(2008/10) Oct 2008

Any mummies who brought christmas clothes such a santa clothing for baby can sell me? intend to give bb a late christmas photo shoot

lookin at 3-6mths

pls pm me the pic. thanks

Happy New Year to All!!!!!!!

May the year ahead brings an abundance of joy!!!

Happy New Year mummies. Next year will be an exciting and developmentally challenging year for our darlings. Looking forward to it!

Happy New Yr Mommies!

mispiggy and mousebb, the funny thing is, my son has always been very gentle towards his meimei. he always ask to see her first thing in the morning, wanna smell her hair, touch her, when she cries he will sayang her tummy gently. but yesterday out of a sudden, when she's crying in the rocker, and the maid was standing there trying to soothe her, and my son was trying to push the maid away, he suddenly hit Jaz on the tummy. never before. thats why i wonder what happened. i suspect it could be some hidden jealousy that has been underlying all this while, or something i did or something the maid did that ignited that. when we sayang mei mei, we always involve my son so that he feels a part of it, perhaps thats why he usually gentle. but perhaps last morning the maid was full attention on her, so he angry? i also dunno. i also noticed recently that he started hitting his friends over toys, or for no reason at all. thats why i seeking advice....any possible reasons and how to curb it?

Dear Mommies of Oct 2008 Thread

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

may the year 2009 be a blessed, fun and joyous year to you and your family!

elch
i hv got the wide hips, fat thighs and big butt as well...if not for the fact i am going back to work soon in feb, i wldn't have invested on the pants. guess its time to hit the gym for me!

jollyhoppy
i bought the adult spa pool from william today at $84.00 with neck float plus spa pillow. he sent it to my house after i told him i cant meet him to collect cuz of my 2 kids.

HAPPY NEW YEAR to all yummy oct mummies and babies

morning mommies

Happy New Year (again)!

Enya
wow, that's a good deal
now i am thinking if i should buy from him or from the other BP organiser - the difference is $1!

Happy New year mummies!!!

Sleeping babies
Hmm, is my baby the only one who fusses when she sleeps? In the middle of the night, she could cry (just for a teeny weeny while), sometimes I would try to push my nipple to her but she's not interested. I wonder if it's because there's wind in her stomach. Are all the other babies who sleep throughout the night sleeping peacefully and quietly?

morning mummies

jellypurin
there is an additional of spa pillow.

karen
my boy cuts down 1 feed at nite which means i only hv to wake up once.

Hi Karen, new borns make a lot of noise when they sleep. and all babies go through sleep cycles just like us adults i.e. light sleep, deep sleep, REM sleep. babies may have more sleep cycles per night then adults, means they go into light sleep more often. For adults, when we go into light sleep, we fluff our pillows, we turn in bed, we pull up blanket, then go back to sleep. for babies, they may wake up a bit...and if they can, they go back to sleep on their own after making just a bit of noise. if ur baby goes back to sleep after just that teeny weeny gentle cry, you can leave her.
coz that means she is capable of going back to sleep on her own which is great!
but if her cries is suddenly that kind and loud, probably she had nightmare or hungry or needs a diaper change bah.

Mummies who are using NUK teats to feed your 2-mth old baby - what size teat do u use?

i'm currently using NUK no. 1 size M latex teats but halfway drinking the milk my boy tends to fall asleep. He has about 1-2 bottle feeds a day, rest of the feed I let him latch-on direct.

Not sure if the hole is too small tts why after sucking some time he may be tired or the milk stop flowing tts why he falls asleep?

enya
chking w william now if there are mommies collecting at amk. if there are, then i buy fm him

qwertrew
u may wanna try mediumor large whole, but for ebm, not recommended by NUK think bcos ebm is thin liquid

mint
i trf $ to u this morn. do chk when u hv time!

dimpletot,
My husband advocates formula milk, so he doesn't mix FM with EBM. He feels that BM is very ma fan - got to warm it up. To avoid wastage of milk powder, he prepares 60ml of milk. When the baby wants more, he prepares another 30ml, and another 30ml if still not enough.

qwertrew,
I'm using Nuk silicon teats. I don't know what size teat my baby is using tho. They come together with the Nuk bottles I bought, but I suppose it's no. 1. Like yours, my baby often drinks till she dozes off, but usually, I'll 'force' her to finish the milk or drink somemore by tilting the teat here and there, or pull it out and put it into her mouth again. I think the hole is very small, but when I pricked it with teat puncher, the hole became too large and the milk kept flowing out of her mouth.

