(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

those not having any full month party...dont feel so sad...mayb cause of swine flu...no crowd at home is good also...mine is the opposite...mil wan face...invite so many ppl...now my list is like 70+pax...and my house so tiny...i wonder how they gg to walk ard my house...corridor also limited space...but i tell my mil that i wont allow anyone go inside bb room...i scare too much germs spreading....somemore some relatives just came back from overseas...

I be having my bb gal's full month celebration next Sun and the list might be about 80pax. Cool...that's not a gd number to manage loh. I be just having 12-6pm function cos scare might drag till late evening.

I hope I can manage on that day. I be having a buffet plus giving out cakes. Siong ah.

graceofgod,
i usu rub my nipples & cover them wif some expressed bm before giving to bb, but she still bite.
wat is Mother Mates? where can buy?

Full mth celebration:
My guest list:
Friends - pm abt 80pple
relatives - evening abt 100pple
Kids already 2 = 1
I will normally order 80% of the headcount.. usually food just enuf. 'cos usually we will make vinegar pork leg & rice wine chicken + big cake

I will run the event like from 12pm till late evening.. will be very tired tt day..

Luckily I have only 3 other neighbours and we are near the lift lobby.. so buffet table will be there + 2 other tables for guest to sit.

ling, same loh...i also use my neighbour space...very paiseh leh...u knw lah, punggol hse the corridor all very limited one..

sk, i put my function time 11.30am - 4pm...i dont want drag till so late cos need to tidy up also...wah u give cakes also very siong leh...i give only a few place 1 day in advance

juju, I got mother mates from my gynae when I told her about the sore and cracked nipples. These two silicone patches are to be put on breasts in between feeds.

porky.. ya understand.. our area real small.. just let ur neighbour know in adv.. if frenly, shld be no prob..

hihi..

today just had my bb full mth celebration.. was so busy that i didnt take any pics!!! whahaha... my cousin took some.. so hopefully can grab from him..

had neo garden as caterer as well.. my guest list is 90+.. so i ordered for 80 pax... all finished except pineapple fried rice, curry and butter prawns!! quite good estimation this time!

and luckily this time, only had a few presents.. had mainly hong baos!

its good to have 2 sessions if big group but keep the sessions short so that bb and ourselves will not be tired.

mine is 11am to 3pm because need to hand over function room at 3pm. so families and relatives at 11am - 1pm and friends/ colleagues at 1pm - 3pm.. and best thing is i dont have to clear up the mess.. just tao bao the remaining food and go home! hehhee..

then straight home, bb showered and me had a quick shower too.. and we zzzz till 7pm!

i ate some buffet food as well!! whahhaa.. nearly drank the cold drinks!! so tempting!

oki, my breasts r not hard after pumping for right though right has much lesser supply. dont know y.. not sure whether got hidden blocked ducts ornot..

adv_sports, i didnt pump regularly. just once in the morning, sometimes once in the noon before i nap, once before i slp at nite and 1 more time in the middle of nite. the rest of time, i just latch on.

I'm going to deliver soon and is packing my hospital bag, am wondering how many breast pads and maternity pads to pack?
How many night gowns should I bring for natural birth.
Hope the new mothers in this forum can help

Hi Ah Ching,
Not too sure which hospital are u going to deliver. In Mt A, the hospital will provide 1 pack of loop pads. So I will just bring another 1 pack along in case all used up. As for breast pads I only brought 4 pairs but didnt use cos my milk still havent come. Normally for natural delivery is 3D2N so is depend on urself how many night gowns u would like to bring

Hi Okipoki,

Thanks! I'm delivering at TMC. I bought the Pureen pads as I heard the loop pads very difficult to use. But some other mums says the Sofy night pads are enough.. The Pureen pads are so long and thick I wonder whether comfortable or not.

Hi Ah Ching,
Depending on ur lochia flow cos Mt A used Kotex and they put 2 pads to contain the flow. I beg it wont be comfortable but it might be good in containing it.

Cant comment on TMC, will need the rest of the mummies who delivered there to advise u

HI okipoki,

I think I'll just bring the whole pack of Pureen pads.
I think the Pureen pads quite similar to Kotex.
If need 2 pads to contain flow, then the flow must be quite a lot...
Thanks for the advice.

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $150

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $8

4)huggies ultra super jumbo pack M size selling at $18, or exchange with its L size.

5) Avent pacifier 3-6mths, pink & yellow, with teddy bear design selling at $8

pls pm if interested-
self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

Gd morning ladies!

today is my 4th day of postnatal...
have been enjoying it..haha

Re: Breastmilk
Shers, your supply really alot....*envy*

Re: Pads
Ah Ching, the Sofy night pads are really good...i bought the 40cm long ones & i used up abt 4 during the hospital stay and they are not as bulky as the kotex ones.

Oki, finally ur confinement over!

