(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi Apr mummies, I need to get a pair of birkenstock sandals and some cheap clothing for baby, so if you're interested to get them as well from the following 2 sites, pls PM me for details

http://www.tobiasmayer.com/

http://www.babymallonline.com/

Only asking Apr mummies for now..

my hubby & i start talking to baby from the 22nd week onwards but only simple thing like wish her good night and sleep well, ask her not to be naughty etc, my hubby will also say bye to baby when he leave for work. i think i should start reading stories to baby like what eline does..

eline, can share what kind of stories you read to your baby? fairy tales? i was considering reading news to baby, daily news, financial mkt & stock mkt updates etc..ha ha...any idea if this is appropriate?

my girl move whenever i lie on either side, my sis told me this is bcos i add pressure on my tummy and baby feel uncomfortable..

i m going for my appt with gynae this coming friday, i think she will ask me to watch my diet as well..

any mummies can share how is your gynae package like, especially 2nd-time or 3rd-time mummies. i use the same gynae my sis use 2 years ago when she gave birth to my niece, this gynae is at paragon, her price has gone up quite a lot. i sign up a package that cost $500 during my 22nd week visit to gynae, this package will cover my visits to gynae till delivery (not including supplement like fish oil and lab test, discharge test), my gynae will charge another $1200 when deliver baby (normal delivery, additional cost for assisted delivery).

wow... went for reg check up last sat... me in week27, baby wt 1.1kg... everything is okie... but me put on near 12kg... err... my gynae didnt tell me to go on diet leh... so still can chiong for CYN... kekeke....

reading stories... read to my #1 so #2 will able to hear wah.... start to read to my #1 ever since she was in my tummy. treat it as a form of communication so read whatever you are comfortable lor.... as for hubby... he seldom talked to #1, same as #2...

think my package is the most ex one.... gynae charged $1.8k - start fm week12 till birth, incl normal delivery....

karrie, you don't need to pump out at night or direct feed your baby in the early days? But at night i always leak and get engorge if don't feed or express out very hard/pain very uncomfortable. I can't tahan till morning. You won't ah?? I keep alot of milk in the fridge but most of the time direct feed so the milk is like sitting in the fridge unuse.

bargainhunter3, me too don't feel much bb movement but now it's back to normal again. Maybe it's a girl...my girl got mood. But so long there's movement 10 count each day i think no problem. My is not very active type i guess. Cos i always hear people say their bb is moving non stop but my not like that. If really i can't feel movement i will disturb my tummy to make her move asking her to wake up.

Yvonne: I went library and borrow those chinese 寓言stories. Try to look for English stories but cant find any. like what leereiner suggest, read whatever you are comfortable with =) I also talk to baby every night for him to be healthy, obedient and grow fast! haha...

my package with Thomson Medical costs $588++ from 5th month onwards till delivery - includes consultation(by appt only), simple scan and urine test for sugar only. Does not include supplement and extra test. Didnt check on the delivery cost though.

I thought books always recommend for us to sleep on our sides for the baby to breathe more freely... actually i prefer to sleep on my back but worried that it will add pressure to my back and baby. Actually I ask gynae months b4 do I need to sleep on my left side (as suggested by book), gynae just says it is not necessary.

Hi all, I'm a Apr MTB too..haven posted for a long while..I'm still having MS..haiz..my colleague tried to comfort by telling me that she vomitted till 7 and a half mths..hoping it'll end soon though..reali makes me tired with all the vomiting...

Regarding bb movement, I oso dun feel much. Mine's a girl too but I do notice that her kicks are harder now.

Hubby and I bought some books from borders last week and I have been reading a short story every night before I sleep. I read the same thing for one week. I think can read fairy tales, rhymes or sing songs, doesn't reali matter.

It had been a long time i log in here.. I just turn 27wks yesterday and I'm deciding on getting a pram for my BB.

Do you have any idea which brand or model is good? I'm looking for something light and durable.. yet affordable..kekkeke

hi piglet,

mine is combi one... but start to let my #1 to sue it when she was 5/6 months lor... before this hubby and me carry her... just dont feel comfortable to let my girl be in the pram lor since she was so small... hee...

