(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

sallen, i know liao..cos i not order from the link u write above...

oh, cos that time my boy kanna diarrhoe so pd say delay to take rotavirus loh...so last sat i bring him to take 1st dose..2nd dose will be 4 weeks later...u mean ur rotavirus also got sign package ah ? mine is take at GP...not the same as 6-in-1...

btw, ur CB items arrive liao. can collect at yishun mrt..u got the seller contact no. bo ??

Porky/Sallen-my boy refuse milk ley so I started cereal for him since 4 months, he eats an adult bowl of cereal twice a day!! And when we start feeding him, cannot stop de otherwsie he will start screaming heehee..muz continuous feed him spoon after spoon..

flommy, wahahaha he enjoys eating cereal so much ah..he can eat swallow so fast ? u knw ifc there told me some babies dunno how to swallow until 6mths...

Re. Cereal
so wat brand of cereal is good? haha must start to research liao... left 1 mth to go! my boy now oso dun like to drink milk.. only drink 90-120ml/3 hrly... haiz...

Re: Cereal

My gal is 5.5 mths now. Think I will start on her cereal one week before she turns 6 mths. Intend to video it down as it is gng to be her next milestone...keke.. She is taking less milk now too!
Sometimes as little as 80ml only and dun seem to be hungry. She seems to show interest in solid food as she always see us eat with that greedy look,her mouth always moving... hahaha

ibite, same same ! my boy also will move his mouth when he looks at us eating..haha..then he will make noise and munch his fist...like so hungry like dat...

ibite/porky

my boy also dun like milk he drink 80ml only 6 or 7hrs still dun wan to drink so i got no choice if that happen i got to feed him cereal mixing the formula milk powder.. he will scream if i feed him too slow, he like can swallow very fast le.. will always move his head fwd with his mouth big when he saw my spoon coming..

re: this fri shopping
I cant join u gals le.. my hubby took leave so got to accompany him at home..

porky , i don hav the seller no..can giv me the contact no thru sms.. tks

for my boy i sign package wif PD for the 6 in 1 n Pneumococcal n Rotavirus.

why u also insist to giv cereal for ur boy at 6mth??

Flommy, ur boy so fast eat cereal liao ?

Ling, i buy tat (4mth) cereal firso (lol..dunno hw to spell),for my boy,but not yet giv him try,coz PD say giv him next mth not now..also dunno why..

Re refuse milk...

tis topic drive me crazy .. coz my boy also refuse milk,force him to drink he wil shout n shout...haiz lan lan,don bear to scold him.. lol.. if tis happen 18yrs ago think i beat him as hw i beat my #1,when she only 2mth old..haiz..feel guilty liao...Zzzz

sallen - i think it varies from kid to kid. my pd told me that i can try giving my boy cereal when he is 4 months old and i did that. maybe my boy looks fat then and his pd thought that milk will not satisfy him enough.

sallen, i will email u the link and contact later..cos my pd say start at 6mths is better lah..so i wait loh..anyway very fast de loh...now my boy can drink a lot again leh...funny one...2 weeks ago he refuse to drink...then last week he drink 220ml per feed 3hrly...

Sallen/Porky - my boi refuse milk for so long ley until we gave up lor, so we succumb to feeding him solids earlier coz he look very interested in our solid food while we eat! Even now he started cereal, he will paddle on his walker near to his Older Sis when she's having her porridge. Then my mil will feed him a teaspoon of porridge, like dat he oso hapi!!

re intro cereal - in the past, bbs start eating semi solids at 4mths. dat's y the older generation will always ask us to begin bbs on cereals/porridge etc when bb turn 4mths. but now, the new recommendation is to start only at 6mths to reduce incidence of food allergies. but again this is a guideline, some bbs dun like milk after a while so may hv to intro semi solids earlier to them.

mummies may want to check out this link for info on when and how to intro food: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/startingsolids/introducing

good afternoon mummies

ibite/porky, haha, my bb also moves her mouth like munching when she watches us eat!

flommy, ur boi is a fast eater

porky, wah, ur boi can drink hor -- 220ml 3hrly! growth spurt! my girl very fussy when drinking milk last weekend -- can take 30min to finish 200ml!

sallen, wah, u very fierce leh...

re: preparing solids
any mummies try to make solids themselves? my fren advises me to delay introducing artificial sweetness to baby -- think the off-the-shelf cereal contains it... coz babies r smart, once they tasted it, they will reject bland food...

adv sports - i only give my gal homecooked food, even now when she's oreadi 2+, coz i dun want her to take all the msg-laden stuff from outside. only give her off the shelf bottled food when we were travelling.

