(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

My wk 28 scan showed that bb has turned downwards leh. Gynae was saying that she hoped bb will stay downwards although there's a possibility that bb may still turn.

I feel the kicks everywhere. My whole tummy vibrates sometimes leh. She will use her hands to punch the bottom and her legs to kick the top. Nowadays still alright but during wk 24-27, the kicks actually hurt one. Sometimes like she dragging her elbows/knees across my abdomen. Kena attacked from inside.

kittybride, no lah. Maybe the way I phrase funny is it? I asked my hubby if I have a sense of humour and he laughed at me leh. He said my jokes are not funny at all.

Remember I was complaining that someone was busy chopping on my back whilst I was sleeping to make CNY bak gwa??

That someone hasn't stopped chopping since I complained that day leh. I am so achy that I couldn't tahan. I asked my sister for her pre/post natal masseuse contact. The Malay lady will be coming over on Friday morning for a trial. If she is good, maybe I can recommend her.

She does pre-natal massages for $50/session and post-natal massages for $60/session I think. Each session lasts an hour and we have to lay a towel on the bed and have another towel on hand to preserve our modesty keke..

Need to be topless wor. So shy..

Oh ya, LovJ kept asking about BP but no one replied her. I only know BP is some kind of spree and is the initial for something but I also dunno what it is kekeke.

Is it Bulk Purchase (BP) since it cannot be blood pressure.

Oh yes, I forgot to update that I went on a hi-chew spree haha. I bought 2 grape flavours, 2 apple flavours, 1 mango and 1 lychee. I still like my grape keke but chew until jaw cramp!!

Then I also bought those cup jellies. I bought a grape flavour, a peach flavour and one with mixed flavours eg. peach, guava, apple, grape..

So happy!!

Ciarie: woohoo! finally found a young mum like me.. nowadays when i go out people tend to give me the "so young pregnant look" kaoz! dunno if u have the same feeling? we're both at ESH.. do u see doc Heng too?

Jamgal: thanks alot for the info.. but where are the shops located? as i stay in the east..

Xiaoace: i'm getting abit scared too.. hmm, gonna have very little time to do everything..

Anyways, i'm a property agent if u guys have any buying or selling can to be recommended.. though the market kinda slow now.. Thanks ya!

Hi Mommies. Last Fri I went for the free 3D scan but in the only photo taken B2 had one hand partly covering his face... (I had 15mins slot w the techs learning the new machine). When we viewed the DVD w B1, she was oohing and aahing and kept going up to touch the TV. Y'day, she also leaned over and asked her Didi 'Baby how are you?'
Hopefully this excitement lasts even when B2's born and starts taking up more of mommy's time

Baby Carrier: Was recommended Lascal Baby Carrier by a fren recently. She says it gives veri good back support. Her 3M boy is already 7+KG! So I'm seriously contemplating getting this when a fren goes to US. But wondering if anybody else have heard reviews about Lascal?

LovJ: Yeah, BP is Bulk Purchase. Good section to check out in this forum. Few days back I saw a BP for Obuba Nursing Shawl @ SGD$39. Thinking of getting coz it's the wrap-around type (we stick our heads out of the hole) so more privacy. Can double-up as baby blanket, stroller cover (protect fr sun, etc.) I don't like the apron type coz seems less secure leh when we shift a bit while bfdg in public...

Tollyjoy Breastpads @ John Little: Saw @ the Marina Sq outlet that it's back to $7.90/box (48pcs). Though there's still 20% discount for mbrs. But a month or so back Kiddy Palace was selling at $6.90/box. This brand good to use and since cheaper, less sim-tiah (heartache) when we hv to change after a bit of leak. If don't change, the stain on the bpad will turn yellow & may smell coz it's milk... not hygienic...

I was @ East Shore last wk for mtg. Mt the Parent Craft I/C but didn't get to walk around, just real mtg in office. Found out tho that East Shore delivers 3x more babies than Raffles. Also, their annual Baby Show is a REALLY popular event. So mommies delivering @ East Shore do start grooming your babies for that "showbiz" debut

Pat, you damn farni leh, still can create a story about dragon helping the tiger to roast the beef ahaha...You are same year as my sister, she also dragon, 1976. My family, dad also tiger, mum and sis are dragon...very similar to yours.

