(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Dodos..
if u plan to buy something from BP, just buy something tats bigger in size, cos bb grow very fast durin e initial stage..
so i/o buying new born size, maybe u can consider buying 0-3mo size...

at least can wear longer..

and if u really really like it.. maybe buy 1-2 pcs will do.. cos upcoming sure have lots of sales for u to grab...

hey.. wat is BP?

Hee Hee Clarie,, Opps.. all ppl is fillal except me.. I dont thing for my mil.. hahaha
not on very good and close term with them.. But lucky i have a doting hubby..

LoveJ really lah. If someone else is good at talking, I'd rather be the one to listen lor. I don't talk that much in person one haha. Online different mah. I own time own target, can type whatever i want. Somemore nobody knows me, so I just say whatever I like. Just hide behind my nick only keke.

BB mum, you're really very brave but your company is very good to you also leh. employ you knowing you will be going on maternity leave in a few months' time. That is a very big risk on their part. What if your performance no good, they still have to grant you yr maternity leave wor.

I think you better post less during office hours arh. Later affect your probation assessment. Then bb really need to eat grass already.

I filial to MIL so that hubby will love me more mah. haha. But MIL is quite nice to me also lah. Somemore hubby's family is quite easily satisfied. So I don't mind buying little things to make them happy. A few times a year only and it doesn't really cost a lot.

What happened between you and your in-laws?

I very practical one leh. BP has to have cheap things on offer lor. Either that, or the items has to attract me a lot. If not, I would rather not buy.

But Ciarie has a point, if you want to, buy a bigger size so that bb can wear longer, or you can own it longer haha.

Whey Ciarie, thanks for asking yr hubby to help. If you really manage to upload it hor, please let us know how you did it hor. Don't want to remain a kuku all the way.

Taka sq is the basement?? Or the open area on the first level? I went to taka sq to buy Royce chocolate. Is that considered?? haha but I went during the christmas period lah.

Go all the way to Taka to buy CNY goodies meh?

Oh ya, about the stretchmark cream/oil. I was using normal Jergen's moisturizer leh. I used that even before I was preggie, so I didn't have to make any changes to specially incorporate it into my regime lor.

I didn't own stretchmark cream until a friend gave me Clarins Oil and Clarins stretchmark cream as a Christmas present. This friend really generous leh.

So I started using the oil. Love the smell. Like just went for a nice spa massage like that but find that it doesn't really moisturize very well wor. So I put my Jergens moisturizer first, then layer clarins oil on top.

Hoping that the oil can act as a sealant for my moisturizer but dunno how come, my lower belly still itch towards the end of the day. No stretchmarks yet.. hoping it will stay that way.

Ciarie, I just came back from sales at Robinsons! Not every bb stuff is on sale, but certain brands like NUK got 20%, Pigeon got 15% and I think Medela also 15% (feel like getting the electric dual breast pump, it's around $220. but i'm going to do more research first before buying the pump). There's quite alot of bundle sets on sale. Pigeon is selling the sterilizer + food warmer + bb milk bottles at $139 (quite a good buy i think, but because i've already gotten the Pigeon Rapid Steriliser way before this). Avent and NUK also has bundle sets that are quite worth considering (steriliser + milk bottles)....

Check it out mummies...sales ending this Sunday!

Pat, if you come and say hi to me tomorrow, i will surely ask u about your pimple haha....

Haha...Ciarie and LovJ, both of you are in HR, and I'm in recruitment industry, always got to 'sa ka' you gals to give me job orders.....

JamGal, don't make me laokui hor. Later my hubby say I make him lose face in front of so many ppl arh. I also will feel paiseh.

Will lah. I will flash my smile at you tomorrow. Then you come and say hello to me can? Shy leh especially after telling my pimple story.

Hi all Mommies!

I m new here, recently i feel pain in my right breast like vein kanna stretch like tat and also my right foot swollen but not the left..anyone like tat? always forget to ask my gynae when i see her...gotta wait till next month liao.

I think most of us aches here and there even when we are juz lying down on bed..try to sleep on ur side with a small pillow to support the tummy, for me it works.

I also bought the capella s705 @ BB kingdom for $315 few wks ago, agrees tat the SA there quite pushy during my ist visit but the 2nd trip was ok..still gt 2 months more to shop for watever we need only...

BTW, anyone giving birth @ east shore?

Wah.. I missed all the chats last night!!

So did JamGal & Pat find each other today??

Hehe.. me not brave lah!! I was actually taking a career break when I got pregnant loh! Coz the last job super high stress, long hours and lots of nonsense!! Relax and enjoy till I get preggy loh! (That's not part of the plan!) Then being preggy, I can't do much stuff.. so I decide its time to go back to work else I'll be so bored at home!

