(2008/10) Oct 2008

hi mommies! good morning

bringing my ger out for her haircut. she looks like chairman mao now - bald at her forehead.

being the vain mommie and wanting to bring her down for the photoshoot, i hv 2 get her a haircut!

re: solids
am only going to start abt 6mths or when her neck is strong and can sit upright without assistance.

Pildough...
damn work. else can meet up.
i only have weekend now.

2009 Potluck
Super no time to plan. Work is a bit chaotic now. Maybe after CNY.

happy new year yummy mommies..happiness, good health and success to all!

hey, count me in on jan meet up, anywhere with space and parking is good

daisybuttons,
my 2-yr old has been pushing and shoving other kids at childcare. he too got pushed and shoved a few times, outside childcare, he even got punched in the nose and another boy recently rode a tricycle straight into him deliberately. all these incidents involve boys around his age..though he got bitten a few times by this little girl. seems at that age they may not yet understand the concept of hurting other ppl, and are experimenting to see what happens when they do certain things. when he does things to hurt ppl, we put him in a quiet corner and make him face the wall for 3-5 mins, during which he may cry or protest but we ignore him. after the quiet time, by which he wld hv calmed down (if not he stays there longer), we will try to explain to him what he did wrong, and he must apologise before we give him a hug.
this is something we picked up from supernanny show. they also use this method at the childcare. you cld try the supernanny book from the library for many tips on disciplining kids.
my problem now is how to deal with his constant whining, gosh, is there anything more unbearable in this world

hi mummies, gd afternoon

is been a long time i never login liao.. been busy shopping for new yr cum working clothes for myself.. bought 2 skirts from iora and damn gotta wear size L now
and worse couldnt find a top that suits me.. either i like one no my size or i dun like the design/colour... help!!! how to buy clothes?? as for shoes.. my leg become one size bigger.. sighzz demoralise leh

as for my son.. already buy for him 3 disney romper.. 2 mickey and 1 pooh

btw, any mummies going for the walk in at studio loft? i am going for the 16 jan one
do we need to bring any CNY clothes or the studio will provide?

back from a one-week road trip to Malaysia!
i certainly missed the PC.. hahaa..

daisybuttons, i am worried about Emms (3yr old) eating, napping and bathing. er, not exactly worried but tired of it. Emms did become naughtier a few weeks before - MIL said cos she wants our attention, although I did spend almost all my time with her except the other times spent feeding my baby, pumping & on the PC (not that much lah!). Emms runs around when eating, refuses to take afternoon naps and dislike bathing. Everyday bathing is either after super long coaxing or a screaming/ crying affair. Washing hair is definitely a crying episode. I think I managed to do everything wrong with Emms. Hopefully I will do better with Izzy this time round!

huh, after i typed the earlier paragraph, Emms finally got beaten by my hubby. Traumatic man. Even I got hit..

oh dear, essana, hope u r ok and u getting hit was accidental right? Don't be too hard on yourself. Its prob very normal for older kids to act up... Hopefully after being disciplined she behaves better....

cheerbear,
We'll need to buy our own kids' cny clothes.

essana,
Reading about your gal reminds me of my own gal when she was 2 or 3. She grew up in my parents' place with lots of aunts and well-loved, until my nephew came along. Everybody's attention was shifted onto him without ourselves knowing it. When he snatched her things or hit her and she complained to us, we told her he's just a baby and didn't know what he was doing. But when she took her things back, we scolded her and said that she should be nice to the baby.

One fine day, she couldn't take it anymore. During one of the tussles, she didn't come to us, but ran to the kitchen to take out two cans of chrysantemum tea and threw them at my nephew. It caused him a deep cut on his forehead, with initial profuse bleeding.

Again, we were very angry with my daughter and the whole family scolded her. But my third sister told us it's becos we've been neglecting her and nobody had bothered to pay attention to her.

From then on, I give her most of my attention and think about how she'd feel if I say certain things to her in defence of another kid.

Is it possible to involve her during your feeding of the baby and pumping? Ask her to come and look at you feed the baby and get her to talk or sing to the baby. When you pump, tell her what it is for, and get her to switch on or off the pump. You can also talk to her during pumping.

I always feel that gals are different from boys. Boys behave better after being disciplined, but gals need alot of assurance and love.

Morning mommies.

Sighhhhhh... just bought ANOTHER Coach bag. Die lah, really spending alot of $. Gotta work harder this year to get higher performance bonus to support myself lor... sighhhhhhhhh.