i used to spend my sat mornings making food cubes. carrot, brocoli, pumpkin, mushroom etc etc. i will steam them lightly then use the food processor to make them into purees and keep them in the baby cubes and freeze them. i make enuff to last her for one week. looks like i'm gg to spend my sat mornings doing the same thing again soon.

adv sport - i forgot to add that i did not intro any seasoning until only recently. bbs have discerning taste buds and able to taste the natural sweetness in foods so we dun nid to give any sugar, salt etc.

adv sports - no lah, juz wan to give my gal the best. there is juz too much artifical stuff in our food nowadays. i'm pretty strict with her food intake - no sweets, chocolates, tibits etc. i'm using moulinex (not correct sp). juz happen to have one lying around, didn't particularly go shopping for one. but it's ez to clean.

feb_mum, after we intro solids, does milk intake drops or solids substitute 1 milk feed? my bb is has 4 feeds per day -- 7am, 11am, 3pm, 7pm... say, if i give her solid at 11am, the rest r milk feed?

how to do store the frozen ice-cubed food? wanna find a convenient n economical way... also, i worry the other food in the freezer will change the smell/taste of the ice-cubed food...

my boy also started at 4.5 months on cereal. i also didnt want to start until 6 month. but his milk intake is decreasing so much, we scare he is hungry..so feed with cereal lor.PD also says must slowly increase until 4 teaspoon of cereal.
stil like that lor, not super interested in the cereal also.

my pd's diagnosis, babies this age more interested in surrounding than milk.

one week, it was no distraction while feeding, must feed in quiet environment. another week, he prefer to feed watching the tellies even though i think its not good, but at least he can drink quietly and with little resistance.

wonder what is installed this week.

adv sports - on storage, you can get baby cubes. see link: http://babycubes.com/ they are in individual cubes so you juz thaw the amt you need, very convenient. and since they come with lids, no worries abt smells.

initially, we subsitute 1 milk feed with solids. slowly, will increase the no of solid feeds. eventually, they will eat like adults, 3 meals, with tea breaks in betw. a possible schedule is something like this:
6am milk feed
8am breakfast eg cereal
10am tea break eg fruits
12nn lunch eg porridge
3pm milk feed
6pm dinner
9pm milk feed

you might wan to attend the talk on weaning at the polyclinics. i went to one before and found it very informational and the nurse even did demo on food preparation. see link: http://www.nhgp.com.sg/contentview.aspx?article_id=579

feb_mum, u really hardworking leh ! but i think i will also spent my weekend to make puree for my boy...hahaha...now already start looking at bp for baby cubes and receipes when i am free in the office...hehe...i also have a food processor at home, finally can make use liao

porky - actually i enjoy the weaning stage more than the 'milking' stage. can explore so many different recipes. as a rule of thumb, to ensure bb gets nutrients from different sources, i always have different colour cubes each week. for eg. carrot (orange), purple cabbage (purple), broccoli (green), shitake mushroom (black). i will put the cubes into the porridge and cook together in the slow cooker.

hi, anyone keen on buying wean machine? i bought but nvr used, brand new still in the box... doubt i will use it... so selling it... will sell at $35(neg)... Pm me if keen... thanks!

re starting solids,

i prefer to start when bb close to 6th month old. esp when my family has history of allergies. dun wana take risk on this.

as for puree, i bought the Pigeon set to sieve and mash bb's food.. coz im a SAHM so i make fresh puree for bb everyday.. but i freeze the chicken/ pork soup stock when my elder boy abt 8 mths old and ready for porridge. same like feb mum, i did not introduce any flavouring/ seasoning only until recently when my elder boy abt 20mth old.. and he actually dislike sweet stuff now like ice cream and sweet drinks.. wonder is it because i intro flavourings too late.. haa..

have fun preparing all the puree and lil food for our babies, i still remembered i was so excited preparing and draft out the menu schedule for my elder boy when he started solid!

juju

yes yes me me.. i wanna buy..

btw mummies can i ask what is the different between food processor n blender??
I am abit confuse..

yuki,

i got the Pigeon food processor to mash foods like sweet potato, carrot, green peas etc.. and i use blender to blend meats & ikan bilis for porridge at a later stage.. actually i used more of food processor at initial weaning stage rather than blender..

ling lim,
i think rice cereal 1st.. then if no allergy, can slowly introduce low allergy fruits/ vege like apple, carrot.. but intro the same puree to bb for 3 consecutive days b4 move on to another foods, so u will be able to observe food allergies if there's any..

dodo,
icic... rice cereal first.. okie...
but when we intro the fruits/veg.. this can be mixed in porridge rite?

when can we intro the grinded ikan bilis (powder form) mixed with porridge? my mum said can eat that already now (based on her last time experience)..

