(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Baby May
yup agree with feb_mum if baby is sleeping, no need to purposely feed him. coz naturally when baby is hungry they will wake up and start crying..
normally my boy will fidget or struggle during sleep, i dun bother until he cries for milk..

Adv
B is never empty
if your girl seems contented then let her be..

Feb_mum
Nope, the cream is non-heaty and non-sticky type.. I love it..

Wah u need to wake up at 5+ when u are working.. luckily yr bb sleeps thru..
As for me, i woke up at 6.45 or 7 am hehehe! tho bb wakes up for milk sometimes once or twice, i still get enuf sleep coz sometimes i latch bb on until we both fall asleep together til the next feed haha.. (B exposed!! for about 4 hours or so haha!!!)
I am so lucky to have my MIL helping out with housework.. she will wake up early to help me do housework.. but she sleeps early also at 9pm..

bbmay, i also will not wake my boy up for milk if he is sleeping...like last night...he slept at 9pm and only wakes up at 5am crying for milk...i am more than happy that he can sleep so long hrs...my boy dont like it when i wake him up to drink milk..he will make all sorts of noises...

My boy also don't like when I wake him up for milk. There was once I tried to wake him up at 12 cause his last feed was 5pm but no matter how I tried to wake him up ie. change pamper, change position he still continue to sleep. So now I just put the bottle into his mouth and he will suckle the milk. After listening to you all, maybe will consider not waking him up for milk.

But my boy seldom cry for milk now that he is older (or he knows milk will be given to him at certain timing?) and he drinks very little. My boy is going to be 11 weeks and he drink only about 650ml-680ml on average (remain the same since a few weeks back). His weight has increased though. He is now about 5.7kg.

How much are your babies drinking?

bbmay, my boy is 12 weeks old. his total feed is about 700ml per day too and it has been like that for the past few weeks too.
his last feed is about 9:30pm and he will ask for milk at 2am - 3am, then at about 6:30am - 7:30am. he does not finish his milk (120ml) at the 2am feed, but he will not stop fussing until i give it to him otherwise he will start crying loud.
my boy will also start making noise and swinging his limbs in his sleep at about 4am - 5am, and i need to put him to sleep on his tummy so that he quiets down again.

ak, so it is common that they don't increase their feed. I was worried that my baby don't seem to increase his feeding. When we tried to give him more, he can't finish.

bbmay, i think so. otherwise, their tummies will explode. :p

re: cross-eyed
my baby's eyes seem to be crossed at times and he is already 12 weeks old. is it normal?

Thanks Mummies for sharing your babies' night feeding/sleeping schedule. Audrey, you are really good to have 'trained' Andrea into a fixed schedule. I tried the CD - doesnt work on Jonas. Sigh.

For me now, his last feed for the night (that's when I start supplementing with FM) is around 11am - 12am. After that, he will wake up 2 times in the night - at 3 hrs intervals. I don't wake him up if he doesnt wake up too.

Looking at the babies' milk intake here - mine's pretty high! He takes around 1300ML per day! hmm... is that healthy? He was fed when he cried la, at times when he cannot finished my mom will somehow, spend even up to an hour to make sure he finishes... not sure if that's overfeeding. I haven't been weighing him though :p

re: total feed
my gal is going to be 10 weeks old liso. her total feed is between 690ml -825ml for the past one week. her total feed is irregular too.

re: sleep on tummy
at which week we let baby sleep on tummy? is it a must?

hey, mummies.. hw to let bb hav sleeping routines? my gal nw is 8 wks, she stil wakes up every 2-3 hrs for milk in day and nite.. so i guess i lose weight so fast, due to fully bf ba...

i wana train her on slping habits for the night, hw to ah? cos she wakes up every 2 - 3 hrs for milk, sometimes after her feed she wil b v awake liao.. hw to make her slp back?

tinkles_mum: since i'm giving FM, i don't make sure my boy finishes his milk (i tell myself that FM can use money to buy so don't force him). he let me know that he is full/satisfied by smiling at me or pushing the teat to one side. i also feed when he cries too, but i will also look at the time. i try to pacify him in other ways if the prev feeding is less than 2 hours. he is quite "punctual" with his feedings - about every 3 hours in the day time.

twinkle_sp: my bb started sleeping on his tummy at about 4 - 5 weeks old. i don't think it's a must. my boy just sleeps better on his tummy. i suspect it's because the air in his tummy is being pressed upon and pushed out, so he feels better.

