(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

915, i dun mind ur lor-soh-ness :p thanks for ur detailed explanation! thanks for ur reminder on stirring! yuan2 is drinking from avent wide neck bottle
i hv used a teat hole puncher(thanks to poohwei) to enlarge the hole -- hope the mixture can flow smoothly...

actually eys has si shen fen and si shen fen with brown rice... i thot easier if the chinese herbs oledi mix in brown rice...

createjoy, my fren's sons grew up with eys si shen fen brown rice and they r sturdy boys! she advised me to get it for yuan2 to try...

porky, think i need to ask IFC to limit her nap time! she usually KO for 2-3 hours after her cereal & bath @ IFC
at home during weekends, she will KO for 2 hrs after bath...

adv, yes u need to inform ifc..as last time the caregivers also let jaeden nap whenever he wants...then night time he cant go to sleep on time which i think is not healthy..i hope he can sleep by 8-8.30pm everyday..

wow yuan can nap up to 3hrs each time is very good leh..jaeden the longest only 1.5hr ever since he turn 4 mths

Adv sports: prev she woke at 6-7am. Then I guess she gradually woke later n later on her own. Also, my room curtains are black with abit of white design so my room is really quite dark. N I latch her in e morn. Sometimes heng heng she latch halfway doze off again. Bt latest 9am she wakes.

bean, here's wat i gather from the web on si shen fen :-
四神粉 contain 淮山 (huai san),茯苓 (fu lin),欠实 (qian shi),莲子 (lian zi)
Will help baby or kid to increase their appetite, reduce their 湿气, 健脾, 开胃, 利湿.

i m letting yuan2 try this tonite -- she is waking up for nite feed for the past few nites till hubby n me panda eyes!

re: relieve blocked nose
remember one mummy recommending how to relieve bb's blocked nose using some oil... how har?

there is a diff between the rice powder + si shen fen and the si sen powder itself.
both sell at eys.

915, the one you put in milk is the powder itsself right..not the brown rice powder + si shen right?

915 , adv_
thks for the explaination! so how oftn we giv them si shen fen? i bought from BP run by a june mummy. it's just the powder, so far i added twice into his porridge 1/4 teasp...

adv sports,
yah... one of the mommies mentioned before .... is it this that you are looking for??

Olbas Children (Inhalant Decongestant) bought at Watson S$ 6 ++ place 4-6 drops on a tissue paper n place near to her sleeping place.

hihi, i dunno got 2 kinds of si shen fen but i always ask for the one that is for baby to drink. price is abt $13.90...and i am looking at the tin now, it says brown rice leh...think buy above $100 can get the EYS 10% discount card...

My card expired liao, maybe we can share and buy if you all want then can get 10% discount...or anyone here has the card?

Createjoy, the si shen fen i bought must be cooked one leh and the method i explained was passed down from my mil...

jaime, beeped u on fb liao

Re: Si shen fen
This powder is more suitable for babies who needs to increase appetite (those who're not eating well). My aunt, with many years of childcare experience and whose hb is a chinese sinseh type, said that my girl cannot eat cos she's already eating well and is very fat already.
adv_sports: Yuan2 seems to be eating much better than Le Xuan, u may wanna reconsider giving this to Yuan2, skarli her appetite gets even bigger!

Re: Nap
My girl now only naps twice in the day, as little as 15mins and never more than 1hr!

Tiny M,
Yah yah.. My mum also said the same thing about brown rice as well as si shen fen when I checked with her. She said brown rice will give the baby lots of strength same function as beef. When the baby already very strong, no need to give.
She said the same thing as you regarding the si shen fen..

bean: oh, i din know brown rice also the same. My girl taking brown rice and my aunt never say anything (prob my mum din tell her le xuan is eating that). I just know she said si shen fen is a no no cos to her le xuan is soooo fat already!

Ling: actually my girl's appetite seems small to me, she can never finish a whole jar food! and her milk intake is usually 100ml per feed (in her 8mths of history, the most she'd taken is 150ml). but she take frequent meals, mabbe that's why she's fat. hahah..

now u gals making me feel like feeding jodie wif brown rice & si shen fen...
ifc informed us today to drop jodie's ebm again, cos she's not finishing them... haiz
but then they say she's taking her cereals, jar food & juices well

Hmm, I been feeding Vera with the si shen fen mixed into the brown rice cereal every few days since 6 months.. and I think her appetite for solids does increase! but not for milk though, sighs!

Today ask mil to give HX plain rice cereal & she ate it!! Yeah.. will continue few more days, then start her on something else...

can check with you...
i stopped bf abt 2mths liao... then yest i tink there is a small duct at one of the Bs leh... then i tried to massage it.. got milk flow out abit leh..
does it mean blocked duct?? so scared if i go massage will induce the milk flow back!

Lily - Vera even worse.. 6.7kg at 8.5mths old!

Joyce - Vera also likes plain cereal. Last time I added in veg, she spit out! So gotta feed her separately..

Ling - when I stop bf, I also feel a small duct and when massage, milk does flow out. But after 1 wk, then its gone. So I also dont know is it massage liao then it disappear?

ladies, thread so happening. missed few days and scroll scroll cannot end..

Ilove, how is ur baby. Could able to identify cause of allergy/ diahhorea? If in case anytime got any doubt, me missing in thread u can PM me I will reply. Me night owl can answer anytime except 6am to 12pm (sleep time)

All mummies,
I got one important doubt. Since all our babies born in May and I guess they can only join pre school 2012 Jan batch. When is the right time to do registration? Any good recommendations or any feedbacks collected? I heard St James is nice. But anyother option?

