(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

is it necessary to feed water when we breastfeed? i heard that no need leh. but my mum says no water how can? so i also dunno man!

Soh, for boiling, here's what you do:
- boil water in empty pot and time how long water takes to boil
- add 10 mins to that to determine total time needed to boil water with bottles in there

As for drying the bottles, she recommends just picking up items from the pot with thongs, let it drip dry, assemble back then leave them in room temperature place. nothing should get into the bottles again to prevent introducing bacteria.

Audrey - my prenatal lecturer also told me, no need to feed water for first mth while breast feeding to prevent water intoxication.

I am new to all these info too. Suggest you get the breastfeeding book from her at TMC parentlink. Ask for book from Mrs Wong.

k thanks caroline..

i will ask my gynae at KK when i go for my appt in 2 weeks time. i realli cannot tahan alrdy.. my tummy feels so tight and heavy and i cannot breathe lying down or sitting up.

i realli cannot take this feeling every nite..

i'm so sleepy now but i cannot slp because its so painful n aching. im only 32 weeks.......

Hi! Anyone interested in this? Like new coz used less than 5x in 3M -- coz mommy prefer to hand-carry precious baby

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">FOR SALE: Lascal Baby Carrier w Superior Support for NB &amp; Adult</font></font>
- Colour: sunset red
- Popular European brand (Swedish)
- Front carrier suitable for NB due to built-in spinal support brace to ensure NB's spine develops properly (NB is carried facing in)
- Also provides great support for adult's back
- Generic design &amp; colour scheme that even Daddy don't mind using
- Adjustable to accommodate growing baby
- Baby can be carried facing in and later (when neck is stronger) facing out
- Bamboo fabric for baby's maximum comfort
- Machine washable
- Possible to purchase interchangeable "bib" cover from range of 6 colours (not included)
- For more info:
a) http://www.lilimay.com/carriers/lascal-m1.php
b) http://www.lascal.se/web/Lascal_M1_Carrier.aspx

<font color="ff0000">Selling @ $150 inclusive of daytime courier delivery. Local retail price is $269.</font>
See local retailer here -- http://www.babytown.com.sg/index.php?sessid=169722&amp;bg=dark&amp;regid=0&amp;regitmid=0&amp;pagenumber=1&amp;page=product-list&amp;viewregistry=no&amp;ecatid=1504&amp;itmid=12636&amp;regprodid=

To deal or enquire, pls PM me. I also have some breastpads to clear: Evenflo, Lasinoh, Pigeon (Jap made, 144pcs/box) + BN/pre-loved baby girl clothes... too many to post. PM me pls for details. Tx!

Morning, mummies.

Hi Porky, I haven't order any, cause I am too confused what to order. I intend to use cloth diaper for 1st month, then cloth diaper during daytime and disposable during night time. Is dry comfort or Huggies Ultra better?

12th is a big day for sale. There is Isetan sale (finally received the brochure yesterday), Taka sale and IT sale. Feel like taking leave, but morning got a meeting. Maybe will take half day if my meeting ends earlier.

Hi Audrey, there is no need to feed water if you TBF as there is water content in the breast milk. But I think RC_cola mention that she always let her baby drink water after every feed, just to rinse her mouth.

good morning ladies

re: backaches
will usually feel backache at the end of day... now so hard to get up from sofa, too... m feeling the weight now...

re: baby insurance
my colleagues advise to me get medical insurance for my baby as soon as she is born... any recommendation? what abt life insurance?

Hi Tinkles Mum, thanks for sharing on the radiation of the steriliser. I was still thinking whether to get it from either the Taka or Isetan sale this coming Thursday. Isetan is having a promotion of Pigeon steriliser and warmer with a bottle holder &amp; 2 bottles at $155.90.

baby may,
huggies ultra is their premium range, followed by dry comfort, then comfort. According to the huggies promoter. I touched the ultra, very very comfortable. the promoter recommended that for cost savings purpose, we can use ultra at night, then dry comfort for day time cos need to change repeatedly.

Are you seeing dr lim tml? my appt is 9am

Hi adv_sports, I also intend to get insurance for my baby once he is born and has asked my brother to prepare a proposal. My brother wanted to meet me last weekend to discuss about it, but I am too busy to meet up with him. Maybe will meet up with him this weekend (also very busy with gynae check up, stemcord talk etc.) or next weekend.

Robinson big savings sales is now on...
Tons of stuff going cheap.. for the mummies who have yet to finish buying their stuff think nows the best time... Am kicking myself for buying so early :/

re: steriliser
i heard that the purpose of using steriliser is to get the residual off the bottles, just in case when we use the brush, we cannot fully clean it. So the heat will "melt" the residual, hence lesser chance to get any bacteria and infection.

i also heard that you only need to do this for 6 months. then let the bb build the immune system. Any mums can confirm this?

i am considering boiling method or getting a food steamer instead. then when bb is pass 6 months, can use the steamer to cook. heehee anyone doing that?

