(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Ciarie,
aiyoh my ILs are like dat one lah.
when they know i hv #1, oredi gave a list of names (girl no nid to follow jia pu) which is compilation from their coligs' inputs, etc... wah piang, like naming a pet like dat! grrr...

but in the end we name our gal ourselves, but one of the character we used is also a fav or my MIL, so she a bit happy lor. my FIL's choice (which he kept saying over and over again) was the lousiest as it's the same pronounciation as the name of the BAD Cheater character in the HK drama series 'Zhen Qing'.

for my #2 - we will HAVE to follow the jia pu's middle name. worst thing is that my hb & siblings are actually at the BOTTOM of the jia pu oredi. and for my son, he's suppose to use the middle name of the FIRST greatXXXXX grandfather's name. but hor, my FIL said the jia pu in Hainan Island and dun know where/how to find. so just use his grandfather's name! wah piangs..... *faint*

kittybride, ur hb is hainanese? whats his surname? haha my bro followed jiapu but i didnt have to cos i'm a gal. But his kid will have a rather odd sounding middle name, i wonder is he going to follow anot, my sil is due 1 month after me.

yup, got myself a hainanese husband! ahahaa...
his surname is 'wu'; GOH.
what's the middle name your nephew will be using?
mine is 'xu' - the same last character as the lead of the Taiwanese boyband F4 - yan chen xu.

Just came back from my check up. Baby already head down. weighing only 700+g at 26wks. I see all of your bb so heavy but my like small like that. I hope to continue till full term. But there's chances that i might pop early.

kittybride, hainanese hb MCP and dote on wife anot? hahah. I'm a 100% hainanese lineage but my hb is peranankan so diluted liao. My bro's next generation middle name is "ji" as in shi ji (century), so will be zeng ji xx, odd right?! hahah

dodos, i think ur bb wt ok lah, mine was 602g at 23w++ not that big either.

dodos: me too, my gynae even gave me some contraction pills just in case. as my mum gave birth to my brother and myself prematurely at 7 1/2 mths, gynae says this may be hereditary. anyway, will be preparing my bag next month. =)

hi dodos,

as long as gynae said your baby & yourself are okie, why bother so much of the wt thingy leh...

my #1 birth wt is 2.345kg only.... she's small but the pd said she was healthy (no janudice and passed all the tests) like little chilli hor, cried the loudest in the nursery room... till now she still the smallest among her mates but she's healthy and happy.... arent these are the things we parents wants priorty for our kids??

if baby is big then mummy will have hard time to push or may need to go for C.... ha!!! me console myself in this way.... sour grapes... hee...

Just went for my check-up yesterday. My bb weight 690g week 24. Think should be normal as gynae never say anything. BB ok. Placenta ok too but gynae just don't understand how come still bled. He advise me to do Papsmear again in case the 'Polyp' at the end of my viginal is dangerous. Hope they don't call me back after a week when result is out. No call means good news. ha ha... Think positive so that my bb always happy too...

re: baby weight
Mummies don't need to worry about the weight cause I think some of the baby growth very fast & a lot during the third trimester. Be happy k.

Hi Eline,
Let's believe in miracle. Try to tell yourself a lot like you won't repeat what happen to you mum haha... By right genetics only pass to interval generation le...

Hi Ladies, sorry to intrude.
I'm from January 2009 thread and I have 18 capsules of DHA (EPAX1050) 1000mg to let go since I have already given birth.

It was dispensed at my TMC gynae on 24 Nov 2008, I paid $60 for 30 capsules in box.
Expiry Oct 2011.

Do email / PM me [email protected] for price & if u are interested.
Pickup at my residence in Pasir Ris or by normal post.

hi mummies, my baby was 620g at 23 weeks when I last saw my gynae, so I guess its all about average? But I have gained 14 kg when I weighed myself yesterday, put on sooo much...will be seeing gynae again this weekend and will be 27 weeks then..

BP still on for http://www.babymallonline.com/
Please PM me for details..BP will close once it hits 180usd, halfway there already!

Anyone else interested to get capella strollers?

any mummies doing any execise currently?? heard that some execise aid in smoother delivery, i intend to start swimming and do some cardio like slow walk. i use to swim a lot but stop when i discovered that i m pregnant, yesterday was the first time i went back for a swim, it feel good actually, intend to do it more often..

re: baby weight
when i last visited my gynae at 22nd wks, baby weight was 466g, my weight was 51kg, i have since put on another 4kg, now i m in 26 wks, going to see my gynae on friday, i hope bb has put on a lot more weight..
i heard from my sis, bb will grow more during 5th to 7th mth of yor pregnancy, the later 2 mths near delivery will slow down...

re: baby name
we are considering "Imelda", we don't have many choice cos my hubby surname is chee, so got to choose carefully, if not people will make fun of her name later when she grow up. as for chinese name we will get a feng shui master to name her..

