(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

ju, of cos she no milk lah...but she like to say that bb want drink her milk loh...funny right...

shers, me too ! i cant stand the drink spill on floor and the plastics for the packet drink straw flying ard the hse...OMG...sure have a lot to do when all the relatives left...

hey girls, can check with u, my milk came in n kinda full n hard so i tried to pump and the milk was yellowish.. is it cuz of ginger? i take food cooked with ginger bt dun consume the ginger itself..

also, hw to tell if bb gt jaundice?? when discharged, doc say dun hv, bt mus monitor if she "develops a yellowish tinge". hw to tell?!!!!!

oki,
slim slim ah? envy wor...

porky,
ur mil damn funny lor. i ever dreamt my mil wan to bf bb when i was preggie lor... lucky, she din try dat stance after bb is out. i will faint!

jamie,
doc say look at skin & eyeball (the white part)...

jamie, my PD and CL say press the skin and see if got yellow...can bathe with the "ng kee" and suntan will reduce jaundice also..

For those doing the postnatal massage, do u do the binding of the stomach as well? My massage lady bind my stomach and i am feeling so uncomfortable.. i know its for my own good but i dun like it leh...

Yvette, yes they will bind the stomach.. bear with it... the after effect is good! flat tummy!

Yvette, i had 10 sessions.. the lady told me to bind for 1 mth.. haha.. but i din after that :p.. coz v hot.. but after the 10 sessions, tummy flatten already.

the binder is so uncomfortable! Summo perspiring non stop. I usually take it out aft a few hrs. Anyway, the massage lady say hard for me to lose now cos drinking a lot n eating too much.

that time during massage, i will have it from 3pm to next morning 7am.. it's good to have it overnite for the effect

muffintop, wat u mean by drinkg n eating alot so hard to lose? binding for tummy leh...

ling, wah, no wonder u look so slim @ bb 1mth celebration
dunno my tummy will flatten or not -- waiting for massage lady to come... in my 4th week of confinement -- still hv a 2mth preggy tummy!

porky, ur MIL very funny leh!

jamie, how's moo-moo-ing?

congrats to the mummies who have popped.

the full-month celebration and confinement are over for me (not as if i was following the confinement rules anyway :p )

went out with baby and his nanny for lunch today.

MUmmies,

What a hot day to enjoy confinement.. haiz i have been using fan blowing directly on me...
super hot ler!!

How's everyone?

Adv,
Try to use the nipple cream more frequently, if you find it v sticky, squeeze some milk and mix with the cream, dry it for awhile.. nipple will be less sore

Re:BF
I am so happy, I managed to get 140ml this morning on one breast after about 4 hour interval
(as usual, the other breast is empty coz bb latched on it)..

Shers is more powerful in terms of supply tho hahaha!
Yeah!! Happy happy!

Check with you all, do u think i should get a yao lan? my bb now knows the fun of being carried, a yao lan will be better than keep carrying him rite?

My #1 is not a yao lan bb so I am still thinking if i should get one

ling, the binder flatten my tummy for a few days n once I stop, tummy back. How many kg have u lost? how much more to go?

Anyone experience bb wanting feed every one hr? Counting from start of last feed to start of next feed. Is it normal?

My boy makes a lot of noise at night n I suspect he is trying to Shit cos his face will turn red n start crying after that... Sigh.. Sleepless nights.

good job, rc cola..you have good supply of milk.. I managed to pump out 160ml each time..my 2 boys are taking 80ml per feed now.. I'm supplementing 1 formula feed with every 2 breastfeeds...milk no enuff..hee.. ;p

Anyone would like to have a can of Friso Comfort..I bought it and only used it for one feed. The 2 boys no need liao as their poo are well.. do let me know if anyone is interested to have it...

Hoops
You are diff, coz u gotta feed 2 babies haha.. mine will empty one breast, so leaving another breast engorged, which I will pump out.. i never pump 2 breast at one go hahaa..

Muffin
Could your bb having growth spurt? mine does, he feeds every hour ;p for the past few days hehe..

Sorry to interupt.

Brand New Yaolan for sale - comes with stand, spring and net (blue). Only set up to let baby try but baby just don't like to be in it. Bought the whole set for $120. Selling as a full set at $80 now.
PM or email me at [email protected] for pictures.

just wondering does anyone know what's the right amount to feed a baby..? I'm worried give them too much...but too little, they be hungry soon..haiz..

Hoops
Agak agak bah... if they appear settled after feed, that means it's enough. My boy must drink 120ml to settle.. haha

Just came back from gynae visit..As usual, water level and baby's heartbeat is VERY GOOD!!! So although edd is on wed, i have scheduled for induction on Saturday. Praying very hard that baby will come out before that..Too bad, gynae says she is on leave on friday and monday. So cannot choose those days..haha

Hoops
actually that day i went out, so i told mil feed him maybe 80ml first.. coz we dun know how much bb is taking, bb is always latching on mah.
but after 80ml he cant settle, mil top up another 40ml then he settles down!

yvette,
me also had tummy bound during massage. after finish massage, i have to continue wrapping till last day of confinement. today's the 2nd day of diy, think din do it so well.
but can see tummy going flatter liao, not so bloated.

adv,
wat time is ur massage?

muffin,
mine also drinking every hour. dunno she's having growth spurt or my supply drop. when i pump out, it ranges from 40ml - 70ml only...

muffintop,
i lost bulk of the kg that i gained during pregnancy (abt 12kg).. i still hv 4kg to go..

juju,
wah.. u really got diy ar.. i must discipline myself to do oso tom.. the hips area oso need to reduce!

