(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi mommies sorry to intrude ,i hv a 99% new COMBI stroller for sale.
Do e-mail me if interested at weishy@hotmail tks

some info:http://www.shopping.com/xPF-Combi-Combi-Cosmo-DX-Stroller-in-Keylime

Hi dodos,
Not true. Let ur doc noe abt pregnancy.
He will prescribe suitable medicine taz harmless 2 bb.

I had a flu virus during my 6-8 wks. Suffered badly w a long n phlegmy cough. My doc gave me kids version kind of cough syrup/ clarinase pills 24 hr n 1 more type of pills for sleeping...finally ok...so scared...

Mayb if all can, try to stay away frm those who r ill...preg woman very cham when they fall ill...muz make e effort 2 build up our immunity sys.

Hi eunice,
everyday, I take folic acid(the 800mg one) and multi vitamins prescribed by gynae, i saw the multi vitamin has 400mg folic acid also, then i take a cup of fresh orange juice everyday and occassionally i take ANMUM in the morning.
I think if there is any overdosage of folic acid, i might be the first to get it.:p
I asked gynae already, she said that it's fine to take.

Hi, yeah me too.
I take my multi vitamins everyday. even before i got to noe i was preg...
Hear its good for the baby's development. esp for their briany.

saw dr tony tan on sat, me is in 10w n baby is 31mm... bit small eh? done the blood test too.

signed up the package which cost S$800/-.... and the normal delivery charge is S$1,100/-.... more ex than my ex-gynae leh who charge S$1,400/- incl normal delivery.... so wonder how much is your gynae charge for package and normal delivery eh?

me is that kinda of pax who cant swallow any tablets, capulse one... need to "disolve" them... ha!!!! difficult lah. so me just take min one as given by gynae. me have not start on milk thingy too, me not a milk pax even choco ones. my sil had brought annmum choc esp for me... so gotta take lor... will start after 1st tri. hope my MS is gone by then...

ya me take coco cola to "burp" too and ribena to curb my puke, it works on me after saw the posting on this.... ha!!!

hi queen,

are you the one who is doing the spree eh? me joined your gap/on#2 leh.... so qiao lor... hee!!!

Eunice,
I think TTC is "trying to conceive"...
TCC, erm, is it The Coffee Connoiseur?

Reiner,
Yes, I'm the spree 'queen'.

Yah, quite qiao. Heehee, I think not many mummies here have joined my sprees before.

me still take my ang moh teh every am, cant leave w/o it... ha!!! but using a bigger cup lah. hee!!!

now my taste bud is funny lor... whatever me eat, it taste bitter. is there any change to your taste bud eh?

Hi Lilmoo, please help to update my EDD. 29 Apr. Think I'll be one of the last few here to deliver.

My MS is getting so bad I'm contemplating no pay leave for a month or 2 if the company can let me go. Hasn't been eating for the last 3 days. SUper miserable.

coral, what abt considering working from you? poor thing.... how many weeks are you now? miserable as in MS or tired tired kind? Hope u will feel better soon. My ms also coming and usually now I sleep ard 9 plus.

Hi bokebiegg, haha thanks for your reassurance. Im sure we wun overdose on folic acid la =) u mentioned u take fresh orange juice? from the bottle type or u actually squeeze it? yum, feel like drinking it now haha. think i'll ask my gynar for multi vits the next visit. so excited, cant wait! hopefully can see bb =)

Anw talking abt falling ill...issit better to go see the gynae or see a GP n tell him u're preggies? I kinda feel safer if the meds were prescribed by the gynae. Anw it sucks tt the co does not cover anything to do w pregnancy.

Hehe queen, i guessed the same thing..but it goes TTC-ing...weird leh. LOL abt the TCC ! shd be typo then... ohh u're spree queen!! cool!!! if u organise any sprees, let us know here too la, just in case we miss on it on the marketplace. it moves so fast, cant keep track. worst thing is we cant trace who started the thread (or maybe its just me who dunno how to haha)

Hi coral, so sorry to hear u're suffering from such bad MS. My MS seems to b getting worse too. Stay strong ok?? Yeah, it'll be great to take some time off work to just rest at home. Feel tired very easily too.

Hi Eunice, my MS seems to be getting worse this week too. I wonder when will everything be over. It makes life so miserable now.