re: gynae
i agree that ciarie's gynae charge a very affordable price, before i sign up my $500 package at 22nd wks, i already visited my gynae 3 times, each time pay abt $150 to $250..

kittybride / juxta:
My hub also hainanese. And we also need to follow the jia pu's middle name. The middle name of my boy is 'Xin" (Carnation flower in Chinese). As this time having a girl, so dun need to follow.

bargainhunter: thanks! =)
every night telling baby to come out only on 36th wk bcos dont want him to be put on tubes... just to prep hubby and myself to be mentally prepared too.

ya, be happy so baby will be happy too =)dont worry, everything will be alright!

re baby weight:
ya, it really depends on individual, the weight range is so wide... everytime go gynae, he just says baby is growing well and at average size.. as long as baby is healthy and growing well, tats most important.

LovJ,

Oic, same, i also thinking of naming my gal English name myself..chinese let pple do it for me...

How many wk preg r u? maybe still early for u to feel ba...I also can feel like my urine leak a little when i cough..

Jamgal,

huh...really ya thats scary leh.. so sad.. my cousin lost her BB at wk 37..her bb just dead inside, think due to placenta failure where she dint managed to alert her gynae on time...she was 1st time mummy then so i guess she dint know what to do...at the end she have a still birth..poor thing

Eline,

Oic, thanks for sharing..

Juxta,

May i know the pram model (maclaren) u using now ?

This morning around 5-6am. i experience sharp pain in the middle of my lower tummy which last of abt 15mins. experience it twice in 15mins interval.. i was so worry that its contraction leh, but i'm only in my 27 wk...

i wonder whether its due to Braxton Hick contraction, but i tot it suppose to be a painless tighting of uterus nia...

but since after that it stop and i can feel bb moving, i just ignore it..but somehow still worry of that...any of u experience it b4?

pink_piglet, we got the Quest. However, Quest doesnt allow full recline, we got it when my boy is already quite big so didnt see the need for full recline. We reckon we still have the combi to tahan from NB to first few months. If you're getting to use for day 1 onwards, Techno XT is a good investment.

i'm not trying to frighten you, but pls do see your gynae if it happens again. My fren thought it was too early to be having contractions, she ended up premature at 29 weeks. Then again, sometimes tummy discomfort can be gastric or just wind, i get that cos i've been having gastric prob and can stretch all the way down, the pain ie.

pink_piglet, hey dun worry, just pop by and let ur doc take a look just for peace of mind. Maybe I've a kiasi gynae, he always tells me I'm not over-reacting when I end up at the clinic cos I didn't feel the baby move or got some aches here and there, his golden rule is anything not sure, better to be there then sit at home and fret.

how ah, I far i have never visit my gynae for emergency cases like this..should i call her clinic to ask whether its necc for me to visit her?

No idea whether the clinic asst can give me the right advice...

Pink_Piglet, Ya, do that, just call the clinic and ask. My gynae has a very able nurse who can dispense good advice when he cannot attend to immediately. Anyways you pay for package liao right? pop by and check also nevermind lah

Pink Piglet,

I think your cousin really poor thing loe, at 37 weeks, the baby is already about to come out anytime, everyone waiting anxiously and this kind of thing happen. At least for my cousin's wife, the bb is only less than 3 months.

I think at our stage, we really have to monitor the baby's kicks and anything we feel not right, we should call the gynae emergency straightaway, it's better to be safe than sorry. Your gynae should have an emergency mobile number to contact.

Ya do give ur gynae a call, they're trained in this area and know how delicate we can or may feel. They wont bat an eyelid even if is nothing, your not the 1st and wont be the last. Knowing that all's well is more impt!

Pink Piglet,

I use to be at apr thread here...but come in n inform u that one March MTB gave birth at 29 weeks think 1st or 2nd Jan 09, so better go to ur gynae if u gt any pain, do nt ignore ANY SYmptoms

my previous check up at 21 wks bb weight about 300+g and now at 26wks 700+g. So total weight gain for bb for 1 mth about 400g.

There's 2 things im afraid of that is lack of movement/no movement and pre-term symptoms. Guess i will have this fear till bb is out.

hi pink piglet,
ya, you should call your gynae and visit him/her if necessary..
my gynae always remind me that if i feel something is not right, to call her immediately..
she told me she had one mother that gave birth to a premature bb and the hospital bill was a few hundred K..
she had another case that approach her early when the mother first felt thing was not right, my gynae put the mother on medication to delay it a bit so that the bb can grow bigger and stronger in mother worm..
do take care ya and god bless..

jamgal,

ya lor, i felt very sad for her too..

ya lor maybe i will try to contact my clinic shortly.

Mango,

thanks for sharing...thats scary...whats the cos for that, any idea?