Was reading Jack and the Beanstalk story to bb last night, she seems to be enjoying it, kept kicking me after that, as if asking for more

Denise: Baby Hypermart is located at the east area too, at Kaki Bukit. There's two stores, almost side by side. If you are getting big items like baby car seat, stroller, cot bed, playpens, then you should try these 2 places. Good luck!

Baby kingdom - 83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 #01-00 Shun Li industrial park

Baby Hypermart - 69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park

hey pat, remember not to try the breast pump again until u deliver.. the suckling motion can trigger early contractions..

GOOD MORNING MUMMIES!!!

Denise: i'm with Dr Loke, another frequent ESH gynae..
nowaadays seldom go out le... i thik pple will faint if they know tis my #2 le..
cos everytime when i walk out, i cant really imagine myself is a mum of 2 kids! haa...

Pat: ur dog really took ur steriod! faint!!! think she's really hungry... does she output regularly????
AND PLS DUN TRY THE PUMP ON URSELF AGAIN! ITS VERY DANGEROUS!!!!!! might "alert" e bb to come out...

Kidzkidz: ya.. the shawl is much much better.. but havent really seen e hole where we pop our heads out, cos it must be big enuf to peep bb latching on with e shawl on... but i believe its a good alternative to act as a cover for e pram as well. it can be used as blanket for bb when in cold envt..

Jamgal: u really onz leh! reading story book to bb now! katou! really have "tai jiao"..

Ciarie: My mummy-gfs all insist I must start to read to baby and talk to her, and listen classical music. At first I was all shy loe, don't know how...Now, just whack lah..haha

Jamgal: ya... i heard abt it when i was having my #1.. but din reallly have e patience for all these.. but nw... as i was reading for my #1 almost every night, my #2 will get to hear too!
waaahhaa... :p:p

Pat: hw much did u get ur 2nd hand PIS pump?
i was thking to get e US export set from tampezz BP..

im going on a pineapple tart binge now. bought a pack from my student's mum. mmmmmmm....

re: breastpads
was using pigeon disposable breastpads butin the end switched to washable ones...found them more environmentally friendly and cheaper in the long run

JamGal, yeah good to read to baby! i didn't really set out to read to baby but when i'm teaching i need to talk a lot and explain a lot of things from the textbook (hit 2 birds with 1 stone mah haha)..and my boy is super verbal. he's only 15 months and can say a lot words and attach them to the correct meaning oredi, not just nouns but verbs and emotions! so yah it's worth it!

Ciarie, for the US export set u must check if warranty is valid in SG, and the power plug may be the US type...so better check yah.

re: infant car seat

can share what types of car seat are you gals getting? so many brands and pricing out there i'm not really sure what to get. and cheapest place to get them?

wow karrie.. ur son is really good!!!!
my #1 though can understand quite number of objects, but sometimes prounciation quite off lo.. :p:p

tingting: i gt my #1 britax - safe & sound, royale. its very comfy and can be used at newborn cos it can do reverse position, and suitable for new born. i think i gt mine $400+ after 20% robsinson's disc..
the material of the cushioning is in velvet like, so its really very comfy and my #1 likes it alot!

e price still remains till date, guess its controlled market.
but, i still feel though bbhyper are selling prams, cots, car seats.. but their price are more less the same, rather u go robinsons or OG or tangs to see if there's sale going on.. might get even cheaper plus better customer service..

Hi.. I here liao

Jam Gal : my email is [email protected]

Wah u all buy pump liao leh. i dun intend to pump out leh. Can don't buy or it is a must...

Ya.. Pat.. my whole body ache as well... Especially my leg area..but dont want to waste money on self comfort leh.. heehee

ciarie, sometimes his pronounciation also off...then if too many syllables, he'll invent his own short form haha. but he can like point to the baby in the book and say 'baby' things like that lah.

re buying stuff, i also rather buy from dept stores. worth it when they have sale. we bot our Graco infant car seat at the Taka baby fair, think got it at $299. can be used from newborn to 4 yrs..my son still using it now. so it's pretty good!

LovJ, if u are working and intending to bf, then it's a good investment. if you're gonna be a SAHM, then no need lah. can latch bb directly mah.

o Karrie.. Thanks for your info.. THink I dont buy first... cause I dont think I have discipline as well.. Probably will only breast feed for the first month..

LovJ: it depends if u r a 100% direct latch for ur bb.. if e bb dun want to latch on.. u may need to pump out to keep ur milk supply constant..

karrie: ya... my #1 will blarr out e first few syllables, den e last part will always be "chun" lo.. wahaha.... :p:p

hahaha...u mummies are so hilarious...finally had the chance to read all the post from yesterday..

