(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Kris, come2 join us! We going for lunch at white rabbit at Harding Road at around 1pm after our classes at JG.. Other mummies also welcome to join..

KP, I also made reservation leh.. hahahaha.. leave it lah, just in case other mummies want to join us. Audrey sms me already, she'll come tomorrow

powerball, come join us for lunch tomorrow if you can. Ya the class really not bad
Wah the pampers active 2 for $20 sounds like a good deal!

edj, hahahaha we are not anti east lah, if you invite us to your house we'll sure come one! HAHAHAHA

anyone going to the Motherhood Exhibition at SG Expo?

KP, the class sounds fun.. must post some pics/videos up of the kids interactions :)

Mummies, i just checked the papers. The pampers offer is only for 50sets per day and is limited to 1 set per customer. FYI - think NTUC and Giant now have offer for pampers again.

edj > i cook over stove so sorry, cannot advice on cooking oats in slow cooker. but i think oats if cook too long will become too sticky

sh > i use organic rolled baby oats, cannot remember the brand, but i guess quaker is fine too

Ladies, please vote where you would like to go for lunch? Thought we will go something dif this time round, unless pp prefer to stick to the old fav ie swensen's/bakerzin.

Lunch at United Sq
Venue: Cedele, Grandma's, Jack's place, Thai Express or Xin Wang?
Date: 4 June, Friday

1. Kris
2. Powerball
3. ow_mummy
4. Pei (grandma's - never been there)

Ladies, please vote where you would like to go for lunch? Thought we will go something dif this time round, unless pp prefer to stick to the old fav ie swensen's/bakerzin.

Lunch at United Sq

1. Kris
2. Powerball
3. ow_mummy (Nv been to grandma's, wad type of food?)

<font color="119911">Owmum,
shld b grandma's kind of food...haha.

audrey,
not joinin us?

Lunch at United Sq
Time: 1pm

1. Kris (grandma's or xin wang)
2. Powerball
5.</font>

Think Grandma's is nasi lemak. Thought it was fr the popular KLCC one?

Lunch at United Sq

1. Kris (grandma's or xin wang)
2. Powerball (game for anything)

Should we give Grandma's a try then? It's at B1. See everyone at 1pm.

Ow_mummy, must remember to check if there's new stuff at Fox! I need to use my voucher before I leave for London!

Lunch at United Sq

1. Kris
2. Powerball
3. ow_mummy
4. Pei

Harlo mummies. It's a long time since I posted here. A little update: Xander having fever for the past wk since Tuesday. So tired!! Glad he is getting better!!

I've checked out the fair at expo this afternoon during lunch. Not much time to go thorughly. Pampers selling 3packs for $45(M 44/ L 36). Buy above $50 got 1 chance at lucky dip. I managed to buy a pair of sandals @ $11 &amp; some Karihome goat's milk sweets. It not really sweets but more like a treat/supplement for our fussy little eaters. It's packed with protein, calcium n iron which is wat they need now!! I'll try to see if I can make time to go tml during lunch again!

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Update abt Motherhood Exhibition</font></font> Spent the afternoon there. Here r some of the gd buys that caught my eye:

Sealer Diapers (Taiwanese, velcro tape, gd for night x) -- M42 @ $10/pk, L48 &amp; XL42 @ $13/pk. Tink abt $16+ @ Giant/Sheng Siong. I ordered $150 of L, XL + EQ wipes to get free delivery -- bt only applicable to orders of e new improved Sealer diapers whc is thinner, softer &amp; has tighter gathers @ e rear waistband. Cutting: size for size itz a bit longer than Pampers. Kan get free sample bt juz use ur bb's current diaper 2 compare w e samples on display. Freebies (diff for boy/girl): free moo2 slippers, diaper dispensing bag, lantern.

EQ Diapers (Sticker tape, recommended for daytime) -- M54 @ $9, L48 &amp; XL42 @ $10/pk

EQ Wipes -- Travel packs (30 wipes) 3pkts @ $2, Big packs (80 wipes) 5pkts @ $10. Got tester pk 2 feel &amp; try.