Hi 4eva,
my SIL had MS thru out her 9 month lor.... hee!!!

have you all decide on baby's name eh? or will get master to do it har?

I signed up the package on week 7 and my package is only around 650 (can't remember the exact amount. It cover the normal check-up till birth & vitamin. My gynae also from TMC group le. Maybe I should check out how much my gynae charge for delivery when I see him tomorrow.

Maybe I should start reading too hehe...

Hi Dodos,

Mine is bb boy and he is very very active during week 18-20. Even my gynae & the nurse doing the scaning said he is very active. But recently he change to lesser active boy.
Anyway, maybe he just tired cause moving too much previously hehe...

I'm currently in my 28wks. Few weeks ago I kept having diarhea and now I'm having constipation. But my gynae says that's norm. From 2nd trimester till now I can strongly feel my bb movement. And it's a boy again.

Same as Eline, my package is also $588++ from 5th mths onwards.

Leereiner,
Already got an english name for my bb. As for chinese name I have 2 in mind but still got to look for a master to get a name then decide which to use.

Helo mummies

Long time didnt interact online... ;p
For me i sleep on my sides. keep on waking up at nite sometimes.. when i dun feel comfortable, i will change sides.

Btw, just realised that i got some fine hairs grows on my tummy. not sure why. I used to be hairless everywhere.. Will ask my gynae this wed. Ive been asking my colleagues (all mummies) whether they experienced the same, but none of them are. He he.. so weird seeing the hairs.. Thot maybe bcoz its a boy? He he.. Anyone experienced/found the same?

Do you all have to go to toilet often? I feel that im going to the toilet more often but im not into 3rd trimester yet. Now got constipation problem.

As for chinese name will get the master to see if it's good.

Sleep is a problem for me too. I don't know why i can't sleep. Anyone have this problem?

hi dodos
I'm the opposite of u...duno y I kept feeling sleepy. After every meal I need to take a nap. But I've got poor appetite. I eat less as compared to before pregnant. Same for my both pregnancy. My 1st preg weight gain is 12kg. This one I even lost weight.

Pat,

I also gain alot, in my 6th mth check I gain 9kg, coming to my 7th mth end of this week.. i worry that i may gain alot too...

sanni,

I think my EDD is very close to urs, mine is 5 Apr delivering in TMC, who is ur gynae? mine is Joycelyn Wong, i'm going for my next check on 16 Jan.

Lov J

On 24wk i gain 9kg liao..many pple said my tummy is not obvious, maybe becos i'm big size too..but gynae said my bb is ang mo size, BB was 780g at 24wk. My gynae told me i need not go on diet, but just need to watch out the food i take, not to take sweet things like ice cream...cakes...etc...I really worry that i cant slim down after that leh.now i can see those red stretch marks start poping out even when i use stretch marks cream...lately i feel ache on my tummy (skin) maybe its due to the stretch.

My package was $780 from 12wk onwards (excluding supplements)

Hi Lee

I heard combi is good.. may i know what model r u using?

Sorry mummies, i think i have alot if ques...who u guys experience more dreams after u got preg? i noticed my dreams increased, and alot of times are bad dreams recently ...dream that my granny passed away...or my DH had an affair...alamak, all lousy leh the dreams...

Sometimes i woke up and cry...cos it seems so real leh.
izzit normal?

dunno what's the model... its a old old type one which is a hand-me-down from my ex-GM... no need to buy wah..

hmmmm... seems like for the chinese name, you'll go to master to do it.... why is this so leh?

Lee,

U meant me? the bb name? Yap i intent to let pple do it for me, cos its not easy to choose a bb name..now also cant think of an Ang Mo name leh...

hi pink piglet

i had bad dreams too! same dreams as you. but i didnt cry. i just convey them to my hubb & my mum. both said that probably we tend to think too much.. ;p but i did jokingly warned my hubb regarding the dream bout him.. he he..

Hi pink piglet,

I did in fact have quite a number of vivid dreams (good and bad) and sometimes they drain you out so much when you woke up from the dream!