My next question is:
I want to get my gal going for swimming. At home got swimming tab which she enjoys but then fill hot water ----- electricity bills burning pockets.
Aqua ducks I see not many residential locations. Any good ones which got right temp water for our baby age?

morning mummies !

lily, rachael dont looks like 7.8kg to me ! she seems strong and chubby leh..the last time we met at jamie's hse

joyce, wat brand of plain cereal u gv to HX ? i bgt the Nestle rice cereal (Green tin)..but my boy dont like leh...i think it tasted bland..he refuse to finish it loh..now open alrdy..dunno how..but he likes HT barley/Mixed Grain and Oatmeal cereals

ling, when i stop bf for 2 mths..also realise got milk when i slightly squeeze it..but another few weeks later no more le

good morning mummies!

i added eys si shen fen brown rice to yuan2's milk last nite -- haha, really look like chocolate milk! She finished without fuss and KO soon after (without asking for top up)... i was tempted to feed her @ midnite before i zzz -- but she was sleeping so soundly that i skip... BUT she woke up at 3am asking for milk! think she has formed the habit that mummy will feed me if i fuss at nite!! luckily she fell asleep after the milk feed *phew* but i took a while to fall back to sleep...

915, will the brown rice becomes lumpy when u add to the milk? mine became lumpy n i had to seive thru so that the cereal can pass thru the teat hole... hmm, or i did the steps wrongly?
1. add 2 scoops of si shen fen brown rice to 60ml of lukewarm water -- stir to dissolve
2. turn on stove on low heat and stir till pasty
3. add to 120ml milk
or should i add the milk to the pot and continue stirring?

twinkle, thanks! will check out watson for it... i din give yuan2 runny nose medicine as her case is mild -- but she will hv nose block when she sleeps at nite...

tiny_m, i oledi open the tin of eys si shen fen brown rice last nite! Oops, hope her appetite dun increase -- and wake up twice for nite feed!!

tiny_m, bean, i alternate brown rice cereal with white rice cereal.. as brown rice is heaty -- dun wanna give too much else yuan2 will constipate!

cheesecake, think vera is active hence burn off faster :p

re: medicine
yuan2's runny nose n cough is on-off for abt 1 week... i try not to give her medicine as her appetite will be affected... hmmm, wondering if i m doing the right thing?? not getting worse but not getting better either...

re: eys si shen fen brown rice
how long can i keep the tin after opening? i forsee i will take a long while to finish if i juz add 2 sccops every nite...

Hi good morning mummies

Re: Euyansang brown rice
my mum is feeding my boy the brown rice about 3 times a week. Usually my boy will take Healthy times cereal, porridge or potato for lunch and dinner. My mum said the brown rice is good for baby but no need to take everyday.

Want to find out from mummies here how much porridge/cereal do you normally give your babies? Usually my boy can finish 3/4 bowl of cereal / porridge. Last week my MIL was feeding porridge to my boy and she realised he's feed 3/4 bowl every meal, she told me just give him half bowl will do.

Am I overfeeding my baby? He's drinking about 120ml - 150ml of formula milk before he goes to bed even after taking the cereal/porridge.

Porky,
ya hor ... she very active now keep on want to stand. Just now after shower she drink 280ml then KO. My MIL say bcos she not enough sleep thats y cant chubby.

Any mummies here sending babies for H1N1 jab? GP recommends H1N1 for little children and babies so I may want to bring my 2 darlings to take the jab. Children below 9 years need to take 2 jabs.

jasc, yuan2 can finish 1 bowl of rice cereal + puree -- m using the pigeon feeding bowl. Since Tuesday, she is taking 1 more solid @ IFC -- abt 1 bowl of porridge, too. each solid can last her 3-4hr till next feed.

i think should be ok to feed whatever issac can finish... if u feed him less, he may get hungry earlier...

think i trained yuan2 to sleep thru the nite since 6-8weeks... really need to get use to wake up at 3-4am -- i hv difficulty to fall back to sleep after i wake up

lily, rachel is a big drinker -- 280ml @ 1 go!

adv_sports
So I'm not overfeeding Isaac since Yuan2 is also taking about the same amount of cereal.

Usually for the 3am feed, I'll change his diaper before feeding the milk so that he'll fall asleep soon after the milk.

Bean
Thanks for your reply. My MIL told my hb to inform me not to feed Isaac too much. I think I'll just leave it to my mum since she's taking care of Isaac. I believe if he's full, he'll make a fuss!

lily, but i think rachel is chubby already ! hahaha..jaeden used to nap 10-15mins at 6mths..now he can nap 45mins - 1.5hr le

adv, jaeden had running nose and mucus for 1 week..then i gv him the flu med (green syrup)..but did not see any recovery so i stop..then now he recovers on his own..total took abt 2weeks+

jasc, i am bringing jaeden for the seasonal flu jab..are u talking abt this ? cos he always get flu/cough/running nose from ifc...so GP recommended this...needs 2 jabs, 1 week in between...any mummies taking this jab also ?

Porky, I brought my children for the flu jab too, need a month for the 2nd jab. Lately brought them to GP for cough, GP recommends H1N1, more important than the normal flu jab. 2nd flu jab is due but I'll do the H1N1 1st jab first, one week later then do the 2nd flu jab.

joyce, where to get best's home rice cereal ? i got the nestle cereal cos got small tin..only feed on weekends mah...but now kept aside le since jaeden dont like..so weekend i feed him bb jar and puree loh..

Porky, if I'm not wrong, the flu jab should be $28 each, H1N1 is $30 each. You stay Punggol? You can call up My family clinic in punggol to find out, can use the baby bonus to pay.