(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

eunice, i also got some itch last 2 weeks, can be a mild kind of infection, woman get it all the time. I wash with Lactacyd and seems to ease it. During 2nd tri, discharge might be more, so that can cause it also, is so humid and warm in sg!!

Yeah, agree with Juxta that our weather is a major cause of feminine discomfort. That's why I read before one female gynae said panty liners should be banned i.e. not worn every day coz it traps the moisture, or when it's not changed often enough --> leads to infection.

Oh ya, change those pantyliners frequently if you're using them, just like bbs get rash if diaper is soiled and not changed! If still doesn't work, see a doc to ease the mind.

hi ladies, thanks so much for sharing =) yah i kinda guessed it might be the panty liners...hv stopped using them for a while. juxta, im also using lactacyd. silly me forgot to read instructions, apparently u're supposed to DILUTE it first b4 using. well, i hope it goes away soon. i feel a bit embarassed to ask my gynae. last visit he gave me this cream w styroids for my itchy tummy but im v reluctant to us it (his nurse told me can use "down there" when its itchy" but i heard styroids, i scared la.

juxta, not ruin la. just not pretty at the moment. the marks will go away. better than stretch marks at least?? but if taking pics, then got to photoshop the marks away hehe.
anyone started taking photos of their bumps already?? oh btw, juxta, i think putting oil helps...when i apply the clarins oil, it doesnt itch so much. n the irritating thing is it itches during sleeping time, so sometimes u cannot control ur scratching. even my nipples itch...

eunice, i put the oil but it still itches and it seems to have an alarm system, it always itches at that same hour, just b4 i sleep! And yes, the nipple itch is unbearable!! I just stopped the oil for awhile to concentrate on that steroid cream so that it can clear up alittle, seems to work, so i gotta try putting the oil again!

I agree with putting oil. I was using CocoButter Cream to avoid stretch marks initially but it cause itchiness on my tummy area. After change to Pureen essential oil, it seems ok to me. Maybe mummies with itchiness at tummy area can try to use oil.

Any body here find very hard to go toilet? After toilet dark brown & redish discharge will appear. Now week 23 but still can see red sometimes. Gynae say i have a lump at my virginal area and that is why bleeding again. Anyone here heard about this before?

Will it really cause the lump bleeding after have difficulty in the toilet? Don't understand why papsmear test can't detect it before I pregnant. I did the test 2 months before I prenant le.

Hope someone can enlighten me.

hi mummies!!
BLESSED CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!

just came back from KL spree... bot 4 sets of clothings and 1 pair of shoes for my #1..

just nice there's close 50% sale at Parkson's which is really great savings!
imagine, 1 set of mickey mouse t-shirt & shoes is only sg$7.. how cheap can it be! ha...

genting also have great sales, but resisted the temptation cos knowing my boy will outgrow very fast.. so din buy any at Genting.

bot nothing for myself cos din want to stress my lil luggage.. hee.. :p:p

hi bargainhunter3..
i have not heard anything like this before wo..

but your gynae mention the problem.. did he/she mention the remedy or wat things to take note of?

dun think papsmear can detect tis wo.. cos papsmear is drawing the samples from our cervix area, not virginal leh... (if i'm nt wrong)..

long time since i posted. merry christmas & a happy new year to all!

just went for my 6th month check up today & princess is at 689 grams. it just looks so amazing during each scan when we see the baby's heartbeat. i've put on altogether 8kg since.

have not bought anything at all yet! thought of buying only when its nearer to my due date. have a great year ahead!

hi everyone!

been MIA for a long time liao... just back from hometown for christmas.
oh ya, merry belated christmas & a super happy & healthy new year 2009 to all!!
hope all will heng heng strike TOTO on 6 Jan too ! kekkekee.... but leave the BIG one for me, okie? ;p

did my check up today as well.
bb boy at only 612.7grams... even lighter than denise' princess!! but hor, i just chk my records, i only gained like 4kg since my 1st visit 3 months ago! hmm.... think i need to add more 'meat' to my son liao, else he may end up being a small baby upon delivery!!

and got one slightly bad news abt my bb again - he's currently lying horizontally across my tummy and if he continue to do that; may end up in breech position. which means i will have to go thru C-Sect (AGAIN!) for his delivery! pray hard he'll turn his head down in the coming weeks!

ciaire,
ya, msia now having sales and buying kids' clothings are really good bargains! i missed going parkson on 26th when they had the special members' sale. but still managed to buy a few sets of clothings for my #1! ahahaha...

i went for my checkup last week, at 23 weeks, my bb gal weighs 609gms and i've gained like 5kgs already, how to keep it under 10kg?! hahah and is the festive period CNY goodies, oh no!