Pampers diapers promotion -- 1st 50 or 100 customers/day kan buy two pks of M or L36 for juz $20. Otherwise now Giant promotion is 2 x L38 (in toybox) for $25.25.

Pampers pull-ups -- 2pks @ $19. Heard fr my fren the last promotion she came across was $19.90 so itz a bit cheaper @ Expo. Bt my fren also said when she use on her boy, it leaked a few x liao.

Btw, she also said when she give him e MP Pull Ups she buy fr CK -- whc is cheaper than NTUC, somehow experience leaks. Bt nvr w e ones she get fr NTUC. &amp; her fren had same prob w the ones fr CK. Any mommy here had such issue b4? I'm curious, bt I stl prefer Drypantz esp now itz new improved...

Drypantz pull-ups -- The new improved version whc is thinner &amp; much softer. 1pk = $15 (outside promotion is $15.50). Or $57 for 4 pkts i.e. $14.25. Sizes M44, L42... Min. $150 for free delivery bt kan include Drypers diapers (sticker tape type).

I cldn't carry or wld hv grab 4 pks of Drypantz coz quality reali gd &amp; nvr had any leakage issue for Bastion or his jie2.

Crayola -- under 'Dearbaby.com' booth. Got 20% off. Managed 2 buy quite a bit for B1. They also hv Little Blue Lamb shoes @ tiered discounts e.g. 2nd pair 15% discount, 3rd pair 20% or something like that...

Nursing tops: Spring Maternity &amp; Moms R Us had some offers worth chkg.

Playmat: Small Small World had booth there. I dint chk price bt many ppl were buying.

Safety Gates: Saw one booth juz inside e entrance (to left) had two or three models on offer. Nt sure price range. Bt think metal gates.

Educational DVDs: Innoform Kidz had booth w 20% discount on quite a range of titles. Worth chkg out. Tho I tink best discount so far I've encountered is when Isetan has private sale -- 30% off so last wk I grabbed more The Wiggles liao.

<font color="119911">Marie:</font> Hope Xander recovers fully soon. I was wondering 2 buy e goat sweets or nt bt e promoter (an older lady) was veri pushy - kpt taking 2 give me &amp; tell me take this, take that in a curt manner so I dint feel like buying in e end

Thanks Kidz for the update. Hmm.. Wana check out the sandals reco by Marie. $11 sounds cheap. Hopefully got gal's designs. Wana get Huggies too.. But might get Drypants, let me see which one cheaper keke..

Went on a huge shopping spree today. They having a 1 day close event sale. All regular items at 30% and sale items with additional 15%.. Spend a few hundred dollars and hours there.. Haiz.. Should have taken 1/2 day leave. Was there from 6+pm till almost 11pm... Even missed dinner to shop.. Crazy shopper horz..

<font color="0000ff">Dodos:</font> Dunno abt Huggies Pull Ups. I stop buying coz even e old Drypantz also softer dan Huggies -- gathers r snuggier fit 2. U let ur gals try Drypantz yet? U kan request free sample fr e distributor, nt sure if sample given @ Expo.

<font color="119911">Eviangal:</font> Wat close dr sale u went 2? Drypantz kan even tahan nite x so itz a gd brand 2 get. Go do e 'feel' test &amp; c if it suits ur budget 2
Lotsa gals' shoes -- besides Little Blue Lamb, got Little Feet 2.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Other items @ Motherhood Exhibition:</font></font>

Pigeon: Ready 2 eat porridge @ $6.80/box. There's one type for 12M (2 x 80g pouches inside) &amp; 9M (2 x 60g pouches inside). Both w fish &amp; vegs.

Heinz: Jar food, biscotti, fruit juice, etc. All got promos. I grabbed some small jars of fruit gel, custards, etc. -- tink 8 jars for $10 (split w fren). Then also standby some of e ready-2-eat food jars whc were 4 jars for $9 (nt e organic range).

Hooded towels: $7.90 ea -- itz shorter than those @ Taka BB Fair so juz nice for Bastion. Lotsa cute designs. Booth is under GTIE -- turned out 2 b a former Poly fren's family biz + she's a Mar Mommy 2. So small world, 2day bumped in2 many familiar faces I hvnt seen for a while

Delrosa Rose Hip Syrup (Vit C supplement): Bastion lurved drinking e sample so I bought a bottle. Was able 2 get it @ $7.50 when shared w my fren + a stranger 2 buy 3 bottles. According 2 e latter, itz >$10 @ Guardian/Watsons. Kan b given 1 tsp/day or mixed w H2O as a drink -- like e sample they gave there.