Then someone decide to hire me despite my pregnancy!! Sabo my chance to be a SAHMTB! But think working better.. I eat more!! Hee only downside is I sleep less loh! And I love being around people!!!
Oh I also "change" my work environment to be those relax relax low stress kind! Good for bb development!!
Erm so can post abit more loh keke but must deliver results in work lah else confirm eat grass!

But seriously, quite lucky lah to get job in recession time + being pregnant!! So I always encourage MTB not to be dishearten or depressed if they got rejected when they are pregnant. Those companies are not worth it!! But then again, I've meet some people and friends who are quite bad loh.. will say things like "HUH, you mean they hire you ah"? Hey I no illness leh! Pregnant only mah.. why the sudden big fuss?? Also maternity leave can be co-arranged with boss one.. Eg take 2M + 2M or work from home loh.. Cannot be prejuiced!! Must look at our potential mah!

I went through quite a "depressing" phase after kenna those meanies psychoing and negative views. Can you believe that when govt announced that maternity leave will go up from 12weeks to 16weeks, I was feeling SAD and WORRIED instead?? I was knock out of my shell by hubby loh, who found me crying one day when he came home from work!! He say all your those "advises" come from people who 1) Are never pregnant, 2) Are not married 3) Are people who always need to cover the shit of people on maternity leave so why be bothered?? Don't make yourself a victim of prejudice!! Say us mummies should unite and stand up to our rights!!

So I think I am an example that Singapore still got HOPE! haaa... Anyways, now we are all in quite an advance stage of pregnancy.. if wanna change job, should wait till during maternity then go interviews! ;)

OOps long post again!! But yes mummies should always stay united and not be at the suffering end of prejudice!! And Happy Mummy = Happy Baby!!

JamGal! You very fast leh! Sounds like lots of good deals in robinson! Tempting me to head down today to "rub shoulders" with the crowd! I need to use up my robinson's voucher!! Expiring this month!

Ciarie & Pat, I also filial wo!! Sent abalone & Ba Gua over already!! :p

Pat very smart! Dote MIL so Hubby dote her more!! Good strategy!! Must learn from you!!

Hee I vainpot mah.. if got stretch marks how to wear bikini in future??? muahahahaha and Pat, your friend is really RICH! I have to sponsor myself!! And I can't really fit well into maternity dresses leh.. so baby doll dresses or those A line ones with big rooms for expansion are my fave wardrobe essentials!! (Pre & Post pregnancy also can wear mah!)

Hi all mummies to be, I'm new here.

Anyone interested in baby shower party items? I'm interested to get some for my baby but the party shop says need minimum order of 3 party packs coz import from usa so wondering if any mummies interested then can order together. Very nice.. got banner, tablecover, deco etc...

baby_mummy, when i went down to Robinsons, there wasn't much crowd and jostling leh. Actually, I've already bought 95% of the bb stuff (sibei ks MTB), but just wanna check out any good lobangs ornot. In the end, bought the NUK breast pads (buy one get one free) for $10.10 and also the NUK teats at 20% loe.

Our lesson is at 4pm later, so will only catchup with Pat till then.

Am munching pineapple tarts now, bb is awake and kicking my tummy, protesting for food. Craving for Macdonald's haha...think shall order for delivery later ;)

hi mummies...sorry to intrude...some stuff for sale

BRAND NEW BABY EXOR STROLLER.
Suitable for newborns as can be laid flat. 8.2kg. Comes with a canvas shelter too. Easy to fold. $79.

Brand: Baby Exor (Brand New)
2089708.jpg
2089709.jpg
2089710.jpg

Suitable for Newborns as it can be laid flat. Easy to fold. Slight defects on pram handle. Slight peels on rubber.

Hi mummies, hey Pat, guess what? The thread on "my end" is going so slowly today, I came to "spy" on you again.
I DID end up reading your pimple incident and it's TOO MUCH INFORMATION!! So graphic.. Yeech! Haha =)

XiaoAce, about the pain in the breasts, I thought I felt it only in the initial stage of pregnancy. More in the first trimester. After that, no such feeling already. Soreness also went away liao. Either that, or I'm feeling so used to it already.

So far, don't know of anyone delivering at East Shore. Most are delivering at Mount Alvernia and Thomson.

bbmum, got lah. Saw JamGal today. I was sitting 1 mat away from her coz I was late for class today and that was the only empty mat available.

