(2008/10) Oct 2008

Ruffles, I know, i have the adult bath tub. but still tot too shallow, unless i fill it very very full?

Pureed food.
I read somewhere before, if u freeze ur pureed food immediately after making (letting it cool down first), the nutrients inside is still more after one week, compare to if you put it in the chiller for 3 days. so freezing is still better, unless of course u plan to feed it that day or the next day. thats the freshest of course. but i dun freeze my puree for more than a week. I will plan the menu such that it will finish within a week, else i throw away.

Elchwong...not all babies respond well dream feeding hehe. my Jaz also same as urs.
her bedtime is 8pm, and i have been letting her sleep from 8pm till what time she wanna wake up. when she was 6 weeks old that time, she was waking up around 1am for milk. then i decided to try dream feeding at around 10.30pm-11pm. I did that for 3 days, but after puttig her back in bed, she woke up 2-3 hours after the dream feed, around 2am. then 5am. so end up i also wake up twice in the middle of the night, so i decided not to do it liaoz. let her sleep and let it be natural since i know her tummy will grow bigger and can take more milk soon hahaa. lucky for me, she gradually lengthen her sleep coz now she drinks more at bedtime feed. now she waking up 4am or later most days (last feed at 8pm). on days that somehow for some reason (dinner party) we gotta let her sleep late around 10pm, she slept from 10pm to 6am like that now.maybe you try a few days first see how.

daisybuttons,
Oh, haha...I thought my boys the only one not responding well...shall try for 2 more nights then see how...

Ruffles
Yah I was talking about the type adults bathe in. But the height is still not very tall, as compared to the pools sold in the BPs right now.

hi mummies, hope ur new yr was great..
yst my gal gave me hell.. thanks to my MIL *sounds a bit ungrateful*

left my gal with MIL for new yr's eve n went par tor with hb..
next day c my gal everything was ok till MIL told me my gal sleep 8+ *usual* then will make alot of noise *usual* but will fall back to sleep herself or i jus pat her n she can sleep till 8-9am next day..
jus 1 nite @ MIL place n yst nite was nitemare..
my gal slept at 8+ as usual then woke up @ 2+ & 4+ * i assume its due to the fact my MIL heard my gal make noise n she dreamfeed her tat 1 nite*
esp the 4+am i had difficulty pating her to sleep..
i'm so hoping she will resume her reg pattern again so i can get at least 6-7hrs of rest..

p/s: my MIL is a bbsitter n she always dreamfeed bbs even if they don wake up or make noise *argh*
till now i still dare not tell her we "starve" her granddaughter for 12hrs cos she sleep n we nv wake her up for milk less she get use to waking up for milk n we want our precious beauty rest

Jen hehe i can fully emphathise. do you know up till now, i dun dare to leave my girl alone at my MIL or Parents plc?? coz i know they sure rock her to sleep, and they wun know when she is tired or when she wants to play. chances are they will play with her WHEN she's tired, then make her more stimulated end up crying then they will resort to patting/rocking. sigh...i dun dare, scared scared. but i eventually have to when i start work. so i dunno how. i probbably have to give them a "prep talk" first sigh. I dunno how to ans her when she always respond with "huh, she sleep so early one meh??" when we tell her now (8plus pm) Jaz is usually asleep. i dunno why she likes to think babies sleep late one. so when we go out for dinner together, she will PLAY with Jaz and stimulate her around that time. sigh....how to stop her? she's her granddaughter afterall?

ur girl sleep through at what age? my boy only slept through just b4 4mths. My Jaz now prob soon (now she's 8pm to 4-5am, which is technically, in baby books, considered sleeping through but not to me hahahaa), but i dun consider she's sleeping through yet. what age urs sleep through? i read that only babies older than 12 weeks aka 3 mths are physically capable of storing enough milk for 12 hours sleep straight. urs oredi 3mths old?

hope ur girl will go back to the old pattern soon. small babies are easy to unteach bad habits. dun worry....good luck!