Oh yah, to update, CH is drinking 160ml now... and seems not enough... so maybe tonight up to 170ml... gotta use the 260ml bottles liao... wah biang... lucky he on BM, if not FM sure cost a bomb!

But his feeds drop to 7 to 8 a day, instead of 8 to 9 a day. And he wakes up once at night. He will have last feed at 8pm, sleep till 2.30am, wake up for milk, then sleep again till 7am. Hope he stays that way. His schedule keeps changing, dunno when will stabilise

morning mousebb

You got your CNY romper? I handwashed mine (luckily I did that and not throw into washing machine coz the colour ran badly) and haven't try on CH yet... size seems ok though, just nice

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Yup. I received mine yesterday! Like them so much. Have asked Cuteeland to reserve another set for wenxuan so that on CNY, the siblings can wear similar clothes. The korean dress for wenmin is very sweet and the size seems ok for her too.

Wow! You really know how to pamper yourself wor! Good for you lah! I wanted to buy a coach baby bag but after some consideration, decide to defer my decision cos dont want to spend so much money on bags liao.

Dont worry. CH is drinking very well. If you give him another feed (dreamfeed) at around 11pm, maybe he would be able to sleep till 5.30am before waking up for feed again. Try and see how.</font>

mousebb

I tried the dreamfeed before... doesn't work on him lor... end up he still wake up at 2.30am... sheesh... that's why I gave up. Decided to let him decide when he want to sleep through the night himself. *resigned to fate*

xinying

forgot to add. Joanne has bags from factory outlets, from the retail store etc. You can also ask her to source for the item you want for you.

Some of the items from the factory outlet are still retailing in the Coach stores.

<font color="aa00aa">Yesterday wenmin only had 5 feeds and the total intake was 565ml (her usual intake). I'm hoping this habit will remain so that I dont have to feed her so many times a day!

I havent washed the clothes I received leh. I remember last year I also bought a set of red colour one for wenxuan and the colour also run and in the end, bought a set of yellow one for him again. My hubby told me dont need to wash this time cos there's no smell.</font>

I'm from the Nov thread, but bb borned earlier in Oct. Have been reading and following your thread to learn more from your experiences.

My bb is now 11+wk, but the amt of milk she takes is little. Only about 400+ml per day (on a good day). She is on EBM so i am able to monitor how much she drinks. Sometimes can be only 20ml.

Mousebb, i read ur previous posting ur bb also small eater. Can i ask how old is she? And how do you increase her feed to 500+? I am quite worried abt her volume.

whitepaper
WOW! CH v cute in his romper le!

it's great to be able to pamper urself, whitepaper. u work so hard so i think it's worth it getting a bag or two that you like

Karen
u tried applying any creams on bb Jo?

yoyosan
welcome

Jellypurin
Thanks hahaha
glad the romper fits him nicely. Yep I think so too, work so hard so can spend some $ once in awhile

Yoyosan
I think babies are able to regulate how much they drink. So i think its ok no matter how much or how little they drink, as long as they are steadily gaining weight and are in a good mood.

Thanks, mousebb
wanna see wenmin and wenxuan in their outfits too

Oh my oh my... think CH is going through another growth spurt? He just drank 290ml........... OMG... how are my boobs going to support his appetite???!!!

Karen

You can still go studio loft lah. They will edit/ touch up the pics mah. Anyway don't think will be obvious with the lightings.

Xinying,

I've read in your earlier posts about photo editing. Are you able to share the program that I can download on the web? I'm quite bad at it and am also not too creative but thought of giving it a go. Thanks!

Dreamy,
i using Picasa and photobucket.

Whitepaper,
I'm still thinking if i really wanna splurge. Alot of pple carrying coach. getting kinda common.
CH is adorable!!

Karen,
Got try Calendular cream on Jo?

CH is so cute in the romper!!
CNY Clothes (BB):
i saw u mummies buying n almost tempted to get the romper but lucky i didn't cos my gal's xmas pressies she got 3sets of clothes + we got 2 sets for her &amp; my MIL got 4-5sets and counting..
me n hb was like my gal CNY everyday also new clothes *faint*
CNY Clothes (Mummy):
i'm so dead!! cannot find any bottoms to fit my oredi FAT &amp; now even FATTER &amp; BIGGER butt *sobx*
now i'm struck with tops &amp; no bottoms..
any ideas where i can get big size shorts?
coach:
if got fren's flying to US can ask them buy.. much cheaper then SG..
i was lucky to get my coach diaper bag as a gift from my boss..

jen
try gap... i can't fit into most of my bottoms as well as i believe the fats had accumulated arnd my thighs, bum n waist. i managed to catch gap sale on NYE and i bought some pants or work, so it is really good value!