Pureen: Diapers, wipes, cream, bb wash, etc. I bought our fave Top to Toe Yoghurt Wash -- 3 x 750ML bottles @ $16. Bt stuck 2 e gd old original scent -- lite yellow pkg one. The Apple scented is ok bt I find e mango scented one smells like e detergent they use in some public toilets. Bt diz body wash is reali nt bad -- leave both Bastion &amp; his jie2's hair veri soft + both of them smells great

<font color="ff0000">Drypantz:</font> Sori, L = 36 pcs -- NOT 42pcs. Itz more ex than Huggies bt quality surpasses Huggies.

<font color="aa00aa">Ow Mummy:</font> Karihome sweets buy two tins get 1 small tin free. Kant rmbr bt I tink each of e big tin was either $12 or $14 - bt yes, a gd buy

<font color="0000ff">Bastion Drama Episode... I also lost count liao</font>
No end of drama fr diz boy. Y'day he sidled between a chest of drawers in our bedroom &amp; e wall -- managed 2 get in then somehow he turned his head &amp; got wedged. Cried in distress &amp; I cldnt free him when I tried 2 turn his head back -- made him cry even louder. In e end I managed 2 move e heavy chest of drawers a bit &amp; he came free bt kena two red bumps on his temples. Reali, I hv no idea why it was so smooth going w B1 &amp; so drama w Bastion...

<font color="119911">Going Querida's:</font> I'm going nxt two wks 2 collect Ink Art set. Any1 nd anything let me noe. I kan help if itz nt 2 heavy &amp; I kan bring 2 a mtg in town. I cfm going s/t in nxt 2 wks coz aft dat my hb got no x 2 send me there.

<font color="0000ff">Edj:</font> 4got 2 ask u abt e body wipes -- useful? Did it help prevent skin drying in long flight? I passing e rest 2 my hb 4 his trip end of diz mth.

any mummies going for expo?

i forgot to get pigeon porridge.....
can help to buy?

the EQ wipes kidz recommend is good!
kidz, i din see any fruit gel from heinz...maybe oos.

Pravina, my bb is w MyGym at Tampines n into 2nd term. I find the program pretty ok as it suits the pace for my bb n get to try things like getting bb to rollover, climb etc. Also u are entitled to one free play per week. I have not been for the Gymboree trial for toddlers so unsure if they have the same thing. Only thing is MyGym has no take home package ie CD for u to continue to play w bb at home. Think Kindermusik has.

<font color="119911">Cal:</font> Itz like Fruits of the Forest Gel -- small yellow bottles &amp; under the 8 for $10 range.

<font color="aa00aa">Pravina:</font> JTS, @ Gymboree Bastion's in Play &amp; Learn 3 whc cvrs 10-16M. Sometimes got long wait 4 his turn @ obstacles coz many othrs nt walking, crawling, etc so hold up. Datz e main downside. Ur Bb E oledi up &amp; going like Bastion so b prepared 4 such scenarios. @ Gymboree I bring him 2 supposedly one of e smallest classes on wkday &amp; now &amp; then got ppl do trial or new additions so nowadays like got 6-8bbs. Beginning onli 4-5. Dunno if u shd tink abt holding off gym class til nxt age grping where most in e class wld b more mobile liao so less 'traffic congestion'

Question: Any mummies bought those expensive educational programmes like Glenn Domann or those book series by Learning Technologies, etc?

Do you find it effective? Anyone bought it since birth? I bought 1 yest at the motherhood fair.. Spend a bomb.. I really hoped it is helpful as they claimed that it is good to last for 12 years per child.

Kidzs,

the wipes were quite good except that i didnt get to use them on the plane coz...it was quite cold there..so when i tried to use it to wipe on Edgar's body, he cried...too cold i think...so ended up i use them every nite to wipe Edgar coz i didnt bath him at nite..very cold...and we always come back late at night..so Edgar only bathed once a day while in the US....

but i guess for adults shd be good....eventhough i didnt try it on myself..

