(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

ak, i din know the rice n porridge is cereal equivalent! pasta star is fr bellamy oso???

shers, can eat mee sua ar?

re. cny
ya lor, this year can eat the pineapple tarts already.. :D my fav!

re. birthday cake
mummies with #2/3, any gd recom for 1 yr old bday cake?? now must start sourcing liaoo hahah

ling lim,
can eat mee sua la.. easy to cook also..

birthday cake
i ordered Shermin's 1st bday from pine garden from AMK
think there is a thread on this.. cake recommendation..

shers,
ok, then can get mum to cook mee sua.. haha my fav!

ling, i love mee sua also ! now u say i miss my confinement breakfast liao...mee sua with hard boil egg and lean meat..hehehe

porky,
u remind me of the scary confinement dayz!! ginger, sesame oil!! urgh~~

twinkle_sp,
i will delay in giving till 1 yr old. scared minnie mouse ears again

shers, hahaha...not so scary lah...i miss the food that my CL cook for me that time..i only dont like the cannot bathe for 30 days !

confinement food
actually....i also missed my confinement food.... except the pig kidney!! my mil almost buy the pig kidneys every day for me... ask my confinement lady to cook them every day.. but i still dun like it. cos i really dun like it!! yucks!!

now i got some time, fun trial classes are a good idea.

u gals so lucky got mee sua to eat. i dun miss confinement food at all!

Hi mummies. Just to share on trial classes. I brought my gal to 1 when she's 7mth. I feel that it's a waste of money and actually it's more tiring for us as we are
the one doing it , not them. I think it would be good
when ur kid knows how to walk so they will enjoy more. My gal cried a few times and I hve to coax her to do the activities. I doubt she enjoy. It could also be that I went to one that's a bit rushy - they compressed too many activities within40mins and they "push" kids to do rather than to encourage. Pm me if u wan to know which one I went to.

porky & ling ling
haha i scare of mee sua didnt eat after confinement haha my MIL always cook wn i confinement then bb keep wanna latch on initially end up it soak up the water become a lot n very soggy..urrgghhh

moon
rem hw much is the cake?? 2 tier cake is it all above $100?

adv_
nobody eat CNY cookie at home too. so i only order 1 m&M cookie at BP this year n maybe buy bak kwa.

anyone knows can exchange new note at bank already??

hi ladies!

i know i have been mia for the longest time..hehe
hope u still remember me;0
...seems like this thread is still as happening as before

Jamie, where do u get the pasta stars?

Adv_sports, i saw the trial class pics on ur FB, how was it?looks fun..r u gals signing up for long term or wat?

I do agree with iLoveSashimi that trial classes can be quite tiring..last time i brought my elder gal to kindermusik when she was ard 7mths, it was more of a workout for me than for her

915!! Wah! Whr hv u been?!!! Lol!

Re: kindermusik
I brgt hailey for e trial before. Yes, it really is a work out! Tiring for us la cuz we mus carry them n do the activities..

Ju,

I continue from your qn 2...keke..

qn 2- who take care of bb? ifc ah? so poor thing. y dun let yr MIL or mum take care? Too far? Get maid lah...blah blah blah.. u "she de" so small go childcare meh??!! hahahaha....

I so hate pple comment this and that.

Today my stupid colleague comment how come yr gal goes ifc still so sticky to me and scared of strangers huh??? By right should not be like that...DUHHHH.. (Coz my darling met them for lunch and cried when anyone tried to carry her... LOL...)

Brainless pple!
& many more...

iBite,

i think this is the typical standard conversation from the relatives...
"who take care of bb? ifc ah? so poor thing. y dun let yr MIL or mum take care? Too far? Get maid lah...blah blah blah.. u "she de" so small go childcare meh??!! "

and the worst thing is... later my mil kana psyco by them. then kept asking if we want to hire maid, so that she (my mil) can come & stay at our house during the week day to oversee everything. JUST EYE POWER ONLY.....*faint*

i might as well let my bb go ifc. at least i trust ifc teachers more than the maid.

good morning mummies

will teething coz bb to hv sudden inccrease in appetite? last nite, i fed yuan2 240ml at 8pm... she played n refused to zzz -- started to put anything into her mouth! so i tested her with an empty bottle, she opened her mouth to drop her pacifier -- a sign that she wants milk... so i fed her another 40ml and still not enough *faint* dun wanna give more in case she vomit out... finally she played in the cot till fell asleep... this morning, she woke up at 4am asking for milk
m sooo tired!