Haha you funny lah. If you really want to be SAHM, you wouldn't go and search for another job already. So I think in a way, you must want to work quite badly also. I have got a friend who wanted to quit working when she got pregnant coz it was so tiring for her. You're the opposite.

This year I never send abalone. I only buy bak gwa. Recession mah keke.

So far hor, I haven't bought any dresses at all leh. I am mostly in maternity jeans/pants/capris and separate tops. I never wore dresses/skirts pre-pregnant days, so it's going to be the same when I'm preggie also. But MIL says I am going to feel more comfortable in oversized dresses later into the pregnancy.

True enough, I find that some tops are getting less roomy liao. Dunnno whether still can fit in the last month of pregnancy. Ah boh, need to rent from Maternity Exchange to just last for that 1 month.

Actually wanted to post somemore message one but saw that I kena spyed on, then I forgot what I wanted to type already.

April's thread also very quiet, so I'm going to log off liao.

bbmom, tell me which co or where you are working at in your next post hor?? Very curious coz got the designated lane for pregnant women.

Oh ya, JamGal, your husband seems so shy and so young leh. Help me thank him for throwing away that chicken pie's aluminium foil keke.

Said we were going home but we ended up going Serangoon Garden's Chomp Chomp for dinner. We had Stingray, Lala, fried hokkien mee, satay and a big jug of sugarcane juice. Yummy.

Pat,

my hubby is just pretending to be shy lah, when he knows you more, then you will think otherwise. He is 6 years older than me btw..haha...going to be 35 this year liao. Your hokkien hubby also seems shy woh haha..haha..or maybe it's becos you and I are too chatty and 38 le??? At first I thought you were gonna be kinda aunty aunty, but you turns out to be a chick yourself woh

I went to Tampines mall and bought quite alot of CNY goodies, got to start to stock up, CNY is just a week away man.

Cya in 3 weeks time :D

so..
hi luv J in the chat again.. Feel so tempted to login to see pat and baby mummy post..
yaya.. baby mummy, let me know what kind of job, where u working leh.. your boss really very understanding...

Jam Gal.. no wonder Pat say u are a chick,, Recruitment consultant is very pretty leh.. Mostly...

Pat.. Me and mother in law is ok lah.. but we don relly tok to each other.. and my hubby sister is very rude one.. She never even say Hi to me ever since i married to my husband.
So I also dun really have good relationship with them..

hi ALWAYS,
best you go see a GP then wait or call your gynae and let him/her know..
localised rashes are normal and will go away in due time. ( called heat rash)
but if its all over the body like you described, best to get it checked immediately as it can be dangerous for mom and bb.

stretch cream
i was using palmer's cocoa butter and it was working fine! then got heat rash on my tummy and breasts and couldnt help but scratch!! prickly heat powder helped a little and reduced itchy feeling
i hv since changed to Clarins stretch cream and tonic treatment oil... and its worked wonders!! a little goes a long way, non-greasy, smell is good... def PRICEY but worth it lah!!

why cannot eat stingray ah??
cos i love sambal stingray..
i hear need to eat lots of fish for baby's brain development
but not too much of any one type

sorry ah... i super blur abt baby shower..
what is it exactly and what happens in a baby shower? is it like the 30th day or full month celebrations after birth??

thanx lovj
my gf wants to throw a baby shower for me in month 8 of the pregnancy and i dunno what it invovles like cost and all..
so thinking it might be redundent to hv 2 events right??

1. 65usd more to close spree for https://www.babymallonline.com

2. Strollers BP still on

3. Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags(50 Bags) BP on

4. Desitin creamy 4oz and california calendular ready stock at bulk purchase price

Pls PM me for info, thanks

Also, BP for US import medela freestyle - half the price of singapore medela freestyle set, already placed an order for a group of mummies, pls PM me soon if interested so can share shipping costs!

HI MUMMIESS.. HOW APRIL MUMMIES DOING.. MISS YA ALL... BTW WELKUM TO NEW MUMMIES IN THE HOUSE...

PRAVINA.. HEARD ABOUT U WANTING MASSAGE LADY... MY MIL IS ONE... AND SYIOK LAH... SMS ME FOR FURTHER DETAILS....

FELLIG THE HEAVYINESS IN MY TUMMY NOW ABOVE PRIVATE AREA... WAHHH

MY GF JUST GAVE BIRTH YESTERDAY AFT 2 HRS.. I ADVISED HER TO GO ONLY WHEN REALYY PAIN.. AND GUESS.. GAVE BIRTH IN 2 HOURS ONLY... 4.1KG BABY BOY.. WOW!!! MY SON LOST OUT ... MINE WAS 3.845KG

always: i also had rashes which started in my 22 week and lasted for about a month. they were mostly around my tummy and thigh areas and later spread to my back. I suspect they were the body's reaction to the rapid stretching of my skin due to the pregnancy. It was so bad it kept me up at night and i couldn't sleep well at all. And it was pretty embarassing to keep scratching yourself in the public and at work.