Yvonne,

Thanks for ur advice...will listen to u guys..i hope bb will be fine...

<font color="0000ff">Hi everyone!</font> Been busy tying up work and now gotta prepare for more events -- plus my 22MO girl is trying our patience so my hands totally full. Lost sleep a couple of nites in a row "battling" her nonsense (that stage lah...) and in middle of nite she wakes up with nightmare so I kena panda now...

Anyway, been skimming through the posts. Saw the various discussions. I'll just chip in with these:
1) Buy milk storage bags fr US websites thru the BP here, very worthwhile after the postage costs are shared
2) Stroller -- mine white elephant for 1.5yrs coz I used Baby Bjorn till my girl was about 10-11MO and too heavy for me. Then she was walking or I just carried her upright in one arm. But now after she was in rented stroller @ the zoo a mth back, she suddenly want the stroller. I haven't cleaned it up though SO she trying to park her butt in the toy one... Main thing pick a stroller that you can manage. If you really plan to use often, consider what features you need e.g. light-weight, with full canopy, miracle turn (Combi's feature), reversible handle, etc. Otherwise consider if you want to use baby carrier/sling 1st (which is veri popular now) then invest in a veri light-weight umbrella stroller eventually (no frills type). That's what I've learnt from investing in a $500 stroller that has egg-shock to ensure newborn's brain not hurt by bumpy road suface, etc. What to do, was our 1st baby and my hubby and I green and KS at same time

yeah! agree with kidzkidz, ordering from BP or spree here can make abit of difference. I got a fren to handcarry back some Avent BPA bottles, lansinoh milkbags and a skip hop dash diaper bag during the toysrus sale, really a steal. In future, I'll likely order via BP

I'm on my own most days and I dun drive, so I need my pram or carrier when I go gai gai/run errands, I'm one of those that uses the pram like a marketing trolley! haha I'm totally dependent on them. So it really depends on your needs, some of my frens dun use pram as they only go out if they drive or when hb is ard and they'd prefer to carry the baby, some dun even need the carrier.

Sorry, I meant through the sprees in this forum. Itz also a good place to buy Densitin Diaper Cream, First Teeth Toothpaste fr the US websites which usually have promotions on. Okay, gotta get back to work...

hellow,
i'm new here; baby's due in april/may and looking for confinement lady who speaks english. any reccomendations? preferably day confinement lady but can consider stay-in confinement lady.
all info appreciated.
Thanx!

It's my first post here and I really glad there are so many mummies sharing their experience here.

I went for checkup at 24 weeks and my gynae told me my baby weighed 659g. Although it is normal to have this weight, but whenever i looked into the mirror, i can't help but think that my belly looks smaller than usual 24 weeks mummies should be....

Just like what dodos felt, the things i am really worried will be lack of movement from my bb...

BP still on for http://www.babymallonline.com/
Please PM me for details..

Will close at 180usd, currently at 100usd already, any last orders?

Also, desitin creamy for diaper rash, california calendular cream and first teeth A Natural enzyme toothpaste ready stock just arrived from the states, PM me for info.

Have also the Classic Pooh Anti Dust Mite 7 in 1 Bedding Set With Bag for baby cot if interested.

Good morning everyone,

Just wanna check, do you experience an ache near your pelvic area if you stand up after sitting for too long, or lying in one position for too long?

hi pink piglet
i agree w all other mummies, if u really not right... faster go see your gynae and seek advise.
if nt, call e clinic asst to see if they can offer any good advise.
if still dun feel good, fast fast charge to see your gyane..

take care!

Moni jamgal
i dun experience such pain wo... but i have very bad backache everytime when i wake up from sleep..
sigh....

Ciarie,

1'm going for my pre-natal lesson (exercise class) this Saturday, shall ask the trainer about my problem cos it's so irritating. I have difficult flipping sides when I sleep at night man.

Hi Jamgal,

I do experience discomfort but not pain.

Hi Pink Piglet,

Yes please seek doc's advice asap if u have any discomfort. Or think that bb movement not felt.

Just went for my check up on tues...now gg into my 27th. My bb weighs 1.1kg. :p super active moves n kicks alot.

went for my chk up ystdy - had to do the GTT; the glucose drink is really horrible... yucks!
but lucky i didn't vomit after that, else will have to do it again! GAH!

so will hv to wait a wk for my result, hopefully my condition is not as bad... now really gotta control my sugar intake! there goes my CNY binging plan!

so you mommies also have to take care of the sugar intake from all the pineapple tarts, cakes, etc....

oh ya, i gained 900g over 1 week! GAH!!!
really hv to control....

re: backpain
starting to feel it slightly liao esp after sitting down on the stool doing laundry for my #1 (i still handwash her clothings lor)

then realized that #2 prefers i sleep on my left side coz each time i lie on my back (more comfy for me); he'll KICK super hard lor. aiyoh, wana 'chang fan tiao' with me wor... wait till he comes out, then he'll know! muahahaha... (evil laugh)

hey kittybride..
ok... update us abt the results when u hv them ok!
meanwhile... control ur sugar intake and eat more veges.

and.. why are u handwashing your #1 clothings still?
can use machine wash le la... dun overstrain yourself!

re: bb sleeping position
my #2 will kick no matter which position I am in.. wahaha.... :p:p
last night, again, he din spare me from able to get back to sleep 3am in e moni after changing diaper for my #1...
sigh.....

hey jamgal
think u also call up your gynae abt ur condition...
better be safe than sorry...

meanwhile, dun walk too much or stand too long.

