(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

today Rachel got her first book from me ... story book with helping songs
n Rachel like it very much. First time I saw her the book she smile then I press the song she laugh so cuute. Then I read story for her after that I gave her see the book now her turn make sound like read the book so happy

Sharon, you thaw the previous day frozen BM for your girl? If only 1 or 2 days no need to freeze. Just put in the fridge and take out to warm the next day.

re. hand on hubby
haiz.. i tink my hb is the worst here.. only plays with my boy.. the rest all will be me!

Tis morning rec'd call fr office.. asking me to extend my maternity leave for another mth coz now budgeting process delay to sep.. if i wan to go back early, i have to think of what to do coz the temp who is covering me will still be around till sep! so upset...

Ling, can't they ask the temp to help out in other things? You mean you requested to start earlier? If not why did they engage the temp till Sep in the first place?

baby may,
initial plan is budget is in aug, so get the temp to help out till sep..n i hv to return wk late jul. now budget delay to sep.. then i become the xtra 1! so fedup leh... i dun wan to take another month coz i want to save for future use for checkups, mum goes holi (she will take care of my boy), etc... so irritated!

How can your co do this to you? You let them know that you have already make arrangement to go back in late Jul already and ask them to deploy the temp to help out in other areas.

baby may,
tat's y... so irritating rite?? somemore, when i go back, i need to work with one colleague who is quite irritating on changing one of the processes! i dun noe if i can take it mah.. haiz! tt time becos of him, i took my maternity leave earlier.. now go back have to work with him, i think i will be v pek chek everyday! sorry ar.. complaining so much here...

Hi mummies... i do not dare to express that much, unless i m gg out tmrw or wat, then today i wil express 2 bottles out, so tat my mum can help feed my gal under her care.

my gal doesn't like bottle feed at all.. Be it EBM or formula, so long its from bottle feed, she will cry v loud and get choke (v heart pain) if we persist feeding her with the bottle cos she refused to swallow even though she is v hungry alrd. she wil turn to my breast area and try to suckle. my hb help me to feed her, she also dun wan. she only wanted to latch on the REAL THING!... only my mum feed her, then she wil drink half or 3/4 of the milk reluctantly.

Hence, we dare not to bring her out at all, cos we do not knw wat to do if she doesn't wan bottle feed oustside. The gathering with all the mummies was the 1st and only time we brought her out. i m buying the nursing shawl and waiting for the shipment to come but i dun thnk it solve e problem. If i go to work, i dunno hw she wil survive man.... really v sad and lost... any 1 can advice and face this?

even tutu she also dun wan....

baby_may: u taught me to trick her placing tutu near my breast, it also dun work. :-(

baby may,
I stored it since may is bcoz my CL asked me to do so. That time I very lazy to do it. But I also don't like her keep reminding me... so I just do it lor...
Now I want to thk her... haha... I think will call her and thk her lor...

<font color="ff0099"> glenlyn
my baby is also like that. so i don't pump at all cos she will throw out all the milk and very wasted. tutu also doesn't work on her, i bought tommee tippee cos its supposedly the closest to the nipple but she don't want.

i put at the breast area she also don't want. she only wants the REAL THING as well. its very difficult to go out, cos i have to bring her everywhere. and i went out to teach for 1 hr, she was crying non stop..

maybe u can try to cup feed her.. cos that's what i'm intending to do if she really cries so loudly but i'm not at home..

i feed her water with a syringe.. i've kept my sterilizer and bottles already since its of no use..

u can bring her out since she likes to latch.. but yeah, the problem is when u go back to work..

some say to be harsh n don't "care" when baby cries.. and "force" her to take bottle.but i cannot bring myself to be hard hearted. so i've failed in that aspect.

re: binders
if anyone wants to pre-order, let me know ok? via sms or PM because quite hard to follow the thread.
my dad will be flying back either 3rd week or 4th week of july.. latest will be 1st august.

thank u and hope u all have received the binders already!!

Hi Audrey,
Thanks for the binder!! My mum says that if it works, she will use mine after i have slimmed down.

Re: Rejecting bottles Club =P
Hmm, looks like we can form a club liaoz..

1)Poohwei
2)Audrey
3)Glenlyn
4)Kerene

We have been trying for 1 week to introduce bottle even tho she has taken bottles b4. We have been very firm. My gal will cry for the whole afternoon until her voice is so hoarse! Very pitiful. Se will cry until her face is so red. She seems to have slimmed down also cos she goes on milk strike in the day. Today, from 10am to 5pm, she took only 70ml (after her last latch at 10am). No choice, at 5pm, have to latch her again. Night time, she will latch every 2 hourly.

