(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hi happylittlewomen, with the us import set, u can just purchase the original medela adapter from medela singapore for 85sgd..

i called the cord blood centre ald to ask reg donation but my hubby has g6pd deficiency so they sae they dun take:p

Ciarie, i saw the posting on the backflow and several other comments too. My gfs said they didnt face that problem, it seems to happen to the PIS advanced(motor can be removed from bag) and not PIS if i'm not mistaken. I'm likely to get a new set since it seems reasonable at first few years. I was pumping round the clock for my no. 1 as he couldn't latch properly and I was worried supply will drop. Luckily, i've good supply even though is a manual pump. I was thinking if this one can latch properly, then i can live with the manual, but if is like no. 1, really want an efficient pump to cut down the time lah. Also saw the new freestyle pump, retailing at $800++, really tiny motor and sleek. Still looking ard as still have time.

What's the price difference compared to US? I was asking my hb abt getting from US as I can ask my sil's friend to send it back for me, but he was saying if it doesnt make much difference and still have to pay for the adapter and minus the warranty, then we should just get it here.

Hello Mummies!
DTSmummy: yah methinks this is wat i feel....
Bargainhunter and iwry: YEAH! high five!
dodos: Maybe you have the same thing?

Did anybody buy insurance for the newborn?

<font color="0000ff">BREAST PUMPS</font> Did hear abt the backflow problem. Main reason I got Ameda is because it's valve system prevents and keeps milk hygienic as we pump. Also I realised it's lighter than Medela PIS. I see my colleagues totting their Medela PIS backpacks to work, to mtg rm to pump and then back home -- so siong!

Ciarie: My office got a couple of mtg rooms so I usually book one for 30mins to pump. You shd just talk to your immediate superior to ask if you can use the nursing cum store-room. I know some of my frens pumped in store room which they found more peaceful than in a mtg rm at the front of the office... can hear ppl walking pass, talking and u worry if you've locked door properly. My pregnancy timing is such that I'm on the heels of a few other female colleagues so everyone knew what was going on in the room the moment a piece of paper was used to block the see-through mtg rm nos.

Orangejuice: TMC FBI/SBI give this insurance from AXS that start insurance for new born free from first 6 months. My usual AIA agent says for AIA, it starts covering at day 15 (few years ago when my first 2 children are born). Now should be the same I guessed.

HappyLittleWoman, you are right, the adaptor has to get new one as the voltage is different. But I will be using the dry cells so ok. Anyway the adaptor also ver cheap, $9 can get one already.

Need some help here! Ever since u all can feel ur baby's movements, are there days where u can't feel his/her movements? I'm quite worried as the past 2 days, I can't seems to feel my baby's movement and she was quite active the days before. Any mummies have the same experience?

hi koi,
there are days when i feel the movement is less compare to the other days. Some days the movement are more frequent.. but some days is less. some days movement are more intense, some days movement less.

my baby has a movement pattern. he normally moves in the morning at about 7am and then at night at 10plus. so i try to keep track during this two timing... i feel more movement when i am less active.

Hi Koi -- agree with lovespaghetti sometimes baby will have a more active period during the day. Plus I think it's tough for us to be alert to baby's movement 100%. Have you tried a couple of times (anytime of the day) to quieten down or lie down and presss down some to try and get a reaction? Need to try at different timings coz baby follows a different bedtime. If you tried a few times and didn't get a reaction, you can always give your gynae's clinic a call -- the nurses should be able to advise accordingly. I think this is probably the best way to put our minds at ease too

ya ya koi, sama sama as lovespaghetti and kidskidz... my #2 will have more movement in the daytime.... when me cldnt feel the movement, me will "knock" on tummy, sometimes baby will react, but not instane lah...

attending any christmas party?

do you buy new clothes for chinese new year eh? am looking for top with "chinese" style one? any recommendation? cheap cheap one hor....

so sianz @ work now... nothing to do leh... please mummies come in to chat leh...

my little one loves to fiddle around in the evenings, from 6pm onwards, that is the time when I become couch potato in front of the TV. Thinks she's a TV fanatic like me too. I will sometimes lift up my top and can see my tummy twitching whenever she kicks me. But when I ask my hubby to come over and see, she stops.

Coolzy, does your gynae tell you the bb's weight everytime you go for your visit?

