(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

hi yuki, all i like nvr meet b4
i nvr bring baby can or not.

andrea i think i can go to gathering tmr.. might need to pop by there to run errand anyway... haha.

adv sports i'm giving hailey enfa for her last nite feed..

anyone can advise me on how to make baby sleep earlier? i've been with hailey on the bed trying to make her sleep since 12 am. gave her her supposed last feed at 11 hoping she'll go to sleep aft dat but she refuses to. choosing to suck on pacifier with bright shiny n very awake eyes.. she sleeps btw 1 to 2am every nite. i want her to sleep earlier.. how? any suggestions?

Jamie, maybe you can try to have a routine every night when it signal night time. For my boy, we will dim the light after we wipe his body at 8. He will fall asleep at 8 plus, 9, sometimes before we give him his last feed. Maybe we should dim the light later, if not, his last feed can be around 530pm to 730pm.

hi joyce, i only met two mummies here b4. Ok, i will meet u all there.. Can anyone sms me when reach? My number is 81336040.

Help... my younger twin did not poop for 3 days...anyone can help..?? hee.. I can see that he's feeling abit uncomfortable.. give him gripe water oso no use..

hi hoops, when u give him gripe water? Mayb u awhile more n see.. My boy give him gripe water he will be alright le.. Mayb got wind in stomach or he is feeling heaty?

Hi andrea, I gave him yesterday evening.. sobz.. before I left for work this morning, he was crying, he seems to know I'm gng to work..

hi hoops, mayb u till noon.. If he's not having fever n if he poo, no blood, i think its okie.. Sometimes, when i go out, leaving him alone with my mil or parents, he will cry too..

baby may, ur bb sleeps so early! i already try to do a bedtime routine for her but she also hv her own routine which is to stay up till 2am recently! do u think it's cuz she sleeps in as well? like she wakes at 8am for feed then falls back asleep till 10 or 11.. recently i notice that aft e 10 to 11 feed n bath she likes to fall asleep till 1 or 2! sleep too much?

juju from infant care how u go to jp?

Jamie, I think for the first few days, you have to 'sleep with her'. Initially, I will off the lights in the room at around 930, 10 and sleep with my boy. Now he auto sleep and sometimes even sleep before that even when I am still awake. Maybe cause your baby sleep late, so she will wake up later. Or you try to keep her awake during the day. 2am to 1/2pm with bath and feedings in between is not alot. My boy also sleep about 9pm to 9am with only one feeding in betwwen.

Hoop, if baby on BM, their poo tend to be softer, so need not worry too much. But if their poo is hard or if have blood, have to bring to see PD. My boy also poo around once a week. PD says if his poo is soft, he is comfortable, can drink milk and is alert, then it is alright. Maybe you monitor your boy. See whether he is feeling unwell.

Baby May:

Wah so good your boy. Sleep so long but only wake up with 1 feed.

My girl normally sleeps at 6 plus in the evening. But she will wake up between 12am plus-3am, rarely 4am plus. Then latch on a little then wake up2-3 hours time. She's usually awake the next morning at 6 plus.

She doesn't sleep much during the day, naps about every 2 hours then keep awake for 2-3hours. I feed her more during the day, so that at night she doesn't miss out on bm cos she's sleepy.

Hoops

If you are giving mostly BM dun worry too much, try to feed more water to reduce the heatiness of the FM..
My #1 last time on TBM.. pood once every 6 to 8 days!!! but coz BM, PD said okay no need to worry..

Now my breastfed girl poo on alternate days. So on 'poo poo' days I let her wear disposable diapers.

if not wear bumwear cloth diapers in the day and disposables in the night.

Abby, yeah, he only wake up once for milk at around 6am if his last feed is 9/ 10 pm. Yesterday, his last feed is 7pm, so he wake up at 4am this morning. Then 8am is his next feed.

Hi hoop, if he is not feeling uncomfortable, then it is alright as long as his poo is soft.

I've been breastfeeding exclusively. Hopefully she will stretch her sleeping hours longer without needing milk at night.

How many minutes you feed during 1 feeding?

Hi Jamie!

I agree with Babymay on giving your baby bedtime routine... my baby girl now more or less into a schedule which is quite predictable. In fact, both my kids, #1 and the baby are on schedules and I find them very secure cos they know what to expect from one activity to another. They both sleep in their own rooms with baby monitors.

For the past 29 months, #1 had been sleeping between 7 - 7.30pm without much fuss. We do not need to be with him either. He will drink his milk and then drift off to bed on his own. He wakes up at 7.15am for school. No problem at all

#2's schedule just a little more stablised now. I wipe her down at 6.30pm, sing/hum some soothing songs for her, read a book and then turn on the night light and switch off the light. Then I latch her, she suckles for 15 min and then off the zzzzz.... at 11pm, we wake her up for the last feed (normally, very challenging for this cos she is in deep sleep but I take this feed very seriously cos I wanna train her to sleep through the night like #1 when he was a tiny baby. For the past 4 days, my girl has been sleeping through the night till we wake her up at 7-7.15am latch
these 4 days, she woke up once only to be flipped over to tummy down position. Made a little noise but we just patted her a little and then left her to drift to zzzz... land on her own.