Re:Losing weight
Went back for gynae's visit yesterday and she commented that i have lost so much weight. Although i bf fully, i agree that taking care of a T2 and a baby is no joke. (although i have help from mum and helper). I have to entertain my T2 at night and latch baby hourly from 6pm onwards (she is taking very little milk in the day time=( cos she takes bottle in the day). Luckily, she will sleep thru for a period of abt 5 hours at nite. She is coming to 7 weeks soon.

Also, burning of extra 500 calories is for mummy with "just nice" supply right? Think for me, i burn at least 1000 extra calories cos i produce so much BM, at least 1.2 litres thru pumping and morning + nite latch. My gynae kept telling me to pump less so tat i produce less. Think it is very bad for our body if we over produce!! (I can feel the tiredness/weakness whenever i pump). Result, i lose abt 1 kg every 3-4 days.

RE: Total feed
My gal only takes 240 ml from bottle from 10am to 5pm. Rest of the time is latch. Evening is hourly latch. Think she is also drinking ard 600-700ml a day?

Re: Routine for my 7 weeks old baby
5-6am: Morning feed, sleep
8-9am: Latch or 100ml ebm, play/sleep
12-1pm: 50ml
1-4pm: Play/ sleep
4-5pm: 100ml ebm
6pm-1am : Latch hourly then zzz...

If baby is sleeping, i will not wake her up. I go by demand feeding.

twinkle_sp: according to the healthbook, the bb must be able to hold his head up when placed on his tummy. if your bb can do it, then i don't think there is anything wrong with your baby. maybe the experience is new to her and she is not comfortable with it, or she just doesn't like it.

ak, same here, when I was supplementing FM for my boy, I just throw it away if he can't finish. Then my hubby will say he is very stressed when he feed my boy EBM so he preferred to feed my boy if it is FM and rather let me feed EBM. Now that my EBM is enough, We don't feel so stressed to make sure he finish his milk, so will throw away milk sometimes.

tinkles mum - your bb drinking a lot lei. my bb's intake has also fallen - she takes oni 5 feeds a day, ea feed around 110ml. but she seems to be putting on wt so i'm not too worried.

i won't force bb to finish milk too, bbs hv innate ability to know if they are full or not and they will indicate it. if we force feed them, they lose the ability to stop when they are full.

txs Poohwei (poohwei), but seems like ur gal nt drinking alot and can slp long hrs lei..
mine the most 3.5hrs lor.. but normally quite punctual at 2 hrs every feed.

rc cola - ok, will try clarins when i'm done with my current firming gel.

i'm a teacher so hv to wake up early. as i send my kids to my mum's pl b4 gg to work, hv to wake up at 5am! i dun hv helper so hv to do everything ourselves. when #1 is away in the day, not so bad, i can do hsework, cook etc since #2 sleeps most of the time. but once #1 comes back in the evening, dat's when chaos begins. weekends are most tiring coz both are home with me. feel like an octupus esp when hb is out and i hv to handle both alone. it's madness!!

hb had a taste of it last sat when i went out. he was totally zonked and oni managed to eat his lunch at 3pm even though i've oreadi prepared his and #1's lunch b4 gg out. nw, he understands the situation and is more empathetic.

bb may - yes, can't seem to make her drink more but since she's pooing and peeing fine, i leave it as so. tink her intake will increase again when she hits the next growth spurt bah.

poohwei - ya, why dun you pump out less so dat the body can adjust itself and produce less? usually within 3 days or so, the body will adjust itself. rem to take more calcium.