Ya, very quiet these days, maybe a few of them on holidays since it's school holiday. BTW edj, are you signing up for chinese playnest next term? I've decided to sign Keene up for next term, join us.. Isaac also signing up. Got company not so bad lah even though it's 3 times a week.

eviangal, I don't dare to buy.. cos they are quite expensive, I scared later I too lazy to revise/use the material on my baby then became a very expensive white elephant at home
I always try to avoid the sales person whenever I pass by those stalls, scared later they manage to persuade me to buy..hahahaha
But I think if you use it regularly and consistently on your girl it's worth it as it's probably not as expensive as going for classes

<font color="119911">Eviangal:</font> GD material is veri established. I suppose w any learning process discipline &amp; mediation is most impt in making e investment worthwhile

<font color="0000ff">Quiet thread:</font> Tink also now dat itz sch hols so got more progs 2 bring kidz 2. We planning 2 bring ours 2 zoo + nite safari -- there's pkg tickets 2 visit both plcs @ savings. Hopefully weather wont get 2 hot during e day.

<font color="ff6000">Gallop:</font> U guys attending JG @ Evan Rd?

Eviangal,

I did buy the GD material, agree that it's so expensive and dunno whether effective or not, everytime I show the card to my boy he barely see the cards ler...he's very mobile running here and there...dunno whether he got absorb or not...hopefully he does even not looking at the cards...my hubby always said...that goes my money...my son cant even be bothered hahahah. I think for younger babies would be easier

Any of you had trial at Bibinogs before at UE Square? thinking of enrolling my son there for their 3 hrs prog once he reached 18 mths old. Any feedback? thanks

Thank you for your advise. Actually I did not buy the GD programme. What I bought was a book series by learning technologies (Under Times publishing) that comes with more than 100 books, CD roms, mathematic kit, etc, etc on morals, science, knowledge, reading, etc, etc.. The package I bought cost even more than the GD programme. It promises to last through 12 years of each child. It even comes with a test and graduation ceremony for my child to go through when they turn 7 years old. As well as a certificate from Hong Kong.

In addition, it comes with an interactive talking pen which is able to sing nursery rhymes, make animal sounds provides information whenever you touch on sections of the book.

It sounds like a very good educational tool. But if not used, will end up as a white elephant. I hope I could afford the required of 6 minutes a day, 3 times a week to teach Valene.

The price tag paid was pretty hefty.. But based on the service provided (e.g. parenting talks, home visits, camps, etc), the educational tools, etc, the average price of each item works out to be about $20 to $30 each.. Hopefully, well worth the money ba...

Really need to put it to good use. Hence, checking if any mummy bought this and find it useful.. No time to bring Valene for classes la.. So getting this hefty investment instead.

Kidz: You covering both zoo and night safari in a day?!! Wow!! I brought Val to the zoo for 1/2 a day only and want to die liaoz.. So tired... We went there in the morning, return home at around 5pm and slept like a log till past dinenr time.. Val even slept to the next morning.. skipping her dinner as well..

Have to go to the zoo again on 19 June due to our family day event that day...

FYI, dont go zoo on 19 June ya.. 2 family days that day. Confirm crowded.

I think this pre-school think is sooo competitive.. trying to sign my gal up for a program when she is 18mths and I was told the wait list is till mid Jun 2011!! OMG.. and it is really not that famous.. compared to JG or St James..

Gallop,

i dont think so lei...i am continuing with the english this term...i will definitely sign up for mandarin when Edgar turns 18mths...

actually its okay lah..even we r in diff class..we can still go lunch after that...tue/thur same timing mah...
PS cafe...the choc scotch banana cake????hahahha

Eviangal,

when u went zoo, did u go to the water play area? it was so fun...when we were there...ISaac, Keene and Edgar enjoyed themselves thoroughly....Edgar refused to get out of the water area and cried when i carried him out....

Hi, does anyone know where i can buy a cover for my combi pram?

The last time i travelled and left my pram in the hold, it became quite dirty, so want to buy a cover for this pram this time...