I also have intuitions too, one made me won first prize in 4D, which is good. Another one was my cousin's wife is also pregnant (considered high risk cos she's 34) and last night somehow I have this feeling she will lose the baby, and this morning my cousin told me they couldn't find bb's heartbeat and need to abort which is really very saddening..

I guess sometimes pregnant women tend to think more, and also more sensitive in our emotions, thus leading to those dreams...

oshi,

oh really...poorthing leh..i was wondering m i having depression...maybe its normal ba...thanks for sharing..

Jamgal,

Gosh, poorthing ..sad to hear that they lost their bb leh...how many wks preg was she?

juxta:
I am also 23 weeks and have put on 3kgs but don't know the bb's size as will be checking next week. Don't envy as I am short, so any small amt of weight I put on will make me look fat.

Hi.

I just bought a stroller brand capella S705.. Aa I the first time mummy, dunno issit good or not as well.

As for naming, English Name, I name my Boy myself.. Chinese name intend to get Master to calculate.. Already engage Jing Zi Long for the service and just need to wait for my little boy to be born.

Envy all of you. U can really differentiate the movement of your baby. I feel nothing at all. I guess cause my stomach is thick.. I treat this pregnancy as normal. As I dun have any MS in the beginning as well. Good Appetite, sleep very well too. but i always need to urine very often, Sometimes, a cough, my urine will leak. Dont know is consider normal as well..

Any mummies going for Planned C-section ?

Anyway, for my gynae fee, my Gynae is Dr Henry Cheng, His charge also at the high side ba.. After 20 weeks, package is 650. And do not include supplement and lab test... Delivery charge for C -section is 1400.. think normal is 850.

Pink Piglet,

she's around 1-2 months pregnant. Initially, the heartbeat was too fast when they went for scan, one week later, there was no heartbeat

dodos, yah initially leak like crazy and was engorged...but have to let the body get used to it loh. after a while it became ok liao. when i returned to work, I would pump at 11pm and again a 5.30am, so the interval wasn't that long anyways...

it's natural to pee more often too...altho we're not in 3rd trimester yet, baby is getting heavier so it's a natural thing. im also constipated.

re: stroller
I had a combi but baby outgrew it at like 6mths (!!) yah he was a chubby one. i liked that it was lightweight. my 2nd pram was also combi, but a bigger model...now my boy also finds it a squeeze. would have gotten a maclaren if i'd known. just my opinion

i'm not really tracking my weight...it's normal i suppose, not much different from when i had my boy. i gained 11kg in total that time.

re: gynae fees
i think mine is the most ex, no package one :p everytime pay about $70-100+...

pinkpiglet: i used to have dreamless nights but since pregnancy... my dreams increased as baby grows. i will have vivid dreams that drain me off, and wake up at least once every night. Accordingly to some books i read, this is normal as these could be triggered by our baby increased development and movement inside of our body. It is also triggered by pregnancy hormones and anxiety resulted from our pregnancy.

oshiezan: i also noticed fine hairs growing on my stomach area after wk 16 or so... hee... hubby also make fun of me.

LovJ: Its time to practise pelvic floor exercise. the increased abdominal pressure due to weight of growing baby will weaken our pelvic floor. as a result, we may experience urine leakage when we laugh, cough, or having any form of physical exertion.

I bought a Maclaren Techno XT at Baby Hypermart. Quite alot of friends recommended Maclaren for its stability and lightness. The one I bought, its seat can be reclined for newborn (some strollers can't) and can take up to 15kg.

Hi Pinkpiglet,

I also have vivid dream every night. Some bad some just dream for no reason. I even dream of getting a coffin for my elder sister and make me so worry. First thing to do after wake up is pray for my sister lor.

HiJamGal,

Sad to hear she lost her bb. Must encourage her to try again k.
How much you bought for the stoller?

HI LovJ,

My hubby already gave an English name to my bb 'Xavier'. How much you spend for the chinese name? Where is your sensei located? Is Jing Zi Long good? Any other suggestion?

I am also planning for C-section but don't know my gynae allow or not. Going to ask him tonight.

So happy can see my Xavier again tonight.

Hi Bargainhunter3.

