(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Mummies: Any of you using cloth diapers for your babies?

I find it very troublesome and I got limited space to hang dry. Especially if poo poo. Very messy. I tried cloth diaper when my hb was around at home these few days.

finally managed to squeeze some time out to post...started working and it's been crazy. Really sad each time I leave for work. Last night, I worked till about 10pm... dint hug my 2 boys..so sad..

My 2 boys are starting to lose hair... they are turning 3 months tomorrow (time flies...)..does anyone have any idea wat to do..?

AK - the 5 hours stretch is not regular- it's between 3-5 actually. Only nowadays it seems longer now.

Baby_May - I think you are right, we should give him lesser so he can finish. Problem is to recognise that he has enough vs he throwing tantrum while being fed.

so many postings

Re: firming cream
feb_mum
Yup that's the firming cream that I am using.

Tinkle
I used body shaping cream during my #1 and i find it the firming effect is not that effective... and after consulting the sales person in clarin, she told me body shaping is good in the sense that if you are gonna lose those stubborn fats (to shape up the body), it's effective as well.. since i dun really have any fat to lose.. she recommended me the firming cream instead, because my purpose is actually to just firm up the flabby skin on tummy..

Re: sleeping on tummy
My boy can lift his head up for a minute or so already when he is on his tummy
tho most of the time he prefers to lick his fist rather than lifting up his head hahaha..

Re: sleeping thru
Remember i said yesterday that my boy stil wakes up for ntie feeds.. yesterday he woke up only at 5am hahaa (zz since 10pm).. a bit improvement

so long as he only wakes up for milk and zz back.. it's okay..

Re: feeding
His intake is 100ml per 2 hourly, usually it's about 9am, 11am, 1pm, 3pm, 5pm, 7pm.. then latch at 8pm and 10pm..
Sometimes he doesnt fin his milk also, but we dun throw away ler, jsut put back into fridge and top up the balance for his next feeding

EBM is precious!!!

Juju
I heard about that.. dunno ler.. so far my #1 and my #2 we are doign it the same way.. no tummy upset prob.. so just let it be kekekeke..

Jen
wah yr bb can turn! i am happy enough to see my bb can sleep on his back then turn to sleeping on his side himself

rc_cola & Juju, yeah, I also heard that once baby start drinking, cannot keep for more than 1hr. So normally, if baby stops drinking, I will try again half an hr or 45min later. If he still don't want, I will throw. So normally I will give him the minimum that he can drink, then if not enough, I will give 20ml more until he has enough. So I will normally start with 110ml/ 120ml. Normally he has enough.

Hi feb_mum,
I am only pumping using half the recommended time already. I take abt 10 min using my PIS. Anything less the breast will still be very full...Think i shall allow my supply to dwindle slowly when i return to work. For my #1, supply dropped a lot when i returned to work. Just calculated, if my #1 never drink ebm fully, i will have 7 packs of 150ml ebm everyday...So scary!!

To many, ebm is VERY PRECIOUS!!To me and my mum/hubby, they will always say...aiyah..since u have so much, waste also never mind..Which is true. My #1 will always leave 10ml in her bottle. My #2 is WORST!!! I am just wasting my ebm cos we are still trying our luck in using bottle to feed her.

Oh yah, its Dodo's hubby that u must salute!! Not mine..hahaha. Mine cannot make it!!

Re: Clarin's extra firming cream
Hmm..Must go buy 1 tub n try liaoz. I have lost the bulk of the fats but the tummy still looks so flabby.

Poohwei
Some ppl have prob with little milk, and u can have lots milk!! it's a blessing tho
i cant produce that much, only the just nice with lil bit extra for my girl to drink..
Priority is stil for baby tho :p

Re: firming cream
I think for mummies who are interested, can really try, coz today my colleague just told me "Wah u are so slim!!!! Don't look like just given birth.. no tummy at all but big B" hahahaa.. as I said the cream works wonder for me.. keke.. go and buy!! I am like clarins' spokeperson here!! (i dun earn anything for the sales hor) :p