JamGal,

Last mth check up, the bb's weight was stated on the detail scan report. This time round gynae told me to check whether bb is growing. He told me normal weight range for BB for 24-25th week is around 600-800g.

Coolzy,

I'm at my 24th week now. The last time i went for detailed scan (21 Nov), the bb's weight was around 380g. Think I should check with the gynae on my next visit

Hi Reiner,

I bought one from thyme maternity @ OG during the sale @ $19.90. Not those chinese ones.

If you are petite size, can always try gg to people's park centre. There are a lot of clothes of different styles. And of cos affordable.

My bb's weight as of 9 Dec was 630grams. The weight of bb can be noted on the scaned pic. Next visit is on 6 Jan. Bb love to rumble tumble when i am sitting incline position, and will respond to music n voice.

Hi juxta,
trampezz organising a spree for PIS from US... maybe u can chk with her the price?
note: there's no warranty for that... which i'm still thking if i shd go for that....

if not, maybe i'll go for 2nd hand one or buy from first few years.

Hi orangejuice,
i've bot insurance for my new born, mainly covering for life coverage... 240k coverage and also cover myself and my hubb for Critical illness waiver (if suey suey kena any critical illness, i dun to pay anymore premuims anymore)...
monthly premium abt $90pm....
value for money!

hi jac
i had my 24th week scan last week and baby is 690g. gynea says normal.. i think 700g is not too light..

Hi Reiner
I had an early xmas parties at my place.. with lots of babies cos my other frens all have babies ranging 1 year to 5 mnths. hahahahahaha very tired!! have one party coming up this sat but this time no babies.. only adults..

have u tried chinatown? there are a few shops there which sell nice chinese tops. sizes up to XXL i think. or can try yue hua.. also has many tops.

Hi marie
my bb likes to listen to mozart.. whenever i play it he will move. hahahhahaha

whao!!!! we have little Mozart from lovesphagetti...

thanks mummies suggestions... shall go down to see see on my leave day... now cant tolerate crowd...

my gynae doesnt tell me the wt of bb... me always gotta ask... so think bb's wt is in the avg/ acceptable range wah so no need to "alert" me... anyway my #1 is very small so will be #2 lah...

are you mummies still in craving for food? me got crave for chilli, spicy food in my 1st tri... and its dies off after 1st tri.... now me crave for nasi lemak esp for lunch... and same thing, everyday colleague will nag @ me.... that's not a healthy choice... ha!!!

hmmmm... today gotta be another sianz, eng day for me again.... are you taking/ clearing leave now?

me already cleared my 20days annual leave, 14 days mc and 2 days childcare leave... mostly coz of #2.... and left 1 more day of childcare leave only...

leereiner..
how i wish i can be at home too! everyday having a hard time waking up!
but i'm taking on 26 dec and head to KL &amp; Genting for some mini shopping spree!
heee....

need some time out! :D

Wa... Miss out a lot for few days.

Hi Ciarie,

May I know what company's live insurance you bought? It sound really cheap. Should not be term insurance right?

I just did a calculation during the week end. It seems like really expensive to have a child in SIngapore. I need nanny ($580), 100k life coverage ($120), 100k return endownment plan ($206), milk powders+doctor+diapers ($200 if nothing much serious happen) = I need at least $1106 per month for my baby. Wow... A huge figure to me.
And that is assuming I donate the cord blood to public and assuming 100k endownment is enough for future University haha.... Anyone can recommend cheaper insurance plan?

hi bargainhunter3
from manulife...
its not term insurance. its whole life insurance.

actually if u want, i can separately tell u how my agent does planning for me...

cos ive actually done some comparison before, and i think manulife still more value-for-money lo....

Koi, how many weeks are you at now? Sometimes i don't feel the bb movement for 1-2 days also. I have got to "stimulate" to get her move abit. So long she is moving i know she is fine. Maybe i have lazy bb. I have got to make sure she move everyday if not i get worried. Movement felt usually in the morning or at night.

If GBS is so serious i wonder how come gynae never do the test for me last time??

I don't know why but i have got a feeling that bb will come out early.

Hi dodos
same sentiments here..... think my bb will come out early.. dunno why, but just got this feeling so..

bb movement's also.. i'll make sure he gives me some kick or fiddle every night when i rest on the bed..
and the best part is... he'll start making all kinds of movements when i'm just abt to sleep.. faint.. sometimes feel so distracted and cant get to sleep.. wahaha...

hi mummies, my bb tends to move more during the night...n on sat finally her dad cld feel her kick. he was so excited. now everyday ask if bb kick n wans to "play" with her. from the position i feel the "kick" &amp; looking at the scan, im also not sure if its kick or punch. (gynae says maybe headbutt haha). my bb is 636g at 23 wks. doc says normal...

isetan having pte sale this fri. got this pump set going at $439. worth it? i think its pigeon.

