.. oh.. she's an indian muslim.. quite happening lady who loves dogs.. :p

oh. forgot to add.. you can still breastfeed after the massage with your cloth.. as the wrap does not touch your breast area.. so it's safe...

woah ladies, one day only and the thread move so much - mostly about MILs? haha I wonder if any of our hubbies actually visit this forum and see us "complain" like that kekeke i think I have a good natured MIL but one that cant cook, cant do much housework, and mostly irritatingly, super lor so... but when she mentioned she wants to take care of our BB, i'm speechless lor. Anyway she had open her mouth liaoz, not nice to say no when we only have infant care as the other alternative.

Must we book for massage ladies now? Any recommendations? What is it for? is it to go back in shape? or do they use ginger for massage to get the wind out?

As for TMC, any idea whether they are holding any prenatal classes in the east?