ling lim,

yes, can mix the vege puree to porridge later.. after bb tries out the majority of them and clear of food allergy..

after u try the rice cereal & some low allergy fruits/ vege, can let bb tries out oatmeal, barley cereals also.. but do all these slowly and once at a time better..

i think i intro ikan bilis to my elder boy when he was ard 8-9mth old.. but must wash till very clean, sun it dry then grind to powder form.. coz ikan bilis can be very saltish if din wash well..

ling - start with plain rice cereal first. then progress to add fruit/veg puree into cereal, rem intro 1 new food type at a time. subsequently can add veg/meat puree into porridge. ikan bilis is seafood, shd not intro too early, tink around 8mths safer.

The weaning stage looks so interesting! haha

Gals who are feeding babies FM,

We got a free tin(think ard 400g) of mamil gold stage 2 from Dumex. Interested mummies can sign up with Dumex website.

Re: Sweet stuff

Sad to say. I think the FM that my gal is taking is sweet. Think she might not like food that is too bland.

How is everyone.. wah now the topic is on solids..
I shall start kea on solid when he turns 6 mths..
start with purees.. potato, sweet potato, pumpkin, spinach, carrot, brocolli..

start with one at a time for few times, then can mix and match the above.. i would say starting solid is no fun haha.. very messy ;p

Adv,
I got braun handheld blender.. very easy to use and clean :p

good morning mummies

re: baby cubes
i plan to order online @
http://www.motherslove.com.sg/
- 8x 70ml for $16
- Self collect at bukit batok street 11

re: rice cereal vs porridge
pardon this blur mummy -- what is the difference between rice cereal vs porridge?? can use normal white rice or better to use brown rice?
re: playmat
any mummies bought LG/Parklon playmat? m thinking of getting one for yuan2 to roll

adv, i bought e parklon for hailey to roll n flip on.. think it's a good investment cuz she gets a bigger area to play on n it's on hard like concrete. haha! see my fb for the pictures!

adv sport - rice cereal is cereal made from rice, in powder form. you got to add in milk to make it into a smooth consistency for bb. i used to use Healthy Times, an organic brand. porridge is wat we eat as adults. for bb, you might wan to cook it until very soft, the cantonese style.

might be good to start with white rice first. brown rice might cause constipation in bb.

jamie - foods can be divided into several categories: least likely to cause allergic reaction, occasionally cause reaction, most likely to cause reaction and highly allergenic. so start with those that are least likely to cause allergic reaction and move down the category.

1) Food least likely to cause allergic reaction (intro after 6th mth)
- rice, pear, prune, carrot, apple, pork

2) Food that occasionally cause allergic reaction (intro after 6th mth)
- barley, apricot, wheat, plum, spinach, cabbage, oat, banana, chicken, beef, peach, broccoli, lamb, turnip, potato, cherry, corn

3) Food most likely to cause allergic reaction (intro from 9th mth)
- berries eg strawberry, raspberry, cow's milk, legumes eg soyabean, beans, fish

4) Foods that are highly allergenic (intro from 12th mth)
- seafood eg crabs, prawns, scallops, peanuts, egg white

feb mum, thx very much for the info.. v helpful.. will try to wait till hailey's 6 months for solids (she jus hit 4 ytd!).. all this talk n info abt solids makes me so excited to start her on it! hehehe!

feb_mum, thanks! i found a recipe on the net -- use cooked rice to blend into cereal... m so excited to plan the menu for yuan2

jamie, cannot access fb @ work leh... which design/size did u get? did u get from bp? we saw a hello kitty one @ minitoons...

adv, how many months is yuan2 now? u starting her on solids? oh the playmat i bot from cheng choon.. 119.. small small world bp also have.. yea i saw e hello kitty one.. quality is TOTALLY different lo! we still meeting on fri? if so u can come over c the mat first.. =)

jamie, yuan2 is coming to 5mth... plan to start her in 6mth -- now collating recipes
so fun!

re: playmat
jamie, thanks... think i know which design u bought... erhm, the playmat can fit into ur car boot? i m looking at the yellow bear school bus @ $138 -- coz one side has abc

re: 25 sept gathering
jamie, me n yuan2 going definitely -- wanna let her swim as she is kicking alot while bathing lately
can sms me ur address? will pick u up from void deck... btw, m meeting hubby for dinner @ vivo...

so who r coming?
1) jamie with bb hailey
2) ju with baby jodie
3) adv with bb yuan2
4) porky?
5) ling?

adv, yes me and ling will be joining. we go early for shopping and lunch first...not bringing bb..hehe

jamie, u mean the minitoons one the quality no good ?