BTW, mummies if I BF n also got feed FM.. can i check how to know if bb suitable for the FM mah? i gv him enfalac.. noticed he will poo yellowish green color .. is it normal ar?

hi:
Re: binding after massage
This time, I have my paternal Aunty to do the massage for me.. she said, have to loosen the vains, then the water that is 'stuck' in our body will clear & ultamately loose the weight gained.
She does not do the binding for me as she say tt one will have temporaly effect only!
So far, I had 1 session, next one will be tmr.
I have seen my tummy reduced, not sure due to bfg or the massage!

juju, i thought my supply dropped too, and cos I listened to the massage lady and cut down on my fluid content. now I drink more again and he is still drinking every hour, and when he unlatch, he got milk flowing out from his mouth.. haha, so i think got supply lah. very tempted to pump out and see the actual supply, but 'ren'!

Ling, that's impressive. How long u take to lose that 12 kg? then what is the 4 kg? I have dropped 8-9 kg from delivery but kind of stay stagant at that. I still have another 7 kg to go to prepregnancy weight.. dun wan to diet leh

ling, u oledi looked slim... 4kg more will be slimmer
the last i weighed 2 weeks ago, i hv 5kg more to loose -- total weight gain is 12kg. with all the beefing during confinement, think my weight may hv gone up!!

re: postnatal massage
ju, i juz had my 1st session at 4pm... i scared of pain so asked ida to go easy on me :p quite shiok after the massage... now tummy bind -- feeling hot! she asked me to wrap overnite...

re: milk ss
rc_cola, u also hv lotsa milk... juz now ida helped me to massage my B -- my right side was spraying milk! so sayang -- thot later no milk for bb... lucky still hv enough -- juz fed her and she is sleeping soundly

re: growth spurt
muffintop, at certain time of the day, my bb will asked for milk every hour, too.

re: supplement with FM
m considering supplement with FM after my confinement... coz without my mum's help, i need some breather... any advise on when is the best time to give bb FM? last feed at nite so that she can sleep longer?

adv, ya loh...mil is trying to be funny...somemore can ask me to see that my bb is moving his mouth towards her b...CL commented that she carry bb wrong way...cos when CL carried my bb...he will not move his mouth towards her b there...

rc_cola, my bb also enjoyed to be carried when he is not sleeping...this afternoon from 12noon to 5pm+ he is very awake leh...open eyes so big...only manage to coax him to sleep ard 5.30pm really tiring man...i have to take over the carrying cos CL need to cook dinner for me and mil...my hands very sng...

muffintop, my boy sometimes also want feed within 1 hr...but i tried to drag till 2hrs then feed him...

hoops, my boy drinking 100ml now..

my gynae say only can do massage after 1 month...so sad tat my tummy will looks 2 month preggy when celebrating bb full month...

Porky, i try to drag also, but I cannot carry him. cos he can smell me.. haha. that's when i just leave him with my mum.

anyone feeling emotional? I was ok after delivery but one week later, suddenly feel very emotional and cannot control crying.. scared become depression.. everyone talks about how hard it is to carry and deliver the baby but nobody talks about how hard it is to care for one..

weight:

I put on 18kg b4 birth..weight at hospital lost only 3kg,.. now also how much have lost.. forget to weigh myself when I had post natal checkup.. & dun hv scale at home!

muffintop,
after delivery, i lost abt 9kg.. the other 3kg i dun noe how i lost within 2 weeks.. maybe BF will help? thereafter like u said kind of stagnant..still have 4kg to go to pre-preg weight.. now i think mainly on arms n hips ar!

Ling,
diy but the wrong way leh... either the top flabby part come out or the bottom flabby part come out. jus can't get it right. very tempted to buy tummy binder so dat it's easier!
i lost abt 5kg after delivery, then 7kgs thru massage & bfg & maybe slpless nites. balance about 6kgs to hit pre-pregnancy weight. hope to lose all soon! tummy also go away!
next wkend got expo? yippee! i can go out liao!

muffintop,
my masseur din tell me to cut fluid leh... she say must drink more cos bfg mah.
dun worry about crying. in my 2nd week, i was crying almost every nite. once i see hubby or going to sleep wif bb, i start to cry. hubby got so worried, think i was going into depression. luckily feel better these few days.

adv,
tmr when u take out, see whether ur tummy got smaller or not...
hot is shiok... after a couple of hours, not hot liao.

muffintop - you are not the only one feeling emotional. i was crying every day for the first 2 weeks too. feeling much better now. the feeling should pass. but i did see a consultant on my post-natal blues and it helps me realise how much pressure i had put on myself.

feb_mum, shers - hope to meet up with you since i'm living in bt batok too.

re: post-natal massage
will it be still effective if i start it 6 weeks after delivery?

haven't been chatting on the thread since I gave birth on 2may.

my baby won't stop crying when she wants to be carried. my husband and i try not to pick her up and let her cry. but she's very persistent...

now the effective way to let her sleep is when she's drowsy in my arms, then I will put her chest down onto my bosom so she can hear my heartbeat and fall into a deep sleep before putting her into the cot...