Will be seeing my gynae this weekend, hope to see more developments of the bb.

By the way, has anyone started applying stretch mark cream? I have bought the Palmer cream but have yet to use it due to MS.

Anyone knows when and how it should be applied?

Hi jinglebel, most ppl say by the 3rd or 4th mth shd b ok...but my SIL said he has v bad MS for the whole 9 mths!!!! i hope ours will be gone soon *cross fingers* totally agree...sometimes i just make myself puke so i'll feel a bit better.

yeah so exciting!! when's ur EDD? can keep all the scans of the bb....

nopes...lazy haha...but i heard palmer is the best. my SIL says not just tummy. breasts n thighs also, else will also have marks.

lilmoo, why did you end up with c-sect for your 1st delivery?

My 1st child was deliver via c-sect due to low placenta. 2nd one was VBAC.

jinglebel,
I used Palmer for my #1, though not diligently only when I remember to... but luckily for me, I have no stretch marks at all. I think it depends on individual? My mum says she has minimal stretchmarks too, and she gave birth to 4 kids. My friend bought those expensive stretchmark cream and applied diligently and still ended up with quite a bit of stretchmarks on her tummy.
Though I think can apply just in case lah. Can start anytime loh... no harm.

Re. MS
I had very bad MS over the weekends, but somehow at work, it seems to ease. I have yet to tell my boss about the pregnancy, wanted to inform only next week after this Fri's visit to Dr. Ang to confirm that the pregnancy is stable.

Re. weight gain
I gained about 13kg or so for my last pregnancy and my boy only weighed 2.4kg at birth! Imagine where the rest go to... I lost all of it while total breastfeeding for 15 months and then gained another 3kg after I stopped BF.

I'm aiming to gain only 8 to 10kg this time round and I hope my baby can hit 3kg!

i love soft drinks but really afraid that it will increase my sugar lvl, dare not risk... izzit too much to drink 1 can per day?

spinko, i will be going to korea this dec, actually book the package before knowing that i am pregnant. So sad there are a lot of things that i cant do during the trip... like skiing, hot water spa etc..

my mum and sis ll be going to taiwan in nov still considering whether to join them or not heard its not stroller friendly so might be a bit tedious for me to bring along my dd.

anybody using clarins tonic? how to apply? i cant really figure out the directions... i used it for my #1 pregnancy i think i used it the wrong way, luckily i got no stretch marks....

Hi Rachel, Enuice, mu MS is bad. I have totally lived without dinner. And on some good days I manage to have a lunch or breakfast. Thus I'm feeling giddy and weak formt eh lack of food. And I constantly feel like throwing up. I'm only 6wk6days.

Rachel, no way I can sleep as early as you, cos still got my hyper active 2 yr old to handle. These 2 weeks my hb away due to work, so every night I gotta handle her till very late. Last night before I sleep I suddenly feel so tired and miserable. Boo Hoo. But as Mum gotta just ren ren ren.

I gained 17kg for first preg and baby was 3.055kg. Lost all 17kg within first 2mths and it has been off since then. Hope to gainless this preg, but hope bb can maintain at 3-3.5kg.

coral, try to eat small meal but frequent. eat some fruits or sweet to build up yr sugar level to prevent giddy. Just eat what u like now. U need to eat something.

Mine I try to put him to bed ard 9plus or 10plus. Usually he sleeps ard 9plus. Why dun u let her sleep ealier? If not, put her at yr mum's place when yr hub is away? Must be very difficult for u....

I don't intend to travel so far.. I intend to go for a New Zealand trip next year but fortunately, haven't sit down to plan my itinerary. Now that I am preggy, I am forgoing the whole trip altogether.

I am thinking of Phuket, Bintan or nearby - romantic places. Hehe! So since some of you mommies-to-be are travelling, I will definitely plan for one at the end of the year!

Hi Zazan,

The clarins "tonic" oil is be massaged as soon as we towel dry our body to improve better absorption of the oil. It smells really nice.

I love massages! My gynae said that we can go for pre-natal massages - those offered at beauty spas and reputable massage places. However, she will not recommend any foot reflexology.

A beautician once told me that we should avoid massages during our 1st trimester. It's also important not to go for all types of massages if you are trying to conceive.

And she also encouraged dry brushing our whole body to improve blood circulation. When I dry brush my tummy , it turns red. So it means, blood is being circulated. Good for baby.