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
haha! Bryan looks so happy! He must have enjoyed himself very much!!!
You so fast going back to work liao?

Karen
The bathtub which I'm referring is those built in one, and ours is quite big.</font>

Happy new yr!!

Karen,

Could I check where did u buy yr glenn doman's kit? I am looking for it..but cant get it..could u PM me the details? Thank you!!

JEN,

I m surprised that you MIL will dreamfeed baby. Coz normally older generation will not bother to feed the child in the middle of the night. They will believe that sleeps more is better than drinking milk.

Anyway, my Regine is drinking 4 times a day (8am to next day morning 8am). Per feed 6 Oz. Sometimes 7 Oz. So far PD said is ok. No need to feed in the middle of the night. Bbs will wake up if they are hungry.

daisybuttons, my gal ard 6wks+ started to not wake up for milk herself *i'm lucky i guess*

R&amp;R mummy, my side aunties also say no need wake bb up for milk they will wake up if they r hungry..
i same as u drink 4 times a day (8am-8am) per feed is 150ml n last feed @ 7+/8+ then my gal sleeps thru to 8-9+ but whenever its @ mil place, she will insist 2 extra feeds @ 4hr interval meaning once at 11/12 n another one @ 4/5 then bb wakes up same time 8-9am..
i was like if she spoil the pattern then next time i go back work still have to handle midnite feeds i siao liao..
even hb also very glad tat my gal no longer wakes up @ 3am for milk *pray i don jinx myself say here*

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R's mummy
Wow! Envy you lah! Regine is very good! My gal's intake is about 500ml++ everyday BUT.... she need about 6-7 feeds everyday cos each time she drinks less than 100ml and at times, she only suck 20ml and stop sucking le! Really cannot predict her feeding habit!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jen
I only dreamfeed my gal if she sleeps early w/o taking her last feed of the day cos I dont want her to wake up in the middle of the night for milk. So far we only did that a few times nia. </font>

Thanks daisybuttons ;)

Mousebb, ya lor..3mths passed so fast..

Xinying, i gog bk next wed. my mother will look after Bryan when i goes bk to work. Your MIL lookin after Marcus right? She goes to your hse or she stays nearby?

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Last year my employer has offered me 1 yr NPL when I wanted to quit my job to look after wenxuan. Heng I never took NPL otherwise I also have to report to work today! At least you have your mother to take care of Bryan for you. If I want to continue working, I will have to send the kids to infant care center wor!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
Not sure if my whole family can go into the bathtub but at least 2 kids &amp; 1 adult can go in. Think if my hubby sees your post, he will be very happy cos finally he has 1 supporter le. Haha! </font>

hello mummies

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009

tdy is 1st day of working day, so miss my baby Seline

any mum alrdy same as me go bk to work ?

this is baby Seline taken on last week

2037682.jpg

<font color="0077aa">Jazreel says.... "I kinda wonder what Mommy has been feeding me....normal hair don't grow so fast right???"</font>

2037756.jpg

Mommy: "Hehehee girls are so fun!"

xinying, hows the potluck coming along?
my calendar filled up to mar liao not many wkends left *sobx*

daisybuttons, actually my MIL gonna help me take care of bb for day n maybe its her 1st granddaughter she may change her mind which i half hope will n half hope not..
but i watch the prog on Ch 8 n they say since is we ask ILs to help we gotta close 1 eye cos if we ask for their help n they r not obligated..
so i try to nag a bit to hb lah n jus now MIL jus called me *my hb told her my gal gave me hell yst* n guess wat she said since she wake up jus feed her la rather then she fuss with u..
i a bit fed up n say now my gal don wake up for nite feeds oredi n moreover i don want my gal to make nite feeds a habit..
#$@%^%$*%^*

Hihi mommies,
May ur year 2009 be filled with fulfilled dreams &amp; hopes, joy &amp; peace. Happy New Year!

mousebb,
Same same, my baby also a small drinker, he takes the most 100ml per feed, abt 7-8 times a day! Very tiring coz i still need to wake up middle of night to feed him, sigh...