Feb mum,
Same here, these 2 days my girl's feed has fallen to 5 feeds. She drinks abt 130ml each for 2 feeds and the rest are latched. So donno what is her total feed also.
My girl will actually still stick out her tongue and lick lick lick anything that is near her mouth after her feed. Initially I thought she is still hungry but she refused to drink any more milk after that. Is it normal? haha

bean,
my gal also like that ... can stick out her tongue so long
then lick lick. Wanna sleep at her yao lan also turn her body to one side then lick the net ... *faint*

bean,
my gal also like that -- continue to stick out her tongue... then she cried very hard when i gave her more milk -- in the end, found out that she wanna zzz... throw away FM ok, but if EBM i heart pain coz my supply is low...

thanks for ur remedy -- amazingly, the redness is gone after we applied it last nite... for precaution, we applied again juz now
haha, takes 2 persons to do it -- hubby made her lift up her double chin and i quickly apply the cream.

my boy had slept thru the night also at his week 7/8.. same as his gor gor.. wish this is for real and stay this way!

feb mum,
how true! totally agree wi u. 1 toddler + 1 baby never equal to 2! i salute to u. i have a helper and she is v good, if w/o her i will behave like a mad woman running ard the house...

re: losing weight
so many mummies back to ur pre preggie weight! so so envy!!!
im wondering what's wrong wi me, same as poohwei im able to produce abt 1.2litre a day besides latching on, but i still have 10kg to loss! (i put on horrible 20kg).. sigh, wonder will i back to my pre-preggie weight ever.. the strange part is i can wear some of the pre-preggie pants, but kilos still there..

re force feeding:
mummies, my PD shared wi me bever force feed bb. bb are v smart and they will signal to u when they are full. if we keep force feeding, some stubborn bbies will be annoyed and get irritated wi the teats and ultimately on hunger strike. my elder boy is one such bb! very strong willed bb.

Feb_mum and bean, what is the timing like for your babies' 5 feeds. My boy also 5 feeds if I don't wake him up at night. But if I don't wake him up, he will go too long without milk.

Hi feb_mum
I tried adjusting to 3 pumps a day b4 twice...Result, i kena fever of up to 40 degrees!! So i gave up liao.

Diet during BF
I will take calcium/ pre-natal multivits/ fish oil + 1 cup of milk (at least) each day.

I must salute you for being able to cope with T2 + baby w/o a helper!! I would have gone crazy. N i salute ur hubby too. Think my hubby will run away if i ever leave a T2 + baby with him with no help..

Re: Milk intake
Absolutely got no idea how much my gal is drinking daily...Can only gauge based on the difference in pump volume. Haha..Also, so long as she poos each day, i am ok liaoz.

Now my #1 is drinking so much of the ebm that i almost need not freeze soon. She takes in abt 700ml each day. So i alway tell baby that she must drink more..If not jie jie will finish all the milk..hahaha

HI mommies

my bb rejecting bottle but ok with latch on, any ideal how to get him to take bottle feed as well?

also can any bb turn yet? cos mine can!

poohwei,

haa! i also salute to my hubby!
he always babysit my 21mth boy and lil boy on sat/ sun when i go out shopping! haa.. got once he even brought the boys to shop at Centrepoint, can u imagine him pushing a pram wi lil bb inside and carry my super active elder boy wi the other hand?!

Baby may,
My girls 5 feeds timing is like that (for today)
220am: EBM
825am: Latch
1235pm: Latch
4pm: Latch
7pm: EBM
After that she zzzzzzzzzzzzzz, now still zzzzzzzzzzzzz. I think she will wake at around 1plus or 2am.

Hi jen,
U need a lot patience to get ur baby to take bottle. Even if it means 30 ml each time, its good enuff. Just keep trying with different position/ teats/ location. Try not to be the person feeding as well. And u need to be hard hearted to let her cry or go on hunger. Tats what i have been doing the past 2 weeks. Only succeeded in making my gal drink 200 plus ml in the day.

Re: latching
My gal seems to like different B at diff time. Sometime die die must latch on the left...sometime must be right..so strange

bb may - my bb's feed schedule today is like this:
6.30am - 1st feed
10am - 2nd feed
1.30pm - 3rd feed
5pm - 4th feed
9.30pm - 5th feed

my gal doesn't follow 3hrly schedule strictly. after her last feed, she will sleep until the next morn, betw 5-6am.

jen,
try giving a bottle for the very first feed in the morning. i find dat my gal will drink from bottle if her first one is at abt 8am. if i try to give her first bottle late morning or afternoon, she will reject till i have no choice but to throw away the ebm.