JamGal: I posted abt 2wks back that I do experience sharp pain in my groin when I try to get up after sitting down or lying down for a period. Sometimes can't even lift leg to put on pants. It was similar during my 1st pregnancy and the pain went away afterwards. Understood from my prenatal class it's part and parcel of pregnancy BUT do double-check @ your own class to be sure.

Marie: We both have "big" babies. Mine weighed in abt 950g at my check up at 26wks... But gynae assured me all normal.

dodos, pls do not be bothered by the weight that gynae estimate form scan. Cos it can turn out very different. One of my fren's gynae scan her at 37wks and said bb too big more than 3.5kg liao induce her and in the end bb only 2.4+kg when came out. So if only she had let bb grow 3 more wks the bb maybe a better weight at birth. Then another the gynae said bb will be small, came out at 3.6kg. So scan is just an estimate so there's plus-minus thus no need to be too worried lah. My gynae said what's important is the growth rate is normal.

hey mummies in e house..
for those who are looking for affordable and simple maternity tops and pants, can go to this shop at Toa Payoh --> they have their own brand, "Carrano"...

very affordable to me, i feel...
ie, 1 long office pants is abt less than $30.

I bot 4 tops and 2 pants and it cost me abt $150 in total... :D
I tot its a good deal..
but of cos, dun expect the design to be those super nice, sexy, hip.... its normal top and pants...

What do mummies in e house think???

Any good places to buy maternity wear??

hihi dodos
i agree w coral..
main thing is gynae said growth rate is ok..
weight is very unique thing for all bbs... and even when they measure they are also using past statistics as a benchmark..

be happy and bb will be happy too!! :D

Ciarie,

Sat I will check with the instructor at prenatal class and if my pain still continues, I have to call gynae le...

hi dodo
my bb is avg wt only - 602g during last chk up.
but he's a super strong little moomoo, can kick till my tummy jerk so hard - as if wana kick OUT of my tummy! wah... so dun worry abt the wt. so long bb is healthy, that is main priority!

ciarie,
i know... ppl oredi ask me to use the washing bag for her clothings but BAD habit die hard! ahahaha... anyway, will STOP doing that when i find it harder to wash liao - which i reckon will be quite soon coz now oredi felt the strain.

ya, i really keep my fingers crossed that my sugar level will lower down by next visit - but with CNY, how to 'jie kou'... pineapple tarts my favourite leh... sob sob...

jamgal,
abt ur sharp pain in groin hor, i also experienced it. sometimes v sianz esp when half way shopping/working, then kena that attack, hv to slow down or sit down a while. even wanted to massage but cannot coz in public area! ahahaa...
but like kidzskidz said, is part and parcel lor. just have to relax i guess.

today my tummy felt extremely 'tight' leh. dun know why... like those over-blown balloon, anymore air pumped in will likely to POP. sianz, makes my back ache and no mood to sit down for long to work... and the bladder also giving me frequent 'walking' trips to the loo... ahhh.....

ciarie,
long time nvr go TPY liao since moved to my current ulu place - used to live in TPY... miss the vibrancy! gah...

is this ur 1st pregnancy?
get clothings that are comfy and quality not too bad one, coz u'll tend to re-use them for bb #2, #3, #4.... kekekeke...

i'm recycling my previous maternity clothings with some new additions - can't help it lah, see oredi itchy eyes &amp; hands wana buy liao. but i usually buy NORMAL clothings with BIGGER room for the tummy - like babydoll dress, soft materials type of top or those cotton/lycra type of top that can cover the buttocks - so can cover the tummy oso lor.

oh ya, i have one new 3/4 capri (brown) which i bought in Dec via spree but size is a bit too big for me. you interested? can PM/email you the pic/details. still new in the plastic cover.

hi ciarie,
what is the name of this shop at toa payoh? near HDB hub? i never buy any maternity clothing, all my clothings are normal clothings like kittybride mentioned, with bigger room for the tummy..

hi kittybride,
i do experience the same tight feel on tummy, very uncomfortable, i feel it more often this few wks, gotta check with my gynae the reason for this when i see her tomorrow...