(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hi coral & Rachel C, ur bbs r really cute! Hav made my day aft a hard day's work.

hi rest of mummies, jiayou! we can overcome MS

raspberrytea, the NT test can be done during your routine ultrasound scan with the gynae. usually they will only recommend u going for further blood test if the measurement is not within normal range. With my first bb, during normal scan my gynae saw that the bb's nuchal fold was 4.1mm so he sent me for further tests at NUH. I only ended up having to take an invasive test because the odds weren't great.
After having gone thru the whole battery of tests, I recommend mummies only to go thru them only if necessary coz it's very physically and emotionally draining. those were the most painful two weeks of my life.

karrie, sorrie, wat is NT test??

thks rachel & coral 4 cheering us up

my ms has been on & off....these few days off ...finger cross.

Hi all MTBs, I am new to this thread. Just went to the gynae this afternoon. Doc confirmed that I m preggy, about 6 weeks...Yippie!!! but can only see the sac from the ultrasound. Doc says i shd be able to see the bb at my next scan in 2 weeks time. Can't wait.. heee... this is my 1st pregnancy.

Went to Dr Lee I Wuen at Raffles and she's just like what everyone posts online.. very nice n patient... very assuring for a 1st time mum. But i must say i was a little shocked that my 1st visit cost ard $320. Luckily, i hv DBS credit card and got a 10% discount off the bill. Guess i shdnt be worry abt $ , so long as the bb is fine.

God bless all... be strong and happy, so our bbs will be happy kids

Connz, that's the nuchal translucency scan. u can visit this link to find out more: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/ref/nuchaltranslucency/

There's another test which is the OSCAR test which combines the risk factors from the NT scan and blood test results...that's supposed to be more accurate.

But i'm not sure if all these tests are really beneficial or just a way for doctors to earn more money. I busted nearly $1000 for all the above tests, plus the invasive test to see if my baby had any choromosomal defects.

just went for gynae visit today.
was asked to take the OSCAR test on 12th week.
think all the tests is giving me a lot of stress.
have been worrying about baby since 5th week when size of baby and my LMP does not match, was worried if baby can grow and had to wait for 1 week to see.
Though everything went well, however that week was emotionally draining for me as my character is more of pessimistic, always think about the bad side and as a result worry too much, but can't change my character also.....

plus now based on my EDD on 7th April, my ovalution date and date of conceived is like super off(almost impossible) and it just keeps me worrying if the pregnancy is normal.

morning mummies! my lil prince woke up at 6am standing in his crib and erk erk erk for us to play with him...*yawnz* haha but so cute to see his smile first thing in the mornin.

bokebiegg, don't worry so much...sometimes baby's size catches up as the pregnancy progresses. just make sure you get enough rest and eat good food...yah all the tests do give stress, that's why i don't think it's necessary to go for EVERY one of them. anyway invasive test result came out perfectly normal, and now look at my cheeky monkey:
1691046.jpg

So stay happy and don't worry so much...if my profile is normal i really wouldn't want to go for every one of these tests. i personally think the normal ultrasound scan plus the fetal anormaly scan at 20 weeks is good enuff..

Hi bokebiegg,

When are you going for the Oscar's test? I scheduled my Oscar's on 22/9. Dr Joycelin Wong said that the decision is still mine whether to go ahead with the test because I haven't reached 35 years old yet. But I just want to do it so as to give me a better peace of mind. Haha!

I also understand your worries. I have frequent nightmares ever since I know that I am pregnant. I think, it comes in a package of anxiety to be a first-time mom.

I am staying positive despite my no appetite to eat and my frequent headache. I think, I lost some weight too. My EDD is estimated to be on the 5th April.

It's all God's will.

Hi All MTBs
I'm totally new to this forum & my friend recommended I join this forum so that I can discuss any qns I might have. I'm expecting my 1st child (super excited!!!) & expected delivery is late Apr. Just read thru parts of this thread & indeed very informative.

Hi Lilmoo,

Saw the list of info you are gathering, here's my info too... for your kind updating...