915, yah, how hv u been? bernice is such a darlging now

re: trial class @ staccato
like tiny_m said, pics looks more fun than the class :p personally, i dun think yuan2 enjoy it -- coz too chim and she cannot sit still.. the teacher cannot engage the babies and they become restless... too chim in the sense that teacher showed flashcards -- intro of classical music instruments, animals, dots... i would prefer baby get to play with the musical instruments like xylophone, piano...

think none of the mummies sign up for the long term class...

jamie, comparing staccato n kindermusik, which is more fun?

ibite n twinkle, i think i will hv my fair share of such comments this CNY....

whr did u mia to? also mia on fb

ibite,
same! ppl also complain why my gal so sticky & scared of strangers though she go ifc!
like dat means our gal close to us mah, hor?

twinkle,
yes yes! hb nearly psychoed by mil to get maid also. until he realise mil oversee a few mths only, then leave maid & bb at home. then he finally agree to ifc, cos at least can trust better than maid.

adv sport: kindermusik wins hands down. lol! i duno if staccato trial is the same as wat i experienced when i attended. bt i felt tt the trial class was sort of a preview of the all the classes add together. whereas kindermusik trial, cuz we were actually attending the class, we can see how the class is being conducted and such. also as a result, staccato trial seemed more rushed and packed, only knw tt they play with diff mini instruments(which, imo, is jus to show n let them hv a feel of the thing. nt really teaching them a tune on it) and the flash card thingy tt's all. maybe cuz they wanted us to see tt they hv alot to offer so squeeze everything into 45mins. kindermusik has alot of interaction with ur bub. =) did u pay for the staccato trial?

gd morning mummies!

Haiz...i 've really been so busy at work..can faint..been on projects and covering my colleague coz she was also on maternity...+ travelling etc and somemore going away to land of the dark after cny soon...sianz...

Jamie, so what is the pasta stars u talking abt? my girl has been eating only cereal and the heinz teething bistcuits..she dun like porridge leh, so am thinking of an alternative other than cereal.

adv_sports, but yuan looks so very happy in those pics @ staccato..and i like the hairclip u put on her, so sweet! bernice still doesn't have enuff hair to put a hairclip yet.

juju, i have been ard..i see u on fb leh....hey i juz saw ur cny invite...u live so close to me, i think i can also pop over on the 19th ;>

land of the dark? hmm...
my hb gg away this sat to a land of the dark too, for a week
i think jamie referring to bellamy pasta stars?

hee... come over ya? i hope enuff mummies come then can arrange some nice food

adv, i went for both trial before..maybe becuase justin was quite young when i went to the kindermusik..i didnt enjoy the kindermusik coz justin couldnt pay attention at all..

the staccato, at least justin was attentive like80% of the time..hence at least worth spending..

the kindermusik also have the same scarf thing...but a lot of carry baby up n down...tiring...

ju, really ah? hehe i was supposed to there before cny, then i told my boss cannot..so i have to combine my trip and make it into 2 weeks after cn..sianz..the thought of the curry...hehe
Ur hubby will be gone for a week then u have to manage ur gal alone?

so are we ordering food on the 19th or potluck?

twinkle_sp,
I give esther half a egg yolk twice a week. Egg yolks can be given at 9mths, egg whites after 1 yr old. It's actually the protein in egg whites that is likely to cause allergy, so if your baby is prone to allergies, better wait longer. Note that the MMR vaccine that's given at 18mths contain egg.

shers,
For the mee sua, how to remove the salt on it?

jamie, thanks
maybe will let yuan2 try the kindermisk trial class...

yup, we paid $30 for the staccato trial class... i m tempted to get the toy piano -- so cute!

915, haha, i can only take pics when she is happy -- else will be busy chasing after her as she create havoc in the class :p

i bought the hair clips from smh bp -- cutie juniors
think can juz clip for fun -- my purpose is so that pp dun ask me if yuan2 is a boy *haha* but there r still pp asking *faint*

adv, metro got sell the foogo..u can go n see from there..

the toy piano, i ask the lady only ard 1.5 years they will be able to play responsively...