My husband going back to work tomorrow...and tomorrow is my 3rd day of postnatal massage. Think I have to put baby in car seat and bring her down to my tv room where i'll have the massage.

nineOnefive: my baby was born 5 days past due date...

muffintop, i also cried alot during 1st week...very emotional...but after that i feel better...u have no one to look after for u during confinement ?

abby, long time never chat with u liao...busy with bb ya ? eh..u mean bb hear our heatbeat can sleep better ? my bb sleeps only 10mins then wake up wailing leh...dunno whats the reason...

i also cannot bind too long.. massaur says at least 6 hrs.. but after 3 hrs, i cannot take it liao. maybe thats y tummy didnt flatten alot.. just abit only.. at least no longer 4 mths preggie... now more like 2 mths preggie.. whahaha

Adv_sport, I dont know if we could get mother mates from pharmacy. Maybe, we would be able to get something similar to that. No harm giving it a try cos the pair that I have is effective and it will last for a while.

Abby, my gal is spoilt by the CL. She is always carrying and rocking her to sleep without our knowledge. Very pissed of with her cos we have been telling her not to do that but...

Weight loss:
Thank goodness I have gone back to my pre-pregnancy weight. It is the same as my #1. For both pregnancy, my weight gain were about 10kg but I believe breastfeeding helps a lot
However, when I tried on my non-maternity clothes, the pants still feel a bit tight, possibly due to the expanded pelvic bones! For tops, they are exploding at the bust area!!! Think got to buy some clothes when I return to work...

Amount of milk:
Can use this formula
(150 X weight of baby)/no. of feeds per day
Eg. for my gal, (150X3.6)/8 = 67.5ml
This is just a guide. In fact my gal is drinking 100ml EBM at night. Day time, I latch so I dont know how much she drinks.

CL:
Got to share my frustrations here (SORRY). She is really a horrible lady... and I am totally pissed off by the way she feeds my girl. Just now at her 7pm feed, I nearly cried after seeing how she fed her. I heard gal fussing at the beginning of her feed while I was changing #1 and getting him ready for bed. I asked my maid to go and find out what actually happened. After a while, gal stopped and I was quite relieved. After changing my boy, I popped into gal's room to check on CL. Guess what she said? 'Wow, your gal now know how to throw tantrums ah. Very naughty!' so I decided to sit next to her and observe my gal, wondering how a 3 weeks old baby could throw tantrums... Saw gal struggling but quiet. Told her to burp baby. Then CL did and gal continued without making a fuss. I was glad. Went to kitchen, maid told me gal was frustrated cos CL held her bottle with the teat upside down and that's why gal was making noise (Mummies, this is not the first time we caught her making this mistake. Told her already but still, she is insolent!). Was mad, went to room to tell her off and reminded her all the rules that I gave her when it comes to feeding. She was upset, knowing that my maid must have told me, went to scold my maid! Luckily, my maid didnt take it to heart! This CL ah, only gives me trouble and nothing else! Cant wait for her to leave!

Porky: I think the 1st 2 weeks after my baby was discharge was the worst. Probably not used to so little sleep since it's only me and hb taking care of baby.

Thank goodness got my husband to help. Actually he do alot of things, while I breastfeed and help out here and there.

Babies can recognise their mummies heartbeat since they're always listening to it since they are in the womb.

I think now I'm slimmer than before I was pregnant. I lost my pregnancy weight within days. My tummy also went down quite fast, now just got a little bump. My husband also say my tummy smaller than before I was pregnant. Now being binded by wrapping cloth and binder.

So far for me, baby sleeping on my chest helps her sleep. Otherwise she wakes up once we put her in the cot and want us to carry her.

GraceofGod: I don't know why my baby is only comforted when we carry her. We didn't carry her alot habitually. In fact we let her cry for awhile to see if she will keep quiet or go to sleep on her own. She will persist in crying if we do not pick her up. Don't know where she pick up from.

My MIL is washing my baby's clothes. Tonight I found out she soak our clothes together with baby's clothes. I smell the clothes that's soaked in the pail don't have detergent smell and the clothes that have been dried have a stinky smell. So just now I went to re-soak all my baby's clothes and told my husband that don't need his mother to wash.

Becos my MIL very miserly, even last time our clothes don't have detergent smell. Don't know whether she got put detergent anot.