EDD: 21 Apr 09
OB: Dr Lawrence Ang
Hos: TMC

Thanks!!!

coral,raspberrytea,luv,karrie,connz thank u thank u.

karrie, is yr a bb boy? how many months is yr bb?

I just went to see gynae this morning due to my swollen butts (daily injection), she was a sac and seems like a tiny grain of rice. So asked me to her a week later to check out heart beat...I also feel quite sick this morning. my EDD is 3 May, so my bb shld be born in April.

Hi Spinko,
my OSCAR test is scheduled on 30th Sept. They only do it in the morning right? cos wanted my hubby to come along cos i have fainted before when drawing blood but dun think my husband can come in the morning, he can only come in the afternoon......
yeah, the OSCAR test is optional, but just to have a peace of mind, i am 29 this year, so my probabilty is 1/880 without the test.
Just saw Dr Wong yesterday and told her no spotting, hence she din give me hormone pills already,. bt today just woke up saw very tiny streaks of blood again. stressed....
haiz... think will wait for a few days and hopefully the spotting goes away.... if it continues then i will see her next week.....

Hi Bokebiegg,

I am doing my Oscar at 2pm on Monday. I am 31 this year so my chances is 1:600. SO better check. Nurse said that morning is full so I had to do it in the afternoon. She'll then call me the next day to inform me of my result.

I am sorry to hear about the spotting but maybe, you should see her as soon as possible. Later you'll get more stress and worry. Or is it possible to get the hormone pills from the nurse? So you don't have to make an appt to see her..

Hi MTBs,
How is everyone coping with the MS?
This wk is wk8 for me. The MS is killing me, it is 24hrs one. Will wake up in the middle of the night to puke. Sometimes just air, sometimes just white liquid and bubbles. Hate to go thru this... how to survive till wk12!

May,

Haha! I understand your dilemma. Once, I tried green apple juice at Adam Road Food Centre. It is so refreshing that it helps me clear my head and my tummy. I feel so good afterwords.

Hi Karrie, thks 4 e info...im gg 4 my OSCAR test on 15th as my trip is on 18th. he said wil b 2 late if wait til i cm bk. 2 me....wil stil go 4 e testing as 2 hv peace of mind.

my ms is coming back today....so sign
.....feel sleepy 2....my boss juz me 2 join them 4 lunch....told them next time....wld puke ....nw tinking of food alone already 1 2 pukie liao

my parent predict tt me gg 2 hv a bb girl cos i gt ms.....wil like a girl 2

Guess we all hv 2 jia yu!

It's so interesting to read all e posts! n so many cute bb fotos.. My MS dun seem to get better lehz.. in fact, now approaching 11 week also no improvement.. but i think mine is still mild compared to some mummies here..
Anyone lost weight? I lost 2 kg n my gynae says it's ok during 1st trimester

Hi Spinko

Thanks!! =) My Gynae is Dr Aziz @ Kembangan plaza. He delivers at East Shore & Raffles. He said it's too early to talk about delivery cos I'm only about 5-6 wks now, so will do that later. Just realised he doesnt have package =( Dr Adrian sounds like a better deal & I live in Sengkang! But Dr Aziz came highly recommended so....
Anw anyone can advise me on what is OSCAR???

Hi Jo,
i din lost weight but put on 2kg.:p have MS but was trying to keep the food down (so that my baby will grow...) have not vomitted before. just felt sick and naeseous

Hi Eunice,

Oscar is to check whether baby has down syndrome or not(touch wood)..

I heard about Dr Aziz! He's very good. His price is quite reasonable, right? He may not have package but is his charges reasonable for your every visit?

I live in Punggol. But I am working at Toa Payoh. So TMC is quite near for me.

What is important is who are you more comfortable with? I don't mind paying a little extra for a doctor whom you are comfortable with. Just a thought to ponder.. Hehe!