Re: CL
juz wanna complain abit here...
My current CL is better than the #1 but then i got some problems talking to her...everything i tell her, she will 'orh orh orh' but still repeat...want to faint.

basically the problem with her is reaction too fast..she always feed my bb milk everytimes she cries, never really check if she is wet or poo....and get the EBM ready before 3 hour interval regardless day or night, and she carry my bb non-stop. Actually i find that no good coz when she leaves then i might have prob adjusting back my bb not to be carried all the time liao! told her and she "orh orh orh"...jiak lat...

Haiz...still no sign of baby popping. Walked round Vivo yesterday liaoz..Edd is wed and i have gynae appt later.. Most prob will be discussing abt inducing liao.

Just to check, is it too long to wait for 3 days after edd before i induce? Thinking of inducing on friday if baby dun come out...

good morning ladies

oki & shers, aiyoh, neo garden food sounds yummy! i gotta ren for another week before my confinement is over.... arghhh...

re: sore nipple
ju, yah, i also rub some milk on nipple before feeding... if bb is not crying, usually can latch on immediately... else, she will anyhow grab n bite my nipple *ouch*

grace, mother mates sounds gd for sore nipples... hmm, wonder can get from pharmacy?

re: B size
liewb, seems like the smaller B has lesser milk... usually after 20min, no milk when i try to squeeze some to rub on sore nipple... the bigger size still hv milk after a feed...

re: growth spurt
bb suddenly grows in appetite -- need to feed on both B since yesterday... nipple more sore as less rest time...

re: wash hair
porky, u can really loon -- 2 weeks still hv not wash hair!

i cannot tahan as i hv long hair -- washed after a week.. this final week, can wash every alternate day *yeah*

Hi, see all mummies hav delivered. any mummy have seen friends delivered after 41 weeks? My EDD is 19 May and gynae tell me to wait after 41 weeks to be induce. Kinda worry baby inside can wait after 41 weeks. Is it better to induce or c-sect?

poohwei,

actually my gynae says that usually induction can be done at 41 wks, so 3 days after EDD not too late.
like for me, the initial plan to induce my bb was 6 days after EDD but surprisingly bb decided to come out 4 days after my EDD

i think in this thread, only muffintop & my bb are overdue bbs..

hi, sorry to intrude...

I've a car seat to sell, very good condition almost like brand new.
Bought less than 2 months ago, and very seldom used.
Those times when my boy does sit, I will always have a covering layer over it.

Details -
1. Striking red and black colour combo
2. Suitable from infant to toddler (0 to 18 kg)
3. 5 point harness
4. Convertible & reclinable - can be used both rear and forward facing
5. Wrapped in protective plastic to keep it dust free

Selling for $130, self-collect at my place at Bt Batok.
Pls PM me for pictures.

ju, aiyoh, will ur bb open her eyes to see? mine always turn to the wrong side and i had to use finger to guide her... if position ok, she won't bite... if she cries and closes her eyes, then i will kena bitten

adv_sport, mine similar to urs.. haha.. rite side, he will turn to the other side,.. olways wrg side... dun noe y like that hor.. keke..

ling, thot bb very good with smell... should know right? when my hubby or mum carried her, she won't aim for B... if i carry her, she will naturally turn inwards for B :p

adv_sport, mine hor.. will not just turn to me for B.. when my mum carrys him, he will oso.. think he dun recognise my 'smell' yet ar! :p

Hi nineonefive

Thanks Thanks. Feel like inducing on friday cos i can be discharged on Sunday mah. Easier for everyone. Then hubby can maximise his paternity leave. Hahaha.

Now praying that baby will come out on her own. But then again..dunno if i will be so heng. Both #1 and #2 are the only 5% that arrives on EDD...If so, can go buy 4D liaoz.

ling, izzi becoz ur confinement over and u can shower daily -- smell change oledi?? :p

poohwei, did u get anything @ mattel warehouse sale? continue to enjoy feasting before #2 is out

adv,
mine eyes open big big, but dunno why she always go for my arm! then i have to guide her to nipple, then she kiss the side of B! haiz... in the end, when she get nipple, she's so upset, she bite liao.
but last nite i tried softening nipple, she bite a bit softer, but still bite.

Hi Congratulations to mummies who just gave birth! Wish mummies who are going to deliver a smooth delivery.

Haven't been active for quite sometimes. My baby would be awake for several hours during morning and evening time like 6 - 11 am/pm. This morning, he cried from 2.30 until 4am after feed. Super tired!

Milk supply still low and baby refused to latch on when he's super hungry. He's also having problem to latch on to the right breast. Having block duct, went to see lactation consultant, Doris Fok at NUH last friday as I'm afraid my supply will dry up. Doris massaged me and managed to clear some ducts. No pain as I told her I've sore nipples as I've tried hand express for previous 2 days. She's very gentle and really gave me a lot of encouragement unlike those LC in KKH. Although I have low milk supply, my top is always wet during feeding time, I gave up using breastpad, just let the clothes dry by itself, breastpad is too expensive, will use when I'm outdoor.