Bean & Feb_mum, thanks for sharing your baby's feeding schedule. My baby's schedule more like Feb mum's, though I will try to feed him ealier if he missed his feeding for too long.

Jen, my baby turned once from his tummy to his back a few weeks back. Now he like to stick out his tongue to lick so I seldom put him on his tummy and if I put him on his tummy, it is only for a while and not enough time for him to do his turn again. Nowadays when we put him on the bed on his back, he is trying to flip over. He can only manage 45 degree so far, with his head in an akward position.

Mummies, don't leave your baby unattended on a bed, your baby may wiggle, crawl or flip during these or next few weeks.

ak, feb_mum - yeah lor, my baby's feeding schedule is pretty similar to ak's. Every 2-2.5hrs in the day and 3-3.5 hrs in the night. I also felt that his intake is alot cos he takes in 130ML each feed.

His current schedule is:

7.30am
10am
12.30pm
3pm
5.30pm
8pm
10.30pm
3.30am
6.30am

Total intake per day is over 1000ML!

In the day, usually when he drinks till the last 20-40ML, he will start to get irritated and refused to drink. My mum would insists that we coaxed him to finish it - otherwise, his next feeding time will be very soon - like within 2 hrs again. I used to think when he refused to drink it means he is full, but my mum said he is just irritated cos he wants to sleep and drink at the same time, so must coax him to finish. He would usually take another half an hour or so to finish the rest.

What do you think I should do? I have asked the PD and he said just feed whatever and whenever the baby wants. I guess the tough part here is to recognise if he is full.

feb_mum, rc - I went to buy the firming cream from Clarin last night and the lady recommended Body Shaping cream instead (she said it's their most popular item).

I have bought that and will let everyone knows the effectiveness

Hi Tinkles Mum, since your boy fuss during the last 20-40ml, maybe you all try to give him 30-40ml less. If he is hungry again 2hrs later, then let him have milk 2hrs later. At least each feeding takes less time and he takes what he can. Slowly, they will stretch their timing even without increasing their intake, like our babies. I tried to increase my boy's intake, but he can't take more than what he is taking even though his timing stretches. I believe if he don't have enough during each feeding, he won't seems satisfied and will look for milk.

Re: JP outing
Anybody knows where is the meeting point? and confirm is 2pm right?

Re: Feeding time
Thks mummies for sharing. Mine more like Tinkle_mum's schedule... Only in the evening time is diff. Bcoz currently, daytime I feed my girl with bottle, although she drinks but not much 50-100ml only.
After cleaning her, which is after 5.30pm then only I latch on.
Her schedule then change to:
6pm
8pm
9.30pm
3.30am
7.30am

Don't know is it bcoz she doesn't really want to drink from bottle, after cleaning she'll drink as if she is very hungry like that... 9.30pm that feed, usually she'll takes quite a while to drink then muahaha... is goodnight time...

I agree that the last feed before sleep, sometimes need to coax bb to drink. bcoz they want to sleep then tends to just drink a bit and sleep. last time when my bb 1st month also like that. then CL asked me to be patience and try to stop a while, burp her and continue to let her drink.

tinkles_mum - i think your bb's night sleeping hours are doing all right. at least he is sleeping a 5-hours stretch, given that he asks for milk abt 2.5 hours at other times. i fully understand that you wish that he can sleep from night till morning because i wish for it too. but we can't force it. at least this is much better than waking 2-3 times every night.

Hey Mummies:

My girl starts to sleep for the night around 6-7plus. Is that too early?

The next time she wakes up is not fixed. Mostly it's between midnight-3am. Then she will wake up 5-6am plus. I will bf her and the latest she will sleep is 7 plus-8plus.

In the daytime I latch her on demand, which is 1.5-2hrs. Normally after her nap she keeps awake for about 2 hours, then I will feed her and let her nap again.

As for the duration on the breasts, I will let my girl decide. When she starts to wiggle and seem disinterested I will burp her and change boob, until the same thing happen then I stop.