I have tried NUK latex, NUK silicon, Pigeon....

Sometimes, i just feel like giving up..But when i return to work..nightmare will resume again. I am thinking of syringe feed or cup feed. My hubby says just "xin tong" a bit, let her go on hunger for 24 hours!!! then sure will take bottle..I almost fainted. Haiz, i am even contemplating of taking no pay leave until she is abt 4 months old. At least, can pump her with cereals and puree in the day time then.

Hi Dodo,
Luckily my #1 loves my ebm and have not rejected it yet, if not i will have no incentives to pump....But then again, if i dun pump, will kena fever again!! So no chance of me keeping the steriliser.

Hi Abby,
Its like that! When they grow older, you will wonder why they keep pestering you. You will hope for more time where they will not stick to u.

Now, i am keeping my #1 entertained in the highchair with videos from You-tube.

babymay, my mil has never taken care of her 2 sons since newborn stage so she is not experience at all...but she likes to involve in everything we do..sometimes i dont listen to her cos i think is not the right way...i will seek help from this forum or read up magazines/website to find out more...

ur mil is very kind to offer to help so u both can enjoy some couple life outside...now the main problem is my mil is very anxious whenever i say i wan to bring bb out...tmr i am bringing bb to my parents' hse...she keep asking me questions like wat time go, wat time come back, how much fm i bring out....i am the main caregiver for my bb..of cos i knw what is best for him right...

ling, so sad to hear that ur company treat u like that...very unfair leh...how can they ask u to think what u can do if u go back early ? if u insist to go back early, will they agree or not ? this incident ever happen to one of my ex-col in my ex-company...in the end my ex-col was forced to extend her ML also..

Glenlyn, since she does drink if your mother feed, maybe you 'disappear' for one day and ask your mother to try feeding for a day. Then maybe she will get used to the bottle.

Sharon, yeah, you should thank her. At least you would have stock when you go back to work. She seems quite pro breastfeeding, still give you this advice.

Porky, we don't have to listen to our MIL every time. We must be firm with what we feel is right. I think in the end, they will follow what we want since we are the mummies.

poohwei - yes, i'm a sec sch teacher.

re bottle feeding - it helps if it's not the mum who does the bottle feeding. bb will associate us with the breast. get hb/mil to give the bottle. try substitution - start bottle feed with the feed dat bb is most likely to be hungriest/tired etc.

i very kiasu, afraid bb will reject bottle so fr 2nd mth, when bb still blur blur, oreadi start bottle. dun wan headache when i need to return to work, for dat matter, when i need to go out without bb.

Tinkles Mum

i had postnatal blue when i finish my confinement go back to stay with my mil. U know what she did, can say she snatch away my baby. I cant lock my door, every morning 10.30am she will came in to my room and bring bb out. When bb cry, she run faster then me. She dun allow me to carry jayden. She say later bb too close with me. Bath feeding everything she do. I almost cried every night silently. I told my hubby what happen, he dun believe. When my hubby is back from work she will act bring bb to me and let me carry. 1am then bring my boy back to my room and sleep.

Reverse Cycle bfg,

For those bbs who reject bottles totally, you can try this method.. feed bb only at evening &amp; nite when you are with the bb, meaning in the day, they skip milk totally while you are at work! Sounds weird? yes.. some pple does that 'cos bb dun take bottles. you may wish to search in google on how to do it!

I'm trying to search for the info..

pumping outside:
Today I went out from 11.30am to 5pm, so I need to express once outside. Brought along my pump, funnel, bottles, cooler bag with ice bag. Went for a farewell lunch with colleagues, then visit my dad at the hospital.. I expressed in my dad's ward, using nursing shawl to cover up!

When we express the BM, how long can we leave it in room temperature? is it 1-2hr? later i want to express out n bring out.. but i dun hv cooler bag..

Morning everyone!
Anyone encounter babies sleep more than 9 hours and didn't wake up for milk? My girl had her last feed at 12 midnight yesterday. At 6plus I woke up pump milk but she has not woke up to feed as usual. So I let her sleep and I fall back to sleep too. At 920am, I woke up and she is still sleeping. I cannot take it anymore, I woke her up to drink milk. She finished 150ml. But she didn't cry or anything. Is it normal ah? Or is she just being lazy to wake up for milk?

Yesterday I finally cannot tahan and cried for the first time. A little while later cry again. My husband took a cab home yesterday.