Hi Poohwei,
I don't produce as much as you, but besides feeding, everyday I'll store 2 packs of 260ml. Storage is a problem, but I try to store as many as possible, in case I go back to work then milk supply drop. Haiz...my mil never know that the EBM is precious, always waste my milk. just like yesterday, I need to pour away 60ml, bcoz she thought bb not enough then warm up another 60ml EBM. but bb just drink a few mouth then stop le. haiz!

poohwei, yeah, I envy you. You produce so much with so little time spent on pumping. I produce much less than you with more time spent on pumping. But I also count my blessing that now, I have enough for my boy to drink.

hi, haven't have time to log in too busy taking care of bb alone. Is there a gathering next week? Can i join? where will be the meeting place?
dun want to miss it this time.

yah, everyone says that i am very blessed!! Including my gynae. She even joked that i should ask my cousin who is feeding her twins with my frozen ebm to do a study to see whose ebm is more nutritious. Hers or mine. I almost broke out in laughters...

Now, i will only keep 10 packs of frozen ebm for standby and give the rest to my cousin. When i am going to return to work, maybe standby 20 packs? just in case..

baby_may,
Ya lor... My MIL last time din't BF before. So she doesn't know how precious it is. Even now my production not bad, but then, still precious. Initially, when I just gave birth, I don't have much milk yet, she also like that, throw away my milk. aiyo, that time I really feel like crying out... Then my hubby tell her, this is precious, cannot anyhow waste. haiz!

I must find a good day, educate my MIL that how precious is BM ler... Bcoz I've already find many good days talk to her about taking care bb... U all know la, live with MIL is not easy. so whenever got conflict, I'll store in my memory first, then find one good day, talk to her nicely. But the problem with EBM, I've told her before, this is precious, but she seems like don't remember what I've told her... (--)'"

Yup, I got deep freezer, I've used up 1/3 of the space le. I've finished my May FBM. Now left the whole June EBM until now lor... I only bought a small freezer. due to electricity and space problem.

Abby,

My girl has been using BumWear cloth diaper since day 4 after discharged from hospital at home. Initially very 'sheong' as we change her nappy abt 7times a day.. mostly was poo...what we do is using the toilet spray to spray off the poo on the cover, then soak both the cover and insert with liquid bb detergent for few hours then throw the whole thing into the washing machine to wash. As the insert and cover is small, we dun hv problem hanging them to dry.. You may like to try since these cloth diaper, they are exp but I find it more economy and can wear till they toilet train.

For #1 & #2, we use the normal cloth diaper...no space to hang, but when we hang the nappy, we fold them into half to save some space!

rc cola - ya, i thot warmed up ebm cannot be kept for more than an hr? not very safe to put warmed up ebm back to fridge, the change in temp plus bb saliva can make the ebm go bad easily. i do like bb may too. if bb has leftover, i will sit it in warm water and try again in the next 15/30min. then will throw thereafter.

sharon - the older folks always think FM better than BM so they hv no prob throwing our 'inferior' milk ;p

tinkles mum - agree with bb may abt bb feeding. my bb was oso on 2-hrly schedule initially and i tried to make her drink more to stretch the timing but she juz can't take the amt. in the end, i juz take her cue and feed her the amt she's comfortable with. then slowly, she begin to tune to 3-hrly schedule. someone posted a formula to calculate amt of intake based on bb wt before, maybe you can use that as ref. but it's juz a guide, some bbs are big eaters, some are small eaters juz like adults. as long as bb is contented and does not fuss after feed, it's an indication dat feed is enuf.

Sharon, yeah, I same situation as you. Initially when I don't have much milk, 1 drop also very precious to me. My hubby understand so he also very stressed when feeding EBM to my boy. My hubby and I are the ones who feed my boy. My MIL feed my boy only when both my hubby and I are out. Normally I will prepare 1 bottle (normally the minimum ie. 110ml) for her and ask her to feed using that bottle. She always tell me my boy finish and never say not enough. I think she also understand that not easy for me to pump out the milk. She will prepare green papaya fish bones soup for me once every few days.

