(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

It'd been a long time since I posted! Been busy with baby who had flu and cough! It was a nightmare cos she can't breathe with her stuffy nose and keeps crying and wants to be carried, especially at night. Many sleepless nights.. Finally now she's better but still a bit blocked nose and cough. Hope all the babies here are well and healthy!

Re: Gathering
I wanna go! So sad i missed the 1st gathering cos baby was sick. the pics on FB are so cute! But dunno if my mum will let me go or not, esp. with the H1N1 and baby just recovered. so far, haven't go out alone with baby before, always with my mum or hubby or both. Can I go without baby? Jean, if I can go, I share cab with u? isit shun lu? dunno if I can manage baby alone or not..

Re: Milk
I also supplementing with FM but only at night cos i wanna baby to sleep longer. I find that pump matters a lot. I used to use Medela Mini Electric and it was painful and takes me one hr to pump. I bought Avent Isis iQ Uno and pumping time reduced to 30mins (i'll extend to 45mins if i want more milk) and I can get more. Most impt is not painful and sometimes feel relieved during letdown. Oh, i took fenugreek 3 times a day and Organic Mother's Milk tea to increase my supply but not much but so far, enough for baby.
TinklesMum - (If I'm not wrong)if u put the expressed milk in the fridge and u look at it after a while, u can see three layers, the top thick white one is fatty milk (i think cos it floats), the middle one is milk in general, and the bottom clear clear liquid is foremilk, mainly water to quench baby's thirst. I always like to observe these three layers and I notice milk pumped early in the morn will have more water and if later in the day, will have more fats.

Re: Diapers
I love Goon! But a bit ex so using Nepia now. So far so good, but dunno if it's too big, sometimes if baby poos alot, the poo will flow all the way to the back and sometimes stain her clothes or the bed. Anyone else encounter this too?

Re: Going back to work
I think i'll be the last few to go back to work. Only going back to work end-Sep cos my parents (baby's main caregiver after I go back to work) will be going on holiday in Sep so I took 4months of ML + 1month of annual leave to stay at home to look after baby until my parents are back. Think go back to work will be rusty liao. Anyone taking long leave too?

Re: baby's schedule
Does your baby stick to a certain routine/schedule? Due to baby being sick, her routine all go haywire. How to tune her back? I used flashcards on my baby but she doesn't seem interested.. >.<

Adv

Y after u latch mustsupplement with fm? yr baby not contented after latching? hm.. i think just latch religiously, your milk supply will sure increase..

my boy is on bottle during office hour now (will be working next wed already!) so my schedule is like:

am - 8.30 pump both Bs (220ml)
1pm - pump both Bs (200 ml)
5 pm - pump 1 B (100ml) and latch bb
evening - total latch at 7pm, 9+pm (bb zz) til about 11/12/1 (depends on what time he wakes up) then wake up again about 5am for feeding. after which he will be on bottle..

How much should we feed bb now? if on ebm, my boy feed every 2 hourly and 90ml each feed.

Tiny

I think if your bb just recovers, better dun go out first. their immune system is not mature yet, hence might catch bugs easily..

Wow u got long leave!! So envy..

Re: layer ofmilk
I have been observing my milk also... but how come mine 95% are fatty milk (the white thick and floating), the rest are those clear liquid in the bottom.. (only saw 2 layers hehehe)

My boy is using GooN.. love it lot! sometimes i think due to positioning (bb wiggles a lot) tts y poo goes to the back.. it even flows to the front as well ehhehe..

prawnmee, on average my bb is taking 120ml per 4hr feed... i feed on demand -- will not wake her up...
- latch 15min per B @ 4-5am, sup FM 30-60ml if needed (usually no need as she is sleepy)
- EBM 60ml + FM 60-90ml @ 8am
- FM 90-120ml @ 12pm, pump abt 60ml
- latch 15min per B @ 4pm, sup FM 30-60ml if needed (sometimes if bb is super hungry)
- EBM 80-100ml + FM 30-60ml @ 8pm
- FM 90-120ml @ 12am, pump abt 80-100ml

rc_cola, think my supply is not enough -- so after latch, my bb may asked for more... ur supply good leh

Adv
My bb only latches 1 B.. sometimes we both fell asleep together until his next feed hahaha...

Mine okay only, some mummies here can produce really a lot!!!

rc_cola, how long do ur bb latch on? mine only 10-15min per B... think she lets go of my B when no more milk -- so i switch to next B... yah, the 4am feed, i had a hard time staying awake! my bb is staying in her own room now -- so i only go to her room when i hear her cry

adv
I dunno the exact time.. probably about 15-30mins... mine let go himself when i press my B stil hard... tt means he is full already..

hi Lily,

I also let my gal took the 2 jabs n rotavirus dose also... also feeling heartache... haiz

ibite,
Actually I'm on waiting list for Learning Vision @ my workplace. therefore I have to put her at PAT'S schoolhouse first.most prob until Nov. VERY EX lor! 1700 before subsidy. Learning Vision after subsidy and staff discount I only need to pay $190. haiz, so I'll need to eat bread for the time being...