Jamgal..i tried to listen to classical but cant make it...so i stick to soft rock
hehehehe .. as for reading, i just watch the History channel and National Geographic and let the bb listen...and i think bb likes it as he moves so much then...hehehe ...

i think i will use CNY holidays to start reading to my bb as there wont be much to do outdoor...

my body is also aching and my legs esp...its quite weird tat my left leg swells up more than my right..but thank GOD for my MIL..she gives good leg massage ;)

ciarie, is the Britax material warm? cos i thought it looks much thicker than the maxi cosi priori (toddler seat) that my son now uses, worried that it'll be warm, esp if the car is left in the sun for a while.

SKS: Wow!! ur MIL good wo!!! still gv u leg massage!

me recently hv been experiencing leg cramps in e night and its almos every night kindda thing!

sianz...........

SKS: I also don't like classical music, but when i'm surfing the net, I just let it play loe. Also not sure bb can listen ornot, cos I play very soft (too loud makes me wanna go to sleep too).

I am still thinking of whether I should get the breast pump now or nearer to delivery date also. Medela PIS super ex leh, like $700. My friend bought liao, only use 2 months then sold it for $500, kinda waste right? Hope Taka BB sale can come sooner. March is a very critical period for most of us, cos our EDD is mostly early April, I'm afraid BB can't wait to see the world and decided to pop out earlier.

Time for lunch, she's kicking le.

hahah...yes Ciarie , my MIL is very good 1... my hubby, is the other way around..he act blur
u shld soak ur feet in hot water and then elevate ur legs slightly.. it seem to help

JamGal, its good to read to your baby.. as for me.. i alway intend to read to my baby but not enough determination.. feel so tired and went to sleep..in the end my baby din get to hear my story telling..:p .. what a mother i am..

I also don't like classical music.. i prefer pop songs.. :p been watching the Chao Ji Xing Guang Da Dao.. every time i watch.. my baby moves alot.. it seems to be dancing n enjoying the musix.. hehe

RE: ITCH & RASHES
I have spoke to my agnae, the rashes are part n parcel of the pregnancy due to the hormones changes.. different ppl have diff symptoms...haiz haiz..

1. BP for baby cots - Inclusive of latex mattress, 100% pinewood + 7pcs bedding set

2. BP for babymallonline spree 3rd shipment

3. Desitin creamy ready stock (Only 7 pcs left!)

4. Strollers BP

5. Lansinoh milk storage bags 50pcs BP

6. Medela Breast Pumps inc Freestyle and PIS BP

Pls PM me more more info

jamgal: yes.. march will be very critical for us, den start end mar towards april, we'll be counting who has "launched" their bb... and den all of us will be waiting "to be launched"... haa..

btw, even taka sale will nt have much discounts, probably they'll throw in some freebies, but not large discounts for pumps.. cos e price are pretty controlled.
unless u buy fm trampezz's BP (direct import from US) or 2nd hand.. else, first few years, selling $599 for PIS adv....

Ciarie: Yah..we should create a spreadsheet see who 'launched' first haha....

PIS adv really ex leh, i was thinking of just getting the dual, electric costing around $300.

Jamgal: yes.. we shd lo.. but still cant figure out how to do so lo.. :p:p

PIS adv is really ex, but i guess its really worthwhile investing..
if u intend to get #2, u can thk of getting it, treat it as long-term investment..

alternatively, im thking to get it from trampezz bp which she posted jus awhlie ago..

diff is abt $150 - $200, only issue is w/o warranty..

tingting: yes.. e material is quite warm at times, but my sweaty boy still likes his seat wo.. of cos its nt like those meshy material, its quite velvety feel.
maybe u wanna go robinson's to take a look..
it has all those detachable side cushions for new born and 3-pt harness safety belt...

hahaha ciarie/babymummy/lovj, the chiong hei one is back… cannot help it lah – cannot miss out commenting on the posts as long as its not too backdated… just did my scan yesterday and baby is 900+g at 26+ weeks, but my weight gain is probably about 7-8kg liao… =p welcome, xiaoace, anewmum and owmummy.

jacqueline: how’s ur backache and ur visit to the obs? dont get discouraged – think still can try for normal delivery the 2nd time…

pinkpiglet: so how’s ur headache and visit to the obs? maternity feedback ah – dunno leh, maybe the babybonus website got email contact for u…