The formula is 150ml x weight of baby/ no. of feeds

Yeah, it is just a guideline. My baby drink slightly less than that now that his feeding drop to 5.

bbmay, ur mil so good...will prepare the payaya fish soup for u to boost bm...when i tell my mil that my supply is low...ask her make this soup for me...u knw what she say ? she say then dont feed bm lah...anyway bb also will grow up with fm...then she say her 2 sons (my hb and BIL) also never drink her milk still grow so big and strong....from then onwards i never ask her to cook the soup for me liao...

sharon, u so cute...say any conflicts will keep in ur memories first...i am diff...if conflicts i will say it out directly...cos keep too long will go crazy one day...

Abby,

My baby's sleeping habit is exactly like yours!! At around 7pm she will go on an auto-pilot mode and zzzzzzzzzzzzzz. The next time she wakes is from 1230pm to 330pm. Not really fixed. But no matter what time she wakes up, the next time she wakes is 830am in the morning. very strange hor?

Porky, yeah, my MIL very good. I told her that papaya fish soup can boost supply so she will look out for green papaya everytime she go market. Last few days she told me no green papaya so cannot cook soup for me. My MIL also never bf but she listen to alot of radio and she says radio got say BM is good. But BM is unfamiliar territory for them. At first, she also very uncertain about heating up BM and find making FM easier. Then I told her like heat up chx of essence. After a few tries, she now know how to warm up EBM liao.

last night my boy had his last feed at 12am and its the first time he slept all the way till 8am this morning.. normally he will wake up at 6am for milk..

Baby May

I also got nice MIL, that day i told her papaya soup can boost supply, so like your mil whenever she goes market/ntuc, she will look out for it and cook soup for me
she helps me with my #1, so has kinda aware that BM is good, coz *touch wood* my girl very seldom falls sick and my hubby told her that BM got antibody, hence immunity of kids are better.. she is very supportive towards BFing. She even told me if latch on, more convenient hahaha!

Even half a yr ago, my SIL just gave birth, and MIL is the one who kept reminding her to pump, but my SIL only pumped when engorged so after 2 months, no more milk....

porky,
Same.. I told my mum if I don't pump, won't get milk. My mum say no need to feed so long wor, she say after few months can stop. She say drink FM also the same. Even if explain to her BM is better she won't listen. Old pp more stubborn.

Baby turning
Does anyone know when baby will turn? My bb now sleeps in the bouncer in the day, so a bit scared he will turn without me knowing and fall out of the bouncer.

Rc_cola, your MIL went through it herself with your elder daughter, so she knows BM is good. You latch so more convenient, don't have to sterilise etc. I pump, so have to sterilise etc. more troublesome. Even though my MIL understand that BM is good, she says that if give FM easier for me. Of course it is easier for me, don't have to pump and can go out for longer stretch of time but I will give whatever I can, at least before I start work. If I can, at least 6 mths, but don't know whether supply will drop when start work.

Anxylyn, as long as you fasten the security belt, should be quite safe even if baby turn, right?

Porky,
Not that I want to store in my memories first. I just don't want to put my hubby in a difficult position. So I usually will wait till a good time then talk to my mil nicely, put it in a nice way lor. Is actually quite difficult, bcoz need to be nice plus need to let her understand my point of view. Sometimes she just cannot understand... haiz!

Baby_may,
My mil also knows that BM is good. Even tell me, if can then feed bb up to one year lor. But hor... yup, she only knows to warm up the EBM that I've prepared. other than that, I really not sure how much she knows. My mum did TBF on me, so she totally understand my situation...every drop of BM is precious.

Yup, agree with those saying that MIL will think FM easier. MIL sometimes will make comment on this and that... aiya... quite sian one... I just open one eye and close one eye

re: bed rails
sorry, i'm abit kiasu here. any recommendation on bed rails? just want to get ready before baby knows how to turn and roll. scared he will drop onto the floor from my bed.

Baby May

Yup my MIL is very understanding..
Like your MIL, i agree with her that FM is definitely easier than BM in case when u are exclusively pumping.. but at least yr MIL is happy to make soup for you to boost milk, which means she supports Bfing

My MIL told me to feed til 2 yr or more wor hhahahahaha.. coz i might stop working by end of the year, she said then can just latch bb whether till 2yo or 3 yo also no problem, so easy! hahahaha..