The best solution I found was pine tar bath oil which can be found in most pharmacies (one brand you can find is Pinetarsol). although it does not smell good at all (it reeks of tar but my sis says it smells like insecticide!), it was definitely helpful in relieving the itch for hours.
The other thing that helped for me was the Palmer's Soothing Oil for Dry Itchy skin, which I used off and on, besides Pinetarsol because that was more convenient to apply than the bath oil.

Calamine was useful for a while but it only provided short-term relief so I had to re-apply like every hour. Calamine with menthol gave me slightly better results but my gynae said the menthol can be very drying for the skin so may not help with the condition in the long run.

hope the above helps.

I have bought extra 2 bottles of DOM liqour for my wife's confinement. (Mother-in-law already bought them).
All 2 bottles are brand new and I am letting go at $56 each, 750ml bottle.
Supermarkets are selling at $65.
Please contact [email protected] for enquiries!

LovJ and Pravina,

Stingray has high mercury content. The same for shark meat and swordfish.

No liver too as high vit A.

Hi pat thanks for the reply.i know its diff from tat ist few months of 'pain'..ll ask my gynae next month..ve ask so many ppl so far dun think anyone experience tat..

Pravina, stingray and some other big fish like tuna has higher content of mercury thus not advisable to eat them when preg. I skip stingray totally and hv very very littlee of tuna though it's my fav.

lovj,

if i m not wrong moderate of Vit A is ok, as liver is very high in vit A so not advisable, i avoid liver and big fish like tuna, cod etc. big fish has more mercury. even fish oil that we consume as supplement, do ensure is the mercury free one..

thanx for the info ladies!!
i take flaxseed supplements for the omega 3, 6, 9 cos i cannot stomach too much fish or meat for some weird reason..
so far japanese sashimi and sushi are fine but only salmon...
liver is also high in iron so some is good
Vit A in moderation so carrot juice is fine... plus its good for you..

but most of us are taking fish oil. We won't know whether or not it contain mercury. So best if don't take fish oil?

Below is the free coverage for bb from first month - 6 month. Sorry for lazy to upload pass few days.

This plan will reimburse you the hospitalization and surgical expenses depending on the limits provided in the Benefits Schedule for the plan you have selected. The claim must be made for the treatment of a covered medical condition and it must be made while the policy is in force.

Prime Care - Benefit Schedule (S$)
Benefit each Life Asured – Plan 1
Lump Sum Benefits
First Cancer Diagnosis Benefit# - $5000
Death Benefit - $1000

In-Patient Benefits
Daily Room & Board* (Max 90 days - each Madical Condition) - $80
Daily Intensive Care Unit* (Max 45 days - each Medical Condition) - $160
Surgical Benefit**
Surgical procedure classified as
Complex - $1600
Major - $600
Intermediate - $400
Minor - $160

Annual Limit for In-Patient Benefits - $16000
Lifetime Limit for In-Patient Benefits - $80000
Additional Benefits on Reimbursement Basis
Outpatient Kidney Dialysis (annual limit) - $10000
Outpatient Cancer Treatment (annual limit) - $ 10000
Organ Transplant (annual limit) - $10000

Lifetime Limit for Additional Benefits - $50000

# First Cancer Diagnosis Benefit is a one-time lump sum payment upon first diagnosis that the Life Insured has cancer. Cancer means a histologically confirmed malignant tumour-exhibiting invasion of adjacent tissues. Tumours classified as carcinoma in situ, localized skin cancers are specifically excluded.

* Daily Room and Board Benefit means the daily cash benefit payable for Room and Board when, upon recommendation of a physician, aLife Assured is register as an in-patient in a hospital

** Surgical Benefit means the lump sum cash benefit payable if a surgical operation is performed by a physician involving local or general anaesthetics. The level of complexity of the surgical operation is categorized in accordance with the schedule of Surgical Operations. All classification is established in consultation with the medical profession.

Hi Sanni,

Thanks for your reply. for my case, its now spreading to my hands n thighs..i have tried the Palmer's Soothing Oil but it does not help much.. i think i will consult a GP and my agnae by tonight... i shall see what the doctor will prescribe me.. i hope i can get well by CNY.. if not my skin really looKs real bad and does not look nice if i stretch i front of my relatives..
.. sob sob..