I named my baby boy as Jayden.. Hee Hee. Jing Zi Long is located beside Aljunied MRT Station.. His naming service is $80, Cause I also ask him to help me choose a caesarian date, so the package is $180 for both service. I found Jing Zi Long from this forum. Most have positive feedback. and I check most of the master price, it all very expensive. only his, i can afford. But overall, I find him ok and nice.. they are helpful ppl.

Wow! a flurry of postings, looks like all back from holiday le heheh.

Rachel, I'm rather tall, so abit here and there can add up alot hahah. My bro just commented I can still get away with fat loh!!

Re: Pram/Stroller
We got a combi initially, but my no. 1 outgrow it in no time, we finally decided to get a maclaren and I very much swear by it cos is very stable and I can "speed" ard. The seat is wider and can fit bigger baby. The pram is also built higher, I was kinda bending over with the combi and gave us a backache.

I've been feeling abit restless and down lately, like anxiety attack, but not sure over what?! Anyone feeling that?

Bargainhunter3,

The original price was $550+, but there was discount and we got it for $470. There's the 2007 version and 2008, difference is the harness (5 point harness for version 2008, more secure).

Hi mummies!!!!!!!!!!!

GOOD MORNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I WANT TO COMPLAIN!!!!!!!!!!

tis moni, i woke up abt 5am plus to release my bladder.. and ended up... my lil bb is having a fun time playing, moving, kicking inside!
and made me so wide awake, not able to get back to sleep, and eventually ended up playing hp games till 6am plus den finally doze off.
now........ I'M SUPER TIRED! PANDA BEAR noW!!!!

re: stroller
I wasnt using stroller untill much later, abt 4mo, cos was using sling.
tot its quite convenient, cos pram can be quite bulky when comes to staircase, crowds.. so with sling, i can walk very conveniently ard cos I'm carry e bb with me..

re: breastmilk bag
i bot gerber milk bags from a bb fair at taka years back when im expecting my #1.
so this time ard, i'll still be buying, probably from any shop or kiddy palace bah..

re: breastpump
i used Avent ISIS Uno (single electric), and each time pump 1 side, and will use breastshield to collect e milk dripping out fm the other breast.
so, for #2, i have more less decided on medela pis for the power and pump 2 at a time! save time, and effort!
but of cos, its quite ex.

for mummies who dun have budget, can try ameda.
its quite affordable for a dual electric, but e expression mode and pump suction level can to manually adjust to suit your pace. have used before, very compact lil machine and parts are easy to assemble and sterilze.

whereas pis is quite straight fwd with its dunno wat "expression phrase".. tik its pre-programmed kindda thing. --> mummies, correct me if i'm wrong. cos havent gt time to really chk out this pump.

wow so many posts!

re: stroller & breast pumps
any recommendations where's the best place to get it & when's the best time to get?

re: dreams
been having a lot of dreams abt my mum (she passed away couple of yrs back) neither good or bad, but feels like she's alive agn (so i guess tt's gd for me?)

re:gynae
karrie, mine's the same as urs. no package. each time about $100, incl supplements. my gynae went to change his scanning machine & now he charges $10 per scan =( consultation is $45 (for 10 mins).

bargainhunter, y r u opting for C-section? Can share ur thoughts? I really want to try for natural without epidural is possible...praying tt bb will be in a good position & i can tahan the pain. Xavier is a nice n unique name =)

juxta, i also feel restless & down from time to time & for no good reasons. Maybe we're just feeling anxious abt the upcoming birth?? Tho we are Apr MTBs, I was thinking if I actually deliver pre-maturely...it's NEXT MTH!!!

Hi Jam Gal,

My friend recommend me this malay lady living in the woodlands. I never try before. Don't know she good or not. But her charges is reasonable.

I not in office today.. resting at home. will post her contact when I in office. M

forgot to reply.. abt gynae fees..
think i paid abt $550 from end of 1st tri onwards for all consultation, vitamins, ultrasound till i deliver.

delivery charges is abt 1k if i'm nt wrong..
cant really rem le..

but i am quite certain tat my gynae's charges are really very affordable.