Jen,
Like you, I was also stuck with tops and no bottoms till last Friday. Managed to get 2 bottoms from Dorothy Perkins...

Going back to work tomorrow...feeling SUPER sian! I'm so going to miss my boy...

Sure sure. My hubby is going to take many photos of the kids during CNY

am new to this thread. My bb is 11+ weeks too, he only drinks 6 feeds a day, sometimes 5! a bit concerned... via bottle, it will only be 110-120ml, direct will be 30minutes. He can sleep from 7pm till 5/6am! Anyone knows where we can find info on adequacy of bm for bb?

whitepaper,
saw CH in the romper, he's really cute. btw, where did you get that from?
wow... he really drinks a lot!

hi joanne.

milk intake:
Marcus seems to be drinking lesser too. While i'm at work ie between 8 to 8, he only drinks 120ml x 3. Not sure total intake per day how much as i latch him before and after work.

oh alot of people comment that Marcus is huge. 7.2kg at 3mths. today, at my hubby's colleague baby shower, saw a 2.5mth old boy 7kg also. But i swear he looks bigger than my giant!

Hmm... Oct mum too. Are u on this thread as well? Keke...

Whitepaper, CH looks so cute in his CNY outfit! Wah..tempt me to buy for Bryan too :p but i guess red OOS liao right? Wah..he really can drink alot as compared to Bryan. I jus told my hb though they same age, but CH drinks so much more! And i was also recallin the few days in hosp and the night when u and me heard next door bb crying..haha..how time flies..its 3mths already!

Happy New Year! Haven't logged on here since last year. Had a blast on new year's eve. Been pretty busy over the weekend as well. Finally things back to normal liao.

jellypurin, purpleangel, rains,
Have mailed out your socks yesterday. Let me know once received.

Karen,
I'm also planning to go Studio Loft on Tuesday. What time are you going? maybe can go together?

joey 77

I think roughly 110-120 6 feeds a day is average. My gal latches 7 times a day and if ebm will be around same as yours. She's 13 weeks. How heavy is yr baby?

I think sleeping from 7 to 6am is fantastic! Still trying to train my bb to drop last late feed.

mommies,

meet up

date: 8 jan, wed
timing: morning / afternoon

k mommies... decide and let me know? i'm not planning anything.. want to come, come lor.

mint say great world city nursing rooms roomy.

haiya.. mommies.. when can we go out and eat properly.. e.g. dimsum at red star

I can't make wed cos meeting friends for lunch without bb. Maybe i'll org something in the east next week.

Morning everyone....

morn mommies

pildough
8th thu, right? if wed, i can't, which is the 7th. got class :p

mint
tnx n will keep a look out. me going studio loft as well on tuesday, hope to see you and/or karen

re: milk in take
my ger's appetite recently increased. my BM not enough liao as i dun latch. but i guess if gaining weight and bb is healthy we can stop worrying abt how much they drink

good morn all!
My bb 2nd day in infant ctr. Now in Macdonald having bfast alone. Who else put bb in Cherie Hearts?

What brand of shower wash did u mummies used for ur bbs?
Me using johnson top to toe at home, and at school , they used johnson bedtime bath. But my girl scalp turn red after bath on 1st day and hair kind of fizzy when home. So might need to get another shower wash, any advise on that? Thanks

lili - u might wana try Lactacyd. It's for sensitive skin. I use that and California baby shower gel (alternate). I dun really like J&amp;J cos too foamy for bb I feel.

jelly - my ger's appetite also suddenly increased. Worried my bm not enuff when I return work end feb....

pildough - wld like to join u gals when u meet up. Keep me posted. This Thurs I cant in the afternoon though; going for my long awaited hair cut n steam + CNY shopping for myself!!!

xinying
I agree with you. Coach is getting common.

Jen
Maybe you can try Topshop for bigger sized bottoms?

elchwong
Mine is the smallest size - size 60. Length wise (to crotch) is abit tight already. But whole length and width are fine. Hope he doesn't grow much taller before CNY...

Joanne
We got the romper from one of the BPs...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2025569.html?1231117277

everafter
yah red OOS already... and yes... time flies... hahaha...!!! dunno good or no good!!! he grows bigger, we grow older!

Mommies
any of your babies dropping hair? CH dropping alot of hair leh! But can see new hair growth lar, just that still fine and short. And I'm dropping hair too! But I got alot of hair lah, so its fine, and they are dropping well, not in clumps.
Tomorrow I going hair cut and rebonding!!! Yippie!