Hi ladies, been a very looong while since I logged in. I'm going for my check-up this noon, at week 23 too! Can't wait to see my little gal again. =p

Started buying some clothes off Baby Gap sale and other sales here and there. Can't resist! haha...

Bargainhunter: I only know during preg contstipation is common so we gotta watch diet. Coz if we strain, with the weight of baby in us, can easily make us get piles. But lump @ virginal area will bleed when constipate -- this one I not sure leh. I really thought any bleeding from constipation is through anus (rectum)... But I guess all part and parcel of pregnancy. We just gotta take care to eat right, rest well.

Went for my chk-up just now. Results of 2nd urine test came back as not serious, Dr suspect contamination as in result fr I wasn't taking in enough fluids. Whc is true coz quite a few times my urine is dark yellow. He advised that preggies like us must hv twice the usual water intake to mt our bodies need. I didn't realise that. Now gotta drink more. I also drinking fresh milk now coz the heartburn (acid reflux) is really quite bad. So fresh milk's been better help than taking liquid Gaviscon (anticid).

Oh yeah, I'm @ 26wks and baby's like abt 940g whc is still within limit. Dr says since B1 was 3.2kg @ birth, at current rate B2 won't be losing out
But I actually hvn't gained much -- each mth like just 0.5-1kg. 1st preg was so different, I think I gained 8kg @ least but I was also more overweight. After B1 born, I like lost all the preg weight + another 13kg -- power of breastfeeding and doing my own confinement

<font color="0000ff">Before I forget...</font>

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Wishing all of you a Blessed 2009 -- may it be filled with many special moments with your loved ones that you can treasure and draw strength from for the days ahead! And let's raise a glass (of non-alcoholic bubbly!) to our journey as mothers!
</font></font>

hi kittybride
yes!! the sale is really a BARGAIN!!!!!!!!!!
wow! still have members' special rate! hee.. :p:p

and to ALL MUMMIES:
HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009!!!!!!!!!!!!! CHEERS!!!!

Dearest Bargainhunter,
it's good your gynae had a look and a check and could actually tell u where the bleeding was coming from. Esp when gynae says it's vagina and not placenta or other important structures.
If baby is growing well and kicking and all your scans are ok, with no signs of bleeeding up there, then i think u can afford to just watch and see!
I think ( and this is only what i think), the vagina 'lump' is bleeding really really slowly ( thats why it's brown blood, only little bit red), and when you strain during constipation, the blood comes out, that's why u only see it only during striaining.
When I had my spotting, it was also like that...only when i sneeze, or poo.
At least u know where the blood is coming from,
So that's good becos I still donno where and why i bled.
Be at peace, send love to your baby and Don't forget to tell your gynae!!

To all mummies
HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

hi april 09 mummies,
i m a newbie here, currently into my 24th week pregnancy, EDD in mid april..
just want to wish everyone a very happy &amp; prosperous new year ahead..

Dear kidzskidz,
Thanks for your post some time ago, my husband and I have started looking at the Ameda LD- seems Good!

can I ask a sotong question please?
I'm a first time mum....
If I use a breastpump, it means I must pump into a storage bag/ bottle, then transfer into a feeding bottle, right?
Does it mean I can get any brand feeding bottle?
Does that mean I need to sterilize all these items?
What sterilizer should I get ?
For a start, how many bottles etc should i get?

Sorry for such sotong questions!!...

Orangejuice: Ur welcome

About use of BP, all comes with the bottles to attach to pump when in use. Afterwards, yes - transfer out into milk storage bags or you get extra bottles (whatever brand) to keep. Note not to store in chiller beyond 48hrs before consumption. If freezing, expires abt 2-3M (I can't rmbr but I always use up within 1M). Should your milk supply be really good and you end up with lots of excess to store, then you'll need to freeze and be sure the bottles are freezer tolerant i.e. won't break when you warm up the milk.