Poohwei, hope u are getting better.

Re: JP gathering

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon

adv,
thanks for answering my question.. i always wake my bb up for his feed when it is the time.. my bb have not develope his schedule yet, i wonder i should let him to schedule it himself or i should schedule for him.. my bb feeding time can vary from 2.5hr to 4hr.. 4hr is bcos he just fall at sleep @ 2.5hr after feed..

Hi Sharon
I just went to see a GP again cos fever came back. GP said that my breast dun look so inflamed cos it was not ultra red. However, she still prescribed some medication which are breastfeeding safe for me.

Your learning vision is at Temasek Lab issit? My #1 is at learning vision@Kent Vale. You are right to say that with corporate subsidy, it means a lot of difference.

RE: Childcare services
For MOE teachers, you may want to enrol ur kids at Learning Vision (MOE) HQ branch @ Buona Vista (toddlers onwards only) to enjoy corporate rate of $190+.

For NUS staff, you can enrol ur kids at Learning Vision@ Kent Vale(toddlers onwards only) to enjoy corporate rate of $190+.

Think those people working at the polytechnic that has learning vision branch also enjoy corporate rate.

Public rate after Working mum subsidy is ard $600.

Downside!! Long Waitlist of 1 yr!! Hence, if you intend to enrol your kids there, be kiasu, put down ur name first.

Hi feb_mum, thanks. Like Tiny M, I am taking Fernugreek and Organic Mother's Milk. I think it helps a little but not increase the supply drastically la.

Currently now, my baby drinks 120ML that last him for 2, max 3 hrs only! He goes through 8-10 feeds per day. He is a big drinker la so no enough for him. If I pump for 5 time a day, then on average, I would need at least 200ML per express - which is still far from what I have now.

I heard water intake play an impt role too. How much water do you guys drink in a day? I try to drink at least 2 litres - is that sufficient?

Layers of Milk
I also have 2 layers leh - mine mainly foremilk. How to get more fatty hind milk that fills up my baby huh?

Poohwei,
mine is Learning Vision @ KKH. I reserved it since 2nd month of pregnancy. Till now still don't have vacancy for me... haiz... I think they got priority for those who has siblings at the childcare. That's why I'm still on waiting list. But they told me I should be able to get it on Nov.

Re: rotavirus injection for the 2nd month
this is not listed in the health book, rite?
is it a must to bring the baby for this injection?
is this injection available at the ployclinic?

what other optional childhood immunisation(s) is needed for baby 2nd month?

Mummies ...

just back frm toa payoh n got time to log in now.

Mummies "Telon Oil" is here now
when u wanna take it?

Tinkles Mum,
monday morning im going to KKH n after that wanna go united square. How? Can we meet there?

twinkle,
yest my gal got jab for 6 in 1, pneumocal (1st dose) n rotavirus (1st dose) toal $700+ n same for 4 months. for 6 months only last jab for 6 in 1 n 3rd dose for pneumocal. 8 months got last jab for pneumocal.

Lily
My boy is also born not big, was 2.965kg at birth

Wah your doc's jab is so exp.
Mine total up only S$360
6in1 - 90
pneumo -170
rota - 100

Anyone wanna share the blank flash cards based on the contact given by poohwei. I am keen but a bit too many if only for myself..

Sharon,

Dun need eat bread lah..hee.. Eat hawker food lor. :p Pat's school house is branded sch leh. That's why. That goes to say you are paying $1000+ for yr infant care service? Wow!!How is the teacher-child ratio like for Pat's?

Re: Immunisation
Rotavirus vaccine is to prevent diarrhea etc. Is common in babies. Is not compulsory but the vaccine need to be completed within 24wks.
Lily, U took the 6 in 1 package is it? That's y added to 700+?
I din't take, so mine is only 400+.

Re:IFC
Poohwei, PAT'S school teacher-child ratio is 1:3.
Ya is very expensive! I just don't think about it and waiting for learning vision(LV) la... haiz... otherwise i'll feel heartache with the money... But my colleagues told me their service is so much better than LV. ok, just take it as give my bb 3 months business class infant care, after that change back to economy class..

Hello mummies, I havent been posting for quite long.. Me staying at JW and would like to join the gathering too.. I wont be bringing baby though..