Karen,
You dreaming is it? Where got babies sleep peacefully thro out the night all the time? My baby often fusses in her sleep too. Even my 8-yr-old dream-talks and even gives instructions in her sleep.

Re: jealousy
I think jealousy is more rife in boys. But I'm not sure if they're really jealous. My mother was taking care of my baby during my confinement and she would bring my 1.5 yr old nephew over. My nephew would call out 'mei mei' and came to look at her whenever he came over. And he would pat her sometimes. But there was once he hit the baby out of a sudden. Then another time, one moment, he was sayanging her. Then another, he threw a hanky onto her face. After that, he wanted to smack her face with his little hand. I held his hand just in time - a few cm away from my baby's face. I can only conclude that boys are siao siao one.

Thanks Jellypurin and Rains...

Rains -How long does your gal take to finish her bottle? Cos my boy takes about 40ml then doze off...then i do the same as you have done, twist the bottle, check diaper, wipe mouth with cotton wool etc..anything to wake him up.

So end up a 100ml bottle takes him close to 45 mins to finish whereas latch-on after 30mins he seems to be satisfied liao.

rains/qwertrew

- Go get Size 1, M Nuk teats. The ones that come with the bots are Size 1, S and they are way too small. My gal also used to be so frustrated w them so we went to buy larger ones. She finishes her milk v fast now - happy. The teat hole puncher is no gd cos the hole will be too big.

daisybuttons/rains
Okay, okay. Don't shoot me. Many mummies say that their babies are sleeping through the night so I thought it was peacefully and calmly sleeping through the night.

I'll just have to learn to ignore those cries since she's actually sleeping when she made those cries.

Hi Ruffles,

I'm already using the M size..not sure if Size 2 will b too big for him.

Thot of trying Pigeon teats but they dun have latex teat? I prefer latex cos they are softer.

qwertrew,
My baby also takes 30 - 45 mins to drink her milk. It also depends on whether she's very hungry or not. If she's hungry, she sucks furiously and finishes it faster.

qwertrew
now many retailing outlets gor sale, and usually on 20%. go grab ur NUK teats as they cost abt $5.50 after the discount. They come in large holes for 0-6mths in silicone or latex

NUK teats

Cheong Choon selling $4.50. Kiddy Palace, after members' discount selling for $4.60. But this is for non-premium teat. normal ones...

hope i'm not too late..Happy New Year to all..2009 gonna be a very exciting year for all of us !!

Enya: luckily you ask william to send to your plc..cos it's kinda heavy..esp if you hav to manage 2 kids..i'm sure they will enjoy it =) bb swam today..he realli enjoyed & had a good nap (that makes my hubby very happy cos he can nap too..hee)

whitepaper : wat's the dimension for your pool? cos hubby went into the pool..no more space for bb..mmmm...

jellypurin/swimming tub

good luck to you!!

jollyhoppy/ swimming tub
i actually dun find it heavy or bulky. it's only 3.5kg and the box is pretty small. i could hv taken it back by myself with no prob. every week, i have to bring more and heavier stuffs than that to the post office to send with both kids.:)

we used it today to shower and my gal was playing in it happily. my bb hasn't swim in it yet though.

enya,
second day of the year and already shopping.. hehehehehe what a way to boost the ailing economy!

morning mommies,
how goes your new year celebrations? my boys should be back in school and they're prob in morning session but i didn't call my colleagues nor the office.. half of me want to call the parents and see how they're getting on.. half of me cannot be arsed.

how are the mommies who are back to work? Hope you're having a less sian day.. TGIF!

whats for breakfast?

Ruffles,
how is the changing/nursing room facilities on the 6th floor of Robinsons? I saw that there were a few rooms but there was also a small queue waiting to use the rooms

Jollyhoppy,
i know liao.. next time pretend to grab dress to try at cktang vivo and go in to nurse. beats waiting in line for so long to use the nursing rooms.. eheh

Morn folks ...

There is only 1 nursing / changing room on the 6th flr Robinsons Centrept. It has a changing bed and a place for you to sit + paper napkins and an uncovered bin. Outside the room is a sink with water and 2 other kids wcs. Next to this is the Ladies & Gents. It's not exactly wonderful as you can smell pee, and only 1 room lor. I used the only room and thank God no other woman was waiting to use the room - maybe all too busy shopping. I heard there is another nursing room on the 3rd flr too.