Hi Muffintop, thanks for your explanation. Maybe I should get some S size huggies ultra.

Yes, I am seeing Dr Lim tomorrow at 9.15am. We should be able to see each other at his clinic tomorrow.

couple of sales now
Tangs private sale
isetan sale
john little and Robinson sale
and for those interested, there is an IT fair next week at suntec

baby_may hi thank you for your help.

wat does TBF stand for? something breast feed rite? sorry i'm still new to all these terms..

thank u!

Adv sports
I also experience back ache, starting with stiff neck. Yesterday I did the prenatal yoga and can feel the muscles relax. You might wan to try that. Otherwise, try to do simple stretching and dun stay at your desk for too long. Dun overstretch like before pregnancy cos our muscles now quite different

re: insurance
babymay, do share with us after u talk to ur bro

muffintop, thanks... m doing prenatal yoga once/every 2 weeks -- will try to do more regularly
yup, hv to stretch slowly nowadays...

Re: steriliser
I'm still thinking if i should get steriliser or use the boiling method. I read that steriliser needs to be descale every now and then? Will it be more convenient to just boil? But then after boiling, there'll be a bit of water left in the bottle right? how to get rid of the water?

Re: insurance
I hv free first 6 months baby insurance from TMC First Born Incentive. Met up with the agent from AXA a couple of months back and it seems quite comprehensive and will most prob continue with it after the free 6 months. mummies can try to contact their insurance agent to check if there're any insurance available for your BB. I'll prob get the AXA TargetSaver endowment fund at the same time, 110% guaranteed return wor..

Re: backaches
adv_sports, u can try doing hip rolls. it works for me everytime i have backaches.

Re: sales
So many many sales! i think i need to start packing my stuffs first, then i know what i still need then go chiong the sales!

Re: incontinence
Anyone suffers from this also? i think i'm carrying BB too low and sometimes she's pressing on my bladder. even if i just finish peeing, i still feel bladder v full. there was once when i was walking, the pee just leaked out! now gotta wear panty liner. did lots of pelvic floor exercise also no use. how?

Adv sports,
YOu must do it at least once a week. Its better! :D Cuz you do it once in 2 weeks, your body will take a longer time to get used to those postures everytime you attend class.

dodo, my email add is [email protected]
i wldnt show others! dont worry~ i also dont wish other pple to show mine too..

irene, after piggypig and me r done, we meet u at taka.. u call us when reach la..

mummies, when PM me, can leave down yr nick and name?? i received 2 but without nick le.. dont know who is who..

porky, yes.. received yesterday already.. the delivery man called before he reached and helped me to move to my designated room/ area..

Re: insurance
baby may, which product does your brother represent? I am keen to find out more too. We can't buy before bb is born right?

audrey
are you sleeping on your side? would that help? my frens recommend curve pillow and that definitely helped me. I got it at tanglin, it's soft and flexible shape kind.

RE: insurance
most of the hospital will have covered 1st 6 months free insurance.. but of course coverage is very min.. and depending on what type of insurance u want..
before i gave birth, i called my agent and informed her what i needed.. she recommended to me.. and 1 month later, i signed up..

Audrey, TBF is total breastfeed i think.
If u r not sleeping well lying down, how abt piling ur pillows and sleep 45degrees? that's how i sleep sometimes when i cannot sleep on the sides. i also go for massage to ease backpain.

Re;Steriliser
Tiny M, Avent will need some descale powder to descale else can be quite dirty. When i ran out of the powder, i use vinegar or lemon. Now i am going to Pigeon rapid for my #2 coz the base is better than Avent..i can see the heating pad ,unlike Avent's it's hidden. + Pigeon can be washed with vinegar or lemon , no need to buy special powder.

i have replied to star, ireneXXX (is that u, irene?), piggypig, sallen... my hp no..

did i miss out anybody for 19th march gathering?

btw, i will post more details for 19th gathering next fri ok?? in the meanwhile, those who wish to join us for this gathering, please PM me yr hp nick, nick and name. thanks!

babymay, me also 1st time mummy...i do not knw whether ultra or dry comfort is better...anyway just buy to try first...since is so cheap..some ppl advise no need to buy so exp type first cos newborn always poo and need to change very often...

shers, thats good ! alto i only get 5packs each time...but i also ask the man to help me carry and put inside the room...hehe..not bad service lah...btw, i ask u ah...we need to bank in the chq for the cordlife $50 first ?

hi mums,

thank you for your advice on the backaches..
i was so frustrated last nite that i stood up in my bedroom for a long time. i just stand in the room because that's the only position that i dont feel sian.

i didn't buy the pregnancy pillow.. cos just another 6-8 weeks more.. must tahan!!!

thank u mums for all the advice. i really appreciate it!