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon
10. Vera

Re: GD
I ordered the blank cards from Hiap Moh and for different card size, they have a min number as they cut it from a big card. Eg for the maths card, the 11" by 11" the number of cards will be 600 even though I only need 200 cards. It cost me around $48 + 7% GST..

As for the dots, I bought from popular. The numbers I printed myself and pasted onto the blank cards. Its lotsa work but its quite fun, like art and crafts..

tinyM, long time no see u post ! finally u are back again...that would be great if u can go and share cab with me...else me alone from punggol to JP is so ex...and somemore we can chat inside the cab not so boring..haha...dont worry so much lah, u have to try to bring bb out alone...but ur bb justg recover, u consider whether to go or not loh...

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon
10. Vera
11. porky_jean

sharon,
the rotavirus must be completed by 24wks ar? i still tot of taking that when my boy goes for his 2nd 6-in-1 jab..

Lily,
u give ur gal take pneumocal so early? like tt have to jab 3-4 times leh.. im thinking of taking that when he is 6mths old.. less jab

porky,
I wont be going for the JP gathering.. that day i cant make it.. got plan already

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon
10. Vera
11. porky_jean
12. SK (tentatively)

Ling Lim> Mamy Poko is softer I reckon. Yes, and thinner.

I will like to join in for the JP gathering also!! Shermin and myself went to JP extension before i gave birth and we got lost!!!

most probably, i will bring shermin out instead of shermay because of H1N1. my mum and in law have already 'warned' me not to bring her out if possible..

tiny_m, long time no see. so glad to know that u succeed in bfg!!! hehhee... jia you!!

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon
10. Vera
11. porky_jean
12. SK (tentatively)
13. Shers

shers, u gg also ? great ! hahaha...JP so big until u get lost ah...i never been there...hope i wont get lost on that day...

porky, that time once i got out of MRT, i feel so lost! whahhaa... i didnt manage to walk all... just a small part only..

i think ibite must let us know a venue to meet up is better.. whahhaa.. then lead us in!

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon
10. Vera
11. porky_jean
12. SK (tentatively)
13. Shers
14. ak

.... when is the JP's gathering? keke....

hi mummies... i've been reading on and off... coz busy with bb and stuff.. hope tt u ladies are getting on real fine!

re jp

i didnt manage to walk the whole jp too cause too many ppl difficult to walk also esp those foreign workers there alot... i kana molest there when i am around 6month pregnant got one worker touch my butt.. ==!

Date: 20th July (Mon)
Time: 2pm.

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon
10. Vera
11. porky_jean
12. SK (tentatively)
13. Shers
14. ak

I find JP quite "complicated" in the evening. A lot of foreign workers there. I hate late classes then in NIE,surely bump into those foreign workers! Argghh

Wow, gathering at JP. I am very keen, but abit far. So many people here stay at Jurong hor. Take cab sure very ex. I try to take MRT and see if I can manage with Ming Yang. If not, I consider going without him. From what time to what time is the gathering?

Hi Lily, what time will you be at United Square? It is above Novena MRT, right? I see whether I can collect it from you on Monday. If not, is it convenient if I ask my hubby to collect it from your house in Yishun? Cause his office is there. By the way, how much is it? We pay you when we collec the oil, can?

Chang Xuan went on milk strike at 5 weeks old, cos she insist to be latched on. From 11am to 7pm yesterday, she only took 130ml of ebm. From 7pm till this morning, she latched for at least 7 times. Grr..Must start training her on bottle liaoz.

If i have nothing on that day, i will join u gals. In fact, i was shopping at JP on my edd with my fren n ate at Zhou kitchen 2 hours b4 my water bag burst..hehehe

Date: 20th July (Mon)
Time: 2pm.

1.iBite
2.juju78
3.feb_mum
4.okipoki
5.GraceofGod
6.joyce_yong
7.yuki_lim
8.Win
9. Sharon
10. Vera
11. porky_jean
12. SK (tentatively)
13. Shers
14. ak
15.Poohwei(tentative)

Baby_May,
monday i there ard lunch time after my sis finish she her gynae at KK. Can also which one ok to u. 1 bottle 60ml $3. I got spare 1 more bottle. Can pay when u take the oil
Rachel like it finish shower massage her with that oil.

<font color="ff0099"> lily
i think i won't wait until 6 months 15 day haha. i will pierce her ears maybe next month haha. </font>

Hi Lily,

I can meet you at United Square or KKH - what time and where is convenient for you?

I PM you my mobile now.

Oh - pls let me know how much to pay you k.

Thanks so much

Anybody know where i can get Enfalac AR.. Tried looking for it at NTUC, Cold Storage and Guardian but cant find it..PD asked me to change from friso comfort to Enfalac AR cos it will help with Marcus's regurgitation..