BTW - Now that there are sales, I also started getting bb feeding stuff like infant spoons, suction bowls & teething stuff in case Vicky teeths early. Heard some bbs can start eating cereals at 4mths ... and some teeth at 3mths onwards ...

2nd time mummies- Is it necessary to get those Braun hand blenders and the mini cubes to store pureed food? Also, what type of bottled purees are gd? Heard Nestle ones v sweet ... organic - necessary??

good morning everyone!

Ruffles, i guess it depends if u plan to diy your own baby food regularly or just buy off the shelf. I bought the 2 oz baby cubes and already have the braun hand held (but only used for smoothies and milkshakes). Heard DIY is more economical plus u can introduce a wider variety of fruits and veg to your little one. Received several Baby Nutrition and Cook books for Christmas. Can't wait to start.... checking wt PD tomorrow on when to introduce semi solids.

Swimming pool....ooh u gals are really tempting me.

Studio loft walk in...Decided not to go, as it would be inconvenient to park due to the ongoing CNY market. DO share your pics tho!

mousebb, like your hb, mine is against of buying the bb swimming pool too. he says waste water n no space! argh~ yesterday i pestered him to bring Bryan to try out at hwa xia n bryan had so much fun n slpt frm 830pm to 5am! he even missed his last nite feed. haha....

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Wow! Bryan really has a good sleep after the swim! My hubby says since there's already a bath tub in our bath room, dun need to waste money to buy again. So disappointed leh!
Have you started work already? </font>

Hey mousebb - Ya lah dun buy the tub lah. You can use the bath tub at home wat. Am gonna do that.
Whole family can go into the tub rite? Then use the water to wash toilet lor. Times are bad. Save $$$

Mousebb, at least u got bath tub in your toilet. My hb joked and says go buy a big pail and let Bryan swim in it! *faint* Here's a pic of Bryan enjoying himself yesterday. Im starting work next wednesday..so fast manz

2036337.jpg

Karen, no lah, we not shooting you lah hehee.
dun worry u are not alone.

rains, wow u got a 8yr old daughter liaoz? she must dote on her little sibling a lot.
yah...i think boys siao siao one.
i suspect my son got hidden jealousy leh...thats why he like that. i am going to spend more time playing alone with him these few weeks before i start work. hope it will improve. oredi plan to bring him go "swimming" in our bathtub this weekend, will get him to wear his swim clothes to pretend pretend, just mommy and him.
and bring him go out buy his school shoes alone. hope he feels better...

yah my 2yr old also talks in his sleep sometimes hahaha!

ruffles, bathtub can let baby swim? wun we have to put in a lot of water for it to be deep enough for baby to kick her legs? my friend also tell me "can use bathtub what!" when i told her i considering buying baby swimming pool.
but i told her bathtub not deep enough leh...

everafter, so cute leh Bryan!

Ruffles, if u doing baby puree urself, u need a blender,whether or not its the braun blender. some ppl use just spoon and mash though, but thats if they do it fresh every time and its small quantity. if you do in bulk, like for a few days supply (more convenient), u will need blender better. I use Ulike. but mine like very old liaoz (used 2 yrs liao), and kinda rusty inside the motor part.
but very sian to spend money buy new one leh.

as for food cubes, like what busybee said, if u wanna do ur own food in bulk then u will need that. it lets you keep food in mealsize portions for ur baby, so its better for them and easier for you. alternatively, u can prepare 2-3 days portion and put them in your fridge chiller without food cubes. but if its all kept together in a container, then u got the hassle of scooping it out and risking the rest from increasing temperature and turning bad. i also duno....maybe some other moms got a better way of doing it?

mousebb
But bathtub is too short? Won't bb be able to touch the bottom of the bathtub? I was also thinking of that.

Initially I wanted to buy the pool. Only thing that's stopping me is the waste of water. Like Jellypurin, I'm already using the water from dd's bath to flush toilet but still have excess.

Will wait for dd to be 6 months then bring her down to swim in the pool. Will be patient.

bath tub - err the type adults bath in...not the ikea bath tub for bb.

storing pureed food - wouldnt the food lose its nutrients n vitamins?

Tried dream feeding my boy last night at 10pm but it's useless...he still wakes up at 2+pm for his usual feed...haiz...should have just let him sleep from 7+pm till then...not sure if I should try again tonight...