(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Thanks joie. Ya v ex tts y in wonderg hw much to give n if shd mix w plain porridge. On a separate note, anyone gave porridge cooked w dried scallops? Taste nice but scallop v hard to chew leh. Got to take out. Or amyone gt suggestions how to go abt this problem?

Mummies, anyone keen in buying pediped shoes? 50% off, nt sure promo ends when, if keen pm me n I'll coordinate,

http://www.pediped.com/Product/CategoryInfo.aspx?cid=58&utm_source=MailingList&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Consumer+-+2010-06-07

Hi Eunice, I usually mix the pigeon poridge with plain porridge. I find that it's too salty on it's own. N like what joie mentioned, it's very exp!

Brought Val to visit 2 childcare centres around my house area yest. Little Tree House and Shooting Stars. Both child care centres are those terrace houses with porch, garden and playground. Val seems to enjoy childcare very much.

The moment she stepped into the centres, she started running around, playing with the toys and very at ease. She even started playing with the teachers and children, without even bothering to look for us as we spoke to the director of the place.

Of the 2 centres, I think Val like shooting stars more due to its big space, garden, teachers, environment, etc. I think we gonna check out a few more centres first before deciding ba.

anyone knows in the middle of the nite, shd anything happens, which is the best hospital to send bb to? i meanwhich has good emergency service?

just trying to gather all these handy info in case needs arise..

Edj,

I was told by my PD that during emergency time, better bring my baby to Thomson Medical Centre 24 hrs A&E, then ask them to call my PD to come. You could check with your PD for his emergency number too...coz when I asked him his emergency number, that is what he advised me... but definitely dont bring ur baby to KK's children emergency, the waiting is super long, and I dont think it's a prof PD who will assist you, but may be those normal GP who's in their process to be a PD...ever waited there from 10PM til 2AM

<font color="119911">Edj:</font> Yah, chk on E's PD's card -- whc hospital e PD is visiting consultant @. The one we go 2 is @ Mt A whc also the option is there 2 bring kidz 2 Mt A A&amp;E &amp; specifically ask for Dr Simon Ng &amp; they'l pg 4 him. Bt when itz real emergency, of course juz let whcever Dr's available attend 2 child lor. Waiting time @ KKH varies bt generally Fri-Sun worst.

<font color="0000ff">Pedipeds:</font> Prices r aft discount. Bt juz wondering w currency xchng &amp; shipping, how much prices likely 2 b? Coz these r old models. I'm trying 2 compare w local sales of Clarks, Pedipeds where itz also likely 2 b clearance of old models fr around SGD$40... Any1 ever order kidz shoes fr US, kan advise me likely shipping costs 2 b loaded? B1 loves e butterfly design 1 bt I also juz ordered a pair thru Esqycloset's BP... Oh, Pediped has a model called 'Sebastian' -- quite nice

Kidzs/Yenz,

thanks for the advice...i;d better check with my PD the next time i go..

ohbtw, any mummies given or going to give the MMR/chicken pox (those 6 in 1 vaccine) to their bb?
my PD recommeneded the vaccine at around 15mths...i am still a bit concerned lei...

Hello! This is my first time posting in here. Want to ask for your advice. My girl was born last April but she's rather big and i highly suspect my current combi stroller might not be able to take her weight. I wanna buy an upright stroller but dont know which to buy. So just wanna check what you have bought and whether you would recommend for me to get one too. Thanks!

<font color="0077aa">Sh:</font> Tx! Wl chk out

<font color="119911">Edj:</font> I'll likely give Bastion that since his PD also advise 2 wait til 15M. Bt sometime soon Bastion has 2 go 4 his pneumo jab.

Kidz: My last spree for Polliwogs shoes, the shipping works out to be last than $10 per pair. I think around S$7 each. But I am not sure if Pediped shoes are considered heavier. + the Polliwog shoes did not come with boxes. This would be factored into the shipping too..

KP: Thanks. I think I will give it a miss. Will consider getting it locally instead ba.

edj
my girl took her chix pox vaccine at 12mths then MMR at 15 mths. My friend's son took the combined at ard 14-15 mths n he broke out in rashes 1 wk after the jab. after which the PD told her was a side effect. my own PD actually recommended NOT to take the combined jab as its new in the mkt n not stable yet. but to each his own la...cos my friend's PD recommended the combined jab. saves the bb 1 jab.

Kidz, I read the spree section, think it's about $8-$9 per pair. I also found the BP thread for pediped, they are also having clearance sale but limited sizes and styles especially for flex and prices are around $50+. Think it's worth it to buy from spree now cos per pair should be around $40 inclusive of shipping.. I also like "Sebastian"

Hi Hannah, welcome!

