(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Little one, i am doing my OSCAR on 6 Nov, 830am
What time are you doing yours? The nurse told me it costs $390!

Hi Star,

I will be doing it at 8.15am, cos that's the only slot available for me. =) is this your 1st bb? hehe this is my 1st...am excited and lost at times.

Hi little one,
So i will prob be able to see you
Yes, my first bb too .. the appt in between are torturing cos i wish i cld see the baby 's movement everyday. WIsh the ultrasound machine was in my house! hee hee.. excited and lost--- i am feeling the same hence bought many books to read. Have you got the book- What to expect when you're expecting? My colleagues and friends told me it's like a MUST -Have- really quite good. it will help in your 1001 queries. Then the same author has another book- What to expect the first year

Dear mommies,

did you manage to read the article on cord blood banking on Straits Times yesterday? Initially, i was so set on keeping te baby's cord blood but the article yesterday just stir up a whole new emotions , now am seriously considering if i should do it. What are your thoughts?

JRT > So how much was the package that you have paid? I think Dr Adrian advise me to take up NT Scan + xxx ..cant rem the exact name. He said that was sufficient for me. Is it $100+ + $150 ..something?

SK,

The package I took up at TMC was known as 1st trimester screening package (as reflected in the bill.)include NT scan + blood test all $318. If you sign up the FBI at TMC (I presume you are delivering at TMC coz of Dr Adrian.
), u can get 10% off. I think most gynae will advise you to take up this package bah.

Re: Cord blood banking

I haven thought about this yet.

Now my mind is assignments and exams...

Everyone is talking abt OSCAR test.

1st, if you are below 35, you are already in the 1st cat of low risk group for Downs Syndrome.. hence, if you are below this age, taking this test is not needed.

2nd, what will you do if result is not favourable? If you are not going to do anything, like me, I opt not to take the test considering the cost (abt$350).

3rd, if the result is not favourable, you will still have to go for the full detail scan to further confirm the result. Hence, like me, I will only take the full detail scan at wk20. Except that, full detail scan will not pick up cromosome problem like OSCAR test.

HTHs in your consideration in OSCAR test.

Hi Star,

yup think may see you ard...i have bought one book at random to read more abt pregnancy and what to expect. hehe maybe will go and keep a look out on the book that you mentioned...

My MS is horrible these few days...no appetite at all...wanna ask...any of you have constant headache as part of the MS?

I have tot of cord blood bank before but have yet to read the details abt it.

Hi mummies - hope all went well for your upcoming OSCAR test.. keep us updated..

star - I am just like you.. I always tell my hb that if I work at the clinic, everyday I can scan and see my bb haha...

Hi ladies! Enjoying the long weekend? Unfortunately, i am down with flu and sore throat, felt super terrible, yet dun dare to take too much medicine! slept the whole day yesterday and felt better today but still blocked nose.. have to go to work tomorrow liaoz.. sigh..

Re: Oscar test
Errmm.. so how much is it exactly? SK, i think mine is the same as yours leh, some NT scan + something, i didn't take a good look at the paper tho'. I didn't even think of asking about the price, i thought included in my package! :p Your appointment earlier than mine, won't get to meet u!

Re: FBI & Hospital tour
Thanks vera for sharing! I think i'll sign up the FBI and go for the hospital tour on my oscar test day. Will prob go for another one with my hubby when he's back from his trip, he's very interested to see the hospital too!

Re: Cord blood banking
I discussed this with my hubby and he said very ex, prob not going for it. I didn't see the article on ST. Will go search and read it later..

Re: Ultrascan
My sis was telling me that in US, the ang moh gynaes only scan a total of THREE times for the entire pregnancy period leh! Apparently, they think that ultra scan is not good as it have radiation or something, so dunno if it'll affect the baby in the long-term. But i think it's very sad you don't get to see how's ur BB doing over the weeks/months leh.. I just know that 3D scan is no good, read in the papers that the radiation is much higher than a normal ultrascan and its effects on BBs are unknown yet. So mummies who're thinking of going for 3D scan better think twice ya!