Hi eunice...

U mentioned ur SIL got bad ms for the whole of 9months? I heard of stories like that and the mothers will tell me... after the baby is borned, it'll be easy to look after. Wont always cry and need attention. Old wives tales maybe...

zazan, I brought Keane to Taipei when I was 5 months preggy. It is definitely stroller friendly. All train stations have lift so dun have to worry.

Hi coral, aiyo ur MS is really bad... u prolly heard this a million times. feel like puking/no appetite, still got to eat. if u're already feeling giddy then i guess its really not v good. maybe ur gynae can give u some supplements?? as for ur active 2yo, anyway to get some help?? *hugs* wow abt the weight loss!! u must b pretty slim to start with!!

spinko - if u do find any gd massages suitable for preggies, pls let me know. i sooo miss my massages =(

Hi Ms Devilaz - congrats!! =)

Hi IR - yes for her 1st child. she's hoping this 2nd one wun be like tt, but she's not optimistic. hmmm, well if going by her, no lor, she says her daughter is hyper active. when i see her, she's guai la but her mum says at hme dif story hahaha. her girl is only 1yo now.

Rachel, as my 2yo is very active, my mum refuse to let her stay over cos she disturb everybody preventing them from sleeping. My gal would call for me in the middle of the night. Haiz. I used to put her to bed at 8pm, but ever since I started working, hb and I go home late from work, so she now sleep around 11+pm. Really drain me of all my energy.

Rachel, Eunice, will try my best to eat something. good thing I can usually sawllow some vege and carbo. Eunice, my build is in th ok range, and cos I'm tall so can spread the extra weight easily.

Massage
=========
I only resume my regular massage during last preg after after 5mths. And I stop again after 8mths.

Trip
====
Glad that I went on a long trip in june/july else will be a long time b4 any good trip overseas with 2 in tow. Planned a Bali trip for Nov before I know I'm preg. Hopefully my MS will ease off by then.

spinko
but the instruction state apply on damp skin follow by a cool shower leh... btw i dont like the smell but it seems to work so ll stick on it.

tigger88
really but i heard the street is quite uneven for stroller...

coral
poor thing... u must be really tired... i love bali very relaxing, dont mind to go again... which part of bali u intend to stay?

Hi Karrie & Lilmoo,

Thanks for the info. I feel so ignorant...thus i always find this thread very informative (with experinece shared by 2nd or 3rd time mums) and reassuring (to know that all 1st time MTBs are asking the kinda of questions i hv in mind). hee

anyway, i caught a nasty flu bug (from hubby) since sat. Flu was so bad I cant sleep at nite, and i daren't take any medicine until I checked with my OB last nite. She even asked me if I needed MC to rest at home. So sweet but i didnt cos got tons of work in office. Went to work today and was coughing, sneezing non stop at work and feverish. Finally gave up and went to see GP. Was given mc for aftn and tomo to rest. So sianz... try so hard not to take med but cant get well....

Lilmoo, thks for including me in the schedule. My EDD is 29April09, but OB says may change when we do more scan.

Is it true that MTBs immunity will always be lower, thus very easy to get flu?

Hi Eunice,
i take those freshly squeeze one. I used to take them before i got pregnant, but recently orange juice don't seem to taste nice anymore.

think recently my MS got worse. in the past i had great appetite, keeps eating now i keep to 2 meals. can still eat though bt dun really feels like eating bt eat for baby sake. this morning vomited out my ANMUM milk.
first time i really puke something out......
I am using clarins tonic oil also, like the smell. I m nw super sensitive to smell.....

eunice, i went to spa esprit...took a package. a bit pricey but i felt it was worth it! there's a massage lady called janet at the paragon branch, she gave me really good pre-natal massages. they're very considerate too. they know it's difficult for preggy mums to lie on their back because of the weight of bb, they will give u a bolster to hug while u lie on the side. the strawberry butter meltdown (scrub + pre-natal massage) is my fave. but like what Spinko said, must go only after first trimester. best to wait until after 4 mths in my opinion.

lilmoo, yeah im considering my options too. i heard a lot of it depends on whether ur gynae is really pro-VBAC. coz a lot will say can let us try, but when push comes to shove they rather c-section coz it's more convenient for them. im gonna book an appointment with Dr Paul Tseng and ask him if given my stats, i can do VBAC this time.