Gd Morning mummies to be,

Sorry to interrupt. I have a Medela Mini Electric (Single) to let go as I hv stopped bf. Used less than 2mths.

Willing to let go at cheap price.

Pls PM me if you are interested.

wow, this thread is moving fast liao!

re: baby kicking
my boy is hyper active; every hr of the day can feel him kicking about and worst is during the nite, esp when hb & me finally have time to be couch potatoes (after putting my #1 to bed & clearning some house chores) to relax, he'll start kicking!
then when his jiejie wakes up crying for milk or otherwise, he'll start kicking too!
aiyoh... dun know if he will be just as hyper when he is out!

re: pram/stroller
i got the capella one for my gal S70X, can't rem the last digit. not so good coz we didn't know wat to get back then. the wheels not the small type hence we end up kept 'kicking' the back wheels! and it only has 3 point harness n can't recline 90deg.
so choose wisely for your #1 lor. will last a long time!

LovJ: i thk i got the same one as yours. u try push it around and see if u end up kicking the back wheels!

re: bad dream
ya, agree wif some of u but mine not really 'bad' but more like 'weird' dreams leh. sometimes dream of my sec school friends, or relatives, sometime just very weird sort of dreams going hiking or some outing then see ppl either quarrel or got commotion type lor. sigh, dun know wat it all means but frankly, all these dreaming just tired me out!!

re: frequent loo trips
yes, it's happening liao now that we're heading towards our 3rd tri. i m not a big fan of H2O so actually not that bad. but on days when i drink more than my norm, wah, can go toilet a few times within an hour!

re: wt gain
last visit only saw me gained like 4kg! and bb is around 600g. a little light lor but yesterday at work, a few of my coligs said my tummy ballooned up! i went for 2 wks holiday break (xmas & ny) and maybe feasted a little too much liao! ahahha... but wat gain still low. weird!

leereiner: wah, ur bb oredi 1.1kg ah... i dun know when mine will reach that wt! tmr going for check up again - shall see how much wt i gained over the weekend!

re: blood sugar level
tmr going for check up coz my last visit saw another increase... from neg, to 1 + and now 2 ++!!! sianz liao... gynae said is considered high and beta cut down on all sugary intake.
guess CNY i have to 'jie kou' oredi.

juxta: why anxiety attack? u worried about delivery oredi? or just mood swings?? go take more photos or go window-shoppping for your princess to destress lah!

re: baby name
we've tentatively decided to name our son 'Gabriel'. m still wondering which middle name i should give him - either Phillipe or James... maybe will decide on that after he's born!

as for chinese name, since my hb family has to follow the 'jia pu', my FIL oredi kept hinting we name our son after HIS grandfather - meaning my hb's Chor Kong. wah piang... i really dislike the name leh... dun know wat to do. just think about it makes my day lousy!!! grrr....

eunice/kittybride, i think my anxiety came from 2 stories of premature birth that I know of and my low placenta! hahah is prolly some bad hormones now like PMS?!

my gynae charges $500 for package from 16th weeks onwards that includes consultation, urine test and scan, but not the supplements and additional tests. Ciarie, your gyane is indeed affordable!

We've shortlisted english names for the girl, chinese will get someone to do it. We both are lousy in this area and prolly can give them a good start since is supposedly given by their birth date/time and what elements they lack in life.

ciarie, ur gynae is indeed v reasonable! who is he/she?

juxta, dun worry la... not all premature births r bad. apparently 7mths baby r smarter leh. anw dun worry k. m sure things will b go smoothly for u...

kittybride, r u saying ur stroller is 3-wheeler? my hb is v keen on 3-wheeler. r these good? i wan something suitable for infant yet can last till at least they r 6mths - 1 yr? i go to the toilet at least 3 times at night. its actually v tiring...got to walk to the kitchen to use the loo =( but its good to drink more water now i read somewhere. i've gained 5kg since pregnancy n last visit, bb was 600+g. doc says bb is a gd weight but i've gained slightly too much. but recently i've been wanting to eat sweet stuff like donuts etc hehe =P my tummy is also getting bigger at a faster rate!!! but ppl still say i dun look like im already 5 mths+. Gabriel is a gorgeous name... i wld hv wanted to name our child tt if it was a boy hehe but mine's a girl. it's ur bb's name wat...u hv to like it...dun think u shd force urself to use the name ur FIL hinting if u really dun like it. juz my tots. u hv to live w it...ur son has to live w it. how to explain to him tt u gave him a name u hate??