Re: Pre-natal yoga
Anyone wanna join me at Spottiswoode Park, Sivanda Center? $20 per session. I'm thinking of starting on the week 17th Nov, prob ask if they have weekday 630pm slots. Anyone interested?

I just puked ...for the first time ever cos of the MS. Never thought this could happen to me. So terrible. Hate the smell that still lingers at my throat.

So when's TMC tour going to be held?

Tiny M,
I think those experienced gynae can tell that the baby is growing well from measuring the tummy size. This is the traditional method and I think some gynaes are using it still. Actually I did have resevations about scanning (even those normal ultrasound) initially. I checked with the gynae who assures me that the ultrasound is 100% safe. So I let her scan me every session.

One more thing, actually so far all my scan pictures are so blur and I can hardly make out anything, let alone see that my baby is doing well. hahaha. Hope this will be clearer when the baby grows! Looking forward to my gynae appt this coming friday!

Hi Joyce, totally agree with what u say! Even if baby has Downs, also cannot abort, so why spend the money. And when i told gynae i not doing oscars, she tried to measure the thickness of neck to estimate the risk of downs during the normal scan. U can suggest it to ur gynae. And she said based on that, risk really low lah. And she praised me for being a non-kiasu mum, not hung up over tests. hehe.

Tiny M, u take care. Last wk i was sick for 3 days too. Dun worry, medicine GP gives is ok one. I asked my gynae too. I din take medicine on the 1st day too.. But felt like dying. She told me some mums were coughing so badly that they bled so that's worse. The GP gave me Chloropheramin (sumtin like dat)... it made me damn drowsy but it was effective.
Rest well!!!

Hi Star5,

Yup, im having very bad gastric. Till i really need strong medication. And its making me lose my appetite and it makes my morning sickness even worse.

I really hope and pray that its onli in the 1st trimester. Cross my fingers, just another 2 to 3 weeks to endure.

How bout rest of the mummies? Hows ur symptoms so far?

I just vommited my dinner again!
Had some biscuits after that then vomit again!
Ya.. My gastric is getting worse too. Now think of food make me wanna puke...

mich,

I am 12 weeks plus le leh... y "toture" me like that??

Haiz.. gng to sleep liao after printing my assignment...

Morning ladies! Back to work again! So sian.. Me still having bits of flu but bo bian have to come to work cos this is a busy week for me.

SK: The hospital tour is everyday, except Sundays and public holidays, 11am and 2pm. I read from the TMC website. Probably I won't go on my oscar test date liao cos my apptmt at 330pm, a bit off.

bean: hahaha.. yah! most of the time i can't make out what's what. The gynae will tell me, head, heartbeat, everything looks ok, then i orh.. also dunno what i'm looking at.. i think it'll be clearer as the weeks go by. I saw my friend's scan at 16 weeks, her BB "hi-fived" at the scanner so can see the BB's hand with 5 fingers very clearly!

jacquise: thanks for your concern! i took the small yellow flu tablets my gynae gave me previously for my flu. i dun dare to take too much also, only once at night so i can sleep it off. i'm trying to rest more (but busy week at work!) and eat more fruits. sigh.. if this week not busy i would have taken leave and sleep at home liaoz..

Re: Morning/Evening sickness
Eh.. my MS/ES comes in the form of headache, hungriness and sleepiness so can't help much for those who're throwing up.. But a bit of advice from my friend who was throwing up quite badly - make sure u eat when u get hungry, cos after the period of time that you're hungry, you'll want to throw up liao. just eat small small stuffs (she keeps a pack of biscuits/chips in her bag so she can eat anytime she's hungry) whenever you feel hungry. And i think MS/ES is the worst in week 9 or 10. I rem that i had really bad headaches in my week 10 that i took leave and MCs, just to sleep at home. and after that ok liaoz.. bear with it for a while.. it'll be over soon.

JRT: My friend's MS lasted till week 14/15 leh.. it'll slowly subside.. hang in there..

Sian...