For freezing and warming up, I've found disposable milk bags easier in the long run. Bags are stored flat so less space taken up. Also, I can immerse the whole bag totally (again, flat on side) in hot water for faster reheating -- compared with standing a thicker, plastic bottle in a bowl of water. Nowadays, do look for BPA free plastic bottles &amp; milk storage bag which doesn't release chemicals during heating. All bottles &amp; teats must be 1st washed with detergent &amp; scrubbed with bottle brush before being put into steriliser. Milk bags are disposable after each use. Avent has a series called VIA milk storage cups -- can be used for a couple of times i.e. with sterilisation; but not like milk bottles. So after a couple of use, I just adapt them as food storage jars esp when baby's 6MO and I start blending soft foods.

Hope the info helps. Other mommies got more tips to share?

Hi orangejuice, my experience was rather similar to kidzkidz. I was using Avent Manual pump and bottle to feed, so was rather easy, pump into bottle, store into fridge and put on the teat when is feeding time. My supply was rather good, I had spare most days and i'll store the rest into freezer using milkbags.

When i first started expressing, I had so many bottles then I realised it wasnt practical to keep buying thats why I switched to milkbags for storage.

At NB, they drink milk at rather close interval, my boy was bottle-fed with BF and drank like every 2-3 hrs. My fren's dotter was drinking bit by bit every hour or so. If you have help to clean up the bottles, then you prolly wont need so many, otherwise you might need some to standby in case you dun get to wash it in time.

Dear Kidzskidz and Juxta
Wow! thanks for all the great info....think i will get the Ameda LD first and then shop around for a sterilizer....

Hi Orangejuice, KIdzskidz &amp; Ciarie,

Thank you very much for the reply.

Happy New Year! Great to have some BF info from you all.

storing EBM:
alternatively, you can get some glass bottles from the hospitals (those 90ml bottles that they use to feed NB bbs at hospital).
its very useful and its glass bottles, can sterilze as many times as u can, and no worries of releasing chemicals..

once pump out, can store inside and portion is 90ml max, which is quite good.
cos if u store in 120 / 180ml, once thawed cannot be freeze again.
and cannot re-store so can be quite wasteful if bb cannot finish.

and those times tat i used to pump in ofc, i use milkbags (cos bag no space for glass bottles.)

hope e abv helps..

happy new year to all! been reading all these discussions for the past 2 weeks, but too KO-ed to write anything. =p and welcome to yvonne yeo!

i especially enjoy the topics on breastpumps and insurance. ciarie/bargainhunte3r/kidzskidz: any more details to share on the baby insurance, like what exactly is involved in the plans?

anybody has any comments on good strollers/cots/breastpumps? will really love to hear comments from those who have bought [why they decided to buy what they bought] and the experiences of 2nd time mummies. and of coz the prices u got ur stuff at [for e.g. dodos, how much is ur stroller after the 20%?]

i like the list of things to buy for the kid - it just gets longer and more comprehensive. what is a boucinetten? what is the use of a receiving blanket?

bargainhunter3: maybe u can check with ur obs again whether he/she means vaginal/cervical/anal. im also not sure what u mean - do u have constipation [hard motion], and is the dark brown and reddish discharge from the vagina or anus? i think cervical polyps [benign lump] may sometimes cause vaginal bleeding, but i dont think its related to straining. cervical papsmear is a screening test for cervical cancer, but pretty much not useful for other things except cervical infection [as a by-the-way thing]. piles can bleed if u strain in the toilet, but its usually fresh blood. but as orangejuice says, make sure ur scan is ok first.

kidzskidz: u r like becoming the da jie da [big sister] of the forum... kekeke...

ciarie/kidzskidz: thanks for the info on EBM. where do we get good milkbags from &amp; how much do they cost?

Hi Ppl,

Anyone mother is a Hep B Carrier? Please advise is there any method to look out without carry to your baby? What will the doctor suggest normally?

I don't compare things from others cos what others need might not be what i need. Eg: I bought PIS last time and i find that hand express suits me most and get more milk. I don't need pump at all. For brands i also don't compare cos what i like might not be what others like. Just get what you are comfortable with. Like cot vs playpen. I prefer cot. Hmm...i think base on own experience lah cos this is my no.4 mah so i know what i need and don't need......

I tell myself have to think positive for breastfeeding. Not another round of this kind of pain but i know i can do it one last time. Same for delivery.