Now, both my kids are on ~ 7pm to 7am for nights and I am so glad I started my girl earlier this time. So, my maid, hubby (weekends only)and I can be real busy in the day but after 8pm, we can relax with a nice dinner and then enjoy our TV programmes. Sometimes, hubby and I can still go out for brief dates (coffee and supper)or Bible study sessions cos the maid will be watching TV and jagaing the kids while they sleep. Most of the time, they dont wake up till we return

Mummies, it takes a lot of patience, consistency and heartache to establish the routine. Many a times, they cry their hearts out but I can be heartless and leave them alone, only checking to make sure they are not suffocating (esp. #2 cos she sleeps tummy down). Even if they are not sleepy at 7pm, they will still be 'confined' in their rooms till they fall asleep! So, u see, I am very cruel right. Initially, all the elderly didnt agree to what I am doing but now, instead of criticising my method, they are of praise for my kids, hubby, maid and I. They even recommend friends with young kids to ring me for advice (HAHAHA) Well, I really thank God for a hubby and maid who are supportive of what I am doing

Mummies, despite me sharing the above with all of you, I do agree that kids are all different. Some kids are more adaptable (maybe like mine) while others are not. Remember to observe your kids' behaviour for a few days and then work out schedules that best suit for them

wow... babies can sleep through the nite for so many hours without being fed..? I'm always worried they'll be hungry. My 2 boys are having their last feed at 10.30pm, then they'll cry for milk at about 4am before waking up at 9am for their baths.

Abby,

I started to give my baby bao yin dan (from er yen seng) once a week. I donno whether its because of that, she is sleeping from 730pm to 730am without any feed. Before the bao yin dan, she needs one night feed in between the time. I'm still observing her. She has been sleeping without the night feed for 3 days liao.

Grace of God

Both your kids are so good, set into routine easily.. so far I didnt really "Set" routine to my kids.. but they have the routines to follow..

8.30 i will pray, drink my milk, wash #1 potty, warm up ebm for #1
9.00 #1 will wash hands, feet, face, and butt, then change to PJ, brush teeth
9.15 bring both #1 and #2 to room and get them to wear sleeping bag
#1 will quietly drink her milk while i latch bb to zz once sleep put him into the cot... then 3 of us will zz together... until bb wakes up for milk again..

My girl sleep from 9pm to 9am timing.. bb wakes up once or twice for feeding..
(yesterday was nitemare, #1 had bad dream kept crying in her dream, and bb wakes up hourly.. faintz!!!)

Abby,

Its a baby's tonic. One of the benefits is for babys to sleep better. There are many many ingredients in it. All chinese herbs. You can go to yu ren seng to ask for more details about it.

Hi rc_cola!

Thanks for sharing your night routine
Actually, i have been struggling with spending enough time with my both kids. Dont seem to be able to settle 2 kids at the same time. Would love to latch and let #1 drink milk at the same time. Think I will work out something for #2 so I can read them bedtime stories and give them night feeds together. At the moment, maid feeds boy dinner while I latch #2. After latching I spend a bit of time (playtime) #1 before showering, changing him, reading to him and then give him his bottle. Maid will then clean up the kitchen and get on with other chores.

GraceofGod
Having 2 kids are definitely a challenge for us to be able to spend enough time with them..
I used to read for my #1 before settling her to sleep last time before having 2nd kid.. but now every minute is so precious..
I will flash some cards for #2, and get #1 to participate, but she is not interested at all, and told me to slow down haha..
after flashing cards, will read story books for #1..

While getting #1 ready for sleep, bb will be on bouncer (most of the time he will be sleeping)..
Luckily u got maid to do housechores for you.. for me, I've got my nice MIL to help with the housework

Since i have started working, time is tickling super fast..
reach home 6pm - bathe together with #1
6.30pm - feed her dinner then i eat
7.15pm - if bb wants to be fed, will latch him..
rest of the time til 9pm.. will be spending time with kids, hubby, MIL, and watching TV..
such a short period to spend time with them..
Hope the above can give u some idea on how to settle both kids at the same time..

btw, are u working?

Lily
Bao Ying Dan is meant for baby, very safe.. my boy also takes that some times when i find that he is cranky, or vomitting milk..

Mass gathering

Date: 27th July
Time: 11-3pm
Venue: North East Function Room
1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper

Any suggestion on food?

Mass gathering

Date: 27th July
Time: 11-3pm
Venue: North East Function Room
1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper

Any suggestion on food?

porky, so far we have ard 14 pax.. can order mini buffet/ high tea.. hahhaa... i'm always so hungry.. if order fast food like macdonald, kfc or pizza, me not enough to eat le. whahaha...

someone mentioned abt lexin catering.. hows the food and price?

abby,
the gathering is at hougang.

please indicate if yr helper is coming along.. coz need to count in for food..

GraceofGod: I don't wake my girl up until she wakes up at night for a feed leh...also not sure whether must. But my aunties say when babies wake up then let them feed, don't need to wake them up.

I guess all babies are different. Cannot use one method for all babies. Some more they are not robots...cannot programme ;p

Also not sure for naps in the daytime. Some people say cannot let baby sleep too long. Some say let baby sleep until wake up.

RE: baby slping pattern
i think i'm fortune enough to have my 2 gals slping for long hrs at nite. #1, she slpt through from 8pm till 6am since week 6. #2, she slpt through from 10pm till 6+am since week 8. i'm trying to make her slp earlier but found it hard because jiejie hasnt slp yet!!

abby,
no worries.. i think only sei and michelle r bringing their helpers.. the rest r handling bbs on their own as well.
where u stay? maybe can share cab with someone nearer to u? btw, after the gathering, i'm heading back towards my mum place at bukit batok.