Staccato was boring.. Too much classical music, very chim.. Le Xuan was very distracted by her daddy standing outside. I went for a free trial at Genius Space last Sat with Baby_May and some April mummies, a lot more interesting. April mummies are organising a lot of trials, can pop in and take a look!

Sorry Ju, I can't attend the CNY gathering on 19th! Gotta work cos I'm saving my leave!

adv_sports, agreed taht the toy piano is very cute, in fact i think that was the centre of attraction among the toys there.

about whether bb is a boy, i get that very often too....even though bernice is dressed in PINK.

my thermoguard mini BP is currently at 3 orders. let me know by thurs or fri, then i can talk to the supplier.

I am getting this forehead thermometer directly from the supplier. I hope to negotiate a better price with him n also see whether any mummies here are interested.

http://www.thermoguard.com.sg
(its the thermoguard not thermoflash)

(A forum mummies is selling for SGD 115 including registered mail on the BP section. )

if i can get 10 order, i hope to get it at even cheaper than SGD 115. however, since have no order in hand , have not strongly negotiate with the supplier yet.

Apparently this is the one that is used in most child care. i believe its better than the ear thermometer n also i dont need to buy the case for the ear which is a running cost.

this thermometer can also detect bath water and milk bottle temp.

do directly pm if you have a keen interest(the price i can get wont be more than SGD 115).
just that if i have more than 10 order i can negotiate for a better price per thermometer

this is not his 1st trip after jodie was born le. so kinda "used" to it. jus no passing baton lor. if realli tired, then maybe go my mum's place or something
thinking of ordering neo garden hi-tea...

tiny m,
ok. next time then

Tiny m, staccato felt lk I was watching a tv ad! A lot of stuff packed together! Hailey gt bored aft awhile. she started to look sleepy. lol!

Adv sport: ya the piano very cute! I didn't bring my camera bt another took pix for her. Lucky gt tk e one w the piano. Hahaha! Did u manage too ask hw much e piano costs?

Adv, Tiny M
think you should try kindermusik! Claire loves the classes! When you sign up for the class you will need to buy a CD which consist of all the music used in the class.
Claire actually responses by jumping/getting excited/bouncing/smiling when she hears the familiar songs!

ibite,juju,adv,twinkle..i will receive such comments during cny too..but already used to it lah..ppl keep telling me same thing like bb fall sick easily at ifc this and that...and why my bb still so yang oh and cry when stranger carries him...i will tell them cos i am his mummy of cos he will feel closer to me right !

twinkle, same here..i trust ifc more than the maid and my mil !

juju, i will be gg to your hse gathering..but no potluck for me pls..i cant cook !

jaime, hmmm, i dun like the scarf thingy... prefer more hands-on with music...

any mummies know where i can get those baby musical toys/instrument? or know how to DIY?

sei, i bought the hokkien mee sua -- no salt type... may try to cook and let yuan2 try

915, that piano costs $129! haiz, these pp r BLIND when they ask bb's gender when dress in pink or blue...

re: add cereal in milk
any mummies know what type of cereal to add to milk? can add si sen fen brown rice? yuan2 is waking up for night feed past 2 nites -- thot of adding cereal to make her full and last thru the nite...

Personally, i also feel that one trial class is not enough to gauge whether the child likes it or not. Sometimes she child gets very excited at the first lesson then subsequently lost interest and it could be the other way round too...

I have gotten lots of students who are super excited on the first day but 2nd lesson onwards don't want to come for class!

Adv sports,
The kindermusik classes are varied.. they don't so the scarf thingy all the time.. Out of the 12 lessonss Claire attended, they only did like 3-4 times.

porky,
ya lor... bb & mummy closest. others step aside!
dun worry. i dun wanna cook too. will order neo garden hi-tea if enuff ppl

jamie & bean: Is the kindermusik more music and movement type? Le Xuan loves the music and movement segment when we went for the trial at Genius Space, she kept wanting to jump!

adv_sports: I feed Le Xuan BabyNat fruit cereal diluted with lots of milk for her breakfast. U can try it. It smells very nice and Le Xuan loves it!

adv: Le Xuan has a baby concert set (got drum, trumpet, shaker and some others) bought from a toy shop near my house. But it's made in china and the paint and small parts come apart quite easily. We kept it after a small part from the drum came loose. Choose the toys very carefully!