Hi eunice, LovJ, kittybride
my gynae is Dr Loke KL - Singapore Woman's Clinic @ Tampines.

I would say my gynae is really affordable!!! 
Of cos, e supplements is those standard ones, eg, multi-vit, calcium.. fish oil is at own expenses.. but still I think he’s really very affordable!

q-time not too long, and his clinic assts are all very nice and experienced!
Always willing to share experience if you have any questions..
2 thumbs up!!!

Re: anxiety
Juxta.. pls dun be so negative!!!!!!!
Trust your gynae be able to handle your case well!

Stay happy and talk to bb more instead of worrying..

Re: stroller
Think 3-wheeler is quite bulky wo…
Go to Robinsons to try out the handling first before you commit, and think the sales gals there can help too!
I got my capella at cityhall Robinsons and e sales gal did really help and did a very good demo lo.. 

Thanks for all ur support! actually i'm not worried, in fact i'm so relaxed for this one, is just sometimes u feel down and can't explain, otherwise all is well!

Re: stroller

My stroller is a 4 wheel and it can movr 90 degree. So i don't think we are having the same stroller. Kitty bride..

Hi Clarie.

Who is your gyane. can recommend?

Re: bb names
kittybride.. tell your FIL that u heard from pple that its nt good for e bb to have same name in e entire family line... and its really wat i heard somewhere, from someone...

my bb name also follow jia pu, but only e middle name lo..
den e last name will be decided by us..
my #1's last name is named by my hubb's grandma, and she help us think of a few, and we choose e one tat we like.
think my #2 will be e same case as well.

maybe can see hw e jia pu runs lo...
maybe its just e middle fixed, and u can still choose e last name???

Hi LovJ
my gynae is Dr Loke KL - Singapore Woman's Clinic @ Tampines.
His webby: www.drloke.com.sg

maybe u can call up his clinic for enquiry lo..
cos at our stage now, sign package not very worthwhile le..
but... no harm calling to see if you thinking to change gynae.
FYI, he delivers @ TMC, Mt Alvernia & East Shore.

eline: he he.. yea! im not alone here... my hubb cal me hairy mummy dat day... ;p

re: massage
ive already engaged a masseuse for the post-labour. 7 days for $450. ive tried her twice oready coz lots of wind in my body... always ache here & there. plus i asked to see my baby's position coz few wks ago, i cant feel the baby movements altho my gynae said i shd hav. got to know from the masseuse that my bb's got stuck to the rite side too much.. so she moved it to the center... den i can feel his kicks..;)

oh, plus i was warned by her not to drink coke or gassy drinks anymore, coz it adds lots of wind to my back & bones..

juxta,

dun let those stories get your mood down ya.
u should read more GOOD-MOOD stories of miracle babies, etc!!

for my #1, she was low placenta case all the way - so more or less we oredi know i goin under the knife to get her out. ahahaha...
but for #2, initially low placenta but last visit, placenta has moved up! but hor, gynae say he's in breech position. if his head dun turn downwards in next 2 mths, i thk will end up under the knife again! hiaz...

eunice,
mine is 4-wheels. only saw the 3-wheeler much later and kinda regretted not getting it! but hb said since oredi have 1, just use it till "koyak" then get replacement lor. that day will only come few YEARS down the road leh... unless i strike 4D then get a better 3-wheelers! ahaha...

as for the name, we went through quite a bit of boys' name under 'G' then decide on this one - kinda common actually but other names with G were not really to our likings lor.
you can also call your gal 'gabrielle' leh. my cousin's dotter got that name and in short, we all call her 'gabby'.

come to think of it, my cousin named all her girls the feminine name of boys leh... Gabrielle, Danielle... lucky #3 is a boy for her! :p