Think MS has striked me for my #2. Feel so week and light-headed plus no-appetite. How come my MS strike me at week 10 one?? Tot i will be able to avoid MS for the second round.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> morning all.
Anyone experience bad headache whenever you wake up? Enough slp or lack of slp, i always had very bad headache wen i wake up... </font>.

good morning ladies

tiny_m, hope u recover from ur flu speedily!

re: scan pic
bean &amp; tiny_m, my last scan pic at 10.5wk is clear -- can see my bb facial features like eyes, nose &amp; mouth
quite amazing to me &amp; hubby!

re: MS
JRTlover, me, too... still torture by MS
not sure whether it is the effect of popping all the big pills -- felt like vomitting the whole day... only can stop when i lie down on the bed *wacko* this coming sat, i will be 12 weeks -- really hope MS will subside soon!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Bean,
Mine is either on the left or right. The headache is killing me.... I remember reading abt headaches during pregnancy but cant rem the content. I think i'll ask my gynae during my next checkup.</font>.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> thanks Joyce,
Do you hv the news the rest had mentioned which was featured in ST?</font>.

Im savouring my tom yam noodles as typing this. Im in my 13th wk this wk...Symptoms are nearly all gone. Stamina is building up too. So all u ladies still having MS, hang in there. (Mine wasn't serious to begin with). But the nauseous feeling no more. But still want pee n pee...

Tiny M, yes i tink that is the same medication i took. Super drowsy one. Peifu that u can go to work after that medication. Continue to drink a lot of water. I drank manuka honey also with active 5+.
(But some pple say pregnancy cannot drink)

Headaches
Used to haf it on Sundays!!! I dunno why but no more now. Diff mummies experience diff things i guess. Dun worry, honeymoon coming soon!!! Hang in there.

By the way 2nd trimester starts frm when ? Baby Centre states 15th wk onwards then its 2nd trimester

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Jac,
Normally ppl will think tt 2nd tri starts from 12th wk. But wen i refer to pregnancy book, it states 13th wk. </font>.

Xue,
Mine is killing me too! I want to sleep also can't sleep, everyday juse daze around the house...

I keep talking to my baby telling it to be good good and don't let mummy suffer.. hahaha Hopefully it can understand!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> bean,
It works? If so, I must talk to my bb too. hahaha.. i had taken panadol to ease the pain. But its when the pain is too much for me to take. If still managable, I will insist not to take any medi....</font>.

my MS is getting very bad this week..it's my 9 weeks..sometimes can vomit, sometimes cannot..and that makes me really miserable..

I oso keep telling my babies...be good to mummy ok..mommy very uncomfortable..then I'll sing them some christian children songs..they seem to understand..

re: ultra scan

yupI read actually there is no conclusive tests that its 100%ok but SG depends a lot on scans. I do have few frens who didnt do much or zero scans.not all gynae here agreeable with that. save money too heheh. but for me - have to lah coz I had high risk preggy last time. so must see progress of baby.

xue
re: MS
last time 4mth was worse for me. headache and nausea for the whole month.worst when just wakeup. I dunno abt this time tho. just entering 4mth

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> daec,
my #1 still consider quite smooth.... MS ends before 3rd mth, no terrible headache...
this time, I still feel nausea and can vomit anytime for the whole day thou the times of vomitting had been cut down to once or twice per day. But during somedays, i don hv those systomps at all. Really hope all this can end soon...</font>.

Hi Afternoon all,

This is my 1st pregnancy but how come i gt no feeling at all like MS/ES?
going 12 week soon le,........today when pangsai gt blood come out and i'm so worry my baby health..............

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Grace,
You're fortunate tt ur bb 疼你. hahaa. Tt doesnt mean tt the rest who suffer MS bb doesnt dote on us.. hahhaaa.. actually only few ppl wont hv the MS thru'out the pregnancy. And u're one of them ! Enjoy ur pregnancy!</font>.

Xue, it seems to work for me. I keep telling my baby to be a good baby and when it come out next year I will sayang it. hahaha. You can try to keep talking to it and see!