Glad that my confinement will be over soon. I've arranged Angeli Catering for buffet this sat evening at cousin's place in function room, inviting only mum's relative and my husband's family. Using this caterer for the 2nd time while my mum's church always use it for almost all events and weddings.

Hi adv_sports,

Didn't get anything much at the mattel sales cos it was very disappointing this round. They only had 10% of the goods that they used to sell previously and all the goods are more ex this round. Lets see if Dec will have better sales.

I am still feasting!!

liewb, mine was induced at 41 weeks. I think the good thing is bb is very developed, but of course its a long long wait.

915, how are u and bb?

I haven't been posting cos this is such an overwhelming experience! I'm on tbf, so hardly get any sleep. Following the guidelines of not pumping till 6 weeks to establish the demand and supply.

Confinement
I have been washing my hair and bathe daily since day 4. cannot tahan in this weather.

hi ah ching, i also deliver in TMC. u can use the maternity pads provided there...anyway is charge to ur bill...i never use the loops..just stack 2 pads together and use..i bring 5pairs breast pads cos TMC no provide this..and 2 pjs..

JasC:
Breastpad:
You can get Avent washable breastpad to be used at home!

muffintop:
Keep it up! I'm doing the same, will only pump if I feel some lumps on my Bs, but, will not empty them as I want bb to hv milk when she is hungry!

oki - i'm deciding on my caterer for full mth celeb tis sun. looks like neo garden is gd choice. can share the menu you picked? which r the gd items?

re confinement - realised many of you are so disciplined. i've been showering and washing my hair every day! today, i'm gg out to get a haircut - looks like a shaggy dog nw ;p

adv, ya...i haven wash my hair yet...i also shoulder length hair...always bun up loh..

ling, my mil carry my bb then she say my bb wan drink her milk also...faint twice...

ju, u very funny lah...say ur bb bite u to confirm is nipple...hahaha

shers, so good leh..got function room...i hope my house wont get so messy after the party..else very tiring ah..still need to clear up the mess...

Poohwei, this is ur #3? anyway i understand how u r feeling now..i everyday also asked bb to come out during that 4 days..the waiting feeling was so sian coz everyone is asking if bb is out etc..

JustMe, i'm 915 not 905..heheh
oh din realised u also overdue

Hi Muffintop! long time no see u online! BB and I doing fine. She turns out to be better than expected, so thank god!

I have been washing hair the moment i got home from hospital..hehe..too hot and gross liao.

915, my CL dont always carry my bb when he cries..she wil pat pat and talk to him first...if he really cried too loud and too long..then she will carry him up...she say if carry too much, next time i will have a difficult time...but my mil believes in carrying whenever bb cries...

Hi nineOnefive,

This is my #2. #1 was born on edd. See if #2 also so zhun..born on edd..Dun think got hope of giving birth in the afternoon liaoz..Still no painful contractions...

poohwei, oic...juz be patient
my #1 was born 1 day before wk 39...everyone tells me #2 will be earlier...ended up i waited and waited..she finally popped on wk40+4days...
Dun worry can be faster than u expected de! like i only got contractions and show on wk40+4 ard 11am like dat..then 2pm when i called the labour ward they told me not so fast coz contractions was only 15-20 mins apart and not that painful...but i went to hospital at 4pm anyway....then the moment they checked me @ 530pm i was already 4cm dilated. Then 630pm they burst the waterbag and before i know it, #2 appeared at 730pm!...So u never know..maybe u might pop before the day ends

Porky, that's exactly what i am afraid of..i told my CL not to carry so much wait i will have this problem...but i think she cannot tahan bb cry ba..the moment my bb make a sound, she dashed to carry her up liao....told her so many times still like dat...but i dun want to scold her coz overall i appreciate that esp at night when i am sleeping..at least i know the CL will not fall asleep. My #1 CL fell asleep with my #1 on her lap last time....

poohwei- the waiting is tough, isn't it? my #1 came at 37wks so i reali waited neck long long for my #2, who oni came at 39wks. but delivery of #2 was fast, was admitted at 7am and she came out at 10.30am. i oni experienced the epi side effects after the delivery! hang in there, bb knows the best time for arrival. :)

hihi...

oki just came over my place to pick up the voucher. WOW!!! she looks so slim lor *ENVY*

porky, ya lor.. luckily my place got function room, else i think i will faint! cannot stand my walls with fingerprints, my floor with drink spill, etc... *FAINT*

after the celebration, my bb was kinda cranky.. though before celebration, i whispered to her ears not to listen to other pple's saying abt her... haiz.. luckily cranky for a few hrs.. else i die!

915, ur CL can dash to carry ur bb whenever he cries ah...mine is always so busy inside the kitchen...sometimes my bb cries, she will wait a while then go to see...then my mil will go see first and carry my bb up before my CL can do it...anyway i have told my mil dont make it a habit to carry bb...she is not very pleased with me now lah...

feb_mum,

i received the milk bags.. but i forgot to transfer to u!!!

realised u stay in bukit batok.. i'm moving to my mama place at bukit batok this sat onwards.. y not i meet u then.. and pass to u the $$??