Ya, anybody can advise on GBS??? Read it on the papers n it seems so scary.

hi eunice...
have not heard reviews abt pigeon pump yet...
but with $439... must really make sure its a good pump before u invest...

wats GBS.... *question mark...*

Ciarie, i'm keen to know about the insurance too, can email at [email protected] pls?

eunice, i duno about this pump set, but i've gotten a pigeon manual one as a gift for #1 and unfortunately it didnt work for me. Agree with Ciarie, is $400++, must make sure is a good one

GBS is a vaginal infection that can be passed on to the baby during natural birth. chances of occurrence is rare but can still happen. 1 such case in SG was reported over the weekend and the poor bb passed away. Friday I'll check out with my gynae about this on my checkup

Ciarie,
GBS is Group B Strep Infection.
See http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancycomplications/groupbstrepinfection.html
I think some time ago, we had a discussion on this as well.

dodos,
I also didn't know about GBS until it was discussed here. Then during my last visit with my OB (Dr. Ang), I asked him about abnormal discharge, he mentioned that during the last few weeks of the pregnancy, he will do a swap test for GBS and Yeast Infection. I was surprised cos I didn't recall Dr. Ang doing the test for me for my 1st pregnancy. Then he looked through my files and pull out the swap test report done for my 1st preggy. Oops.

hi bargainhunter3.... u dun accept pm wo....

juxta, coolzy &amp; jacqueline mummy.. i will pm u very shortly.. i nid to go find the document...
1 yr liao.... :p:p:p

My gynea did a swap test for me on the GBS during the 24th week scan.. i thought that's a bit early cos most of my frens did theirs at about 30plus week.

I am also asked to go for the GTT (Glucose Tolerence Test) before my 28th week scan.. so many tests!! argh...

bargainhunter
i agree with u.. having a child in Singapore is expensive!!!!! hhaha now buying all the things the bb needs is already costing alot. hahahahh

Have your all bought all the baby stuffs? Im thinking what else i never/forget to get. Want to get everything bit by bit before 3rd trimester.

Think i left with bath tub, sterilizer, sling and bottles. Will be getting at robinson or isetan coming private sales.

Still thinking what else i miss out.

lovesphagetti/bargainhunter,

Yes having a child is real expensive here!! My mom just asked me yesterday if i'm going to have #3 when #2 is not even out yet!! Told her things are hard wor, now no longer like b4, if i strike toto can lah!! hahah or am i thinking too much?

Expensive? sure very expensive. I spent so much on baby stuffs already....still no done yet....
Imagine baby have not come out already spent 1k+ liao.

Juxta,
haha, i have the same idea as u. If strike toto then can have #3. I asked my hubby if we are going to have #3. U know what ans he gave me, he sd no, 2 are enough as not enough rooms in our house lo. 1 masterbedroom for us. 1 for each baby respectively.

Thanks alot for sharing ur experience and advise! Can feel my baby movements again already.

Dodos, I'm at 24wks. U started shopping for ur baby stuffs already? I only bought some clothes at the carter sales. Quite lost on what to buy and when is a good time to buy.

coolzy, ya man, i gotta think how to clear up my study room to make way for both of them! still got couple of years, maybe strike toto can buy a bigger place, wahaha

juxta, this time round the Isetan private sale nothing much. will probably buy at robinson. Everywhere also got 20% sales. Just hoping that the items i want to buy have addition discount that's all.

wow!!! everyone is so excited to go shopping!!!

me too... planning to get something for my #1 and this coming #2...
but everytime when i head into kiddy palace... i seems to have no idea wat to buy for them..
sigh.....

but for sure, i'll need a pump! :D

koi, im also 24wks. this week is a good time to buy cos alot of sales. Just buy bit by bit. Just buy there's no good time to buy actually. I feel so happy shopping for bb stuffs.

coolzy, then 2 kids share one room lor if got #3.

Me too... wanna to get a pump. for my #1, i was using medela single electric pump. very noisy and slow. so this time round, wanna get a dual pump.