Grace
I also didnt have MS for first preggy, only headache 4th month. my cousins no MS too. the babies came out healthy.not all women sure have MS and its nothing wrong.not sure if u have piles/haemorrhoids ? blood when pangsai cld be that. its varicose veins at anus area. some preggy women have that.not serious but very uncomfy at times

Grace,

This is my 3rd.. I feel normal for all pregnancy.. Quite easy..

Don't worry.. if the bleeding still occurs.. you have to consult your gynae immediately.

Hi Xue, i will scan a copy of the article on cord blood banking on ST and send to you tomorrow. Can you gimme your email add?

Thx xue, daec,joyce for the advice

My bb no signal at all for me until now but always go toilet in the mid night,..(now then i realised pregnancy very tired) frm 6 to 8 week i eat alot ..they guess bb is boy! but, now changed ..dont feel like eat anything -weird-

emo, sleeping style ...all make me feel tiredzzzz

I'll check with gynae in nxt visit this thurs, got this problem b4 my pregnancy .. i thought already recover coz long time no bleeding when pangsai and now come back again, may be too heaty(ytd ate spicy food)..

Grace - for my 1st pregn, also no MS, good appett, lot of energy etc (like normal days)so ended up putting 20plus kg but this time round, got MS feeling, lacks of energy (zombie mode by 9plus) bloatness, all those i dun ve on my 1st preg is coming back to haunt me liao

Grace,
you're so lucky. I think every body has different 'signals'. My previous pregnancies also quite ok. But I've a unlucky friend who vommit all the way to delivery. After that, she say no more baby for her. Scared liao. I got MS but still eat leh. My gynae said I put on too much must control. So yday I force myself did some light yoga exercise. Must tone the muscle if not after delivery, all saggy liao.

today i am on leave, has been going out since morning with my girl, so no time to check postings!

this morning, I suddenly dun have the want to vomit or yucky feeling, could it be my MS has gone? yeah yeah yeah.. and it was just 2 days ago, i felt my baby moving! hahaha first movement at 12 wks :p

Anx,
Talkign about light exercises, i actually have a book with dvd to teach prenatal yoga to mtb, i did it during my #1, now really no time to do it, everytime i want to do, my girl sure want to participate, faint!! then i gotta keep an eye on her (make sure she didnt fall).. in the end i have no concentration and stop everything..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> cola,
shiok har... long holiday. hahaa. btw, i just feel my bb moving too ! actually i feel those fluttering movement inside me 1 wk ago... but dare not confirm if its the bb's movement. But just now the feeling is so familiar just like wen im having #1 squirming and kicking inside. Happy !</font>.

rc cola,
I did yoga when my kids go to sleep in aftn. Haha. Anyway, trying to do it once a week (better than nothing). Can feel muscle firmer and MS seems better for the next 1 hr (maybe better blood circulation?). My friend say after no. 3 the skin sure very saggy + stretchmark. And she showed me all the "water melon skin". Wah sa... I scared leh. Want to wear back my pre-pregnancy clothes leh.

Do u all still get discharges? Mine is the odourless, clear kind. Just feel wet lor. According to websites, its normal... and Im having a bit of backache and every nite, legs cramp at least once! At so early stage??? But not that serious one la.

Hey gals,

My baby cow just scared me this morning. I got slight spotting (brown/pink discharge) when I wiped the vaginal area... Scare me to death lor..called my gynae and he ask me to take the duphaston he gave me and went down to see him juz now. Lucky my baby cow is fine! Still moving inside.
I am given duphaston again to stablise the pregnancy. Gynae explained that it could be some blood vessels burst if spotting still occurs, have to go back and see him again.. SCary day.. given 2 days MC to rest at home. For now, more rest for me.
No more brown/pink discharge when I wipe juz now.

Any mummies ever encounter this?

JRT lover, u sooo cute, y u call yr baby, baby cow??? But u r already 12 wks or so into ur pregnancy already rite? Should be very stable. Dun scare urself too much. Gd that the spotting has ceased. Relax Mummy cow, take care. 2 days MC can relac relac eh... :p