Yvonne/xiaoace: do u still need the preparation list?

ciarie: thanks, ill see if i can hunt down the coveted stroller in robinson’s. how’s ur hubby doing with the excel table? im trying to see if dev19 [our previous april MTB who used to update the file] still has it…

babymummy: thanks thanks! really appreciate u listing [and appraising] the places i can view strollers… kekeke…i never knew there was such a thing as a preggie’s lane until u talked about it… end of month is less than 10 days away - dont waste ur vouchers!

candigal: whats the advantage of a reversible handle for a stroller? hmmm ill watch out for the mothercare harbourfront folks…

karrie: what’s the nepia hotline?

kittybride: so does ur OGTT mean u have diabetes or not?

patpl: u r really amusing… ive only been to chompchomp once coz it seems rather difficult to go – any recommendations on what to eat? wah, foie gras twice in a month – ur taste very expensive wor… i agree with dodos, u sure boh, ur dog so indiscriminate in eating one ah… wah, help ur husband ‘roast’ ur daughter ah…

dodos: 4th mummy liao horh… must show restraint! kekeke…

xiaoace: maybe u r having breast engorgement [though like pat, the sense of that happening was more in the 1st trimester for me] - but do check for lumps… also both my feet are swollen towards the end of the day, though my right one a little more than the left. xiaoace/sks: just make sure the calves dont get swollen and painful…

always: i agree with pravina – hope uve gone to a nearby GP and gotten some assessment and meds already [just tell him/her u are pregnant] – otherwise how are u gonna tahan so long?

bargainhunter3: thanks gal, for posting the baby insurance info… how come u can choose plan for a freebie?

lovj: i think the breast pump is for those who want to do EBM [expressed breast milk] feeding, otherwise how to do that?

denise/ciarie: how young is young leh? less than 25 years old?

re: stretchmarks
are u gals using clarins oil or clarins stretchmark cream for prevention? which do u feel helps more? i also need the complete name coz im going to try to get one to try next week…

re: baby shower
it’s actually not the 1st month as we know it, but more like a bridal shower, prior to the actual event of delivery. check it out at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baby_shower. pravina, can i just ask if u r hindu – seems like hindus have this during the 7th month?

re: fish oil
mummies, can i ask whats the components and actual dosage of ur fish oil pills [especially DHA]? from what i gathered from googling and pravina’s link, it seems like it depends on which part of the body the fish oil supplement is made from – if its from the liver, theres a high concentration of animal-derived vit A [according to one study, more significant if daily intake is more than 15,000 international units] which can potentially cause infant abnormalities, but if its from the meat part, theres negligible amounts. thus cod liver oil is highly not advisable for pregnant women. also apparently some doctors advised against flaxseed oil as it has hormonal side-effects on the baby, and doesnt have that much DHA.

re: baby position & movement
my baby kicks everywhere and anywhere – hahaha, he just kicked me in protest liao. mmm i agree with kittybride, must enjoy the baby movements while it lasts – next time is kick outside liao! usually, baby should be moving freely till 32-34 weeks… by the 36-37th week, usually the obs will start suggesting for C-section if baby is not headdown liao…

wow DTSmummy... i really katou to u!!
hee.. long posting --> always e summarized of our happenings these few days.. haa.. :D
*AMAZED!!!*

re: excel table
he has nt got time to help me lo.. cos he's always bz with his motorcar forum... faint..

re: bb position & mvmt
i think nw is really e enjoying phrase before we get too heave to move too far, and enjoying lil movements we get to feel and not others will get to feel!!

think u can go to this webbie: www.neurogain.com.my to read up more abt e contents for this particular brand.. others im nt too sure cos i take this brand's fish oil...

i take the DHA capsules from Nordic Naturals.

Ciarie,
yah. will prob have to do some shopping around.. not sure abt you, but for me shopping doesn't have a leisure notion ever since #1 came.. i'm beginning to shop more like my hb, just zoom to the things i want to get!

DTSmummy..
wat is yor profession?? secretary?? u look like one le..here is like a meeting room, everybody talk and give input, you like secretary collate everything and come out with minutes..ha ha..
i still need the preparation list, do u have one to share??