Sharon
Ya some old ppl have their own thinking.. my mum has never bf all of us, but now i can see that she supports me in bfing.. until now i never hear either my mum or mil questioned me like "baby is hungry, maybe your milk is not enuff bla bla bla.." i seriously think that in bf, the support from ppl around us is very very very important.. or else u will feel discouraged to continue..

Rc_cola, yeah, I also agree that FM is easier. Support from pp around us is very important because there are alot of obstacles to bfg (at least for me). It is very easy to give up bfg. But I just tell myself to try to overcome the obstacles and give whatever I have. If really have to stop bfg, then no choice loh. At least I know I have tried.

Bean: Yah lor. But when she's going through a growth spurt she can wake up many times during the night. Shiong ah!

Joyce Yong: I also bought bumwear. The problem is I'm staying with my inlaws. So I only have a small clothes rack to hang all my girl's stuff. And my mil doesn't allow my hb and I to use the washing machine. So very difficult. Every thing handwash.

Thanks mummies who shared on feedign time. I will try to feed him lesser and not watch the time intervals then. Must convince my mum also cos she damn relentless!

Firming Cream:
rc, wah really works ah! i have bulges leh - i think they are still fats la - maybe I should get both so can use at the same time? i will go down Clarins again to consult the professionals.

tinkles_mum: did your PD say anything abt your bb's weigt? when my boy doubled his birth weight in his 7th week, my gynae advised me to tell my PD to watch my boy's weight. maybe you can share this with your mum.

Hi Ak - the last time we saw the PD at Jonas's 1st mth, PD already said he is a big baby, but never advise to cut... Next appmt is Aug 22 so still must wait and see what he say lor. But i try to cut or rather don't force him to finish for now.

Tinklesmum, yeah, since your baby is drinking more than 1 litre a day, you need not worry about your baby not drinking enough, so need not force him to drink. Maybe you all can tell how much he really need per day then.

suggestion for monday JP gathering:
if wanna eat late lunch - meet @ pizza hut
if wanna drink kopi only - meet @ starbucks
i'm fine wif either

thks mommies for yr suggestion, will try it out in the morn n see whether he wants it or not...
but i ve another problem on hand, my #01 seems to siao my breast milk too... most time, she will said 'di di dun want milk, let me drink'.. n i'll ve 2 ppl crying, 1 dun wan e milk, e other wanted it badly.. :S

i tot toddler won't wan BM.. but i was wrong on this!!

my boy seems to be able to turn from his back to his tummy.. which i think abit too fast compared to my #1

baby may,
We never fasten seat belt. Lazy mum... S'times just very fast want to chiong to the toilet/room. Now I try to ask my son to look at the bb when I walk away. Just in case bb suddenly turn and no one around.

By the way, I very kiasu already bought a Exersaucer. Dunno when bb can start using.

Jen, your toddler so cute. Normally they prefer FM to BM because FM tend to be sweeter. But at least your BM won't go to waste if your baby cannot finish. What FM your toddler is having?

Anxylyn, it is better to fasten the seat belt. I fasten the seat beat when I put my boy on the rocker chair even when I am with him.

anxylyn,

i had an exersaucer for my elder boy, i started him on it ard 4mths old when his neck firm and strong. mine is Leapfrog one, height can be adjusted. bet ur bb will love it! enjoy!

Anyone started to soap and rinse off the soap from your babies or still use a few drops of bath gel in the bath tub so that we need not rinse off the baby? Any idea when we should start soaping and rinsing off baby?

bb may - i still doing the few drops way. can continue to do so until bb starts to perspire more and stink, haha. now, bb still relatively clean n sweet smelling.

Re: Bathing
I have been using the soap and rinse method since the first day, baby returned from the hospital. Have been using that becos my CL taught me the method since my #1 time.

tinkles, my PD also comment my bb is big at 6weeks...but never say must cut down on milk...

bbmay, i still using the few drops in the bathtub way to bathe my boy...pureen head to toe..but usually i put many drops so it looks like bubble bath and my boy loves it lots..hahaha