Looking forward to next week check up......

I have some leftover hard liquor from my wedding.
Anyone interested in buying Martell VSOP, 70cl, for their confinement needs?

$70 self collect, $75 deliver to your doorstep.

Contact me at [email protected] for enquiries!

Hi DTSmummy,

I do not have much info on the baby insurance. The only thing I have in mind is if I wanna to choose premium term 10 year for around 80k coverage. I will have to pay around $1500/year.

Actually I copy the term Boucinetten from the product. Is kind of baby swing bed on the floor but instead of mattress, it using some sort of net. It will be more cooling for baby to rest on the boucinetten. Receiving blanket just a normal blanket haha...

I will try to confirm with my gynae again next week. If not wrong is at end of vagina area that near cervical. Yes, I have constipation. At first (after pass motion), the fresh blood will discharge from vagina subsequently the fresh blood will slowly turn to dark brown discharge and stop after few days. It has become routine in my pregnancy life. That is why I never go for gynae as long as the flesh blood is not too much like menses. Cause the gynae always tell me baby is okay. haha.... But still a bit worry that is why wanna check around see who has the same experience as me

Hi .

I check with my gynae. He keep telling me no problem.. and even say I can go through normal delivery. That is why i want to ask for opinion from experienced mother, so that my mind will be in ease?

Any mother can help?

DTSmummy

I used Medala the double electronic one very useful. At first I use the Avent manual one, got very frustrated. It is a bit investment for the Medala one, but if u can maintain in a good condition, surely u can resell it.

Shunlee
I also got a backache, then I wear a support belt and it really help. You can buy from www.coozfashion.com. Cheaper than the retail.

Hi, it's been a long time since i last posted too.

I am in my 27th wk now and I have already gained a hefty 13kg. Anyone in the same situation? I was quite underweight to start with but gynae did say I'm gaining too much too fast coz I gained 4kg alone in the past month.

Difficult to resist good food kekek.

Regarding pumping breast milk, I want to find out if I can pump straight into those glass bottles from the hospital? I bought a medela pis but dunno if the glass bottles from hospital can fit. Anyone knows?

Me also gain 4kg a mth which is alot. 2kg is enough. Gaining really fast during the 2nd trimester. 3rd Trimester i don't dare to see my weight anymore.

Thinking of the leaking breast during breastfeeding. Latch baby on one side the other side leak. Have got to use container to catch it if not wasted. The night engorgement when baby refuse to wake up to drink. Have to express in the middle of the night.....have to think positive. :p

Do you all pump in the middle of the night or wake baby up to drink? Im afraid if wake the baby up then next time she get so use to waking in the night for milk then also problem. I want her to sleep thru the night if possible. The early days when she's young can.. but in the long run...like no good. Breast will think that it's a must to produce in the night then engorge and keep leaking. For my case i need to do extra to boost supply in the beginning.

hi april mummies!
i'm a newbie here. my baby boy is due in early april (ard 26 weeks now)...should be delivering in TMC.
Happy new year to all and may all the mummies have a good and blessed year ahead!

Happy 2009! Just went for my 25th(+4 days)wk check and baby boy weighs 800g! =) Gained 4 kg in all... so to all mummies who think u r not gaining much weight, dont worry!

Yvonne, FionaLovJ, Sanni: Welcome to this forum!

FionaLovJ: You may wish to read from this forum
http://www.birth.com.au/Info.asp?class=6612&amp;page=3

Agreed with bargainhunter, your gynae should be in a better position to advise u. Take care!

Eline, you are the lucky one. Only 4kg so far that's gd. In the beginning i gain very little and very slow. Who knows now gain too fast liao.

hi DTSmummy,
abt insurance for your baby, you may consider to start with a shield plan approved by CPF board using medisave, this will cover medical &amp; hospitalistion. later on you may want to add saving (endowment) plan for your baby future education with supplementary benefit to cover critical illness etc, this usually based on the figure you want to set aside for your baby education. however, most importantly you should ensure yourself &amp; husband are well covered. just like myself &amp; hubby, we intend to up our coverage to at least 300k per person, as we know with our new addition to the family, we have added responsibility as well, should anything happen to any of us, we want the other party to have no worries financially.

hi eline, i agree with dodos, you are very lucky, only put on 4kg. i m in my 25th week, i put on a total of 8kg, for the first 4 mths of my pregnancy, everyone say i don't look pregnant but on the 5th mth, it accelerate, i put on a total of 4kg within a mth, that worry me a lot, by the rate of me putting on weight, i would really look very very fat &amp; bulky when near delivery, especially now that CNY is just near the corner, with all the good food around it's very difficult not to put on weight fast...