Hi Spinko

Yah very true. My friend's baby was delivered by him recently & she has good comments so ok lor. Anw my SIL who is also preggies is seeing him too! Yah I think he charges $45 per visit - includes scan n he din charge me for the folic acid. TMC is v popular, I tot of going there too at first but its not too convenient for us. But I heard they provide free classes for MTBs?? I'm quite comfortable with Dr Aziz, he's v nice & informative... patient as well =) Best part is, he lets me eat whatever I want! HAHAHAHAHA

Hi Eunice,

$45 per visit is reasonable. If you visit him 10 times, it is only $450. Better than some packages offered by other gynae.

I am eating whatever I want also.. I am always drinking cold drinks. It's more refreshing than hot drinks.

So I assume that you are sticking with Dr Aziz. Haha! I am sure that you pick the right gynae since you are comfortable with him. Cheers!

Hi Spinko

Yeah I guess...so far I think it's going to be once a mth. But if you take more than 10 mins in his rm, additional $20 hehe... my 1st time kenna already cos being our 1st time, we had a lot of qns haha...
Me too!! cold drinks was a very impt qn to me!! Cos I dun like hot drinks & i hate lukewarm stuff haha... Only thing I avoid is coffee, tea & sashimi =P

Hi Eunice,

Ah? Must pay additional $20 if you stay in the room for more than 10 minutes? Haha! This is so cute! Haha!

Glad I have a friend who loves cold drinks! I only indulge in iced green tea once in awhile. But for me, any cold drink is good!

Do you have any cravings? Do you drink milk? Have you put on weight?

thanks lilmoo in doing e collation for us.

jus went makan w my gfs...looking @ my craving for meat...nauseous over fish...some veg 2...n minimal MS...they conclude my 1st likely a Bbb.

i ok w both boy or gal but i muz admit, preg is no joke...i really appreciate wat my mom doing 4 me all along.

Now i in e phase rather forgetful...my gf joked i give 1/2 of my memory 2 e bb. *sighz...

i find e dos n donts of wat to eat/ drink very jia lat...any1 feeling e same way as moi?!

Yah..so next time must time myself hahaha....

Try to avoid Coke & iced tea or coffee if u can cos I heard caffeine is really bad but once in a while & very moderately is ok. Dr Aziz actually said it's ok but be wary of the high sugar content!

hmmm so far not yet. But I'm quite turned off by chocolate now (used to loveeeee it), makes me feel like puking. Yups, I make it a point to drink milk but I dun like plain milk so its HL Choc milk for me (no chocolate but can drink choc stuff haha). Nopes, havent put on weight & din lose weight either cos I dun really puke. My friend lost like 2kg in 2 wks when she was in her 1st trimester cos she puked all the time. Do you hv very bad MS?

Hi Ladies don mind me interrupting...

actually i found that ribina is helping in a way, when i feel like puking.... and the best so far for me is Coke! (super siok!) haha! :p

eunice,

My MS got mood one.. it can be morning, afternoon or even at night! Haha! I stopped vomitting for a few days now.. but I have frequent headaches. I lost some weight because I have no appetite to eat. And I don't eat as much as I used to eat. I get full very fast too! I can only eat half a fish burger now.. But I can drink a lot - of cold drinks! Haha!

I only drink iced green tea once in awhile.. and I drink fresh milk but low fat. Haha! My gynae said it is ok. So I am really good with it. Don't intend to take those milk for pregnancy.. Hehe! Are you planning to take it?

I have a friend who drank coke all the way till she gave birth! Haha!

Lilmoo,

Thanks for adding me in the list. I really appreciate it!

Hi ayambunny

If you go to www.babycenter.com, there is this calculator which kinds of predicts the gender. Dunno how accurate it is but it's quite fun =)

Yups, totally agree about the food restrictions, but according to my doc, as long as everything in moderation, its ok. He even said sashimi as long as im sure its fresh, its still ok in moderation!!

yah, this web has got lots of interesting things to read and find out.

Hmmm not very sure about sashimi (though i always crave for it) i read somewhere and it sound scary....

donno is it in the mind or wat but i always crave for food that i'm not suppose to eat, like sashimi, coffee.. ect.....