BB Seline &amp; Jaz are so adorable! This is baby Isaac @ 10weeks:
2037772.jpg

bb jaz, seline, isaac so cute!!
love jaz's curly "hair" so adorable!!
maybe i shd consider buying something like tat cos my gal looks like hb n no hair if don dress her up girly ppl think she boy *sobx*

Daisybuttons, your girl so cute! Its really fun to hv bb girl cos can doll them up. i still enjoyed window shopping and looking at those little dress for girls!! hahaa...

Mousebb, actually im worried if it will b too tiring for my mum to look after Bryan. She's so excited frm the moment when im preg and she quit her job to look after Bryan

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh, daisybuttons, Phtanus
Your bb looks very adorable! So cute!

Phtanus
Ya lor! It's very tiring when bb needs so many feeds! Luckily for me, I dont have to wake up to feed at night le cos my gal is sleeping thru the night liao BUT I still need to wake up to pump twice every night. Am now trying to adjust the pumping schedule so that I need to wake up only once a night instead of twice cos me buay tahan liao.

everafter
Wow! Your mother very good wor! I guess for her to look after 1 bb is still ok at this moment since bb at this stage doesnt have much demands. Dont worry.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">On new year eve, we brought the 2 kids to "The Central" for dinner and pple mistaken wenxuan and wenmin as twins. I guess it is bcos of their close age gap and at that time, wenmin was in the pouch so pple cannot see that her body is much smaller as compared to wenxuan who was sitting in the stroller. I guess in a few more months, pple will really think they are twins since by then wenmin would look bigger le.</font>

mousebb

nw i just pump oncein the night. my pumping session is 10pm 3am 7am 12pm and 5pm.
really tiring keep wake up at night. these days my girl only wanna sleep at 2am, i goin to faint le plus just starting bk to work. haizz..
dunno why she just dun wanna sleep loh

mousebb

you are very lucky le. CH doesn't sleep through the night and he takes 8 feeds of 150ML. Plus I need to wake up twice to pump at night too. So I more cham lar!

Hey Mummies,
Happy New Year 2009!! Hope this is a great year for all of us and our families!

Enya,
i saw the BP le!!! They are cute!! and I like the aprons... but now, where got time to even cook leh!! :p

everafter, daisybuttons, Phtanus,
ur BBs are all so cute!!!!

evening mommies

re: gng bk to work

as much as i wanted to wake up early to "rehearse" going back to work, i CANT! am super slpy

but thank God, now my ger wakes up once a nite to feed so not so siong lah. like mousebb's bb, my ger also small feeder so v hard to predict her pattern

i do really need to start getting up soon so that i can figure out bb and my schedule when i go bk to work cos my mom is not able to wake up as early as me to look after bb even though we live under the same roof

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
CH is very good leh! This means he is drinking 1200ml everyday!!! What is his weight now?</font>

mousebb

Huh??? good??? kekeke... good for him but no good for me lah. Dunno how much he weighs... going PD next Tuesday and will find out... think his thighs alone weigh 2kg liao. hahaha

Ruffles

i started with organic rice cereals, juz mix with breastmilk and feed. then followed by steam sweet potatoes, carrot etc etc. blend with blender or mash with spoon, then freeze them in baby food trays. when frozen, remove, and transfer to ziplock bags. take out only 1 or 2 cubes, reheat for baby to taste.

http://blogs.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?BlogStart

bathtub
Okay, my mistake. I actually went to take a look at my bathtub and yes, I think it's taller than my girl. Oooh so fun! Can play with baby in the bathtub!

mummies, when u all start cereal?
i don think my gal will ever get cereal cos my MIL says when my gal 4mths onwards she gonna feed her the ground brown rice with some herbs which she will add to the FM..
everyone tells me is very gd for bb n bb grow up stronger n healtier..
any mummies also letting their bb take the ground brown rice?