May I know how big is your girl now? I have a Maclaren Quest, quite good, not too heavy to lug around and stable for my boy

@gallop: She's now about 11kg? We weighed her about 2 months back and she was 10kg then. Plus she's tall (76cm) and so our combi stroller feels rather flimsy especially when she's in it.

EDJ,
I think Mt A and TMC are safe bets for children emergencies.
i've been to Mt A emergency a few times now ( for both hubby and son) and services are good and i saw a lot of kids with various issues there as well.
Please remember to bring child's medical booklet and BC. and your IDs as well just in case.
time spent waiting depends on emergencies, x-rays, doctors response etc.

PEDIPED SHOES,
i would like to get a pair too!!
so shd i email SH or KP??
please advise.
Is the spree ongoing? or ending soon?
cos i need to look at the designs, will take a day or 2

Hannah,
welcome!!
my boy's 11kg now and he has a peg perego pliko p3 stroller which we like very much, just heavy for me to use alone so hubby usually takes charge of it.
we also hv a combi one which is light and good for travel and so far no problems.

@pravina: Wow... i've heard really good reciew about the peg perego but the price really put me off. Which combi stroller do you have? I have the TJT350, the earlier version of the miracle-turn which i bought 2nd hand.

Hannah, my boy is 11kg++ too and more than 80cm, he's ok to sit in the quest. Maybe because the stroller is lighter so you feel that it's filmsy.. when we were using the Maclaren XLR it also felt more stable as it's heavier

Privina, up to u who la, whichever convience to take from.
. No hurry cos sales ending early jul.

hi Hannah, I oso juz gt a maclaren quest for my 11kg boy. It's a gd stroller. OG sales $239 n spring maternity dales $278. These are the cheapest I've seen so far.

Eviangal, I deliver at mt a. Y?

@gallop &amp; Sh...: How do you all feel about the maclaren? Coz I read some reviews about the construction of the stroller and they were not so good. But then again, maybe it's from the US so the kids are "bigger"??

SH: Er... heh..hehe... i just discovered i am expecting.. So.. thinking if i should go for Mt A the next time round. Didnt quite like Thomson..

Any cafeteria there?

Thanks Mummies for your well wishes. =)

Kris: Ya.. Keke.. Can join u guys for lunches very soon.. =)

Went to see the gynae jus now.. Bb should be due in 1st week of Feb (CNY period).. So fast horz... Scary lorz.. + Hb might be posted to London from Sept to March this year. I hope his boss could allow him to come home for my delivery.

<font color="119911">eviangal,
it seems so fast, in juz a few mths time, V's gonna has a sibling. if ur hb got posted to London, hw u gonna cope alone? if he cant even come hm for ur delivery, tink dat will b veri sad.</font>

eviangal, congrats!
Looking forward?

Kidz, yes, take it as 1.45 xchange rate first

Pravina, PM me? think we currently have ard 6-7pairs ald..

eviangal, can go along and give birth there?:p Why not tag along for the 7 months? Else quite sian to be here alone isnt it?

Eviangal,

Congrat!!!

And NO, don't go to London to give birth!!!! The hospitals there are horrible! Dirty floors speckled with dried blood and dirt. Been there once - gave me the creeps. Singapore is much better

Hannah,

Hi hi!! Surprised to see you here

How's A? Arrange a get-together when I get back yah?

Can't advise on the stroller. Don't use Maclaren nor peg perego. Hope you find one that suits A soon!

Pei: Gosh!!! London hospitals sounds scary... I dont think i will be comfortable delivering in a foreign country either.. Will be delivering in Singapore.

Kirs: Agreed. Will move to my mum's place in the meantime and settle Val in childcare first. Hopefully, hubby able to convince boss to let him come by earlier e.g. in Jan.. Ya.. very sad if he cant come back in time.

KP: Thanks. Er... Dont think I will want to go there give birth ba..

Sh and Ow Mummy: Did you guys take 1 bedded or 2 bedded at Mt A? Any epidural? Whats the hospital bill like? Cos my company got reimbursement. But up to $10K.

Eviangal, it's tough wifout hubby ard....I took the 2 bedded, tat china lady beside me snore so loudly!!! I so angry can't get gd sleepthink ow mum took the 1 bedded de rite. Better choose tat. Can't rmbr my bills le. 10k def enuff for u to claim la... Lol... Coy so gd!

<font color="ff6000">KP:</font> Tx 4 clarification. Shipping is via vPost or ...? Any discount there? Coz I noe UOB CC holders stl enjoying 10% for vPost. I'm keen 2 order 1 pair bt stl hv decided on designs.