Audrey,
im now adays also like that ... already bot pregnancy pillow but sometimes i cant get up frm my bed without hubby help me

U also at KKH? u going private or specialist? My appoint also another 2 more weeks at Specialist clinic

Adv_sport,
tm can see ur bb already n can ask bb weight

Shers, do u know what brand they are selling at the taka fair? i still thinking whether to take half day and join u gals....but i dun think i got anymore things to buy liao...except the nipple cream

nineonefive/shers/jamie/okipoki/porky- i'm thinking of going on the 12th..to the baby fair at taka which is on the thur i think. Wanna go together? if so, then i'll consider if i should bring my kpo hubby along or not. lol.. sigh.. my gynae appt is on the 10th! Keeping fingers crossed with regards to the low lying placenta! Been sooooo bored at home.

Insurance- Hi to you girls, i'm from Prudential for quite a no. of years. If you girls need any information on products etc, can pm me or email me at [email protected] and dun worry, no obligations.

tiny_m, how to do hip roll?

bean, thanks... i try to go for the yoga lesson once a week but some weekends cannot make it
with the increasing weight and more backaches, will try to do regularly from now onwards... i did try to repeat some poses on my own at home...

re: baby weight
lily, yup, look fwd to see my bb tomorrow
managed to control my weight gain to 0.5kg per week for the last 4 week... but my colleagues n hubby said they notice my tummy getting bigger n bigger *wacko* hope bb is in normal weight range...

re: taka bb fair
can vouchers be used? i still hv some taka vouchers...

re: destin creamy
porky, is there any spree going on? like to get one... oh, can i pass u the vouchers for similac mum when we meet @ mar 19 gathering? or i will be @ sengkang this sunday ard 12pm... if u r home, can swing by ur place at punggol...

hi oki &amp; porky: i ordered the beansprout pillow liao
feedback on quality when u rec yours k?

adv sports: hv u rec yr wall sticker?

Moring super mummies..

hello shers..i got ur hp no liao..,so are u goin to the Taka bb sales on 12 mar(thur)?.. me a bit confuse liao coz some mummies mention goin on coming monday and some mention goin on 13 mar..??? i also blur liao..

hi hi Lily.. we stay in same kampong leh.. haha 1 got one kaki liao..

porky ,actually i only like pink n whilte colour...heehee tat y i buy tat pink 5-tier cabinet fo my bb boy..

i am gg for gynae appt today too.hope bb is in the normal weight range

adelyee, yes u can join us..timing to be confirm next week

sallen, actually there are few groups of ppl..some gg on monday..some on thurs and some on fri/sat..u see whether u wan to join which group...i will be gg on thurs 12th march confirm liao..cos i apply leave for that day..

haha..i also like white and pink..but is boy leh..so i dont wan to buy pink, and dont have white...so hubby say buy blue loh..

915, thanks for explaining the descaling of steriliser. how often must we descale?

adv_sports, i can't find demo of hip rolls on the net. the closest thing is http://www.stottpilates.com/warmup/en/EN_w_hip_rolls_right.html but you dun lift ur butt totally up. you should be in the first position and there should be a space between ur waist and the mat then u roll ur hips on the mat such that the bottom of your butt is slightly lifted (not toally lifted as in the link) and there's no space between ur waist and the mat. just roll up and down like that lo..
another good pose is the cat pose, mrs wong recommends it also. http://www.abc-of-yoga.com/yogapractice/cat.asp
i try to do yoga/antenatal exercise twice a day (once in the morn and once before sleeping) but these days a bit busy, can't even make it for once a day. but i usually feel better after yoga. my rountine will be: breathing exercises, stretching, cat pose, hip rolls, rest. usually takes about 15-20mins depending on how long i spend on breathing.

Re: sales
who's going when to taka sale ah? I'm confused already. i dunno if i should take leave on thur or fri leh..

Lily and I are going to the 13th (Fri) - Taka Baby Fair. Anyone likes to join us can PM details to either of us k.

Insurance
I will get it from my Prudential agent which covers quite a comprehensive package for baby. I think Manulife got a good one too if both parents sign up with them. Baby can be covered till 20/21 yrs of age...FOC.

Hi Muffintop, my brother rep Prudential. Will share his proposal with you too after I meet up with him.

Hi Adv_sports and Tiny_M, I think cat pose is better cause we are not supposed to lie on our back for too long after 20 weeks (something to do with pressing on our nerves and we will become breathless)

adrienne, u finally appear?? hehehe... i envy u le.. can stay home and rest.. nothing to do?? prepare for giving birth la.. dont worry abt low lying placenta.. me too.. just finger crossed! i'm going to taka fair on thur after my checkup.. sms me if u wanna meet.. u still have my no?

i dont blog for myself but more for my #1..

adv_sports, think can use the taka vouchers during the fair.. also if u have taka card, think got additional discount..

915, i dont know what brand they have le.. just go there and see see..

i got similac mum voucher also.. who wants?

dodo, i received yrs already... woooo... tell u hor.. they have no creative 1.. all the same as mine.. yr 1st pic i dont have with me.. sent u now!