oh yah, thanks for updating the list! my no. one was born in Oct 07 :D

tiggerr, wow u managed VBAC! how was it like? and how far apart were ur babies?

oh yah for the clarins tonic oil...i dunno whether it's due to it or my genes...but i don't have ANY stretch marks after my first pregnancy. i religiously applied it morning n night. but i didn't rinse off with cold water like what the package says. just left it on. anyway i like the smell. heehee.

hmmmm... seems like MTBs are planning for a short trup after the 1st tri.... me is still waiting for my jap's frenz to cfm her wedding date. end oct or early nov. but it will be a short one. coz dh has drained his annual leaves... hee....

RE: massage
have not try any massage before. scared of the tickelish feeling...

RE: stretch marks
used palmer one for my 1st preg on whole body,arms lah, thigh, tummy, legs lor... but inconsistent one lor. lucky no marks on me.

RE: weight gain
what is the wt gain for you eh? me already put on 3kg.... horrible eh? 1st preg put on 12kg but #1 is small small leh... 2.345kg only... sigh.... and still ve 2kg @ tummy and bottom cant get rid. now this #2 add on more... sianz...

RE: MS
my is no better too... when will this go away leh? my SIL had MS thru' out the 9mths lor and my nephew is easily to look after lor as my SIL said leh...

anyone feels like poo pooing after taking folic acids? Used to take a different brand from my 1st pregnancy, so not sure is it the cause of it.

mtbs, u will need to get doc approval e.g. a letter before u can travel if I am not wrong.

RE: stretch marks, I heard palmer might caused rashes on some mummies, so take note if u used it. I used to use Happy Event - Aust brand but now they dun sell it in S'pore. I very headach dun know where to buy.

coral, why dun u let yr girl listen to soothing music or classic and tone down the activities in the evening so that she will feel sleepy and sleep earlier. I know easier to say, as sometimes my bb doesn't want to sleep and in the notti mood, kind of difficult to force him to sleep. So what I do during those periods, put him in his playpen, switch off all the lights and we pretend to sleep. He will talk, talk, eventually when he is tired, he goes off to bed himself.

So many new messages since I've logged in last...

Congrats and welcome to all new mummies to be...

I just went for my scan on Monday. Saw my baby's heartbeat. Now 11 weeks 3 days... 4.5cm now... But doctor said my baby is staying very low, compared to my first baby. Is it normal??

My stomach is very big though I gained only 0.5kg so far... Doctor said it is mainly wind and do not have to worry.. I'm going back for my OSCAR test in 2 weeks time...

Hi Zazan,

I didn't follow the instruction on the box.. The sales girl told me how to use it and I just do it accordingly.. Hehe!

Hi Spinko,

No. Dr Ang ask me to go back in 2 weeks time Friday. By then will be almost 14 weeks. He said will do the Oscar test then, drawing 3 bottles of blood and will send for tests.

Must oscar test be done on the 12th week?

lilmoo,
oic…maybe you can wait till when it’s nearer to delivery and discuss with your gynae if VBAC is possible.

Karrie,
my 1st and 2nd kids are 27months apart. Paul Tseng is very pro-natural and I’m sure he is will encourage VBAC.

My gynae (Lawrence Ang) give me some criteria to fulfill before going for VBAC. 1)Baby must not be too big (preferably <3kg), 2) Mother must be determined to try VBAC, 3)must understand the risk of wound rupture. He dun encourage having epidural during the delivery (in case wound rupture and I am not able to feel it).

I delivered one day before my EDD. Before that, when gynae did cervix check, he said my cervix has not soften so he advised me to wait and see if by EDD no action then he will advise next course of action. He dun advise induction because there is a higher possibility of emergency c-sect should induction fails.

My contraction started in the early morn and I was admitted at 5pm+ as the contraction was getting more frequent. By the time my gynae arrived at 6pm+, I was already 5cm dilated. By 9pm+ I was fully dilated but was not able to push bb out. The back of her head was facing my spine so it’s tougher to deliver. My gynae said try vacuum and if it doesn’t work, will have to go for c-sect. My heart really sank when he said that cos I endured the labour pain and was already fully dilated. Luckily with the vacuum, I was able to deliver her with a few pushes. My gal was 3.1kg+ at birth so still consider ok size for VBAC.