In a while's time going to Jurong Point with my aunt and grandma.

bean, was your bb very tired yesterday? did she drink more during the day? heard some mummies said cluster feed during day will make them sleep longer...

my gal also stretched her feeding time yesterday -- 6pm - 2am... she woke up crying for milk though...

abby, hope shopping @ JP will lift up ur mood!

Bean, my boy also can go without milk for a long time. Last night 10pm drink until morning 7am then cry for milk. In between around 4 plus got eh eh eh, I give pacifier then he sleep already. I suspect if I give pacifier at 7, he will continue to sleep. But I also worried he too long go without milk. My boy has been like that since a few weeks ago. If he wake up in the middle of the night and we give him pacifier, he will continue to sleep. But sometimes I am also very worried if he goes without milk for too long and will make milk for him.

adv_sports, there was once my boy also feed at 6pm. Then when we tried to wake him up at 12, he just don't want to wake up. 2am then he wake up, but not crying for milk, just eh eh eh. I wake up to make milk for him though I think he will be contented with pacifier.

baby_may, after the 2am feed, my bb woke up @ 5am... i gave her the pacifier but she cries when it dropped from her mouth... finally tahan till 6am then i latch her on :p

Pacifier > Think better dun introduce pacificer too much as it may not stimulate our bb to q for milk. Their brain might think that what they are sucking will make them full so try not to give them pacifier too long or alot unless overly cranky.

1st week of work > Stressed already.

any idea how many hours can a baby goes without feed? my baby can last about 6 hours now (9pm - 3am). not sure if i should try to stretch it further.

ling_lim - ebm can be put at air-con room temp (24 degrees celsius) for 4 hours. note that normal temp is higher than 24 degrees, so it is not advisable to keep it outside for too long.

iBite - i signed up for the 10 sessions package at $198. my baby liked it when we brought him there for the first time last week. we are bringing him there again this weekend.

Ibite, I just brought my boy for trial yesterday. 50 dollars. He enjoys it n came back slept well. He was on 2 days sleep strike n didn't nap during day n play non stop. Last night he knocked out.

I didn't sign packages cos I heard weekend very crowded n once I go back to work cannot go weekday leh. Summo I need to drive there. Anyway,the punggol branch giving free playmat for packages signed.

I'm thinking of getting the inflatable tub n let him swim at home, cos the hua xia water temp also not very hot. Anyone knows where to buy?

I signed up with the Hwa Xia as well. Claire tried it for 2 lessons already. Think she likes it very much. Nowadays will bathing. She thought its swimming and will auto splash water all over me and kick her legs! AIYO..

Hi Yuki, sorry to hear about your story with your MIL. So are you still staying with her? Are you feeling better now?

My mom is abit like your MIL but after the first mth, I told her firmly what i want - like I want to bathe Jonas, when I wan to feed him, and don't snatch him away from me when I am halfway through putting him to sleep.

Did you try to tell her that you need to be hands-on so that you can take care of Jayden and let him get used to your style of caregiving? Cos I realise my boy gets calm down by my mom sooner than by me cos of the way he is used to her body and her patting manner (when we are coaxing the baby to sleep).

I don't want that to become a habit such that baby cant get used to us anymore.

Try talking to your MIL?

i also thnk if buying the tub at hme for my bb to swim, is it cheaper this way? cos i saw BABY_MAY posted the link is just $80 (tub plus float) for all isit? guess is more hygiene if we do it at hme right?

bean bean: hw much u sign for that package?

Baby May 09, Adv Sports, Bean:

Maybe too bored at home alone with baby. No one to talk to until hb come home at night. But after he come home also must sleep soon if not don't have enough sleep.

Feel unfulfilled...

Everyday have to entertain my girl with no one to take over unless my hb at home. Everyday the same thing...Very difficult to go out with her by myself.

Tired also cannot nap. At night get interrupted sleep.

Today went JP. My aunt bought 2 sets of everything to put at her hse and my sis so that I can go over to stay.

How is everyone.. Today is my 3rd day at work and has been going for meetings

I feel super sad when I reached home and my girl told me I MISS U MUMMY.. and when she told me MUMMY CAN YOU PLS DUN GO TO WORK..
Those words are heartbreaking..

Yesterday during dinner, she told me again I WANT MUMMY TO FEED ME, DUN WANT AMA TO FEED..
haiz.. counting down to sahm time..

As for my boy, he is perhaps too young to understand that mummy is not around hehe..