Thanks Enya.

Jen - my MIL said she will give ground brown rice wor. Havent research whether good or not ... if gd, will start when bb is 6mth old. 4mths is too young I feel unless bb not full with milk.

Hi hehehe thanks...

Wow, so many of you going to start solids soon...time flies huh? many of your babies older than mine, think mine one of the last to start.
planning to start when she's 6mths, thats 3.5 mths later!

Jen, heard of the brown rice thingie befre, and i think the herb called "shi shen" or something. :p i duno i never feed that. fortunately for me, my caregivers more or less let me dictate what to feed my baby hehee. the only thing i cannot control is them rocking her to bed!

everafter, yes! so fun dolling up girls! i been waiting for this chance ever since my first born hahaha!

Jen, thats a hairband, so funny right?
yah loh, ppl very funny one, always ask girl or boy. i think some ppl even ask that qn when the baby dressed in pink or blue!

Forest, hehehe the aprons look adorable hor?? but i no money to spend liaoz, spent so much on xmas..
and i oredi have a apron lah, that i bot in melb when my son 1yr old. oh, I do cook....I am alone with Jaz on weekdays, so I cook lunch and dinners for myself.
quick cook, quick eat, quick wash. sometimes cannot wash finish so let my maid continue washing when she comes home at night hahhaaaha!

wah some of ur babies sure drink a loT! mine also small drinker! from 1-7 weeks old, she hardly drinks longer than 10mins one!!!small eater... :eek:

sleeping through
Wow, for those babies who sleep through the night oredi, CONGRATS!
its a good start to the NY hehehe!

oh no...i am feeling giddy from DOM now..dunno what i typing anymore......eeerrrrr......*blur blur*

ruffles, my MIL say is powder form so can add to FM n feed after 4mths but i nv tot abt fulling or not also now tat u mention *hmmzz*

daisybuttons, same lor.. my gal look like hb n everyone say she is little "hb's name" jr n i have to say ya look like daddy but she's a gal..
n even i purposely wear top to toe pink..
YES!! ppl still ask boy or gal *faint*

ok mommies,

January meet up

dates to choose from: 6 (tues), 7 (wed), 8 (thurs), 12 (mon), 13 (tues).

timing: afternoon say lunchtime?

locations to choose from: paragon, great world city (suggestions are welcome)

p.s. mommies

seline is a natural in front of the camera! I love Jaz's judge wig. ahahhaha.. what a hoot! where did u buy it??

love issac's gummy smile too

jellypurin

Bellamy from australia. can be found cold storage and certain ntuc. my gal used to love it including the teething rusk. I liked the rusk too!

Ruffles
i think it's good to start with simple rice cereal. brown rice after that.

Personally, i feel 4 months is too young to start solid. perhaps 5-5.5 months.

pildough
yeah loh!!! lol...thinking of getting pj for valentine for my hub. anyway it's not ex $57 for 4 pjs.

ruffles
anyway, at the beginning of starting solids, you are merely letting the baby getting used to different taste and test for allergies.

Enya
Even on a weekday? I'm thinking of going on Tuesday but my girl doesn't have suitable clothes to wear. Hmm, I am thinking of going to Chinatown to grab some candies anyway. So thought of dropping by Studio Loft. Anyway, we'll see how.

Solids
I also feel it's a little too early to start on solids?

Daisybuttons
I'm the youngest here. My EDD was 29th Oct but my girl came out late - 3rd November. So hmm, theoretically, I shouldn't be in this thread. But I hang out often here so I remain here.

Don't think i can join you ladies for your Jan's meet up. Maybe you all can consider vivo city for the gathering. There're 6 pte cubicles in vivo's nursing room. So 6 of you can nurse and still chat at the same time, hee.

When i had my elder boy 3 years back, i know nuts about feeding semi solids. My fren recommended the book "Super Baby Food" to me and it's really helpful.