Thanks Eline.

The informtion in the website is exactly what the Gynae say as well.

I also in my 26 weeks now.. Put on 7 kg liao.. but my stomach not very revealing as i consider the big size type...
My gynae ask me to go on diet liao.. no Carbohydrates for me.. Hai.... Pregnant also need to be on diet.. THat very sad

Dodo, Yvonne: Gee thanks! although I dont gain much, my tummy is getting bigger every day! so exciting to see my tummy growing bigger and bigger each day, and movement of baby kicking getting stronger and stronger =)

Fiona: Take care of yourself. I dont think yur gynae actually meant dieting? Just cut down on sweet stuff and food that is too high in carbo... and enjoy pregnancy! =)

Any mummies find yur baby will move when u lie on either side? I tried a few times(it only happen in the past 2 weeks, guess bcos baby is bigger!), when i sleep on my left, baby will move to the left, so when i resume to centre position, i can see my stomach "Out-of-shape", with higher lump on the left hand side! my hubby sayang baby so ask me to put a pillow under the baby when i sleep on sideway, so that baby wont move. but i like to disturb baby sometimes and enjoy seeing baby move ;)

May I know you guys minus off your weight before pregnant or after pregnant (means after first/ second month)? As my case is different, I lost around 2 kgs during my first trimester. Gain back the weight on second trimester. So not sure which weight to take in when come to the weight gain calculation. :p

I read an article from FBI free book 'Childbirth'. It mention if you are underweight or normal weight mummies before pregnant, normally will gain more weight during your pregnancy. The weight range is 10 - 18 kgs for underweight mummies if no mistake. Can't remember clearly.

One more thing, how come I feel lesser movement now (week 24) compare with week 18 to 22? Anyone has the same experience?

Hi Eline,

You hubby very cute. My hubby never thought of that but he sing &amp; talk to his baby every night before sleep.

hi mummies, been away from this thread for a long time coz been so busy with work and no.1...glad that my detailed scan went well, and that all mummies are progressing along pretty well in their pregnancies!

pat, hospital bottles should be able to fit, as long as it's not the wide-necked type, the standard sized ones should be able to fit the pumps.

dodos, I didn't pump in the middle of the night for the reasons you stated..i did my last pump at about 10-11pm at night, then woke up at abt 6am the next day to pump. when baby is newborn, will need to feed abt every 3 hours. So I would stand by chilled bottles of BM and the bottle warmer and my hubby can help feed in the middle of the nite, so i can get more rest
By 3 mths we put him on a routine, so he could sleep thru the night.

DTSmummy, agree with Yvonne Yeo on the insurance. most impt is make sure u're well-covered urself. I also got medisave cover for my boy, and an endowment for his education and upped my own life and critical illness coverage.

for second-time or third-time mummies, how are sleeping arrangements gonna be like? rite now my boy is sleeping in the same room with us...considering whether to put him in my maid's room...but then it feels like we're 'banishing' him because of the baby...hmm....we're staying with my in-laws so can't have a dedicated baby room leh...

bargainhunter: i also feel baby movement lesser than compared to wk 20, but is getting stronger each time he kicks/moves. i told baby night b4 the scan to be awake and kicking me so i can feel the kick and also sees it when he does so. and guess wat! during the scan baby is sleeping soundly and i feel a kick when he's moving in his sleep ;)

yes, it stated in pg 19 of childbirth that for underweight mum to gain 12-18kg. i just slightly underweight (bmi 19.2) but i think it depends on individual as i do not have any food cravings and appetite did not increase much. i also restrict myself from eating too sweet stuff and prawn, crab etc.

i didnt lose weight in first trimester but only gain like less than 1 kg? guess i gain the most in my 2nd trimester and expected to gain more in my 3rd.

yur total weight gain should be weight b4 pregnancy till now. =)

so nice of yur hubby to sing to baby! my hubby will talk to him after i force him to do so! haha...
baby can start hearing from wk 24 onwards... good to start early! i also started to read stories to baby.