DTS mummy,
i'm hindu and they do a hindu ceremony where they pray for the wellbeing and smooth delivery for baby and mummy... hv to wear bangles for a few days.. actually till yu give birth i think.. but nowadays, just a while..no gifts though..

my angmoh frens want to throw me a baby shower and give gifts and play games...
i plan to hv a full mth celebration so kinda feel its gonna be overkill to hv 2 parties...
=0

btw DTS mummy,
very cool summary of all the postings.. i take ages to read thru and do multiple postings cos cant remember who posted what query or view... gotten more blur since got preggers lah!!

DTS mummy,
its clarins stretch control cream and huile tonic body treatment oil..
both are pretty good and i use both; for work, its the stretch cream cos its smell is less strong and goes on real nice and grease-free.
the tonic treatment oil i use at nite and i find the scent soothing though HB does not fancy the scent...=)
its recommended to use just before a shower but i use it after a warm shower..
hope this helps..
dunno if got discounts now..but its really worth the price..
=D

Hi DTSmummy, wat is the list about?? Thanks for asking ah..so nice of u.

I feel the pain in my nipple at times, if not then its the lower half of the breast ( only right side )

My ankle feels abit sore, as usual- only the right one is swollen but not the left one.

Hi Ciarie & Tingting, ook, won't try the breast pump again until I deliver. But I tried it with my top on, so the pump didn't really get to 'work'.

Ciarie, my dog got regular output. Regular input twice a day, output also twice a day. Sometimes the output I can smell from far far away. But she's still always hungry, dunno why.

I can't remember how much I bought the 2nd hand medela PIS advance for already leh. Think mine's also manufactured in US but the adaptor has already been changed. Maybe about $250-$350??

I actually wanted to choose medela electric also but my experienced pregnant friends advised that it is impt to get a good pump if I really intend to follow through with breastfeeding.

We need something that can help us shorten the expressing time and also helps letdown so that we can actually produce milk lor.

Irene (Bear) was saying that the 1st month is the most difficult to get through. Need a lot of peserverance but if we manage to get through it, breastfeeding exclusively, whether by expressed milk or latch on, would be more likely to take place.

LovJ, I think it is not compulsory to get a pump bah. But it is good in that you can get hubby or nanny to help you with feedings if you are very tired and just want to rest. Good time to get hubby involved too.

This Yvonne so funny leh. I also think DTS mummy is a secretary and a very good one coz I have to keep referring back to the postings and I still cannot keep track of everyone who has posted.

This bbmum never reply me one.

JamGal, my mummy's also a dragon!!

GOOD MORNING MUMMIES!!! :D

Yvonne: ur description for DTSMummy is very cute lo!!! Makes me lol!!! :D hee.. but u r right to say so cos she really is like taking e minutes lo.. hee… :D
Next time if we want to set up a committee, can appoint DTSMummy as secretary… hee..

Pravina: tat day I went to clarins counter early this week @ taka to enquire abt the stretch mark cream… and its so ex lo… $70+ for each…  but me nt using clarins also la.. just KPO go and see see look look.. so far no promo gg on I heard fm e salesgal..

Pat: even with top on also nt very advisable wo… bt dun try it again…. DANGEROUS..
Your dog must hv very good metabolism rate!! Hee.. digestive system so good! Hee..

I heard medela electric is very noisy also… and I agree w ur friends tat if really want to bf, get a good pump so u wun waste your effort and time to express something which u can do using shorter time with a good pump on hand.. and most imptly, we must nt be lazy to pump…. :D

mummies who want to breastfeed after going back to work but find the PIS too expensive can consider the Ameda Dual Lactaline. It's hospital grade but costs much less than the PIS, think now $388 from mumsfairy. I found it really useful
If u are going to express milk frequently, dun make the same mistake i did by getting a lower grade pump. it conked out from overuse and in the end i had to buy another pump...

DTSmummy, Nepia hotline: 62262650

and yes--medela electric v noisy. i had to pump at 5.30am everyday and my hubby kept complaining the pump is damn loud wake him up hahahaha...

Morning Mummies,

Do we need to use Feminine Wash after delivery? My bb shopping list says so, but I'm not so sure. And any recommendations for any brands?

totally agree with karrie!!!!

and mummy's DETERMINATION must be STRONG!!!
KEEP PUMPING!!!

THE MORE YOU PUMP, THE MORE YOU HAVE!!!

Jamgal: it will be good if u can do so.. but i believe ur gynae will prescribe with chlorohexidine to disinfect ur wound regularly, ie, 3x a day kinda thing or everything when u change your pad during confinement period..