Hi indulgence_queen

Do jump right in!! I'll try ribena the next time I feel like puking. My friend said coke helps cos it makes u burp so you feel better after tt haha. But its the caffeine tt we're worried about la. But i guess other gassy drinks r ok??

spinko, im the same as u!! my "MS" strikes usually after I eat. Its like I cannot have food in my stomach or else I wanna puke. And I can feel super hungry & full (bloated) at the same time. Its quite terrible. Just a wk ago, I eat more than usual. Now, I can't stomach v much. Usually full after 3/4 of a usual meal. But you have got to eat la...for bb's sake =)

Nopes, I cant even take normal milk =P Those pregnancy milk Im sure will have super milky smell. Ewww =P

I tried the calculator thingy which predicts baby gender before! quite cute! but don know reliable or not!

I think, we should all enjoy the pregnancy! Don't worry so much about what not to eat and what not to do during pregnancy!

My girlfriends keep nagging here and there but I can't be bothered! I want to enjoy this experience as much as I can! Cheers!

bokebiegg
dont worry so much, it's hard to know the exact due date, unless we're very sure of ovulation date, even then we don't know when implantation occurred, so it can be off by more than a week even.

regarding the tests....

i plan to do the oscar and go from there. will NOT do the triple screen as i feel that it is too inaccurate and i refuse to waste my blood on it. like karrie i have been in her shoe before but i have also been in worse position, so i will definitely do the oscar. with one of my pgy, i did not do the oscar, did the triple screen and it came back fine. when it came to the mid pgy anatomy scan, our world turned upside down. our bb was a trisomy baby. with another pgy, we did the oscar and the odd for downs was 1:5. we decide to do the CVS and thankfully she is healthy. for me, i would rather get a false positive, be scared into doing more tests to confirm if things are ok or not. for my peace of mind.

I have done both the CVS and Amnio before. Not something I want to repeat unless absolutely necessary. My dr asked if i want to do the amnio this time cos of our history with a trisomy baby, but I told her I dont want to do it unless there are soft markers from the scan. so now just wait and do the oscar then see how.....

just my experience and 2c.

alayna
i think most dr will say not more than 2 cups of coffee or tea. need to drink quite a bit of coke for the caffeine to matters, but it dep on individual. some people drink 1 can of coke can feel jiffy already, others no effect.

Re milk, i can't stand the smell/taste of it, but dr keeps telling me must drink. so i'm trying to drink half a cup at least a day. some times i will add a bit of rose syrup to mask the taste. taste much better with rose syrup. ;)

indulgence_queen
me too, i drink coke zero all the time. :p the other diet drink that is very very good is A&W root beer, but very hard to find. so far i have only seen it in can form. it has no caffeine!!

spinko
me lor, i drink coke all throughout my dd's pgy. my mom gave up on nagging cos even my bro and sis will pour a cup for me when we have dinner tog. now my parents give up and just join us and drink coke with us. haahaa

lilmoo, hey that's a good choice too... hhaa will try out,
but you drink cold milk right out from the fridge? i don really like the taste... think you are right should try to drink abit everyday.

indulgence_queen
yeah, i drink the milk cold, cos cold make me feel better with this horrible m/s. i never really like milk but it's good so must try to drink some. rose syrup really helps, if not i dont think i can swallow it.

Hi Lilmo,
I tried not to think too much also. my date was off by exact 2 weeks. my LMP was 15th June but based on my EDD now, my LMP projected to be 2nd July....(*confused* cannot help it, i am a super mathematical person :p)
the past few week i had a great appetite, eating every 2 hours, now it seems like i can only handle 2 meals a day. and constantly feeling bloated.
has been avoiding food like all mummies here, sashimi,coffee, tea, coke.
was wondering if all tea got cafferine. my MIL says Chinese tea is fine, not too sure though, drank a bit here and there, so it's quite funny, avoiding the ang moh teas and taking chinese tea.... but got craving for bubble tea definitely....